Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment filed on July 28, 2026, has been acknowledged and entered.
Applicant’s amendment to claim 10 have overcame the 35 U.S.C 112 rejection of claims 10-19.
Currently claims 1 and 3-20 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on July 28, 2026, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s argument: Applicant argues that Brennan does not disclose or suggest setting dispersion based on a current thermal load and a history of thermal load of preceding pulses.
In response, it is respectfully pointed out to applicant that the Examiner agrees that Brennan, standing alone, does not expressly recite those exact words. However, the rejection is based on the combination of Brennan and Calendron, and the obviousness analysis properly relies on what the references would have suggested to a person of ordinary skill in the art. Brennan expressly teaches: a chirped pulse amplification system with an active tuning element; pulse monitoring and feedback to the tuning element; dynamic adjustment of dispersion to optimize output pulse characteristics; and compensation for dispersion variations caused by environmental and component changes (See D1, Abstract; Fig. 5; col. 8–11). Thus, Brennan already supplies the basic closed-loop framework for dynamically adjusting dispersion in response to changing system conditions.
Applicant’s argument: Applicant contends that Calendron merely discusses long-term stability in terms of energy, pointing, and spectral stability, and not pulse duration.
In response, it is respectfully pointed out to applicant that this argument is not persuasive for at least two reasons. First, Calendron teaches thermal/environmental drift affecting laser timing and performance. Calendron expressly states that: thermal expansion causes timing drift; acoustic and thermal noise contribute to jitter; long-term operation requires stabilization; temperature and humidity are monitored because they influence beam path and system performance; cryogenic cooling and environmental control are used to maintain stable laser operation (See D2, Sections 6.1–6.5, especially the discussion of synchronization, long-term stability, controls/diagnostics, cryogenic cooling, and beam transport). Although Calendron emphasizes timing and stability rather than using the exact phrase “pulse duration,” the reference nonetheless teaches that thermal conditions alter laser system behavior and that stabilization is required to maintain desired pulse characteristics. A person of ordinary skill would have recognized that pulse timing, chirp, and dispersion management are directly affected by the same thermal and environmental factors that Calendron discusses. Second, pulse duration control is an inherently related laser-output parameter. In ultrafast laser systems, pulse duration is directly tied to dispersion, chirp, and timing stability. Thus, teachings concerning thermal drift, timing drift, and environmental stabilization in Calendron would have naturally suggested compensating the system’s dispersive settings to preserve the desired pulse duration. Accordingly, Calendron need not expressly say “pulse duration compensation” in those exact words for the combined teachings to render the amended limitation obvious.
Applicant’s argument: Applicant further argues that Calendron only discloses controlling temperature itself, rather than setting dispersion based on current thermal load and thermal history.
In response, it is respectfully pointed out to applicant that this argument also does not overcome the rejection. Calendron teaches that laser system performance changes over time due to: warm-up effects, slow drift, long-term output changes, thermal management constraints, and environmental influences requiring monitoring and stabilization (See D2, Sections 6.2, 6.4, 6.5, and Figs. 9–11). These disclosures are significant because they teach that the laser system does not remain static after startup; instead, it exhibits time-dependent behavior. A person of ordinary skill would have understood that such behavior reflects not only the current thermal state, but also prior thermal loading and thermal history. In other words, if a laser system warms up gradually or drifts over hours, the appropriate control setting at a given time is necessarily informed by the thermal condition of the system as it has evolved. Thus, using a current thermal load and history of thermal load as control inputs is a predictable and ordinary control strategy in light of Calendron’s teachings regarding warm-up, drift, and long-term stabilization.
Applicant’s argument: Neither reference discloses “setting the dispersion” based on thermal load history.
In response, it is respectfully pointed out to applicant that Applicant’s argument improperly reads the amended limitation in isolation and without accounting for the combined teachings. Brennan teaches the core concept of actively tuning dispersion using feedback from a pulse monitor. Calendron teaches that laser system operation is affected by thermal/environmental drift and long-term warm-up effects. Combining these references would have led a person of ordinary skill to use thermal state information, including the system’s thermal history, as part of the feedback/control loop used to tune dispersion. This is not a hindsight reconstruction. It is a straightforward application of known feedback-control principles in a laser system where output characteristics vary with thermal conditions.
Applicant’s argument: The cited combination fails to teach the specific amended phrase.
