Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
The double patenting rejections are withdrawn in light of the terminal disclaimer filed on 1/16/2026 and approved on 1/18/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4,6-7,11-17,19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over van de Ven et al (us 2014/0092755) (hereinafter Vandeven) in view of Lin et al (us 2012/0327849) (hereinafter Lin) and further in view of Pointer (us 2009/0103515).
As regarding claim 1, Vandeven discloses disconnecting a wireless device from a wireless network (see Vandeven 0016, re-establish connection with the wireless access point, it is obvious that the wireless device is disconnecting before the re-establish of connection with the access point); after disconnecting the wireless device from the wireless network, re-establish, wherein, upon re-establish, memories of the wireless device are reset while preserving connection data stored in the wireless device (see Vandeven 0016, 0031-0032, logging the past and present connection information, when re-establish connection with wireless access point, use the stored connection information); to establish a connection with a first router of the wireless network using a wireless communication protocol via a first channel of the wireless communication protocol, the wireless communication protocol comprising N channels, N being a positive integer (see Vandeven 0016, use historical connection with one or more access points); and responsive to a successful attempt by the wireless device to establish the connection with the first router using the first channel, restoring a connection parameter from a previous connection to the first router based on the preserved connection data (see Vandeven 0016-0017, 0032 re-establish connection with selected access point using the stored connection parameter).
Vandeven is silent in regard to the concept of waking up the wireless device, wherein, upon wake-up of the wireless device and after waking up the wireless device, attempting, by the wireless device, to establish a connection.
Lin teaches the concept of waking up the wireless device, wherein, upon wake-up of the wireless device and after waking up the wireless device, attempting, by the wireless device, to establish a connection (see Lin 0008, 0022-0024, upon waking up from disconnection, start connection with the previous access point using the stored connection information).
It would have been obvious to one with an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Lin to Vandeven because they're analogous art. A person would have been motivated to modify Vandeven with Lin’s teaching for the purpose of efficiently allowing the device to connect with the access point quickly after waking up.
The combination of Vandeven-Lin is silent in regard to the concept of connection data comprises at least one of socket that is open.
Pointer teaches the concept of connection data comprises at least one of socket that is open (see Pointer, 0023,0028-0029, the wireless device preserved the user session with the remote device where the open socket connection is maintained for a specified time period).
It would have been obvious to one with an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Pointer to Vandeven-Lin because they're analogous art. A person would have been motivated to modify Vandeven-Lin with Pointer’s teaching for the purpose of reducing the burden on the end user and reducing the time for reestablish the connection with the remote device (see Pointer 0009).
As regarding claim 2, Vandeven-Lin-Pointer discloses the memories of the wireless device comprise non-volatile memory and random access memory (RAM) (see Vandeven 0012,0025,0033, memory such as ram).
As regarding claim 3, Vandeven-Lin-Pointer discloses the preserved connection data comprises an indication of the first channel, the method further comprising selecting the first channel to attempt to establish the connection with the first router based on the preserved connection data (see Vandeven 0016, select from a list of access points to re-establish connection).
As regarding claim 4, Vandeven-Lin-Pointer discloses the preserved connection data comprises an IP address of the first router (see Vandeven, 0032, the connection parameter such as mac, channel information, ssid, it’s obvious to store ip address information of the access point or any other information for the wireless device to make connection).
As regarding claim 6, Vandeven-Lin-Pointer discloses the preserved connection data comprises an IP address of the wireless device, wherein restoring the connection parameter comprises restoring the IP address of the wireless device (see Lin 0024, ip address of the wireless device). The same motivation utilized in claim 1 applied equally well to claim 6.
As regarding claim 7, Vandeven-Lin-Pointer discloses obtaining media access control (MAC) level data from the first router before disconnecting the wireless device from the wireless network and storing the MAC level data in the memories of the wireless device as part of the connection data (se Vandeven 0032, store MAC address in the memory of device when disconnecting, it is obvious to obtain the MAC data so it can store the data).
As regarding claim 11, Vandeven-Lin-Pointer discloses maintaining a networks database in the memories of the wireless device with respective sets of connection parameters associated with L different routers, L being a positive integer (see Vandeven 0012,0016, store a list of connection information of previous and current connections with access points).
As regarding claim 12, Vandeven-Lin-Pointer discloses respective channels associated with respective wireless network connections ordered according to a priority of a respective network (see Vandeven 0016, ordered list of wireless access point).
As regarding claim 13, Vandeven-Lin-Pointer discloses storing the connection data in the memories of the wireless device (see Vandeven 0032-0033, store connection information in memory of device).
As regarding claims 14-17,19-20, the limitations of claims 14-17,19-20 are similar to limitations of rejected claims 1-4,6-7,11-13 above, therefore rejected for the same rationale. Vandeven-Lin-Pointer further discloses in claim 14, responsive to either or both of: a failed attempt to establish the connection with the first router using the first channel, or a determination the at least one socket is not open, flush the at least one socket (see Pointer 0023,0028-0029, the wireless device preserved the user session with the remote device where the open socket connection is maintained for a specified time period, if the wireless device not reconnect within the specified time period, the socket connection is closed, then clear the data); a determination the at least one socket is open (see Pointer 0028-0030, determine the socket is open when the wireless device reestablish the connection within the specified time period). The same motivation was utilized in claim 1 applied equally well to claim 14.
Claims 5,18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vandeven-Lin-Pointer as applied to claims 1,14 above and further in view of Balwani (us 2016/0127152).
As regarding claim 5, Vandeven-Lin-Pointer discloses the invention as claims in claim 1 above, however Vandeven-Lin-Pointer is silent in regard to the concept of the preserved connection data comprises an IP address of a target server.
Balwani teaches the concept of the preserved connection data comprises an IP address of a target server (see Balwani IP address of the server).
It would have been obvious to one with an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Balwani to Vandeven-Lin-Pointer because they're analogous art. A person would have been motivated to modify Vandeven-Lin-Pointer with Balwani’s teaching for the purpose of efficiently allowing the device to connect with the server quickly after waking up.
As regarding claim 18, the limitations of claim 18 are similar to limitations of rejected claim 5 above, therefore rejected for the same rationale.
Claims 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vandeven-Lin-Pointer as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Tran et al (us 9,894,604) (hereinafter Tran).
As regarding claim 8, Vandeven-Lin-Pointer discloses the invention as claims in claim 1 above, however Vandeven-Lin-Pointer is silent in regard to the concept of the first channel is in the 2.4 GHz band.
Tran teaches the concept of the first channel is in the 2.4 GHz band (see Tran col.9, lines 60-67, 2.4 GHz).
It would have been obvious to one with an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Tran to Vandeven-Lin-Pointer because they're analogous art. A person would have been motivated to modify Vandeven-Lin-Pointer with Tran’s teaching for the purpose of providing greater range and better signal.
As regarding claim 9, Vandeven-Lin-Pointer-Trans discloses the first channel is in the 5 GHz band (see Tran col.9, lines 60-67, 5 GHz). For the purpose of providing faster speeds, less network congestion and more stable connection for devices.
As regarding claim 10, Vandeven-Lin-Pointer-Trans discloses the wireless network is a WiFi network (see Tran col.3, lines 46-67, wi-fi network). For the purpose of providing mobility and convenience.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DUYEN M DOAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2459