DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on July 23, 204 and May 26, 2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
Figure 2 should be designated by a legend such as --Prior Art-- because only that which is old is illustrated. See MPEP § 608.02(g). Corrected drawings in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. The replacement sheet(s) should be labeled “Replacement Sheet” in the page header (as per 37 CFR 1.84(c)) so as not to obstruct any portion of the drawing figures. If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun (CN 114335757; machine translation relied upon) in view of Mori (JP10-211588; machine translation relied upon).
Regarding claim 1, Sun teaches a battery comprising a current collector foil (for a liquid cell is an intended use, regardless Sun teaches a preferred embodiment where the electrolyte is a liquid electrolyte – machine translation at page 3, last full paragraph), the current collector foil comprising a first electrode foil made of copper foil, a second electrode foil made of aluminum foil, and a conductive adhesive layer (taken to be the claimed second intervening layer) between the copper and aluminum foil (machine translation at page 2), as well as teaching that foil conventionally has holes in it (machine translation at page 2, second full paragraph) and that even if there are holes in the foil the inventive battery will not short circuit (machine translation at page 4, second to last full paragraph), suggesting the presence of pinholes in the foil layers. Sun does not specifically disclose the use of two first electrode foils with a first interleaving layer. Mori teaches the use of two copper foils having pinholes (claimed one first and another first electrode foils) and an electroplating layer composed of metal (claimed first intervening layer) (machine translation at page 2, last paragraph). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the two copper foils with an intervening layer as taught by Mori as part of the current collector foil of the battery of Sun in order to use a copper foil with few pinholes (see Mori machine translation at page 3, last full paragraph), such being preferable to a greater number of pinholes (see Mori machine translation at page 1, last paragraph – page 2, first paragraph).
Regarding claim 2, Sun teaches cathode and anode slurries (claimed positive and negative active material layers) (machine translation at page 2, last two paragraphs), a membrane (claimed separator), and a liquid electrolyte (machine translation at page 3, last two paragraphs).
Conclusion
/P.N.S/ Examiner, Art Unit 1749 September 28, 2026
/KATELYN W SMITH/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1749