DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
This Office Action is responsive to the amendment filed June 16, 2026. As directed by the amendment: Claim 1 has been amended. Claims 1-15 are presently pending in this application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the periphery of each of the plurality of inserts." in the last line. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 2-15 are rejected on being dependent to a rejected base claim.
Examiner’s Note
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 6-13, and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Theofilos (US 2014/0214166) in view of Duffield et al. (US 2013/0060339), herein referred to as Duffield, and further in view of Sournac et al. (US 2013/0053967), herein referred to as Sournac.
Regarding claim 1, Theofilos discloses an intervertebral implant (200) (figures 6A-7) for implantation in an intervertebral space between adjacent vertebrae (¶2), the implant (200) comprising a spacer (140+210) having a superior surface (e.g. considered as a top surface, see figures 6A-7 below), an inferior surface (e.g. considered as a bottom surface, see figures 6A-7 below), a proximal end (see figures 6A-7 below), and a distal end (see figures 6A-7 below), wherein the superior surface (e.g. considered as a top surface, see figures 6A-7 below) and the inferior surface (e.g. considered as a bottom surface, see figures 6A-7 below) each have a contact area (see figures 6A-7 below) configured to (i.e. capable of) engage adjacent vertebrae (¶2), the spacer (140+210) defining an opening (see figure 6A below) extending from the superior surface (e.g. considered as a top surface, see figure 6A below) to the inferior surface (e.g. considered as a bottom surface, see figure 6A below) of the spacer (140+210), and the spacer (140+210) defining a plurality of cutouts (see figures 6A-7 below) in the proximal end (see figures 6A-7 below), wherein a proximal end of the plurality of cutouts (see figures 6A-7 below) is completely open to one of the superior surface (e.g. considered as a top surface, see figures 6A-7 below) and the inferior surface (e.g. considered as a bottom surface, see figures 6A-7 below), and a plurality of inserts (elements 192), each insert (192) at least partially defining a fastener aperture (see figures 6A-7 below) sized and dimensioned for (i.e. capable of) receiving a fastener (170), wherein each insert (elements 192) is coupled to the spacer (140+210) such that at least a portion of each insert (192) is received in a cutout of the plurality of cutouts (see figures 6A-7 below) in the spacer (140+210), wherein the superior surface (e.g. considered as a top surface, see figures 6A-7 below) and the inferior surface (e.g. considered as a bottom surface, see figures 6A-7 below) have a roughened (234) or porous surface (see figures 6A-7 below).
Yet, Theofilos lacks wherein the proximal end includes a cam-style blocking mechanism that prevents backout of the fastener received in one of the plurality of inserts.
However, Duffield teaches a proximal end (figures 10-12) includes a cam-style blocking mechanism (38) that prevents backout of a fastener (36 or 37) (¶32).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide Theofilos’s implant with wherein the proximal end includes a cam-style blocking mechanism as taught by Duffield, since such a modification would provide additional securement/anti-backout mechanism (¶32).
The modified Theofilos’s implant further lacks wherein a top portion of each of the plurality of inserts is continuously connected around the periphery of each of the plurality of inserts.
However, Sournac teaches a top portion of each of the plurality of inserts (elements 4) is continuously connected around a periphery of each of the plurality of inserts (figure 9).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the modified Theofilos’s implant having a plurality of inserts with wherein a top portion of each of the plurality of inserts is continuously connected around a periphery of each of the plurality of inserts as taught by Sournac, since such a modification is a mere substitution of one retaining ring for another to yield predictable results.
Regarding claim 2, the modified Theofilos’s implant has wherein the plurality of cutouts are two cutouts (see figures 6A-7 above) and the plurality of inserts (elements 4 of Sournac) are two inserts (elements 4 of Sournac).
Regarding claim 3, the modified Theofilos’s implant has wherein the spacer (140+210 of Theofilos) is formed of a first material (¶56 of Theofilos) and the insert (4 of Sournac) is formed of a second material (¶49 of Sournac) different from the first material (¶56 of Theofilos).
Regarding claim 6, the modified Theofilos’s implant has wherein at least one cutout of the plurality of cutouts (see figures 6A-7 of Theofilos above) is in fluid communication with the opening (see figure 6A of Theofilos above) and extends from the superior surface (e.g. considered as a top surface, see figures 6A-7 of Theofilos above) towards the inferior surface (e.g. considered as a bottom surface, see figures 6A-7 of Theofilos above) of the spacer (140+210 of Theofilos).
Regarding claim 7, the modified Theofilos’s implant has wherein at least one cutout of the plurality of cutouts (see figures 6A-7 of Theofilos above) is in fluid communication with the opening (see figure 6A of Theofilos above) and extends from the inferior surface (e.g. considered as a bottom surface, see figures 6A-7 of Theofilos above) towards the superior surface (e.g. considered as a top surface, see figures 6A-7 of Theofilos above) of the spacer (140+210 of Theofilos).
