DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-7, 11-13, 15, 17-18, and 20-24 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 12, 18, and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Toth et al. (hereinafter ‘Toth’, U.S. PGPub No. 2022/0211328) in view of Shadforth et al. (hereinafter ‘Shadforth’, U.S. PGPub No. 2022/0095955).
In regards to claim 1, Toth discloses a cardiovascular sensing system, comprising sensor configured to be worn by a user, the sensor comprising an inductive capacitive (LC) circuit, wherein the sensor is configured to deform in response to a strain induced by vibrations of a heart of the user ([0038]: "In some embodiments, the sensors comprise sensor patches that are coupled to the individual's skin, and the physiological signal processing system and the feature analysis system are integrated within one or more of the sensor patches.", [0084]: "In some embodiments, the vibration data collected by the vibration sensors 115 can be utilized to generate a ballistocardiograph (BCG), which comprises a graphical representation of repetitive motions of the human body due to pressure exerted on surface portions of the body arising from the sudden ejection of blood into blood vessels with each cardiac cycle.", [0140]: "The sensor patch substrate 810 is formed from a flexible, elastically deformable, and/or stretchable material."), an external antenna inductively coupled to the sensor, the external antenna configured to receive a signal from the LC circuit ([0141]: "As shown in FIG. 9, a sensor module 900 comprises one or more interconnects, sensors, optical source(s), optical detector(s), a radio frequency (RF) transmitter, an antenna, sensor communication circuitry, signal conditioning circuitry, one or more processors, a memory device, a controller, a power supply, power management circuitry, and/or energy harvesting circuitry, and one or more peripherals."), and a controller configured to determine a cardiovascular measurement of the user, based at least in part, on the signal received by the LC circuit ([0084]: "In some embodiments, the vibration data collected by the vibration sensors 115 can be utilized to generate a ballistocardiograph (BCG), which comprises a graphical representation of repetitive motions of the human body due to pressure exerted on surface portions of the body arising from the sudden ejection of blood into blood vessels with each cardiac cycle.").
However, Toth does not disclose the sensor is a seismocardiogram sensor or that the cardiovascular measurement is a seismocardiogram.
Shadforth teaches using a ballistocardiogram/seismocardiogram sensor to be worn on the body ([0072]: "In FIG. 1A, multiple ballistocardiogram/seismocardiogram sensors are embedded and co-located to each channel of the cardiac signal acquisition sensors and each channel of the photoplethysmographic signal acquisition sensors. In FIG. 1B, a single ballistocardiogram/seismocardiogram sensor is embedded in one channel of the cardiac signal acquisition sensors and one channel of the photoplethysmographic signal acquisition sensors."). Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the cardiovascular sensing system to use a seismocardiogram sensor, as taught by Shadforth, as doing so would provide a way to detect vibrations of the heart or chest induced by heartbeats, and is known in the art to be interchangeable with the ballistocardiography found in Toth ([0013]: "The term “ballistocardiogram” refers to a measure that reflects the flow of blood through the body, e.g., as acquired using a wearable device. One subgroup of ballistocardiogram sensors is referred to as seismocardiogram (SCG) sensors, which are more directed to a measure of vibrations as recorded by sensors mounted close to the heart. As used herein, the terms ballistocardiogram and seismocardiogram are used interchangeably. The terms ballistocardiogram and ballistocardiographic are also used interchangeably.").