In response, it is respectfully pointed out to applicant that the claim language recites, in relevant part: “setting the dispersion of the optical actuator for a current input laser pulse, based on a current thermal load of the at least one component, and based on a history of thermal load of the at least one component of preceding output laser pulses…”, The Examiner maintains that this limitation is obvious because: Brennan teaches active dispersion tuning in a CPA system using feedback; Calendron teaches that thermal/environmental conditions and thermal history affect system stability and timing; a person of ordinary skill would have been motivated to incorporate thermal-load information into Brennan’s feedback loop to maintain target pulse characteristics despite drift; and the result would be a pulse-duration control system that compensates for current and historical thermal effects. The claim’s use of “based on” does not require a novel structure beyond using thermal-state information as a control input. The references collectively render that approach obvious.
Accordingly, the rejection is maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 5, 6, and 10-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brennan, III et al., (hereinafter D1) US 7822347 B1 in view of Calendron Anne-Laure ET al., (hereinafter D2), “Laser system design for table-top X-ray Light source” (all the references cited in the IDS).
As to claim 1, D1 discloses a method for generating output laser pulses (Fig. 5 is a flowchart illustrating a method included in various embodiments of the invention); It further describes generating a pulse, stretching, amplifying, compressing, measuring dispersion, and delivering the pulse), the method comprising: generating input laser pulses having an equal pulse duration (Cols.. 8-10/Figs. 1-5, describes a pulse generator producing a seed pulse and CPA system processing pulses. It states a pulse generator is configured to generate a seed pulse having a certain duration. The overall method in Fig. 5 begins with “Generate Pulse”) , coupling the input laser pulses into an optical actuator ( Figs. 1-4 and col. 8-11, teaches an active tuning element, pulse stretcher, pulse compressor, and modulator within the CPA system. The active tuning element is an optical element whose dispersion is actively adjusted), wherein a dispersion of the optical actuator is settable (Abstract; col. 1-3; Figs. 1-5. D1 expressly states that an active tuning element is incorporated to control overall GVD and that the tuning element can be a stretcher, compressor, modulator, Bragg filter, or chirped light source), and setting the dispersion of the optical actuator for a current input laser pulse based on a current thermal load of the at least one component, and based on a history of thermal load of the at least one component of preceding output laser pulses ( col. 8-11, teaches dynamic optimization of output using a pulse monitor providing feedback to the active tuning element. Fig. 5 shows tuning steps performed during operation), so that a pulse duration change caused by a change of a temperature of at least one component and/or by a change of an ambient temperature is compensated for (D1 teaches compensation for dispersion variations caused by environmental changes, including the refractive index or air varying with temperature, pressure, and humidity, and variations in system components. This is expressly discussed in the background and Detailed Description) and that an associated output laser pulse has a pulse duration corresponding or nearly corresponding to a target pulse duration (abstract and col. 8-11, teaches optimizing the output pulse width and temporal width of the compressed pulse at the target surface; the pulse monitor measures output characteristics to optimize the pulse duration).
D1 doesn’t explicitly disclose temperature and ambient temperature compensation.
However, D2 is from the same field of endeavor teaches that long optical paths and environmental changes introduce timing drift and that temperature/humidity monitoring and stabilization are required (Section 6.1 Synchronization: thermal expansion of materials causes timing drift, acoustic/thermal noise timing; Section 6.2 Long Term Stability: long term operation requires stabilization against environmental influences; Section 6.3 Controls and diagnostics and 6.4 Cryogenic cooling: monitoring and thermal control are required).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify D1 so that a pulse duration change caused by a change of temperature and/or ambient temperature compensation as suggested by D2 because combining them would have predictably yielded a CPA/laser system with dispersion actively set to maintain pulse duration despite thermal/environmental drift.
Still lacking the limitation such as the dispersion being set for the current input laser based on a current thermal load of the at least one component and on a history of thermal load of the at least one component.
D2 supplies the thermal -load basis for why the tuning is needed. D2 also discloses (Sections 6.2, 6.4 and 6.5) that laser system behavior depends on thermal loading and cryogenic/room-temperature management. Temperature and heating effects influence system operation and further teaches long-term stability, warm-up effects, slow drift, and stabilization over hours; This reflects prior thermal; history influencing current behavior. Section 6.2 and Figs. 9-11 of D2 discusses slow-drift, and long-term output changes.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify D1 by using the known thermal state and thermal history of the system to determine the dispersion setting because the reference teaches that thermal conditions change output timing and stability, the laser system experiences warm-up and drift, long-term operation requires thermal monitoring and stabilization. Using thermal load history to set the dispersion is a predictable control strategy for compensating drift in a high-power ultrafast laser chain.
