DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-4, 7-9, 11-14, & 17-19 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12074584, hereinafter, the ’84 patent. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
As per claims 1-4 of the present application, the limitations thereof are disclosed in claim 1 of the ’84 patent using substantially similar language.
As per claim 7 of the present application, the limitations thereof are disclosed in claim 4 of the ’84 patent using substantially similar language.
As per claims 8-9 of the present application, the limitations thereof are disclosed in claims 5-6, respectively, of the ’84 patent using substantially similar language.
As per claims 11-14 of the present application, the limitations thereof are disclosed in claim 8 of the ’84 patent using substantially similar language.
As per claim 17 of the present application, the limitations thereof are disclosed in claim 12 of the ’84 patent using substantially similar language.
As per claims 18-19 of the present application, the limitations thereof are disclosed in claims 13-14, respectively, of the ’84 patent using substantially similar language.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 14 & 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 14 & 20 recite the limitation "for each of the bulk resonators" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claims 14 & 20 are dependent upon independent claim 1, but features a preamble similar to that of claim 11 and its dependents, which is absent from claim 1, thus appearing to be intended to be dependent upon claim 11.
For examination purposes, “claim 1” of claims 14 & 20 will be interpreted to be --claim 11--.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 6, & 8-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nakahashi (US PGPub 20120187799).
As per claim 1:
Nakahashi discloses in Fig. 1:
An acoustic resonator comprising:
a piezoelectric layer (2); and
an interdigital transducer (IDT) (3, shown in related Fig. 2 as 4, 5, or 6) having interleaved fingers on a surface of the piezoelectric layer, the interleaved fingers consisting of a first layer (adhesion layer 9) that directly contacts the piezoelectric layer, and a second layer (3a) on the first layer,
wherein the first layer comprises a different metal than the second layer (Ti vs one of Pt or W, [0040-0041]), and the first layer has a thickness that is less than a thickness of the second layer ([0039-0040]), and
wherein the thicknesses of the first and second layers are measured in a direction on which the piezoelectric layer, the first layer and the second layer are stacked.
As per claim 2:
Nakahashi discloses in Fig. 1:
a transverse acoustic impedance of the second layer is higher than a transverse acoustic impedance of the first layer (W or Pt vs Ti, [0040-0041]).
As per claim 3:
Nakahashi discloses in Fig. 1:
the thicknesses of the first and second layers are measured in a direction orthogonal to the surface of the piezoelectric layer (the vertical direction of Fig. 1, as per the definition of thickness being the height of a layer).
As per claim 6:
Nakahashi discloses in Fig. 1:
the thickness of the first layer is less than one-half of an acoustic wavelength within the first layer at a resonance frequency, and the thickness of the second layer is less than one-half of an acoustic wavelength within the second layer at the resonance frequency ([0039-0040]).
As per claim 8:
Nakahashi discloses in Fig. 1:
the first layer comprises aluminum or titanium ([0040]).
As per claim 9:
Nakahashi discloses in Fig. 1:
the second layer comprises chromium or tungsten ([0041]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3 & 8-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nishimura et al. (US PGPub 20090121584)
As per claim 1:
Nishimura et al. discloses in Figs. 3-6:
An acoustic resonator (title) comprising:
a piezoelectric layer (10, 20); and
an interdigital transducer (IDT) (11, 21) having interleaved fingers on a surface of the piezoelectric layer (as seen in related Fig. 1), the interleaved fingers consisting of a first layer (intermediate layer 12, 22) that directly contacts the piezoelectric layer, and a second layer (electrode layer 13, 23) on the first layer,
wherein the first layer comprises a different metal ([0066, 0088]) than the second layer ([0068, 0089]), and
wherein the thicknesses of the first and second layers are measured in a direction on which the piezoelectric layer, the first layer and the second layer are stacked.
Nishimura further discloses:
Parameters related to the shape of the electrode, particularly the line width and the film thickness may be adjusted to control the mass and thus the frequency characteristics of the resonator ([0096]).
Nishimura is silent regarding:
the first layer has a thickness that is less than a thickness of the second layer.
At the time of filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art for the first layer to have a thickness that is less than a thickness of the second layer as the film thickness of each layer of the IDT is a design parameter for determining the mass of the electrode, as taught by Nishimura ([0096]) and further for controlling the electrical properties of the resonator, as is well understood in the art, and as one of a limited number of options (less than, greater than, equal to).