In regards to claim 12, Toth discloses a method of sensing a cardiovascular measurement of the user, comprising interrogating, with at least one wireless signal from an external antenna, a sensor worn by a user, the sensor comprising an inductive capacitive (LC) circuit comprising a plurality of interdigitated electrodes and an inductive coil, wherein the sensor deforms in response to a strain induced by vibrations of a heart of the user ([0038]: "In some embodiments, the sensors comprise sensor patches that are coupled to the individual's skin, and the physiological signal processing system and the feature analysis system are integrated within one or more of the sensor patches.", [0084]: "In some embodiments, the vibration data collected by the vibration sensors 115 can be utilized to generate a ballistocardiograph (BCG), which comprises a graphical representation of repetitive motions of the human body due to pressure exerted on surface portions of the body arising from the sudden ejection of blood into blood vessels with each cardiac cycle.", [0140]: "The sensor patch substrate 810 is formed from a flexible, elastically deformable, and/or stretchable material.", [0141]: “As shown in FIG. 9, a sensor module 900 comprises one or more… an antenna…”), and wherein deformation of the sensor changes a spacing between the plurality of interdigitated electrodes to alter a capacitance of the LC circuit ([0130]: "In particular, FIG. 4A illustrates an ECG waveform 410-1 and a high-pass filtered BCG waveform 420-1, which show time correlated heart valve movements and ECG signals from a site on a torso of an individual. The waveforms 410-1 and 420-1 were captured using electrodes that were positioned on a sternum of the individual with the electrodes horizontally spaced about 2 inches apart, and using sensors configured to capture electrical activity of the heart and sensors (e.g., accelerometers) to capture vibrations associated with heart valve closure events."), receiving, at the external antenna, a responsive signal from the LC circuit ([0141]: "As shown in FIG. 9, a sensor module 900 comprises one or more interconnects, sensors, optical source(s), optical detector(s), a radio frequency (RF) transmitter, an antenna, sensor communication circuitry, signal conditioning circuitry, one or more processors, a memory device, a controller, a power supply, power management circuitry, and/or energy harvesting circuitry, and one or more peripherals."), and generating a SCG for the user based, at least in part, on the received responsive signal ([0084]: "In some embodiments, the vibration data collected by the vibration sensors 115 can be utilized to generate a ballistocardiograph (BCG), which comprises a graphical representation of repetitive motions of the human body due to pressure exerted on surface portions of the body arising from the sudden ejection of blood into blood vessels with each cardiac cycle.").
However, Toth does not disclose the sensor is a seismocardiogram sensor or that the cardiovascular measurement is a seismocardiogram.
Shadforth teaches sensing a ballistocardiogram/seismocardiogram from a sensor which is worn on the body ([0072]: "In FIG. 1A, multiple ballistocardiogram/seismocardiogram sensors are embedded and co-located to each channel of the cardiac signal acquisition sensors and each channel of the photoplethysmographic signal acquisition sensors. In FIG. 1B, a single ballistocardiogram/seismocardiogram sensor is embedded in one channel of the cardiac signal acquisition sensors and one channel of the photoplethysmographic signal acquisition sensors."). Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the cardiovascular sensing system to use a seismocardiogram sensor, as taught by Shadforth, as doing so would provide a way to detect vibrations of the heart or chest induced by heartbeats, and is known in the art to be interchangeable with the ballistocardiography found in Toth ([0013]: "The term “ballistocardiogram” refers to a measure that reflects the flow of blood through the body, e.g., as acquired using a wearable device. One subgroup of ballistocardiogram sensors is referred to as seismocardiogram (SCG) sensors, which are more directed to a measure of vibrations as recorded by sensors mounted close to the heart. As used herein, the terms ballistocardiogram and seismocardiogram are used interchangeably. The terms ballistocardiogram and ballistocardiographic are also used interchangeably.").
In regards to claim 18, Toth/Shadforth combination discloses the invention substantially as described above in claim 12.
Toth further discloses that the sensor is a passive sensor ([0236]: "Low Burden, Unobtrusive Form Factor: the sensor passively collects data without the need for user adjustment. Wireless charging limits user burden facilitating adherence. Deployment on the suprasternal notch enables high fidelity signal capture without the stigma of a highly visible neck-deployed system.").
In regards to claim 21, Toth/Shadforth combination discloses the invention substantially as described above in claim 1.
Toth further discloses a thickness of the SCG sensor is less than 1 mm ([0021]: "The medical sensor may have a device mass less than 1 g, less than 500 mg, less than 400 mg, or optionally less than 200 mg and a device thickness less than 10 cm, less than 6 mm, less than 5 mm, or optionally, less than 3 mm.").
Claim(s) 2-7, 13, 15, 17, and 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Toth in view of Shadforth as described in claims 1 and 12 above, and in further view of Rogers et al. (hereinafter ‘Rogers’, U.S. PGPub No. 2021/0113099).
In regards to claim 2, Toth/Shadforth combination discloses the invention substantially as described above in claim 1.