As to claim 3, D1 discloses feedback from pulse monitor to active tuning element to optimize output pulse characteristics but does not explicitly disclose the method as claimed in claim 1, wherein the current thermal load of the at least one component is determined based on a mean power of the current output laser pulses, and the history of thermal load of the at least one component is determined based on a mean power of respective preceding output laser pulses.
D2 teaches (Sections 6.2, 6.3, and 6.4) energy/power monitoring, long-term operation, and that output power and pulse energy directly affect thermal loading and stability. D2 further describes long-term stability measurements, slow drift over hours, and output energy stability over time (Figs. 9–11), which is consistent with using prior pulse power history as a thermal-history proxy.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify D1 since using mean output power as a proxy for thermal load is an ordinary engineering choice in laser systems because thermal loading is caused by optical power deposition and varies with average power over time. The references teach the need to monitor power/energy and stabilize laser output over time.
As to claim 5, D1 disclose the method as claimed in claim 1, wherein the dispersion of the optical actuator to be set for the current input laser pulse is determined based on last input laser pulses preceding the current input laser pulses (Fig. 5 and col. 8-11; pulse monitor feedback and real-time/periodic tuning based on prior output measurements). D1 doesn’t explicitly teach wherein the last input laser pulses have passed through the at least one component, and/or based on a target dispersion value for a settled state of the at least one component, wherein in the settled state, the temperature of the at least one component is essentially constant over time.
D2 (Section 6.2 Long-term stability and 6.4 Cryogenic cooling) teaches long-term stabilized operating points and thermal steady-state behavior. D2 also expressly discusses stabilization, temperature control, and operation over hours once warm-up is complete.
A feedback controller that uses prior pulse measurements to set the present dispersion value is exactly the kind of closed-loop control taught by D1. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a settled-state target value since this is a predictable and conventional way to initialize or stabilize such a controller, particularly in systems with warm-up drift.
As to claim 6, D1 teaches feedback based tuning of the active tuning element in response to pulse monitor output. D1 also shows in Fig. 5, , the pulse monitor and active tuning element imply feedback correction over successive pulses. However, D1 doesn’t explicitly disclose target dispersion value for settled state.
D2 teaches stable operating points after thermal stabilization.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify D1 by implementing an additive correction scheme based on a steady-state target plus successive pulse corrections since it is an obvious implementations of the feedback loop explicitly taught by D1.
As to claim 10, D1 discloses a laser system for generating output laser pulses (abstract; Figs. 1-5; Detailed Description describing a chirped pulse amplification system with pulse generator, stretcher, amplifier, compressor and output), the laser system comprising: an excitation laser for generating input laser pulses having an equal pulse duration ( D1 discloses a pulse generator 110 producing a seed pulse of a defined duration; Fig. 1l Detailed Description, where the pulse generator is described as generating seed pulse having a certain duration), at least one component and/or a surrounding (This is satisfied by the system’s optical and environmental components, including the stretcher, amplifier, compressor, modulator, pulse monitor, and ambient optical path; Figs. 1-4), an optical actuator arranged between the excitation laser and an output, wherein a dispersion of the optical actuator is settable (D1 expressly teaches an active tuning element is the pulse chain that alters dispersion; abstract” dispersion on the system is tuned by actively tuning one or more components; Figs. 1-4: active tuning element 160/230/310 in the stretcher/compressor/modulator path; Detailed Description: active tuning elements include tunable fiber Bragg gratings, Bragg fibers, modulators, and pulse compressors), and a controller programmed to carry out the method as claimed in claim 1 (D1 teaches feedback control via the pulse monitor providing feedback to the active tuning element. This is a controller-based implementation of the method; Abstract: A pulse monitor is added to the system to measure an output pulse and provide feedback to one or more active tuning elements; Fig. 5: operational method steps showing tuning based on measured output; The controller is implicit in the feedback-based tuning system).
