DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed. The following title is suggested: "DISPLAY IMAGE FOR CHANGING A PARAMETER FOR AN INHALER DEVICE."
Claim Objections
Claim 11 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 11, line 4, "differ" should be rewritten as "different."
Appropriate corrections are required.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9 and 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Actien (US 2020/0352249) in view of Lauer (US 2015/0277718).
Regarding claim 1, Actien teaches an information processing device comprising:
a controller configured to control a customization operation ([0126] describes a device e.g., a smartphone, that runs an application used to manage a vaporizer system) including
generating a display image that displays an operational object, the operational object being configured to set a parameter related to a temperature to which an aerosol source contained in a substrate is to be heated, the parameter being specified and included in control information, the parameter being configured to be used by an inhaler device that generates an aerosol by heating the aerosol source in accordance with the control information ([0003-0004, 0134, 0049, 0058], Actien pertains to a device e.g., a smartphone, used to control a vaporizer, which involves delivering a vapor/aerosol that is inhaled by a person; temperatures can be set by which material held in a substrate/cartridge is heated for delivery and inhalation; Figs. 21A-21C, [0196], the device may display a GUI whereby a user can control temperatures for heating; the figures indicate an embodiment in which a user touches an indicator and performs a sliding motion to control a temperature to be used for a particular time; this generates information used to providing heating), and
changing the parameter included in control information, based on a user operation performed with the operational object displayed in the generated display image (Figs. 21A-21C, [0196], using a sliding operation, a user can adjust a temperature setting).
However, Actien does not expressly disclose wherein the controller is configured to, when repeatedly performing the customization operation, set a method for changing the parameter for the customization operation to be subsequently performed, based on an adjustment pattern of the parameter in the customization operation previously performed.
In the same field of endeavor, Lauer teaches wherein the controller is configured to, when repeatedly performing the customization operation, set a method for changing the parameter for the customization operation to be subsequently performed, based on an adjustment pattern of the parameter in the customization operation previously performed (Figs. 1A, 1B, [0030-0034, 0044], Lauer indicates it is known to similarly use a slider to indicate a value; in Lauer, as seen in the figure, the user can slide a slider 110 along a track/axis; when the value is changed using the slider, the slider range and increments are adjusted based on the last customization/adjustment operation; as noted in [0032, 0034], for example, the newly changed value becomes the center value for the slider; the range may be modified e.g., it may be double the center value; the increment values may also be adjusted; see for example [0044], which notes that the range and intervals may be adjusted based on the difference between a minimum value of the range and the slider position, where the former can be set by the user; this allows allow a user to make fine-grain changes around a value more easily using much lower intervals/increments, if they have already made very small adjustments near the value).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have incorporated wherein the controller is configured to, when repeatedly performing the customization operation, set a method for changing the parameter for the customization operation to be subsequently performed, based on an adjustment pattern of the parameter in the customization operation previously performed as suggested in Lauer into Actien because Actien and Lauer pertain to analogous fields of technology. Both Actien and Lauer pertain to graphica user interfaces, where a user perform a sliding operation to adjust a parameter e.g., the heating temperature for a vaporizer. In Lauer, the user slides a slider along a track, and additionally features of the slider mechanism e.g., the range, the center value, the increments etc., are automatically adjusted depending on the user's previous adjustment operations. It would be desirable to incorporate this feature into Actien to facilitate desired adjustments of vaporizer temperature e.g., see Lauer Figs. 1A, 1B, [0030-0034, 0044].
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Actien and Lauer teaches the invention as claimed in claim 1. The combination of Actien and Lauer also teaches wherein
the display image includes an axis on which the operational object is movably positioned,
and
the controller is configured to
change the parameter based on a position of the operational object on the axis during the customization operation, and
set a correspondence relation for the customization operation to be subsequently performed between the position on the axis and a value to be set as the parameter when the operational object is located at the position, based on the adjustment pattern of the parameter in the customization operation previously performed (Lauer Figs. 1A, 1B, [0030-0034, 0044], Lauer indicates it is known to similarly use a slider to indicate a value; in Lauer, as seen in the figure, the user can slide a slider 110 along a track/axis; when the value is changed using the slider, the slider range and increments are adjusted based on the last customization/adjustment operation; as noted in Lauer [0032, 0034], for example, the newly changed value becomes the center value for the slider; the range may be modified e.g., it may be double the center value; the increment values may also be adjusted; see for example Lauer [0044], which notes that the range and intervals may be adjusted based on the difference between a minimum value of the range and the slider position, where the former can be set by the user; this allows allow a user to make fine-grain changes around a value more easily using much lower intervals/increments, if they have already made very small adjustments near the value).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Actien and Lauer teaches the invention as claimed in claim 2. The combination of Actien and Lauer also teaches wherein
the controller is configured to
during the customization operation, set the parameter to a specific value obtained by adding or subtracting a second value that corresponds to a difference between a reference position on the axis and the position of the operational object to or from a first value that corresponds to the reference position, and