Rogers further teaches that the LC circuit comprises a capacitive strain sensor and an inductive coil incorporated in a single laver of copper backed by a laver of polyimide ([0017]: "The electronic devices described herein may comprise a stretchable electrical interconnect, a microprocessor, an accelerometer, a stimulator, a resistor and a capacitor in electronic communication to provide sensing of vibration or motion by the accelerometer and a stimulus to a user with the stimulator. ", [0044]: "The wireless communication systems described herein may be powered by a wireless re-chargeable system. The wireless re-chargeable system may comprise one or more of a rechargeable battery, an inductive coil, a full wave rectifier, a regulator, a charging IC and PNP transistor.", [0264]: "The electronic platform is a flexible PCB (fPCB) composed of double-sided copper with polyimide as the insulation layers sandwiching the copper layer."). Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the cardiovascular sensing system to use a strain sensor and inductive coil in a layer of copper backed by polyimide , as taught by Rogers, as doing so offers a specialized, stretchable sensor which would be excellent for use in seismocardiography ([0228]: "We present a novel mechano-acoustic sensing platform (FIG. 19) that incorporates the most advanced concepts in stretchable electronics adhered on the suprasternal notch capable of providing continuous measurement, storage and analysis of key parameters of social interaction in a distributed network.").
In regards to claim 3, Toth/Shadforth/Rogers combination discloses the invention substantially as described above in claim 2.
Toth further discloses that the capacitive strain sensor comprises a plurality of interdigitated electrodes ([0140]: "The sensor patch substrate 810 further comprises an adhesive layer, multiple patch interconnects, and multiple electrodes. The sensor patch interconnects and the electrodes are electrically coupled together via one or more conducting traces located on the sensor patch substrate 810 or embedded in the sensor patch substrate 810, etc.").
In regards to claim 4, Toth/Shadforth/Rogers combination discloses the invention substantially as described above in claim 3.
Rogers further teaches that the plurality of interdigitated electrodes are arranged in serpentine structures ([0143]: "The stretchable interconnect comprises double layer of serpentine copper trace 18 um thick each encapsulated between two 12 μm layer of polyimide (PI) having a modulus of 2.5 GPa. The electronic devices are bonded to the stretchable interconnects, then covered with the upper elastomeric shell comprises a 100 μm layer of Silbione containing an air pocket between the electronics and the upper elastomeric shell."). Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the cardiovascular sensing system to arrange the electrodes in a serpentine structure, as taught by Rogers, as doing so accommodates stretch and twist deformations ([0242]: "FIG. 43D provides a series of schematics illustrating the capability of the device incorporating serpentine interconnects to accommodate stretch and twist deformations without inducing levels of strain high enough to result in significant device degradation or failure.").
In regards to claim 5, Toth/Shadforth/Rogers combination discloses the invention substantially as described above in claim 3.
Rogers further teaches that the plurality of interdigitated electrodes are configured to deform in response to a strain induced by vibrations of a heart of the user ([0242]: "FIG. 43D provides a series of schematics illustrating the capability of the device incorporating serpentine interconnects to accommodate stretch and twist deformations without inducing levels of strain high enough to result in significant device degradation or failure."). Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the cardiovascular sensing system to arrange the electrodes in a serpentine structure, as taught by Rogers, as doing so accommodates stretch and twist deformations ([0242]: "FIG. 43D provides a series of schematics illustrating the capability of the device incorporating serpentine interconnects to accommodate stretch and twist deformations without inducing levels of strain high enough to result in significant device degradation or failure.").
In regards to claim 6, Toth/Shadforth/Rogers combination discloses the invention substantially as described above in claim 5.
Toth further discloses deformation of the SCG sensor changes a spacing between the plurality of interdigitated electrodes to alter a capacitance of the LC circuit ([0130]: "In particular, FIG. 4A illustrates an ECG waveform 410-1 and a high-pass filtered BCG waveform 420-1, which show time correlated heart valve movements and ECG signals from a site on a torso of an individual. The waveforms 410-1 and 420-1 were captured using electrodes that were positioned on a sternum of the individual with the electrodes horizontally spaced about 2 inches apart, and using sensors configured to capture electrical activity of the heart and sensors (e.g., accelerometers) to capture vibrations associated with heart valve closure events.").
