DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment of claims 1 and 15-18 are entered and considered by examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-6, 8-9, 11-13 and 15-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aoyama et al (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2015/0170422; already of record in IDS) in view of Ko et al (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2016/0028960; already of record) and in view of Li et al (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2017/0011555).
Regarding claim 1, Aoyama discloses an image display apparatus (HMD 10), (fig. 1a, [0034]), the image display apparatus comprising:
processor circuitry (11); and
one or more computer readable media (15) having stored thereon instructions that, when executed with the processor circuitry (11), (fig. 2a, [0038-0039]), cause the apparatus to, at least, to:
produce a planar image (map information 82) having a perspective associated with an orientation of an image display apparatus (i.e. orientation of fig. 3a), the planar image representing virtual objects (82) in a virtual world (i.e. virtual screen 80), (fig. 3a, [0034 and 0055]); and
display the planar image (82) on the image display apparatus (10) in a display mode that changes a shape (i.e. map information 82 changes shape as shown in fig. 11c) of the planar image as a function of a change in the orientation of the image display apparatus (i.e. change in orientation as shown in fig. 10b), (figs. 9-10 and 11c, [0074-0077]).
However, Aoyama does not mention the image display apparatus comprises at least one non-see-through portion.
In a similar field of endeavor, Ko teaches the image display apparatus (100) comprises at least one non-see-through portion (i.e. display 120 is non-see-through); and
display the planar image (17) on the at least one non-see-through portion (120) of the image display apparatus (100) in a display mode that changes a shape of the planar image as a function of a change in the orientation of the image display apparatus (i.e. fig. 5b shows that when the image photographing apparatus 100 is at a degree of inclination, a technical method of reducing or expanding the screen frame 17 may be performed), wherein the change in the shape of the planar image (17) comprises presenting the planar image (17) in an orientation other than a front direction of a user (i.e. fig. 5b shows that the edge areas 17-1, 17-2, 17-3, 17-4 of a screen frame of the live view deviates from a display screen, the image processor 140 may reduce a size of a rotated subject image and a screen frame, hence the screen frame 17 is at an orientation that is not in front direction of the user but at a degree of inclination), (fig. 5b, [0062-0064]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Aoyama, by specifically providing the concept of having the screen frame not displayed entirely on the display and some parts are cut out, as taught by Ko, for the purpose of easily photographs a subject horizontally or vertically, [0017].
However, Aoyama in view of Ko does not mention generate a video for a left eye from a first viewpoint and a video for a right eye from a second viewpoint facing.
In a similar field of endeavor, Li teaches place the planar image (i.e. right LCD 241 for outputting image light) on a virtual screen in a virtual space (i.e. image light is guided to output from display drivers 22 and 24 to the eyes of the user as a virtual image), generate a video for a left eye (i.e. left LCD 242 for outputting image light) from a first viewpoint (i.e. viewpoint from left light guide plate 262) and a video for a right eye (i.e. right LCD 241 for outputting image light) from a second viewpoint (i.e. viewpoint from right light guide plate 261) facing the virtual screen, and change the first viewpoint and the second viewpoint with the change in orientation of the image display apparatus (i.e. steps SC201 and SC210 for alignment between marker image IMG and actual marker MK2 for the right optical image display section; and steps SC205 and 230 for alignment between marker image IMG and actual marker MK2 for the left optical image display section), (figs. 2 and 27, [0075, 0094, 0258-0259 and 0262]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Aoyama in view of Ko, by specifically providing a video for a left eye from a first viewpoint and a video for a right eye from a second viewpoint, as taught by Li, for the purpose of improving convenience with respect to an AR function, [0005].
Regarding claim 2, Aoyama discloses wherein the shape of the planar image (i.e. rotation of the virtual screen 80 and changes shape of the map information 82 as shown in fig. 11c) changes through projective transformation (i.e. display/projection unit 17 is to display the drawing object on the drawing position of the virtual screen), (fig. 10a-10b and 11c, [0074 and 0077]).
Regarding claim 4, Aoyama discloses wherein the planar image (82) comprises a system menu (i.e. map information 82), (fig. 9a, [0074]).
Regarding claim 5, Aoyama discloses wherein the instructions further cause the apparatus to: display a marker image indicating a change posture of the user (i.e. arrow indicating that the map information 82 is moving from lower left position to the upper left position of the virtual screen 80), (figs. 10-10b, [0074]).
Regarding claim 6, Aoyama discloses wherein the marker image indicates a direction (i.e. arrow as shown in fig. 10b, [0074]).
Regarding claim 8, please refer to claim 1 for details.
Regarding claim 9, please refer to claim 2 for details.
Regarding claim 11, please refer to claim 4 for details.
Regarding claim 12, please refer to claim 5 for details.
Regarding claim 13, please refer to claim 6 for details.
Regarding claim 15, Aoyama discloses a non-transitory, computer readable storage medium containing a computer program, which when executed by a computer [0012], causes the computer to carry out actions for controlling an image display apparatus (10), (fig. 1a, [0034]), the actions comprising:
producing a planar image (map information 82) representing virtual objects (82) in a virtual world (virtual screen 80), wherein the planar image comprises characteristics that enable the image display apparatus (10) to simulate a see-through image display apparatus (i.e. HMD 10 is see through) that permits a user to visually recognize real world objects located in a real space (i.e. fig. 3a shows the user visually recognizing real world objects such as buildings in a real space), (fig. 3a, [0034 and 0055]); and
displaying the planar image (82) on the image display apparatus (10) in a display mode that changes a shape of the planar image (i.e. map information 82 changes shape as shown in fig. 11c) as a function of a change in an orientation of the image display apparatus, (i.e. change in orientation as shown in fig. 10b), (figs. 9-10 and 11c, [0074-0077]).
