DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 3 recites the limitation "the processing cloud" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, and 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Akoum et al. (US 2023/0344680) in view of Kubota et al. (US 2017/0208516).
Regarding claim 1, Akoum teaches a wireless network system (fig. 1A-1B) comprising: a plurality of Open Radio Access Network (RAN) radio units (RUs) Remote/Radio units 168a-1-168a-m [0003], [0035]-[0036]; may be communicatively coupled to multiple RUs (e.g., distributed across a geographic area) via a fronthaul 181a (split fronthaul) [0036]); a pool of RAN distributed units (DUs) associated with a data processing system, the data processing system comprising a plurality of DU processors each executing one or more of the pool of RAN Dus (i.e., in FIG. 1B, the RAN 162a may include distributed units (DUs) 166a-1 through 166a-L (L≥1) (hereinafter referred to collectively as “DUs 166a,” and individually as “DU 166a”). In various embodiments, the DUs 166a may include baseband units (e.g., base station DUs, such as gNB DUs or the like) configured to perform signal processing, UE scheduling, and/or the like [0035], a plurality of processors operating in a distributed computing [claim 11]); and a controller associated with the data processing system, wherein the controller is configured to automatically assign each of the plurality of RUs to one of the DU processors available in the pool based upon the geographic location associated with the RU to thereby prevent RUs in geographical proximity to each other from being assigned to the same DU processor (i.e., RUs are geographically positioned close to one another [0053]. Use performance data to automatically learn and change how beam design tasks are split between a Distributed Unit (DU) and a Radio Unit (RU) [0019], [0034], the aforementioned AI/ML algorithm(s) may include classifiers. In certain embodiments, the DU and/or the RIC may train the AI/ML algorithm(s) to perform beam designing/forming responsibility allocations. In some embodiments, the DU and/or the RIC may provide information regarding determined allocations as input to the AI/ML algorithm(s), which may learn to automate future determinations of allocations. For instance, the DU and/or the RIC may train a machine learning algorithm based on known inputs, such as particular user channel conditions, particular user mobility information, particular loads on the RU, certain network resource usage patterns, etc [0054], [0115]-[0116]).
Akoum does not specifically teach each of the plurality of RUs each having an associated geographic location.
However, the preceding limitation is known in the art of communications. Kubota teaches where several RUs are geographically positioned close to one another such that a given UE's uplink transmissions are received by some or all of these RUs, a corresponding DU (and/or RIC) may, based upon identifying the RUs that are in communication with the UE, effect the aforementioned beam generation allocation across the identified RUs (e.g., in a joint fashion) ([0071]); Each DU 105-c within the wireless communication system 400 may serve traffic between a set of UEs 115 for which the DU 105-c operates as a serving node and a CU 105-b with which the DU 105-c is associated. For example, the first DU 105-c-1 may serve traffic between a set of UEs 115, including the UE 115-c, and the CU 105-b-1 ([0105]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the time of the invention, to have implemented the technique of Kubota within the system of Akoum in order to connect with a central unit (CU) multiple Distributed Units (DU 105-c) to handle user traffic, wherein the CU provides major benefits like lower delay, smarter resource sharing, easier network scaling, and lower cost by splitting heavy data work from central control tasks.
Regarding claim 2, Akoum in view of Kubota teaches all the limitations above. Akoum further teaches the data processing system implements the pool of RAN DUs with an array of rack-mounted computer systems each having at least one of plurality of DU processors (i.e., plurality of Dus are illustrated in fig. 1B and a plurality of processors operating in a distributed computing environment [claim 11]).
Regarding claim 3, Akoum in view of Kubota teaches all the limitations above. Akoum further teaches the data processing system implements the pool of RAN DUs within the processing cloud, and wherein each of the plurality of DU processors executes using virtual processing resources of a processing cloud ([0019], [0034], 0039, [claim 11]).
Regarding claim 10, Akoum teaches computing system for implementing a pool of Open Radio Access Network (RAN) distributed units (DUs), the computing system (fig. 1A-1B) comprising: a plurality of DU processors each configured to perform the functions of one or more of the RAN DUs in the pool of RAN DUs (Remote/Radio units 168a-1-168a-m [0003], [0035]-[0036]; may be communicatively coupled to multiple RUs (e.g., distributed across a geographic area) via a fronthaul 181a (split fronthaul) [0036]); a plurality of processors operating in a distributed computing [claim 11]); and a controller associated with the computing system, wherein the controller is configured to automatically assign each of a plurality of RAN radio units (RUs) to one of the DU processors associated with the RU to thereby prevent RUs in geographical proximity to each other from being assigned to the same DU processor in the pool of DU processors (i.e., RUs are geographically positioned close to one another [0053]. Use performance data to automatically learn and change how beam design tasks are split between a Distributed Unit (DU) and a Radio Unit (RU) [0019], [0034], the aforementioned AI/ML algorithm(s) may include classifiers. In certain embodiments, the DU and/or the RIC may train the AI/ML algorithm(s) to perform beam designing/forming responsibility allocations. In some embodiments, the DU and/or the RIC may provide information regarding determined allocations as input to the AI/ML algorithm(s), which may learn to automate future determinations of allocations. For instance, the DU and/or the RIC may train a machine learning algorithm based on known inputs, such as particular user channel conditions, particular user mobility information, particular loads on the RU, certain network resource usage patterns, etc [0054], [0115]-[0116]).