As to claim 11, D1 teaches the laser system as claimed in claim 10, wherein the optical actuator comprises a temperature-controllable stretcher grating for stretching the input laser pulses, or a dispersion changing element arranged in a pulse compressor (D1 teaches tunable stretcher elements, including fiber Bragg gratings and thermal-gradient tuning; Detailed Description: tunable fiber Bragg gratings can be tuned by thermal gradient or strain gradient’ Fig. 1: active tuning element in the stretcher path; In Figs. 2 and 4 as well as in Detailed Description, D1 teaches active tuning elements in the pulse compressor, including dispersion-changing elements).
As to claim 12, D1 discloses the laser system as claimed in claim 10, wherein the optical actuator comprises a movable element of a pulse compressor (D1 teaches a pulse compressor as part of the CPA system, including a Treacy compressor and compressor-side tuning; Fig. 2; Detailed Description describing compressor tuning).
D1 doesn’t explicitly disclose that the movable element being a grating or a prism.
However, D2 discloses compressor architectures and optical pulse-compression elements, including grating-based compressor implementations in ultrafast laser systems. (Section 4.6 and related compressor discussion).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify D1 by having the movable element being a grating or a prism because a POSITA would have used known compressor elements such as grating-based Treacy compressors in D1 system because they are conventional dispersion-control structures in CPA lasers and D2 confirms their use in practical laser system architecture.
As to claim 13, D1 discloses the laser system as claimed in claim 10, wherein the at least one component is an amplifier for amplifying the input laser pulses (D1 expressly teaches a pulse amplifier 130 in the CPA chain; Figs. 1-4; Detailed Description).
As to claim 14, D1 discloses the laser system as claimed in claim 13, but fails to explicitly disclose further comprising a first preamplifier and a second preamplifier arranged upstream of the amplifier.
D2 discloses a multi-stage laser chain with multiple amplifier stages, including frontend and booster/regenerative amplification modules (Sections 4.2-4.7; Tables 4-6; Figs. 12-15).
D1 already teaches an amplifier stage in the pulse chain; D2 Teaches multi-stage amplification architecture. Combining them would have yielded a laser system with one or more preamplifier stages upstream of the main amplifier and thus would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
As to claim 15, D1 discloses that the active tuning element is placed in the optical path of the CPA system and may be arranged at the stretcher/compressor stage upstream of amplifications (Figs. 1, 3 and 4) but doesn’t explicitly disclose that wherein the optical actuator is arranged between the excitation laser and the first preamplifier.
D2 teaches front-end architecture with upstream conditioning and distribution before amplification stage (Sections 4.1, 4.2-4.7).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify D1 by locating the dispersion actuator upstream of the first preamplifier since this is a conventional CPA design choice because pulse stretching and phase shaping are typically performed before high-gain amplification to manage pulse energy and nonlinear effects.
As to claim 16, D1 discloses the laser system as claimed in claim 10, but fails to explicitly disclose further comprising a pulse selection unit for letting through selected ones of the input laser pulses, wherein the pulse selection unit is arranged downstream from the excitation laser in a direction of the output.
D2 discloses front-end laser distribution and pulse-selection/delivery architecture for different beamlines and diagnostic paths (Section 4.1; Table 3; Figs. 12-15), thus teaching selecting pulses for downstream use in a laser system.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify D1 by further comprising a pulse selection unit for letting through selected ones of the input laser pulses, wherein the pulse selection unit is arranged downstream from the excitation laser in a direction of the output since pulse selection is a known front-end laser system feature and D2 provides the architecture and motivation for selective routing of pulses downstream from the excitation source.
As to claim 17, D1 discloses the laser system as claimed in claim 10, but fails to explicitly disclose further comprising a nonlinear optical crystal for frequency conversion of the input laser pulses, wherein the nonlinear optical crystal is arranged upstream of the output.
D2 discusses nonlinear optical frequency conversion components in ultrafast laser systems, including harmonic generation and related nonlinear stages (Section 4.6 and the nonlinear-conversion discussion in the system architecture).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify D1 by including a nonlinear optical crystal for frequency conversion of the input laser pulses, wherein the nonlinear optical crystal is arranged upstream of the output because nonlinear frequency conversion is a conventional upstream process in ultrafast laser architecture and D2 supplies the teaching for including such elements in a system like D1’s and would provide predictable result.
As to claim 18, D1 teaches the laser system as claimed in claim 10, further comprising a pulse compressor for compressing the input laser pulses, wherein the pulse compressor is arranged upstream from the output (D1 expressly discloses a pulse compressor 140 (Figs. 1, 2, 4; Detailed Description). Further, arranging the pulse compressor upstream from the out is considered as design choice and thus would have been obvious to obtain predictable result.
