DETAILED ACTION
The Office Action is responsive to the communication filed on 07/23/2024.
Claims 1-17 are pending in the application.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 07/23/2024is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings were received on 07/23/2024. These drawings are reviewed and accepted by the Examiner.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 7 are objected to because of the following informalities: the limitation reciting “the paging occasion” should be changed to -- a paging occasion --, in line 8 of claim 1 and in line 9 of claim 7. Appropriate correction is required.
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12069608. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
Instant claim 1 is broader in scope and thus encompasses the subject matter of conflicting claim 1. Instant claim 1 does not require the “the paging message indicates to the UE that a paging Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH) carries transmission information of a Physical Downlink Shared Channel (PDSCH) within the PDCCH” of conflicting claim 1 and each of the other steps are more broadly written.
Regarding claim 1, the table below shows that claim 1 of the patent contains the elements of claim 1 of the instant application, and therefore, is an obvious variant thereof.
Instant Application 18/780,652
Patent 12069608
1.A paging indication method, applied to user equipment (UE), wherein the method comprises:
receiving indication information from a network side device, wherein the indication information is used to indicate a detection parameter used by the UE to detect a paging message, and the detection parameter is used to determine a detection manner used by the UE to detect the paging message; and
determining the detection manner based on the detection parameter; wherein if the indication information indicates that the UE detects the paging message on the (a) paging occasion, the detection manner used by the UE to detect the paging message is that the UE detects a paging PDCCH on the paging occasion.
1.A paging indication method, performed by a user equipment (UE), wherein the method comprises:
receiving, by the UE, information from a network side device, wherein the information comprises a detection parameter for the UE to determine a paging message sent on a paging occasion, wherein the detection parameter further comprises a detection manner that informs the UE as to how to detect the paging message; and
determining, by the UE, the detection manner based on the detection parameter; and wherein the detection manner is to request the UE to detect the paging message in a first detection period after the UE received the information, wherein the paging message indicates to the UE that a paging Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH) carries transmission information of a Physical Downlink Shared Channel (PDSCH) within the PDCCH.
Instant claim 2 and conflicting claim 1 correspond.
Instant claim 3 and conflicting claim 3 correspond.
Instant claim 4 and conflicting claim 4 correspond.
Instant claim 5 and conflicting claim 7 correspond with, therefore, obvious variants thereof.
Instant claim 6 and conflicting claim 8 correspond.
Instant claim 7 is broader in scope and thus encompasses the subject matter of conflicting claim 9. Instant claim 7 does not require the “the paging message indicates to the UE that a paging Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH) carries transmission information of a Physical Downlink Shared Channel (PDSCH) within the PDCCH” of conflicting claim 9 and each of the other steps are more broadly written.
Instant claim 8 and conflicting claim 9 correspond.
Instant claim 9 and conflicting claim 11 correspond.
Instant claim 10 and conflicting claim 12 correspond.
Instant claim 11 and conflicting claim 15 correspond.
Instant claim 12 is broader in scope and thus encompasses the subject matter of conflicting claim 16.
Instant claim 13 and conflicting claims 1 and 17 correspond.
Instant claim 14 and conflicting claim 18 correspond.
Instant claim 15 and conflicting claim 15 correspond.
Instant claim 16 and conflicting claim 16 correspond.
Instant claim 17 and conflicting claim 18 correspond.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5-9 and 11-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a) as being anticipated by RAN WG1 Meeting #NR-AH3.
Regarding claim 1, Meeting #NR-AH3 discloses a paging indication method, applied to user equipment (UE) (Title: “Summary on remaining details on paging”), wherein the method comprises:
receiving indication information from a network side device (Page 3, Background (2), “- Paging message is scheduled by DCI carried by NR-PDCCH”), wherein the indication information is used to indicate a detection parameter used by the UE to detect a paging message (Page 3, Background (2), “Paging message is scheduled by DCI carried by NR-PCCH and is transmitted in the associated NR-PDSCH;” also, wherein, “- Opt-1: paging indicator is in DCI”), and the detection parameter (e.g., “Paging DCI”) is used to determine a detection manner used by the UE to detect the paging message (Page 5,”Paging Mechanisms:” “Option 1: Paging DCI followed by Paging Message, - Note: These do not imply that they are consecutive;” and “Option 2: Paging group indicator triggering beam reporting and Paging DCI followed by Paging Message,” that is, the two options, indeed relate to alternative detection manners of the paging message); and
determining the detection manner based on the detection parameter (Page 5, paging Mechanisms, “Paging CI indicates use of Option 1 or 2,” that is, this indication of the manner is carried out in a corresponding signaling parameter of the paging indication), wherein if the indication information indicates that the UE detects the paging message on the paging occasion, the detection manner used by the UE to detect the paging message is that the UE detects a paging PDCCH on the paging occasion ((Page 2, - 7: Paging occasion can consist of multiple time slots (e.g. subframe or OFDM symbol). (Multiple time slots enable transmission of paging using a different set of DL TX beam(s) in each time slot, or could enable repetition - RAN1 decision,” and Page 3, Background (2): “- Paging message is scheduled by DCI carried by NR- PDCCH and is transmitted in the associated NR- PDSCH”).