Regarding claim 8, the modified Theofilos’s implant has wherein at least one cutout of the plurality of cutouts (see figures 6A-7 of Theofilos above) extends from a proximal edge of the proximal end of the spacer to the opening (see figures 6A-7 of Theofilos above).
Regarding claim 9, the modified Theofilos’s implant has wherein each insert of the plurality of inserts (elements 4 of Sournac) is configured to (i.e. capable of) secure to a corresponding cutout of the spacer with a press-fit or friction-fit engagement (¶51 of Sournac).
Regarding claim 10, the modified Theofilos’s implant has wherein a depth of an insert of the plurality of inserts (elements 4 of Sournac) is less than a depth of the proximal end of the spacer (see figures 6A-7 of Theofilos above) such that the insert (elements 4 of Sournac) does not extend completely through the cutout when secured in the cutout (see figures 6A-7 of Theofilos above).
Regarding claim 11, the modified Theofilos’s implant has wherein the plurality of cutouts (see figures 6A-7 of Theofilos above) are in fluid communication with the opening (see figure 6A of Theofilos above).
Regarding claim 12, the modified Theofilos’s implant has wherein the superior surface (e.g. considered as a top surface, see figures 6A-7 of Theofilos above) and the inferior surface (e.g. considered as a bottom surface, see figures 6A-7 of Theofilos above) contain projections (234 of Theofilos) to engage the adjacent vertebrae (¶69 of Theofilos).
Regarding claim 13, the modified Theofilos’s implant has wherein the cam-style blocking mechanism (38 of Duffield) is configured to (i.e. capable of) block a head of a fastener (170 of Theofilos) in a first position (figure 10 of Duffield) and unblock the head of the fastener (170 of Theofilos) in a second position (figure 11 of Duffield).
Regarding claim 15, the modified Theofilos’s implant has wherein the fastener comprises a bone screw (170 of Theofilos).
Claim(s) 4 and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Theofilos, Duffield, Sournac as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Anderson et al. (US 2009/0326580), herein referred to as Anderson.
Regarding claim 4, the modified Theofilos’s implant discloses all the features/elements as claimed but lacks wherein each insert of the plurality of inserts comprises a ring comprising a plurality of slits, wherein each slit of the plurality of slits is longitudinally positioned around a periphery of the ring.
However, Anderson teaches an insert (26) (figure 8) comprises a ring (figure 8) comprising a plurality of slits (elements 54) (¶103 and figures 8-10), wherein each slit of the plurality of slits (elements 54) is longitudinally positioned around a periphery of the ring (figures 8-10).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the modified Theofilos’s implant having a plurality of inserts with a ring comprising a plurality of slits, wherein each slit of the plurality of slits is longitudinally positioned around a periphery of the ring as taught by Anderson, since such a modification would provide an alternative ring, wherein Theofilos clearly contemplates other locking mechanisms are contemplated (¶66).
Regarding claim 5, the modified Theofilos’s implant discloses all the features/elements as claimed but lacks wherein each insert of the plurality of inserts comprises a partial ring comprising a plurality of slits, wherein each slit of the plurality of slits is longitudinally positioned around a periphery of the partial ring.
However, Anderson teaches an insert (26) (figure 8) comprises a partial ring (figure 8) comprising a plurality of slits (elements 54) (¶103 and figures 8-10), wherein each slit of the plurality of slits (elements 54) is longitudinally positioned around a periphery of the partial ring (figures 8-10).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the modified Theofilos’s implant having a plurality of inserts with a partial ring comprising a plurality of slits, wherein each slit of the plurality of slits is longitudinally positioned around a periphery of the partial ring as taught by Anderson, since such a modification would provide an alternative ring, wherein Theofilos clearly contemplates other locking mechanisms are contemplated (¶66).
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Theofilos, Duffield, Sournac as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kotlus (US 2013/0238096).
Regarding claim 14, the modified Theofilos’s implant discloses all the features/elements as claimed but lacks a detailed description on wherein the spacer is manufactured using a 3D printer.
However, Kotlus teaches an implant fabricated by a 3D printer (¶33), thus creating a custom implant for the patient (¶38).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the modified Theofilos’s implant to be fabricated by a 3D printer as taught by Kotlus, since such a modification would create a custom implant for the patient.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed June 16, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s arguments on page 5, under 35 U.S.C. 103, of the Remarks are directed to amended claim 1 and the reference Theofilos. Applicant argues that the cited references fail to disclose the amended feature of “top portion of each of the plurality of inserts is continuously connected around the periphery of each of the plurality of inserts”. Thus, the Examiner has relied upon the reference Sournac to teach this feature, see Office Action above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SI MING KU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3775