As to claim 19, D1 discloses (abstract; Detailed Description) that dispersion can be affected by optical components and environmental conditions, including thermal effects on optical paths and tunable dispersive elements. D2 teaches that laser system performance is affected by heated optical paths, thermal drift, environmental temperature changes, stabilization or components during operation (Sections 6.1-6.4; Figs. 9-11).
The claim merely enumerates component types whose temperature-related behavior affects system performance. D2 strongly supports the notion that both optical and thermally affected non-optical components can influence system stability, and D1 provides the dispersion-compensation mechanism.
As to claim 20, D1 discloses feedback-controlled method using a pulse monitor and active tuning element. A controller or processor executing such steps is the straightforward computer-implemented form of the disclosed method (abstract; Fig. 5; Detailed Description). A non-transitory computer-readable medium having program steps stored thereon, the program steps, when executed by a computer processor, causing performance of the method as claimed in claim 1.
Claims 4, 7, 8, 9 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over D1 in view of D2 and further in view of Benjamin Alonso et al., (hereinafter D3), “Self-calibrating d-scan:measuring ultrashort laser pulses on-target using an arbitrary pulse compressor (all the references cited in the IDS).
As to claim 4, D1 teaches pulse monitor feedback and periodic or real-time tuning. However, D1 doesn’t explicitly disclose the method as claimed in claim 2, wherein the dispersion of the optical actuator to be set is progressively determined from modeling of a pulse phase as a function of the temperature of the at least one component, or is determined beforehand based on a previously known sequence of output laser pulses.
D2 teaches use of diagnostics and long-term measurement history. D3 further teaches iterative numerical optimization of pulse spectral phase and compressor dispersion. The retrieval algorithm uses a model of the phase and iteratively updates it to match measured traces and a phase model and compressor model, which can be extended as an obvious engineering choice to include temperature dependence.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify D1 since D3 specifically teaches an iterative model-based retrieval of phase and compressor dispersion without prior calibration. It would have been obvious to use the same kind of progressive modeling approach to determine the actuator setting based on temperature-dependent phase behavior, because the purpose is the same: compensate unknown/variable dispersion in real time.
As to claim 7, D1 and D2 teaches diagnostics and feedback. Further, precomputed corrections are an obvious extension of those teachings. However, D1 when modified by D2 do not explicitly disclose the method as claimed in claim 6, wherein the correction values are determined progressively from modeling of a pulse phase as a function of the temperature.
D3 teaches iterative phase retrieval using a model and optimization.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify D1 when modified by D2 because the iterative phase-retrieval algorithm in D3 is a clear teaching of progressively determining corrections from a model and measured data. Applying that to temperature-dependent correction values would have been obvious to obtain predictable result.
As to claims 8 and 9, D1 teaches optimizing the output pulse to specified characteristics and using pulse monitor feedback to minimize output variation but doesn’t explicitly disclose wherein a deviation of the pulse duration of the output laser pulses from the target pulse duration is less than 10% or less than 2%.
D3 demonstrates accurate pulse retrieval and optimized compression.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify D1 when modified by D2 wherein a deviation of the pulse duration of the output laser pulses from the target pulse duration is less than 10% or 2% because the numerical threshold is an intended result of feedback-optimized dispersion setting. The prior art teaches controlling pulse width to an optimized target and accurately measuring the result. Maintaining pulse duration within less than 10% or less than 2% of target is an expected result of a feedback-controlled CPA system. It is a routine optimization goal.
As to claim 20, D1 discloses feedback-controlled method using a pulse monitor and active tuning element. A controller or processor executing such steps is the straightforward computer-implemented form of the disclosed method (abstract; Fig. 5; Detailed Description). However, D1 doesn’t explicitly disclose non-transitory computer-readable medium having program steps stored thereon, the program steps, when executed by a computer processor, causing performance of the method as claimed in claim 1.
D3 teaches computational retrieval and optimization of pulse phase/dispersion through algorithmic processing (Abstract; Methods; Results/Discussion).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the feedback and optimization steps in software on an non-transitory computer-readable medium because both D1 and D3 describe computational control/optimization of pulse dispersion and pulse phase and would provide predictable result.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TARIFUR R CHOWDHURY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2877