set the first value for the customization operation to be subsequently performed, based on the parameter that is set for the customization operation previously performed (Lauer Figs. 1A, 1B, [0030-0034, 0044], Lauer indicates it is known to similarly use a slider to indicate a value; in Lauer, as seen in the figure, the user can slide a slider 110 along a track/axis; when the value is changed using the slider, the slider range and increments are adjusted based on the last customization/adjustment operation; naturally, the amount the user slides in a particular direction adds to or subtracts from the current value; as noted in Lauer [0032, 0034], for example, the newly changed value becomes the center value for the slider; the range may be modified e.g., it may be double the center value; the increment values may also be adjusted; see for example Lauer [0044], which notes that the range and intervals may be adjusted based on the difference between a minimum value of the range and the slider position, where the former can be set by the user; this allows allow a user to make fine-grain changes around a value more easily using much lower intervals/increments, if they have already made very small adjustments near the value; see also Actien [0196], the system displays a current value; the system adds or subtracts from this value when a user perform a sliding gesture; see also Lauer [0030, 0032], the initial value may correspond to a center/reference position for the slider).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Actien and Lauer teaches the invention as claimed in claim 3. The combination of Actien and Lauer also teaches wherein
the controller is configured to set the first value for the customization operation to be subsequently performed to the parameter that is set for the customization operation previously
performed (Lauer Figs. 1A, 1B, [0030-0034, 0044], Lauer indicates it is known to similarly use a slider to indicate a value; in Lauer, as seen in the figure, the user can slide a slider 110 along a track/axis; when the value is changed using the slider, the slider range and increments are adjusted based on the last customization/adjustment operation; naturally, the amount the user slides in a particular direction adds to or subtracts from the current value; as noted in Lauer [0032, 0034], for example, the newly changed value becomes the center value for the slider).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Actien and Lauer teaches the invention as claimed in claim 2. The combination of Actien and Lauer also teaches wherein the controller is configured to
during the customization operation, set the parameter to a specific value obtained by adding or subtracting a second value that corresponds to a distance between a reference position on the axis and the position of the operational object to or from a first value that corresponds to the reference position, and
set the second value per unit distance for the customization operation to be subsequently performed, based on a change amount of the parameter in the customization operation previously performed (Lauer Figs. 1A, 1B, [0030-0034, 0044], Lauer indicates it is known to similarly use a slider to indicate a value; in Lauer, as seen in the figure, the user can slide a slider 110 along a track/axis; when the value is changed using the slider, the slider range and increments are adjusted based on the last customization/adjustment operation; naturally, the amount the user slides in a particular direction adds to or subtracts from the current value; as noted in Lauer [0032, 0034], for example, the newly changed value becomes the center value for the slider; the range may be modified e.g., it may be double the center value; the increment values may also be adjusted; see for example Lauer [0044], which notes that the range and intervals may be adjusted based on the difference between a minimum value of the range and the slider position, where the former can be set by the user; this allows allow a user to make fine-grain changes around a value more easily using much lower intervals/increments, if they have already made very small adjustments near the value; see also Actien [0196], the system displays a current value; the system adds or subtracts from this value when a user perform a sliding gesture; the faster a user slides, the larger the intervals may become).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Actien and Lauer teaches the invention as claimed in claim 5. The combination of Actien and Lauer also teaches wherein
the controller is configured to increase the second value per unit distance for the customization operation to be subsequently performed as the change amount of the parameter in the customization operation previously performed increases, and to decrease the second value per unit distance for the customization operation to be subsequently performed as the change amount of the parameter during the customization operation previously performed decreases (Lauer Figs. 1A, 1B, [0030-0034, 0044], Lauer indicates it is known to similarly use a slider to indicate a value; in Lauer, as seen in the figure, the user can slide a slider 110 along a track/axis; when the value is changed using the slider, the slider range and increments are adjusted based on the last customization/adjustment operation; naturally, the amount the user slides in a particular direction adds to or subtracts from the current value; as noted in Lauer [0032, 0034], for example, the newly changed value becomes the center value for the slider; the range may be modified e.g., it may be double the center value; the increment values may also be adjusted; see for example Lauer [0044], which notes that the range and intervals may be adjusted based on the difference between a minimum value of the range and the slider position, where the former can be set by the user; this allows allow a user to make fine-grain changes around a value more easily using much lower intervals/increments, if they have already made very small adjustments near the value; for example, based on Lauer [0034-0039] and [0044], if there is a minimum A and the increments are based on a difference between the minimum and the user changes the parameter, a very large change will result in higher increments than a very small change).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Actien and Lauer teaches the invention as claimed in claim 5. The combination of Actien and Lauer also teaches wherein
the controller is configured to set the second value per unit distance for the customization operation to be subsequently performed such that an integer multiple of the second value per unit distance for the customization operation to be subsequently performed matches the change amount of the parameter in the customization operation previously performed (Actien [0176] contemplates a change from 150 to 180; according to the calculations of Lauer [0034-0039], assuming the minimum value is 0, this could result in a step increment of 1 i.e., the closest power of 10 is 100, divided by 100 is 1; the difference of 30 between 150 and 180 is an integer multiple of the increment of 1; additionally, per Lauer [0044], the user can set the minimum value to any value; thus, assuming the increment is based on the difference between the slider position and any minimum value, it is predictable that the claim requirement can be satisfied.)
