Double Patenting
A web-based eTerminal Disclaimer may be filled out completely online using web-screens. An eTerminal Disclaimer that meets all requirements is auto-processed and approved immediately upon submission. For more information about eTerminal Disclaimers, refer to www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/applying-online/eterminal-disclaimer.
Claims 1-11 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,070,420. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they encompass the same essential invention. The wedge and oblique nature of the irradiation of the presently claimed invention because the wedge and the obliqueness provide a change of shape for the system and there is case law making obvious a change of shape.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6 and 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gertner et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2009/0161827).
Regarding claim 1, Gertner et al. disclose a system (“system 10,” see [0159], and figure 1A) comprising:
a wedge (wedge-shaped element 416 the XYZ stage, see [0225] and figure 5);
an optical unit (“one or more X-ray tubes 112,” see [0160] and figures 1-5) mounted on the wedge such that the optical unit is directed obliquely upward, the optical unit comprising a radiation source (the collection of radiation sources 112 and pointer 403, see figures 1A-3A); and
a controller (processor, processing unit, computer processor and/or the like, [0047]-[0048], [0058], and [0153]) configured to treat an eye of a patient by causing the radiation source to irradiate respective target regions of the eye with one or more treatment beams while the eye gazes obliquely downward toward the optical unit (see [0006], [0673], [0676]-[0677]).
Regarding claim 2, Gertner et al. disclose the claimed invention including the wedge has an angle selected so that while the eye gazes obliquely downward, a target region in an upper portion of a sclera or limbus of the eye is exposed to the radiation source (see figure 3A wherein an upper portion of the sclera is defined as upper 2/3 of the sclera wherein the halfway point is denoted by the central optical axis of the eye).
Regarding claim 3, Gertner et al. disclose the claimed invention including the wedge is
mounted on the motion stage (comprising “an automated positioning system (APS) 115 for moving and aiming the X-ray source assembly 420 (including X-ray tube 112 and collimator 118) to direct a treatment beam to a target from one or more selected directions,” see [0162] and figure 5).
Regarding claim 4, Gertner et al. disclose the claimed invention including the controller is configured to control the motion stage so as to align the eye with the radiation source “an automated positioning system (APS) 115 for moving and aiming the X-ray source assembly 420 (including X-ray tube 112 and collimator 118) to direct a treatment beam to a target from one or more selected directions,” see [0162] and figure 5 and given the fact that the controller/processor is responsible for the automated control).
Regarding claim 5, Gertner et al. disclose the claimed invention including comprising a headrest (“chin-head restraint assembly 160 may include a right-left pair of hand grips 163 for the patient to hold, helping to maintain the patient's torso and shoulders in perpendicular alignment to eye-guide 110,” see [0167] and figures 2A-2B, and “a head support or support 170 for stabilizing the head of subject, and includes a chin rest 172,” see [0171] and figure 16), which is configured to hold a head of the patient stationary while the eye gazes obliquely downward.
Regarding claim 6, Gertner et al. disclose the claimed invention including the headrest comprises a sensor configured to generate an output indicating whether the head is properly positioned on the headrest (“sensor,” see [0167]).
Regarding claim 12, Gertner et al. disclose the claimed invention including:
a focusing lens (lens 120; and
one or more beam-directing elements (“beam splitters,” see [0181] and figure 3A),
wherein the controller is configured to cause the radiation source to irradiate the eye with the treatment beams by firing the treatment beams at the beam-directing elements through the focusing lens, such that the beams are focused by the focusing lens prior to being directed, by the beam-directing elements, toward the respective target regions (see [0727]-[0741]).
Regarding claim 13, Gertner et al. disclose the claimed invention including at least part of each of the target regions is located within 1 mm of a limbus of the eye (see [0033] and [0213]).
Allowable Subject Matter
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: although all of the presently pending claims are rejected and Applicant may choose to argue only (opposed to amend the claims and argue), the examiner can imagine Applicant amending independent claim 1 with all the subject matter of claim 7 and filing a proper terminal disclaimer in order to overcome both the prior art rejections and the obvious double patenting rejections and placing the application in condition for allowance.
Conclusion
/AARON F ROANE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3792