In regards to claim 7, Toth/Shadforth combination discloses the invention substantially as described above in claim 1.
Rogers further teaches that the SCG sensor does not comprise a battery ([0170]: "The device is powered by inductive coupling and also can communicates and/or transfer data via near field communication (NFC) protocol. When the user is utilizing the device within a confined environment, such as a bed during sleep, or in a hospital setting, the power and data transmission can be done via inductive coil that resonates at 13.56 MHz. This allows continuous measurement without the need for an onboard battery or external power source."). Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the cardiovascular sensing system to arrange the electrodes in a serpentine structure, as taught by Rogers, as doing so protects the electronics from damage ([0171]: "Wireless battery charging platform enables a completely encapsulated device that separates the electronics from the surroundings, preventing substances that would otherwise damage the sensor. ").
In regards to claim 13, Toth/Shadforth combination discloses the invention substantially as described above in claim 12.
Rogers teaches that the LC circuit comprises a capacitive strain sensor and an inductive coil incorporated in a single laver of copper backed by a laver of polyimide ([0017]: "The electronic devices described herein may comprise a stretchable electrical interconnect, a microprocessor, an accelerometer, a stimulator, a resistor and a capacitor in electronic communication to provide sensing of vibration or motion by the accelerometer and a stimulus to a user with the stimulator. ", [0044]: "The wireless communication systems described herein may be powered by a wireless re-chargeable system. The wireless re-chargeable system may comprise one or more of a rechargeable battery, an inductive coil, a full wave rectifier, a regulator, a charging IC and PNP transistor.", [0264]: "The electronic platform is a flexible PCB (fPCB) composed of double-sided copper with polyimide as the insulation layers sandwiching the copper layer."). Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the cardiovascular sensing system to use a strain sensor and inductive coil in a layer of copper backed by polyimide , as taught by Rogers, as doing so offers a specialized, stretchable sensor which would be excellent for use in seismocardiography ([0228]: "We present a novel mechano-acoustic sensing platform (FIG. 19) that incorporates the most advanced concepts in stretchable electronics adhered on the suprasternal notch capable of providing continuous measurement, storage and analysis of key parameters of social interaction in a distributed network.").
Rogers further teaches a serpentine transition region is disposed between the inductive coil and the plurality of interdigitated electrodes and is configured to localize strain at an interface between the inductive coil and plurality of interdigitated electrodes while minimizing stress on the singlelaver of copper ([0143]: "The stretchable interconnect comprises double layer of serpentine copper trace 18 um thick each encapsulated between two 12 μm layer of polyimide (PI) having a modulus of 2.5 GPa. The electronic devices are bonded to the stretchable interconnects, then covered with the upper elastomeric shell comprises a 100 μm layer of Silbione containing an air pocket between the electronics and the upper elastomeric shell."). Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the cardiovascular sensing system to arrange the electrodes in a serpentine structure, as taught by Rogers, as doing so accommodates stretch and twist deformations ([0242]: "FIG. 43D provides a series of schematics illustrating the capability of the device incorporating serpentine interconnects to accommodate stretch and twist deformations without inducing levels of strain high enough to result in significant device degradation or failure.").
In regards to claim 15, Toth/Shadforth/Rogers combination discloses the invention substantially as described above in claim 13.
Rogers teaches that the plurality of interdigitated electrodes are arranged in serpentine structures ([0143]: "The stretchable interconnect comprises double layer of serpentine copper trace 18 um thick each encapsulated between two 12 μm layer of polyimide (PI) having a modulus of 2.5 GPa. The electronic devices are bonded to the stretchable interconnects, then covered with the upper elastomeric shell comprises a 100 μm layer of Silbione containing an air pocket between the electronics and the upper elastomeric shell."). Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the cardiovascular sensing system to arrange the electrodes in a serpentine structure, as taught by Rogers, as doing so accommodates stretch and twist deformations ([0242]: "FIG. 43D provides a series of schematics illustrating the capability of the device incorporating serpentine interconnects to accommodate stretch and twist deformations without inducing levels of strain high enough to result in significant device degradation or failure.").
In regards to claim 17, Toth/Shadforth combination discloses the invention substantially as described above in claim 12.