Akoum does not specifically teach assign each of a plurality of RAN radio units (RUs) to one of the DU processors based upon a geographic location associated with the RU.
However, the preceding limitation is known in the art of communications. Kubota teaches where several RUs are geographically positioned close to one another such that a given UE's uplink transmissions are received by some or all of these RUs, a corresponding DU (and/or RIC) may, based upon identifying the RUs that are in communication with the UE, effect the aforementioned beam generation allocation across the identified RUs (e.g., in a joint fashion) ([0071]); Each DU 105-c within the wireless communication system 400 may serve traffic between a set of UEs 115 for which the DU 105-c operates as a serving node and a CU 105-b with which the DU 105-c is associated. For example, the first DU 105-c-1 may serve traffic between a set of UEs 115, including the UE 115-c, and the CU 105-b-1 ([0105]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the time of the invention, to have implemented the technique of Kubota within the system of Akoum in order to connect with a central unit (CU) multiple Distributed Units (DU 105-c) to handle user traffic, wherein the CU provides major benefits like lower delay, smarter resource sharing, easier network scaling, and lower cost by splitting heavy data work from central control tasks.
Regarding claim 11, Akoum in view of Kubota teaches all the limitations above. Akoum further teaches the plurality of DU processors comprises an array of rack-mounted computer systems (i.e., plurality of Dus are illustrated in fig. 1B and a plurality of processors operating in a distributed computing environment [claim 11]).
Regarding claim 12, Akoum in view of Kubota teaches all the limitations above. Akoum further teaches the plurality of DU processors implements the pool of RAN DUs using virtual processing resources of a processing cloud ([0019], [0034], 0039, [claim 11]).
Claims 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Akoum et al. (US 2023/0344680) in view of Kubota et al. (US 2017/0208516) further in view of Kok et al. (US 2017/0208516).
Regarding claim 7, Akoum in view of Kubota teaches all the limitations above except controller is configured to maintain a table that maps each of the RUs to its associated DU processor in the pool.
However, the preceding limitation is known in the art of communications. Kok teaches apparatuses, systems, processors, computing devices, other systems can perform, use, or otherwise implement software that causes an RU to use a same DU address (e.g., MAC address) it was using to communicate with one DU with another DU (e.g., so that the RU does not need to restart when changing DUs). In at least one embodiment, software is performed by a network switch, which uses a look up table that stores a new DU address for an RU and an old (e.g., previous) media access control address (MAC) address for the old DU. Apparatuses, systems, and techniques to perform dynamic mapping between one or more Open Radio Access Network (O-RAN) radio units (RUs) and one or more O-RAN distributed units (DUs)… Apparatuses, systems, and techniques to perform dynamic mapping between one or more Open Radio Access Network (O-RAN) radio units (RUs) and one or more O-RAN distributed units (DUs) ([0063] -[0064], [0086]). FIG. 4 illustrates a process flow diagram for updating a lookup table for reassigning mappings between DU and RU ([0110], [0121]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the invention, to have implemented the technique of Kok within the system of Akoum in view of Kubota in order to reduce latency and improve performance.
Regarding claim 8, Akoum in view of Kubota teaches all the limitations above except controller is further configured to update the table and to reassign at least some of the RUs to other DU processors based upon changes to the wireless network.
However, the preceding limitation is known in the art of communications. Kok teaches hardware and software can perform operations for mapping (e.g., assigning, reassigning, indicating network addresses) between RUs and DUs in an Open Radio Access Network (O-RAN) ([0064], [0086]). FIG. 4 illustrates a process flow diagram for updating a lookup table for reassigning mappings between DU and RU ([0110], [0121]). SMO identifies a DU to be reassigned with the corresponding RUs 102(a) and/or 102(b) and/or 102 (c) when receives the report and communicate with switch 104 to cause switch 104 to update the translation lookup table (as shown in FIG. 6 and FIG. 7) [0071], [0093]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the invention, to have implemented the technique of Kok within the system of Akoum in view of Kubota in order to reduce latency and improve performance.
Regarding claim 9, Akoum in view of Kubota teaches all the limitations above except the processor is configured to repeat the automatic assigning of plurality of DUs within the pool as network conditions change to accommodate fluctuations in network traffic.