As per claim 2:
Nishimura et al. discloses in Figs. 3-6:
a transverse acoustic impedance of the second layer is higher than a transverse acoustic impedance of the first layer (W or Ta vs Al, [0066, 0068, 0088-0089]).
As per claim 3:
Nishimura et al. discloses in Figs. 3-6:
the thicknesses of the first and second layers are measured in a direction orthogonal to the surface of the piezoelectric layer (the vertical direction of Figs. 3-6, as per the definition of thickness being the height of a layer, and further disclosed as film thickness, [0096]).
As per claim 8:
Nishimura et al. discloses in Figs. 3-6:
the first layer comprises aluminum or titanium ([0066, 0088]).
As per claim 9:
Nishimura et al. discloses in Figs. 3-6:
the second layer comprises tungsten ([0068]).
As per claim 10:
Nishimura et al. discloses in Figs. 3-6:
the second layer has a sidewall that tapers inward as the second layer extends away from the piezoelectric layer at a range between approximately 70 and 80 degrees ([0090]).
Claim(s) 1-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the 2019 publication of Plessky et al. (5 GHz laterally-excited bulk-wave resonators (XBARs) based on thin platelets of lithium niobate), hereinafter Plessky 1. in view of Nishimura et al. (US PGPub 20090121584)
As per claim 1:
Plessky 1 discloses in Fig. 1:
An acoustic resonator (title) comprising:
a piezoelectric layer (LN); and
an interdigital transducer (IDT) (electrodes, shown in Fig. 1) having interleaved fingers on a surface of the piezoelectric layer,
the interleaved fingers consisting of a first layer that directly contacts the piezoelectric layer (Al, as disclosed in col. 2 para 2).
Plessky 1 does not disclose:
a second layer on the first layer, wherein the first layer comprises a different metal than the second layer, and the first layer has a thickness that is less than a thickness of the second layer, and wherein the thicknesses of the first and second layers are measured in a direction on which the piezoelectric layer, the first layer and the second layer are stacked.
Nishimura et al. discloses in Figs. 3-6:
An acoustic resonator (title) comprising:
a piezoelectric layer (10, 20); and
an interdigital transducer (IDT) (11, 21) having interleaved fingers on a surface of the piezoelectric layer (as seen in related Fig. 1), the interleaved fingers consisting of a first layer (intermediate layer 12, 22) that directly contacts the piezoelectric layer, and a second layer (electrode layer 13, 23) on the first layer,
wherein the first layer comprises a different metal ([0066, 0088]) than the second layer ([0068, 0089]), and
wherein the thicknesses of the first and second layers are measured in a direction on which the piezoelectric layer, the first layer and the second layer are stacked.
Nishimura further discloses:
Parameters related to the shape of the electrode, particularly the line width and the film thickness may be adjusted to control the mass and thus the frequency characteristics of the resonator ([0096]).
At the time of filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form the aluminum electrode of Plessky 1 as per the intermediate layer of Nishimura et al. and to provide the electrode layer and protective film of Nishimura et al. to provide the benefit of adjusting the frequency of the resonator using a “mass effect” as taught by Nishimura et al. ([0096]) and to increase the durability of the resonator as taught by Nishimura et al. ([0030])
It would have been further obvious for the first layer to have a thickness that is less than a thickness of the second layer as the film thickness of each layer of the IDT is a design parameter for determining the mass of the electrode, as taught by Nishimura ([0096]) and further for controlling the electrical properties of the resonator, as is well understood in the art, and as one of a limited number of options (less than, greater than, equal to).
As a consequence of the combination, the combination discloses a second layer on the first layer, wherein the first layer comprises a different metal than the second layer, and the first layer has a thickness that is less than a thickness of the second layer, and wherein the thicknesses of the first and second layers are measured in a direction on which the piezoelectric layer, the first layer and the second layer are stacked.
As per claim 2:
Plessky 1 does not disclose:
a transverse acoustic impedance of the second layer is higher than a transverse acoustic impedance of the first layer.
Nishimura et al. discloses in Figs. 3-6:
a transverse acoustic impedance of the second layer is higher than a transverse acoustic impedance of the first layer (W or Ta vs Al, [0066, 0068, 0088-0089]).
As a consequence of the combination of claim 1:
a transverse acoustic impedance of the second layer is higher than a transverse acoustic impedance of the first layer.
As per claim 3:
Plessky 1 does not disclose:
the thicknesses of the first and second layers are measured in a direction orthogonal to the surface of the piezoelectric layer.