Rogers teaches interrogating the SCG sensor with a first wireless signal having a first frequency and interrogating the SCG sensor with a second wireless signal having a second frequency different than the first frequency ([0262]: " As the neck is bridging circulatory and respiratory systems between the head and the torso, there is presence of signals with various intensity and frequency that are coupled to those physiological systems."). Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the cardiovascular sensing system to use wireless signals with different frequencies, as taught by Rogers, as doing so enables multimodal detection that can be transferred through similar enough means ([0262]: "Described herein is a wireless soft and stretchable mechano-acoustic sensing platform that provides solutions to these challenges and enables continuously monitoring of multimodal physiological information with high fidelity with Bluetooth Low Energy protocol, rechargeable Li-ion battery, and air pocket encapsulation which bypasses the effect of rigid and relatively large electronic components.").
In regards to claim 23, Toth/Shadforth/Rogers combination discloses the invention substantially as described above in claim 2.
Rogers further teaches that the LC circuit comprises a capacitive strain sensor and an inductive coil incorporated in a single laver of copper backed by a laver of polyimide ([0017]: "The electronic devices described herein may comprise a stretchable electrical interconnect, a microprocessor, an accelerometer, a stimulator, a resistor and a capacitor in electronic communication to provide sensing of vibration or motion by the accelerometer and a stimulus to a user with the stimulator. ", [0044]: "The wireless communication systems described herein may be powered by a wireless re-chargeable system. The wireless re-chargeable system may comprise one or more of a rechargeable battery, an inductive coil, a full wave rectifier, a regulator, a charging IC and PNP transistor.", [0264]: "The electronic platform is a flexible PCB (fPCB) composed of double-sided copper with polyimide as the insulation layers sandwiching the copper layer."). Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the cardiovascular sensing system to use a strain sensor and inductive coil in a layer of copper backed by polyimide , as taught by Rogers, as doing so offers a specialized, stretchable sensor which would be excellent for use in seismocardiography ([0228]: "We present a novel mechano-acoustic sensing platform (FIG. 19) that incorporates the most advanced concepts in stretchable electronics adhered on the suprasternal notch capable of providing continuous measurement, storage and analysis of key parameters of social interaction in a distributed network.").
Rogers further teaches a serpentine transition region is disposed between the inductive coil and the plurality of interdigitated electrodes and is configured to localize strain at an interface between the inductive coil and plurality of interdigitated electrodes while minimizing stress on the singlelaver of copper ([0143]: "The stretchable interconnect comprises double layer of serpentine copper trace 18 um thick each encapsulated between two 12 μm layer of polyimide (PI) having a modulus of 2.5 GPa. The electronic devices are bonded to the stretchable interconnects, then covered with the upper elastomeric shell comprises a 100 μm layer of Silbione containing an air pocket between the electronics and the upper elastomeric shell."). Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the cardiovascular sensing system to arrange the electrodes in a serpentine structure, as taught by Rogers, as doing so accommodates stretch and twist deformations ([0242]: "FIG. 43D provides a series of schematics illustrating the capability of the device incorporating serpentine interconnects to accommodate stretch and twist deformations without inducing levels of strain high enough to result in significant device degradation or failure.").
Claim(s) 11, 20, and 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Toth in view of Shadforth as described in claims 1 and 12 above, and in further view of Ledet et al. (hereinafter ‘Ledet’, U.S. PGPub No. 2014/0378783).
In regards to claim 11, Toth/Shadforth combination discloses the invention substantially as described above in claim 1.
However, Toth/Shadforth combination does not disclose that the signal received by the antenna corresponds to the S11 parameter; the S11 parameter is measured at a stimulus frequency less than a resonant frequency of the SCG sensor the resonant frequency of the SCG sensor is in a range of about 10 MHz to about 60 MHz and the stimulus frequency is offset below the resonant frequency of the SCG sensor by a fixed frequency offset of about 0.1 MHz.