However, the preceding limitation is known in the art of communications. Kok teaches hardware and software can perform operations for mapping (e.g., assigning, reassigning, indicating network addresses) between RUs and DUs in an Open Radio Access Network (O-RAN) ([0064], [0086]). FIG. 4 illustrates a process flow diagram for updating a lookup table for reassigning mappings between DU and RU ([0110], [0121]). SMO identifies a DU to be reassigned with the corresponding RUs 102(a) and/or 102(b) and/or 102 (c) when receives the report and communicate with switch 104 to cause switch 104 to update the translation lookup table (as shown in FIG. 6 and FIG. 7) [0071], [0093]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the invention, to have implemented the technique of Kok within the system of Akoum in view of Kubota in order to reduce latency and improve performance.
Claims 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Akoum et al. (US 2023/0344680) in view of Kubota et al. (US 2017/0208516) further in view of Krasilnikov et al. (US 12,432,606).
Regarding claim 14, Akoum in view of Kubota teaches all the limitations above except wherein the plurality of RAN DU processors is implemented using virtual private cloud (VPC) resources of the processing cloud.
However, the preceding limitation is known in the art of communications. Krasilnikov teaches a distributed unit management service for automatically deploying, configuring, and managing DUs in radio-based networks. In various embodiments, the radio-based networks are managed by a cloud network provider on behalf of an organization (e.g., an enterprise, an educational institution, a governmental entity, etc.) or on behalf of a communication service provider. The managed DUs may be executed on virtualized cloud provider network infrastructure at the edge location or cell site. The various DU functions may be executed in a container cluster upon the host. In some cases, the cloud provider computing device upon which the DU is executed includes hardware acceleration for the DU physical layer and/or for virtualization. In various instances, the communication between the DU and the CU may utilize a virtual private cloud network managed by the cloud network provider (col. 2). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the invention, to have implemented the technique of Krasilnikov within the system of Akoum and Kubota in order to a cloud management service can automatically deploy the edge server, configure it, and connect it to centralized unit functions and other network functions over a virtual private cloud.
Regarding claim 15, Akoum in view of Kubota teaches all the limitations above except wherein the plurality of RAN DU processors is implemented using worker node structures implemented within a Kubernetes container system.
However, the preceding limitation is known in the art of communications. Krasilnikov teaches managed DUs may be executed on virtualized cloud provider network infrastructure at the edge location or cell site. The various DU functions may be executed in a container cluster upon the host. In some cases, the cloud provider computing device upon which the DU is executed includes hardware acceleration for the DU physical layer and/or for virtualization. In various instances, the communication between the DU and the CU may utilize a virtual private cloud network managed by the cloud network provider (col. 2). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the invention, to have implemented the technique of Krasilnikov within the system of Akoum and Kubota in order to a cloud management service can automatically deploy the edge server, configure it, and connect it to centralized unit functions and other network functions over a virtual private cloud.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 16-20 are allowed.
Claims 4-6 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Kok et al. (US 2025/0193730) teaches a processor designed for Open Radio Access Networks (O-RAN) that dynamically reassigns network addresses of distributed units (DUs) used by radio units (RUs) based on real-time utilization data. SMO (Service Management and Orchestration): Manages the overall network and controls automated tasks ([0072])), SMO identifies a DU to be reassigned with the corresponding RUs 202(a) and/or 202(b) and/or 202 (c) when receives the report and communicate with switch 204 to cause switch 104 to update the translation lookup table (as shown in FIG. 6 and FIG. 7). In at least one embodiment, as signals are transmitted and received from RUs 202(a), 202(b), and/or 202(c), switch 204 queries the translation lookup table (as shown in FIG. 6 and FIG. 7) to provide updated mapping between RUs 202(a) and/or 202(b) and/or 202(c) and DUs 206(a) and 206(b) to forward the signals to the updated DU 206(a) and/or 206(b) to balance load or improve utilization [0064], [0093] [0110], [0655], [0669]).
Gan et al. (US 2023/0171644) teaches a device and method for dynamically assigning Centralized Units (CUs) to Distributed Units (DUs) in a wireless network based on their complementary usage patterns. By identifying distinct models for different sets of DUs and analyzing their usage information, the system determines which DUs can effectively share a CU without exceeding its capacity.
On the other hand, the Applicant discloses, inter alia, obtaining, by the computer system, a geographic attribute of each RU; determining, by the computer system for each of a plurality of candidate DUs within the pool of DU processors based upon the geographic attribute of the RU, whether the RU is in geographical proximity to other RUs assigned to the same DU processor; and assigning the RU to the same DU processor if the geographical proximity to other RUs complies with a geographic affinity rule, and otherwise evaluating another of the plurality of candidate Dus. These limitations, in conjunction with all limitations of the independent claims, have not been disclosed, taught, or made obvious over the prior arts of record.
Conclusion
/JEAN A GELIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2643