Nishimura et al. discloses in Figs. 3-6:
the thicknesses of the first and second layers are measured in a direction orthogonal to the surface of the piezoelectric layer (the vertical direction of Figs. 3-6, as per the definition of thickness being the height of a layer, and further disclosed as film thickness, [0096]).
As a consequence of the combination of claim 1:
the thicknesses of the first and second layers are measured in a direction orthogonal to the surface of the piezoelectric layer.
As per claim 4:
Plessky 1 discloses in Fig. 1:
a substrate having a surface (Si), wherein the piezoelectric layer is attached to the surface of the substrate via one or more intermediate layers (SiO2) and has a portion that forms a diaphragm over a cavity (region of Si and oxide release), and wherein the interleaved fingers of the IDT are on the diaphragm of the piezoelectric layer (as seen in Fig. 1).
As per claim 5:
Plessky 1 discloses in Fig. 1:
the IDT is configured such that a radio frequency signal applied to the IDT excites a primary shear acoustic mode in the piezoelectric layer, with the primary shear acoustic mode being a bulk shear mode where acoustic energy propagates along a direction substantially orthogonal to the surface of the piezoelectric layer, which is also transverse to a direction of an electric field created by the interleaved fingers (col. 2, last para).
As per claim 6:
Plessky 1 discloses in Fig. 1:
the thickness of the first layer (100 nm, col. 2, para 2) is less than one-half of an acoustic wavelength within the first layer at a resonance frequency (piezoelectric thickness is ~400 nm, col. 2, para 2, which is half the wavelength, col. 2 last para).
Plessky 1 does not disclose:
the thickness of the second layer is less than one-half of an acoustic wavelength within the second layer at the resonance frequency.
Nishimura discloses:
Parameters related to the shape of the electrode, particularly the line width and the film thickness may be adjusted to control the mass and thus the frequency characteristics of the resonator ([0096]).
At the time of filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art for the thickness of the second layer to be less than one-half of an acoustic wavelength within the second layer at the resonance frequency, as a design parameter for determining the mass effect of the second layer on the frequency characteristics of the resonator as taught by Nishimura ([0096]).
As per claim 7:
Plessky 1 discloses in Fig. 1:
the thickness of the first layer (100 nm, col. 2, para 2) is in a range from 25% to 75% of a thickness of the piezoelectric layer (~400 nm, col. 2, para 2).
Plessky 1 does not disclose:
the thickness of the second layer is in a range from 25% to 75% of the thickness of the piezoelectric layer.
Nishimura discloses:
Parameters related to the shape of the electrode, particularly the line width and the film thickness may be adjusted to control the mass and thus the frequency characteristics of the resonator ([0096]).
At the time of filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art for the thickness of the second layer to be in a range from 25% to 75% of the thickness of the piezoelectric layer, as a design parameter for determining the mass effect of the second layer on the frequency characteristics of the resonator as taught by Nishimura ([0096]), and as the second layer has a greater thickness than the first layer as per the combination of claim 1.
As per claim 8:
Plessky 1 discloses in Fig. 1:
the first layer comprises aluminum or titanium (col. 2, para 2).
As per claim 9:
Plessky 1 does not disclose:
the second layer comprises chromium or tungsten.
Nishimura et al. discloses in Figs. 3-6:
the second layer comprises tungsten ([0068]).
As a consequence of the combination of claim 1, the second layer comprises tungsten.
As per claim 10:
Plessky 1 does not disclose:
the second layer has a sidewall that tapers inward as the second layer extends away from the piezoelectric layer at a range between approximately 70 and 80 degrees.
Nishimura et al. discloses in Figs. 3-6:
the second layer has a sidewall that tapers inward as the second layer extends away from the piezoelectric layer at a range between approximately 70 and 80 degrees ([0090]).
As a consequence of the combination of claim 1, the second layer has a sidewall that tapers inward as the second layer extends away from the piezoelectric layer at a range between approximately 70 and 80 degrees.
Claim(s) 11-13, 15, & 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the 2019 publication of Turner et al. (5 GHz Band n79 wideband micracoustic filter using thin lithium niobate membrane), in view of Nishimura et al. (US PGPub 20090121584)
As per claim 11:
Turner discloses in Fig. 1:
A filter device comprising:
a plurality of bulk acoustic wave resonators (col. 2 para 1) that each comprise:
a piezoelectric layer (LiNbO3, col. 1 para 2); and
an interdigital transducer (IDT) having interleaved fingers on a surface of the piezoelectric layer (col. 1 para 2),
the interleaved fingers consisting of a first layer that directly contacts the piezoelectric layer (Al metal layer, col. 2 para 3).