Regarding claim 2, Meeting #NR-AH3 discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the detection parameter comprises whether the UE detects the paging message on a paging occasion, wherein the paging occasion is an occasion on which the UE detects the paging message in a first detection period, and the first detection period is at least one detection period after the UE receives the indication information (Page 2, - 7: Paging occasion can consist of multiple time slots (e.g. subframe or OFDM symbol). (Multiple time slots enable transmission of paging using a different set of DL TX beam(s) in each time slot, or could enable repetition - RAN1 decision,” and Page 3, Background (2): “- Paging message is scheduled by DCI carried by NR- PDCCH and is transmitted in the associated NR- PDSCH”).
Regarding claim 3, Meeting #NR-AH3 discloses the method according to claim 2, wherein the detection parameter further comprises at least one of the following: whether to send a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) on a paging occasion, a time-domain resource scheduling manner of a PDSCH used to send the paging message, reference signal activation information, an indication of system information or warning information update, a resource used to send the paging message, or a control channel sending parameter of the paging message (Page 2, - 7: Paging occasion can consist of multiple time slots (e.g. subframe or OFDM symbol). (Multiple time slots enable transmission of paging using a different set of DL TX beam(s) in each time slot, or could enable repetition - RAN1 decision,” and Page 3, Background (2): “- Paging message is scheduled by DCI carried by NR- PDCCH and is transmitted in the associated NR- PDSCH”).
Regarding claim 5, Meeting #NR-AH3 discloses the method according to claim 2, wherein a time interval between a third occasion and the paging occasion is predefined in a communications protocol, or the time interval is configured by the network side device for the UE, wherein the third occasion is an occasion on which the UE receives the indication information (Page 4: "the number of time slots in a paging occasion (PO interval) is provided in system information").
Regarding claim 6, Meeting #NR-AH3 discloses method according to claim 1, wherein the receiving indication information from a network side device comprises: receiving control information from the network side device, wherein the control information comprises the indication information; and obtaining the indication information from the control information (Page 2, - 7: Paging occasion can consist of multiple time slots (e.g. subframe or OFDM symbol). (Multiple time slots enable transmission of paging using a different set of DL TX beam(s) in each time slot, or could enable repetition - RAN1 decision,” and Page 3, Background (2): “- Paging message is scheduled by DCI carried by NR- PDCCH and is transmitted in the associated NR- PDSCH”).
Claim 7 contains subject matter similar to claim 1, and thus, is rejected under similar rationale. (WG1 Meeting #NR-AH3, page 1, “1: UE monitors paging/notification”).
Claim 8 contains subject matter similar to claim 2, and thus, is rejected under similar rationale.
Claim 9 contains subject matter similar to claim 3, and thus, is rejected under similar rationale.
Claim 11 contains subject matter similar to claim 5, and thus, is rejected under similar rationale.
Claim 12 contains subject matter similar to claim 1, and thus, is rejected under similar rationale. (WG1 Meeting #NR-AH3, page 1, “1: UE monitors paging/notification”).
Claim 13 contains subject matter similar to claim 2, and thus, is rejected under similar rationale.
Claim 14 contains subject matter similar to claim 3, and thus, is rejected under similar rationale.
Claim 15 contains subject matter similar to claim 5, and thus, is rejected under similar rationale.
Claim 16 contains subject matter similar to claim 6, and thus, is rejected under similar rationale.
Claim 17 contains subject matter similar to claim 5, and thus, is rejected under similar rationale.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over RAN WG1 Meeting #NR-AH3 in view Lin et al (EP3598814).
Regarding claim 4, RAN WG1 Meeting #NR-AH3 discloses the method according to claim 3, except wherein the resource used to send the paging message is a bandwidth part (BWP) used to send the paging message. Lin discloses Figure 1 describing paging message implementation wherein, gNB may transmit a plurality of SSBs located within a wideband aggregated carrier which is divided into a plurality of BWPs as each BWP may contain a different SSB, and some SSBs are associated with the RMSI (Lin, page 1, [0004], ll. 30-46).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use of BWP for sending paging using BWP as taught by Lin because such deployment with the multiple CD-SSBs could help the base station, gNB, to distribute the UEs in an idle mode or in an inactive mode and reduce power consumptions of UEs by balancing the loadings when such UEs enter the connected mode from the idle mode and also helps the gNB to increase capacity and more likely reduce the overall power consumptions of the UEs in general.
Claim 10 contains subject matter similar to claim 4, and thus, is rejected under similar rationale.
Conclusion
/JULIO R PEREZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2644