However, Aoyama does not mention the image display apparatus comprises at least one non-see-through portion.
In a similar field of endeavor, Ko teaches the image display apparatus (100) comprises at least one non-see-through portion (i.e. display 120 is non-see-through); and
displaying the planar image (17) on at least one non-see-through portion (120) of the image display apparatus (100) in a display mode that changes a shape of the planar image as a function of a change in an orientation of the image display apparatus (i.e. fig. 5b shows that when the image photographing apparatus 100 is at a degree of inclination, a technical method of reducing or expanding the screen frame 17 may be performed), wherein the change in the shape of the planar image (17) comprises presenting the planar image in an orientation other than a front direction of the user (i.e. fig. 5b shows that the edge areas 17-1, 17-2, 17-3, 17-4 of a screen frame of the live view deviates from a display screen, the image processor 140 may reduce a size of a rotated subject image and a screen frame, hence the screen frame 17 is at an orientation that is not in front direction of the user but at a degree of inclination), (fig. 5b, [0062-0064]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Aoyama, by specifically providing the concept of having the screen frame not displayed entirely on the display and some parts are cut out, as taught by Ko, for the purpose of easily photographs a subject horizontally or vertically, [0017].
Regarding claim 16, please refer to claim 15 for details.
Regarding claim 17, please refer to claim 1 for details.
Regarding claim 18, please refer to claim 1 for details.
Regarding claim 19, Li discloses wherein the first viewpoint (i.e. viewpoint from left light guide plate 262) and the second viewpoint (i.e. viewpoint from right light guide plate 261) are horizontally arranged side by side at a predetermined distance from each other (i.e. light guide plates 262 and 261 are arranged side by side and a predetermined distance from each other), (fig. 2, [0075]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Aoyama in view of Ko, by specifically providing the first viewpoint and the second viewpoint, as taught by Li, for the purpose of improving convenience with respect to an AR function, [0005].
Regarding claim 20, Li discloses wherein, when the orientation changes, the first viewpoint and the second viewpoint rotate in a same rotational direction as the orientation change and by a same amount of rotation (i.e. steps SC210 and SC230 teaches to align the marker image and the real marker), (fig. 27, [0261-0262]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Aoyama in view of Ko, by specifically alignment changes, as taught by Li, for the purpose of improving convenience with respect to an AR function, [0005].
Claim(s) 3, 7, 10 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aoyama in view of Ko in view of Li and in view of Nishizawa (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2016/0109703; already of record in IDS).
Regarding claim 3, Aoyama in view of Ko and in view of Li discloses everything as specified above in claim 1. However, Aoyama in view of Ko and in view of Li does not mention a touch panel.
In a similar field of endeavor, Nishizawa teaches further comprising a touch panel (14) that issues instructions to change a display size of the planar video (display image), (fig. 1, [0032-0034 and 0041-0042]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Aoyama in view of Ko and in view of Li, by specifically providing the touch panel, as taught by Nishizawa, for the purpose of having improving user convenience [0009].
Regarding claim 7, Aoyama in view of Ko and in view of Li discloses everything as specified above in claim 1. However, Aoyama in view of Ko and in view of Li does not mention display the planar image on the image display apparatus in another display mode in which the planar image is displayed in a front direction of the user irrespective of the change in position and/or orientation of the video display apparatus.
In a similar field of endeavor, Nishizawa teaches wherein the instructions that, when executed, further cause the processor circuitry (140), (fig. 2, [0046]), to:
display the planar image (image data) on the image display apparatus (20) in another display mode (i.e. normal display, step S32) in which the planar image is displayed in a front direction of the user irrespective of the change in position or orientation of the image display apparatus (i.e. in the normal display mode S32, the image being displayed is irrespective of the change in the user’s head orientation), (figs. 2 and 5, [0064 and 0072]); and
switch between the display mode (i.e. steps S16-S30) and the other display mode (steps S32) based on a given condition (i.e. condition of step S14), (fig. 5, [0064]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Aoyama in view of Ko and in view of Li, by specifically providing the different display modes, as taught by Nishizawa, for the purpose of having improving user convenience [0009].
Regarding claim 10, please refer to claim 3 for details.
Regarding claim 14, please refer to claim 7 for details.
Claim(s) 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aoyama in view of Ko in view of Li and in view of Salter (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2014/0375683).
Regarding claim 21, Aoyama in view of Ko and in view of Li discloses everything as specified above in claim 1. However, Aoyama in view of Ko and in view of Li does not mention a marker image indicating a direction for displaying the planar image again when the planar image moves outside a display area.
In a similar field of endeavor, Salter teaches wherein the instructions further cause the apparatus to include, in a display video (i.e. augmented reality imagery) , a marker image (410) indicating a direction for displaying the planar image again when the planar image moves outside a display area (i.e. markers 410, 412 and 414 positioned at the right side of the field of view 102 may indicate objects positioned ot the right of the user outside the user’s field of view, and thus may indicate a direction to turn to view the corresponding objects), (fig. 4, [0024-0025]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Aoyama in view of Ko and in view of Li, as taught by Salter for the purpose of informing the user where certain objects are located outside the field of view of the user.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 8 and 15-18 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
In view of amendment, the reference of Li has been added for new grounds of rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Inquiries
/LONG D PHAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2623