Turner does not disclose:
a second layer on the first layer, wherein the first layer comprises a different metal than the second layer, and the first layer has a thickness that is less than a thickness of the second layer, and wherein the thicknesses of the first and second layers are measured in a direction on which the piezoelectric layer, the first layer and the second layer are stacked.
Nishimura et al. discloses in Figs. 3-6:
An acoustic resonator (title) comprising:
a piezoelectric layer (10, 20); and
an interdigital transducer (IDT) (11, 21) having interleaved fingers on a surface of the piezoelectric layer (as seen in related Fig. 1), the interleaved fingers consisting of a first layer (intermediate layer 12, 22) that directly contacts the piezoelectric layer, and a second layer (electrode layer 13, 23) on the first layer,
wherein the first layer comprises a different metal ([0066, 0088]) than the second layer ([0068, 0089]), and
wherein the thicknesses of the first and second layers are measured in a direction on which the piezoelectric layer, the first layer and the second layer are stacked.
Nishimura further discloses:
Parameters related to the shape of the electrode, particularly the line width and the film thickness may be adjusted to control the mass and thus the frequency characteristics of the resonator ([0096]).
At the time of filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form the aluminum electrodes of Turner as per the intermediate layer of Nishimura et al. and to provide the electrode layer and protective film of Nishimura et al. to provide the benefit of adjusting the frequency of the resonator using a “mass effect” as taught by Nishimura et al. ([0096]) and to increase the durability of the resonator as taught by Nishimura et al. ([0030])
It would have been further obvious for the first layer to have a thickness that is less than a thickness of the second layer as the film thickness of each layer of the IDT is a design parameter for determining the mass of the electrode, as taught by Nishimura ([0096]) and further for controlling the electrical properties of the resonator, as is well understood in the art, and as one of a limited number of options (less than, greater than, equal to).
As a consequence of the combination, the combination discloses that each resonator comprises a second layer on the first layer, wherein the first layer comprises a different metal than the second layer, and the first layer has a thickness that is less than a thickness of the second layer, and wherein the thicknesses of the first and second layers are measured in a direction on which the piezoelectric layer, the first layer and the second layer are stacked.
As per claim 12:
Turner does not disclose:
a transverse acoustic impedance of the second layer is higher than a transverse acoustic impedance of the first layer.
Nishimura et al. discloses in Figs. 3-6:
a transverse acoustic impedance of the second layer is higher than a transverse acoustic impedance of the first layer (W or Ta vs Al, [0066, 0068, 0088-0089]).
As a consequence of the combination of claim 11, the combination discloses a transverse acoustic impedance of the second layer is higher than a transverse acoustic impedance of the first layer.
As per claim 13:
Turner does not disclose:
the thicknesses of the first and second layers are measured in a direction orthogonal to the surface of the piezoelectric layer.
Nishimura et al. discloses in Figs. 3-6:
the thicknesses of the first and second layers are measured in a direction orthogonal to the surface of the piezoelectric layer (the vertical direction of Figs. 3-6, as per the definition of thickness being the height of a layer, and further disclosed as film thickness, [0096]).
As a consequence of the combination of claim 11, the combination discloses the thicknesses of the first and second layers are measured in a direction orthogonal to the surface of the piezoelectric layer.
As per claim 15:
Turner discloses in Fig. 1:
the IDT is configured such that a radio frequency signal applied to the IDT excites a primary shear acoustic mode in the piezoelectric layer, with the primary shear acoustic mode being a bulk shear mode where acoustic energy propagates along a direction substantially orthogonal to the surface of the piezoelectric layer, which is also transverse to a direction of an electric field created by the interleaved fingers (col. 1 para 2, A1 resonance).
As per claim 18:
Turner discloses in Fig. 1:
the first layer comprises aluminum or titanium (col. 2, para 2).
As per claim 19:
Turner does not disclose:
the second layer comprises chromium or tungsten.
Nishimura et al. discloses in Figs. 3-6:
the second layer comprises tungsten ([0068]).
As a consequence of the combination of claim 11, the second layer comprises tungsten.
As per claim 20:
Turner does not disclose:
the second layer has a sidewall that tapers inward as the second layer extends away from the piezoelectric layer at a range between approximately 70 and 80 degrees.
Nishimura et al. discloses in Figs. 3-6:
the second layer has a sidewall that tapers inward as the second layer extends away from the piezoelectric layer at a range between approximately 70 and 80 degrees ([0090]).
