Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group III, claims 14-21, in the reply filed on 5/11/26 is acknowledged.
Claims 14-22 have been examined and claims 9-13 have been withdrawn from consideration.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC §112
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
The following terms lack proper antecedent basis:
the user request – claim 20
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 14 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Walter et al, U.S. Patent Application Publication 2008/0031277 (hereinafter Walter).
As per claim 14, Walter teaches the invention as claimed comprising for a hybrid adaptive network (HAN) manager configured to manage network connections between user terminals and communications networks (figs. 1 and 2), the HAN manager comprising:
a data store comprising computer executable instructions (fig. 9); and
one or more processors configured to execute the computer executable instructions stored on the data store (fig. 9), the computer executable instructions configured to cause the HAN manager to:
determine scores for each of a plurality of compatible communications networks, the scores based on network performance parameters (610, fig. 6);
transmit the determined scores to one or more user terminals (612, fig. 6);
receive information affecting the network performance parameters (606, fig. 6); and
in response to the received information indicating a degradation in the network performance parameters for one or more affected compatible communications networks, update the scores for the one or more affected compatible communications networks (e.g., after step 612, fig. 6, receive metrics (606, fig. 6) indicating lower quality of services for the carriers, calculate the scores for the carriers (610, fig. 6)([57]).
As per claim 22, Walter teaches the invention as claimed in claim 14 above. Walter further teach comprising a network interface configured to receive network communication from the user terminals and the communications networks ([28][29]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Walter in view of Jiang et al, U.S. Patent 7,136,631 (hereinafter Jiang).
As per claim 15, Walter teaches the invention as claimed in claim 22 above. Although Walter teaches wherein the network interface is configured to send control commands to the communications networks ([27]-[29]), however, Walter is silent in regards to opened standard network interface. Jiang teaches wherein the network interface further includes an open standard network interface (col. 6, lines 52-61; col. 8, lines 27-36, 49-55)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Jiang’s teaching into Walter’s system in order to allow service providers to integrate service offerings to Walter’s system as networks and technologies evolve (col. 6, lines 52-61).
As per claim 16, Walter teaches the invention as claimed in claim 22 above. Although Walter teaches wherein the network interface is configured to receive network status information form the communications networks ([27]-[29]), however, Walter is silent in regards to opened standard network interface. Jiang teaches wherein the network interface further includes an open standard network interface (col. 6, lines 52-61; col. 8, lines 27-36, 49-55)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Jiang’s teaching into Walter’s system in order to allow service providers to integrate service offerings to Walter’s system as networks and technologies evolve (col. 6, lines 52-61).
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Walter in view of Hayes et al, U.S. Patent Application Publication 2007/0285320 (hereinafter Hayes).
As per claim 17, Walter teaches the invention as claimed in claim 14 above. Although Walter teaches wherein the communications networks include two or more communications networks (figs. 1 and 2), however, Walter is silent in regards to communications networks that operate over different frequency ranges. Hayes teaches wherein the communications networks include two or more communications networks that operate over different frequency ranges ([45]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to incorporate Hayes’s teaching into Walter’s invention in order to allow services from different networks/service providers that operate using different operation characteristics to be integrated and managed by Walter’s system, thus improving the service management of Walter’s system.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Walter in view of Razoumov et al, U.S. Patent Application Publication 2012/0058742 (hereinafter Razoumov).
As per claim 18, Walter teaches the invention as claimed in claim 14 above. Although Walter teaches wherein the communications networks include two or more communications networks (figs. 1 and 2), however, Walter is silent in regards to communications networks that operate using different network protocols. Razoumov teaches wherein the communications networks include two or more communications networks that operate using different network protocols [40].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to incorporate Razoumov’s teaching into Walter’s invention in order to allow the best network to be selected for servicing the user based on current connection criteria, thus improving the selection of service network in Walter’s system.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Walter in view of Bayesteh et al, U.S. Patent Application Publication 2014/0146754 (hereinafter Bayesteh).
As per claim 19, Walter teaches the invention as claimed in claim 14 above. Although Walter teaches wherein the communications networks include two or more communications networks (figs. 1 and 2), however, Walter is silent in regards to communications networks that operate using different waveforms. Bayesteh teaches wherein the communications networks include two or more communications networks that operate using different waveforms ([2]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to incorporate Bayesteh’s teaching into Walter’s invention in order to allow services from different networks/service providers that operate using different operation characteristics to be integrated and managed by Walter’s system, thus improving the service management of Walter’s system.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Walter in view of Guilford et al, U.S. Patent Application Publication 2002/0087674 (hereinafter Guilford).
As per claim 20, Walter teaches the invention as claimed in claim 14 above. Walter is silent in regards to the user request includes a minimum data rate. Guilford teaches wherein the user request includes a minimum data rate [45].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to incorporate Guilford’s teaching into Walter’s invention in order to allow a more optimal communication network to be selected to service the user in Walter’s system [18]
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Walter in view of Scott, U.S. Patent 10,448,226 (hereinafter Scott).
As per claim 21, Walter teaches the invention as claimed in claim 14 above. Walter is silent in regards to the score depends at least in part on previous bid compliance. Scott teaches wherein the score depends at least in part on previous bid compliance (e.g., the changes/updates to result (i.e., changes/updates to the scores. col. 9, lines 21-50) depend on previous bid compliance with service parameters (i.e., previous bid is not disqualified for having an SLA score of 0) col. 10, lines 5-28; col. 9, lines 21-37).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to incorporate Scott’s teaching into Walter’s invention in order to allow the best service provider to be selected based on received bids of the service providers (col. 2, lines 40-54)
Conclusion
be directed to Philip Lee whose telephone number is (571)272-3967. The examiner can normally be
reached on 6a-3p M-F.
Glenton Burgess can be reached on 571-272-3949. The fax phone number for the organization where this
application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained
from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available
through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair- direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic
Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer
Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR
CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/PHILIP C LEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2454