Ledet teaches a sensor system that measures at frequencies around the resonant frequency of a sensor ([0069]: "The frequency sweep contained multiple points, e.g. about 100 points, usually over a 75 MHz range. For sensors of about 6 mm diameter fabricated from 38 gauge copper magnet wire, the resonant frequency ranges were from 25 to 125 MHz"). Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the cardiovascular sensing system to measure the S11 parameter at frequencies around the resonant frequency, as taught by Ledet, as doing so allows for identification of the S11 parameter instead of a physiological signal ([0069]: "The resonant frequency is visualized as a dip in a displayed S11 signal on the network analyzer, as illustrated in FIG. 7.").
In regards to claim 20, Toth/Shadforth combination discloses the invention substantially as described above in claim 12.
However, Toth/Shadforth combination does not disclose that the signal received by the antenna corresponds to the S11 parameter; the S11 parameter is measured at a stimulus frequency less than a resonant frequency of the SCG sensor the resonant frequency of the SCG sensor is in a range of about 10 MHz to about 60 MHz and the stimulus frequency is offset below the resonant frequency of the SCG sensor by a fixed frequency offset of about 0.1 MHz.
Ledet teaches a sensor system that measures at frequencies around the resonant frequency of a sensor ([0069]: "The frequency sweep contained multiple points, e.g. about 100 points, usually over a 75 MHz range. For sensors of about 6 mm diameter fabricated from 38 gauge copper magnet wire, the resonant frequency ranges were from 25 to 125 MHz"). Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the cardiovascular sensing system to measure the S11 parameter at frequencies around the resonant frequency, as taught by Ledet, as doing so allows for identification of the S11 parameter instead of a physiological signal ([0069]: "The resonant frequency is visualized as a dip in a displayed S11 signal on the network analyzer, as illustrated in FIG. 7.").
In regards to claim 22, Toth/Shadforth combination discloses the invention substantially as described above in claim 1.
However, Toth/Shadforth combination does not disclose that the controller is further configured to determine the SCG of the user based on a shift in a resonant frequency of the LC circuit.
Ledet teaches a sensor system that measures at frequencies around the resonant frequency of a sensor and could identify a shift in resonant frequency ([0069]: "The frequency sweep contained multiple points, e.g. about 100 points, usually over a 75 MHz range. For sensors of about 6 mm diameter fabricated from 38 gauge copper magnet wire, the resonant frequency ranges were from 25 to 125 MHz"). Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the cardiovascular sensing system to measure a shift of the resonant frequency, as taught by Ledet, as doing so allows for another method to identify seismocardiograms through an observable metric ([0069]: "The resonant frequency is visualized as a dip in a displayed S11 signal on the network analyzer, as illustrated in FIG. 7.").
Claim(s) 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Toth in view of Shadforth, Rogers, and Ledet
In regards to claim 24, Toth discloses a method of sensing a cardiovascular measurement of the user, comprising: interrogating, with at least one wireless signal from an external antenna, a sensor worn by a user, the sensor comprising an inductive capacitive (LC) circuit comprising a plurality of interdigitated electrodes and an inductive coil, wherein the sensor deforms in response to a strain induced by vibrations of a heart of the user ([0038]: "In some embodiments, the sensors comprise sensor patches that are coupled to the individual's skin, and the physiological signal processing system and the feature analysis system are integrated within one or more of the sensor patches.", [0084]: "In some embodiments, the vibration data collected by the vibration sensors 115 can be utilized to generate a ballistocardiograph (BCG), which comprises a graphical representation of repetitive motions of the human body due to pressure exerted on surface portions of the body arising from the sudden ejection of blood into blood vessels with each cardiac cycle.", [0140]: "The sensor patch substrate 810 is formed from a flexible, elastically deformable, and/or stretchable material."), and wherein deformation of the sensor changes a spacing between the plurality of interdigitated electrodes to alter a capacitance of the LC circuit ([0130]: "In particular, FIG. 4A illustrates an ECG waveform 410-1 and a high-pass filtered BCG waveform 420-1, which show time correlated heart valve movements and ECG signals from a site on a torso of an individual. The waveforms 410-1 and 420-1 were captured using electrodes that were positioned on a sternum of the individual with the electrodes horizontally spaced about 2 inches apart, and using sensors configured to capture electrical activity of the heart and sensors (e.g., accelerometers) to capture vibrations associated with heart valve closure events."), receiving, at the external antenna, a responsive signal from the LC circuit ([0141]: "As shown in FIG. 9, a sensor module 900 comprises one or more interconnects, sensors, optical source(s), optical detector(s), a radio frequency (RF) transmitter, an antenna, sensor communication circuitry, signal conditioning circuitry, one or more processors, a memory device, a controller, a power supply, power management circuitry, and/or energy harvesting circuitry, and one or more peripherals."), and generating a SCG for the user based, at least in part, on the received responsive signal ([0084]: "In some embodiments, the vibration data collected by the vibration sensors 115 can be utilized to generate a ballistocardiograph (BCG), which comprises a graphical representation of repetitive motions of the human body due to pressure exerted on surface portions of the body arising from the sudden ejection of blood into blood vessels with each cardiac cycle.").