As a consequence of the combination of claim 11, the second layer has a sidewall that tapers inward as the second layer extends away from the piezoelectric layer at a range between approximately 70 and 80 degrees.
Claim(s) 14 & 16-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the resultant combination of Turner, in view of Nishimura et al. (US PGPub 20090121584) as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of Plessky 1.
The resultant combination discloses the filter device of claim 11, as rejected above.
As per claim 14:
The resultant combination does not disclose:
each of the bulk acoustic wave resonators further comprises: a substrate having a surface, wherein the piezoelectric layer is attached to the surface of the substrate via one or more intermediate layers and has a portion that forms a diaphragm over a cavity, and wherein the interleaved fingers of the IDT are on the diaphragm of the piezoelectric layer.
Plessky 1 discloses in Fig. 1:
a substrate having a surface (Si), wherein the piezoelectric layer is attached to the surface of the substrate via one or more intermediate layers (SiO2) and has a portion that forms a diaphragm over a cavity (region of Si and oxide release), and wherein the interleaved fingers of the IDT are on the diaphragm of the piezoelectric layer (as seen in Fig. 1).
At the time of filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form the substrate, piezoelectric layer, and aluminum layer of the IDT of the resultant combination as per Plessky 1 as an art-recognized alternative/equivalent XBAR device as per the titles of both Plessky 1 & 2.
As per claim 16:
The resultant combination discloses in Turner:
The acoustic wavelength is twice that of the thickness of the piezoelectric layer (col. 2 para 2)
The resultant combination discloses in Nishimura:
Parameters related to the shape of the electrode, particularly the line width and the film thickness may be adjusted to control the mass and thus the frequency characteristics of the resonator ([0096]).
The resultant combination does not disclose:
for each of the bulk acoustic wave resonators, the thickness of the first layer is less than one-half of an acoustic wavelength within the first layer at a resonance frequency, and the thickness of the second layer is less than one-half of an acoustic wavelength within the second layer at the resonance frequency.
Plessky 1 discloses in Fig. 1:
the thickness of the first layer (100 nm, col. 2, para 2) is less than one-half of an acoustic wavelength within the first layer at a resonance frequency (piezoelectric thickness is ~400 nm, col. 2, para 2, which is half the wavelength, col. 2 last para).
At the time of filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form the substrate, piezoelectric layer, and aluminum layer of the IDT of the resultant combination as per Plessky 1 as an art-recognized alternative/equivalent XBAR device as per the titles of both Plessky 1 & 2.
As a consequence of the combination, the thickness of the first layer (100 nm, col. 2, para 2) is less than one-half of an acoustic wavelength within the first layer at a resonance frequency (piezoelectric thickness is ~400 nm, col. 2, para 2, which is half the wavelength).
It would have been further obvious for the thickness of the second layer to be less than one-half of an acoustic wavelength within the second layer at the resonance frequency, as a design parameter for determining the mass effect of the second layer on the frequency characteristics of the resonator as taught by Nishimura ([0096]).
As per claim 17:
The resultant combination discloses in Turner:
The acoustic wavelength is twice that of the thickness of the piezoelectric layer (col. 2 para 2)
The resultant combination discloses in Nishimura:
Parameters related to the shape of the electrode, particularly the line width and the film thickness may be adjusted to control the mass and thus the frequency characteristics of the resonator ([0096]).
The resultant combination does not disclose:
for each of the bulk acoustic wave resonators, the thickness of the first layer is in a range from 25% to 75% of a thickness of the piezoelectric layer, and wherein the thickness of the second layer is in a range from 25% to 75% of the thickness of the piezoelectric layer.Plessky 1 discloses in Fig. 1:
the thickness of the first layer (100 nm, col. 2, para 2) is in a range from 25% to 75% of a thickness of the piezoelectric layer (~400 nm, col. 2, para 2).
At the time of filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form the substrate, piezoelectric layer, and aluminum layer of the IDT of the resultant combination as per Plessky 1 as an art-recognized alternative/equivalent XBAR device as per the titles of both Plessky 1 & 2.
As a consequence of the combination, is in a range from 25% to 75% of a thickness of the piezoelectric layer.
It would have been further obvious for the thickness of the second layer to be in a range from 25% to 75% of the thickness of the piezoelectric layer, as a design parameter for determining the mass effect of the second layer on the frequency characteristics of the resonator as taught by Nishimura ([0096]), and as the second layer has a greater thickness than the first layer as per the combination of claim 11.
Conclusion
/Samuel S Outten/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2843