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Actien and Lauer teaches the invention as claimed in claim 3. The combination of Actien and Lauer also teaches wherein
an initial position of the operational object in the display image is the reference position on the axis (Lauer Figs. 1A, 1B, [0030-0034, 0044], Lauer indicates it is known to similarly use a slider to indicate a value; in Lauer, as seen in the figure, the user can slide a slider 110 along a track/axis; when the value is changed using the slider, the slider range and increments are adjusted based on the last customization/adjustment operation; as noted in Lauer [0032, 0034], for example, the newly changed value becomes the center value for the slider).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Actien and Lauer teaches the invention as claimed in claim 8. The combination of Actien and Lauer also teaches wherein
the reference position is a center of the axis (Lauer Figs. 1A, 1B, [0030-0034, 0044], Lauer indicates it is known to similarly use a slider to indicate a value; in Lauer, as seen in the figure, the user can slide a slider 110 along a track/axis; when the value is changed using the slider, the slider range and increments are adjusted based on the last customization/adjustment operation; as noted in Lauer [0032, 0034], for example, the newly changed value becomes the center value for the slider).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Actien and Lauer teaches the invention as claimed in claim 2. The combination of Actien and Lauer also teaches wherein
the controller is configured to display a portion of the axis corresponding to a value to be set as the parameter in a differ manner from a portion of the axis corresponding to a value not to
be set as the parameter in the display image (Lauer Figs. 1A, 1B, [0030-0034, 0044], a user slides a slider along an axis to indicate a desired temperature adjustment; naturally, when the slider is moved in this manner, the portion of the slider axis with the moved slider i.e., indicating how the parameter will be set, will appear different than the portion of the slider axis where the slider has not been moved i.e., indicating an area that was not selected by the user).
Regarding claim 12, the claim corresponds to claim 1 and is rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 13, the claim corresponds to claim 1 and is rejected for the same reasons. The combination of Actien and Lauer also teaches a non-transitory computer readable medium having a program stored therein, the program configured to cause a computer to operate as a controller that controls a customization operation (Actien [0126] teaches an app running on a portable device; inherently, such an app utilizes memory and instructions; see also Lauer [0027]).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Actien and Lauer, as applied in claim 2, and further in view of Cao (US 2022/0391393).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Actien and Lauer teaches the invention as claimed in claim 2. The combination of Actien and Lauer also teaches
the axis is one of one or more axes that are included in the display image and each provided with the operational object movably positioned, and the plurality of axes respectively correspond to a plurality of puff timings (Actien [0176] teaches that a user can make and record multiple temperature adjustments to a vaporizer for different times, with each adjustment corresponding to a number of puffs; Actien Figs. 19D-19E, 21A-21C, [0196] note that a slider can be used by a user to adjust the temperature for a particular time; see also Lauer Figs. 1A, 1B [0030-0034, 0044], a slider mechanism for making such adjustments can involve a slider object that can be movably repositioned along an axis);
the controller is configured to set the parameter for each puff timing based on the position of the operational object on each axis (Actien [0176] teaches that a user can make and record multiple temperature adjustments to a vaporizer for different times, with each adjustment corresponding to a number of puffs; Actien Figs. 19D-19E, 21A-21C, [0196] note that a slider can be used by a user to adjust the temperature for a particular time; see also Lauer Figs. 1A, 1B [0030-0034, 0044], a slider mechanism for making such adjustments can involve a slider object that can be movably repositioned along an axis).
However, the combination of Actien and Lauer does not expressly disclose the one or more axes are a plurality of axes.
In the same field of endeavor, Cao teaches the one or more axes are a plurality of axes (Fig. 2A, [0020], it is known, in a single interface, to present multiple slider mechanisms that each correspond to a different attribute).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have incorporated the one or more axes are a plurality of axes as suggested in Cao into Actien and Lauer because Actien/Lauer and Cao pertain to analogous fields of technology. Actien/Lauer pertains to a system for adjusting a temperature for a vaporizer for a particular time, using a slider mechanism. As noted above, Actien/Lauer also contemplates setting up and programming multiple temperature adjustments for the vaporizer, to be executed at different times, where each adjustment is associated with different numbers of puffings e.g., see Actien [0176]. Cao teaches that when a user wants to adjust multiple parameters in a single interface, it is known to accordingly present multiple corresponding slider mechanisms. It would be obvious to modify the invention of Actien/Lauer, such that the multiple, time-based temperature adjustments can be made with multiple slider mechanisms in a single interface, as seen in Cao. It would be desirable to incorporate this feature into Actien/Lauer to make it easier to program the temperature adjustments e.g., see Cao Figs. 2A, [0020].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Heidl (US 2019/0289915) teaches a graphical user interface for controlling temperatures of a vaporizer at different times e.g., see Heidl Figs. 12A-12B, [0099].
/ERIC J YOON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2118