However, Toth does not disclose the sensor is a seismocardiogram sensor or that the cardiovascular measurement is a seismocardiogram, a serpentine transition region which is disposed between the inductive coil and the plurality of interdigitated electrodes and is configured to localize strain at an interface between the inductive coil and the plurality of interdigitated electrodes while minimizing stress on the single layer of copper, or a resonant frequency of the LC circuit is in a range of about 10 MHz to about 60 MHz.
Shadforth teaches using a ballistocardiogram/seismocardiogram sensor to be worn on the body ([0072]: "In FIG. 1A, multiple ballistocardiogram/seismocardiogram sensors are embedded and co-located to each channel of the cardiac signal acquisition sensors and each channel of the photoplethysmographic signal acquisition sensors. In FIG. 1B, a single ballistocardiogram/seismocardiogram sensor is embedded in one channel of the cardiac signal acquisition sensors and one channel of the photoplethysmographic signal acquisition sensors."). Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the cardiovascular sensing system to use a seismocardiogram sensor, as taught by Shadforth, as doing so would provide a way to detect vibrations of the heart or chest induced by heartbeats, and is known in the art to be interchangeable with the ballistocardiography found in Toth ([0013]: "The term “ballistocardiogram” refers to a measure that reflects the flow of blood through the body, e.g., as acquired using a wearable device. One subgroup of ballistocardiogram sensors is referred to as seismocardiogram (SCG) sensors, which are more directed to a measure of vibrations as recorded by sensors mounted close to the heart. As used herein, the terms ballistocardiogram and seismocardiogram are used interchangeably. The terms ballistocardiogram and ballistocardiographic are also used interchangeably.").
Rogers further teaches a serpentine transition region is disposed between the inductive coil and the plurality of interdigitated electrodes and is configured to localize strain at an interface between the inductive coil and plurality of interdigitated electrodes while minimizing stress on the singlelaver of copper ([0143]: "The stretchable interconnect comprises double layer of serpentine copper trace 18 um thick each encapsulated between two 12 μm layer of polyimide (PI) having a modulus of 2.5 GPa. The electronic devices are bonded to the stretchable interconnects, then covered with the upper elastomeric shell comprises a 100 μm layer of Silbione containing an air pocket between the electronics and the upper elastomeric shell."). Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the cardiovascular sensing system to arrange the electrodes in a serpentine structure, as taught by Rogers, as doing so accommodates stretch and twist deformations ([0242]: "FIG. 43D provides a series of schematics illustrating the capability of the device incorporating serpentine interconnects to accommodate stretch and twist deformations without inducing levels of strain high enough to result in significant device degradation or failure.").
Ledet teaches a sensor system that measures at frequencies around the resonant frequency of a sensor in a range of about 10 MHz to about 60 MHz. ([0069]: "The frequency sweep contained multiple points, e.g. about 100 points, usually over a 75 MHz range. For sensors of about 6 mm diameter fabricated from 38 gauge copper magnet wire, the resonant frequency ranges were from 25 to 125 MHz"). Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the cardiovascular sensing system to measure the S11 parameter at frequencies around the resonant frequency, as taught by Ledet, as doing so allows for identification of the S11 parameter instead of a physiological signal ([0069]: "The resonant frequency is visualized as a dip in a displayed S11 signal on the network analyzer, as illustrated in FIG. 7.").
Conclusion
/B.M.L./Examiner, Art Unit 3796
/LYNSEY C Eiseman/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3796