Detailed Action
Acknowledgements
2. Applicant’s arguments, filed on 01/13/2026, are acknowledged. Amended claims (1, 9-10), cancelled claim (2), and newly added on claims (11-14) are acknowledged.
Response to Arguments
3. Applicant's arguments have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
4. Applicant argues (pg. 10-11) Yoshikawa, Nakagawa and Lai do not teach to describe or suggest to
“perform control such that a vibration in accordance with the touch-slide operation is generated in a case where a first setting item is assigned to the area having the predetermined shape” and
“perform control such that the vibration in accordance with the touch-slide operation is not generated in a case where a second setting item, which is different from the first item, is assigned to the area having the predetermined shape”;
“wherein a setting value of the first setting item is a value that discontinuously changes in accordance with the touch-slide operation, and a setting value of the second setting item is a value that continuously changes in accordance with the touch-slide operation”.
5. The Examiner, respectfully, disagrees.
Yoshikawa, in [0061], for example, teaches the generation of tactile sensation during the operation of a slider 501 for a predetermined time during display of a brightness setting screen.
Yoshikawa, in [0076], teaches that not all acceptable touch operations need be notified by tactile sensations. For example, a tap operation may be excluded from being notified by a tactile sensation. Notice, this is exemplary, in Fig. 11, a tap operation is accommodated with a tactile sensation (with corresponding conditional timing). Therefore, it is understood that settings which correspond to a particular motion of the finger(s) are subject to be configured to a particular timing for tactile sensation or else as instantly taught may be excluded from being configured to provide the tactile sensation.
Nakagawa is referenced for teaching a terminal apparatus comprising a touch panel which is able to vibrate the panel/housing in response to touch operations in [0004]; wherein the settings values can be viewed as being discontinuous on the basis that settings can be adjusted on a one-notch interval, as taught in [0046-0047].
Nakagawa is further referenced as teaching setting values which may further be set to values including decimal fractions between integers; viewed as a continuous adjustment of a parameter; wherein as taught in [0048] through a continuous rotation of a dial, changes in parameter can be successively changed.
Wherein the primary reference, in accordance with Yoshikawa, is relied on for teaching the generation (or not generation) of vibration in accordance with a touch-slide operation of a first and second setting item; the secondary reference, in accordance with Nakagawa, is relied upon for teaching continuous and discontinuous setting values.
The Examiner maintains the previous rejection in the Non-Final Rejection (dated 10/24/2025) on the basis that the limitations of continuous and discontinuous are relative and do not further limit a definite boundary. For example, [0055] of the instant application’s specification states:
“The “continuous change in the setting value” includes a discontinuous change in a very small unit, which is felt to be continuous by a human, even if the change is not strictly continuous”.
The instant application specifies that, technically speaking, there is a discontinuous change within the continuous change in the setting value. The continuous portion of the claimed limitation relies on human sensory response to determine a “continuous” adjustment; which in itself is also relative to a condition of a human’s ability to sense or not sense. Though there are ranges of frequency human sensory systems sense or not sense in vision, sound, and touch; the specifics and limits thereof are particular and for the sensible range of frequencies human response is conditional.
Further, it is well known in the industry of digital cameras, a camera parameter adjustment and setting can visually appear to be continuous in change, as such a zoom operation, yet mathematically an output value, corresponding to a zoom level, will be steady for a range of an input value; while an adjustment of gain, from an electrical engineering aspect, is set in increments of non-consecutive numbers, as such a gain operation many times is in increments of 3db or 6db; though specialized electronics may be tuned to finer ranges of gain settings. Therefore, the terms continuous and discontinuous are relative and require particular distinguishing in light of what is specified in the instant application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
7. Claims 1, 3-5, and 8-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Yoshikawa (US 2014/0347296 A1) in view of Nakagawa et al. (US 2024/0168560 A1;
further referred to as Nakagawa).
8. Regarding claim 1, an information processing apparatus (…Yoshikawa, in [0030],
teaches an electronic device 100; Fig. 1…) including
a touch-screen capable of detecting a touch by a user (…[0030] further teaches a
touch-sensitive input device such as a touch panel; wherein [0035] teaches a touch panel
106a…),
the information processing apparatus comprising:
a processor (…[0031] teaches CPU 101; Fig. 1…); and
a memory storing a program which (…wherein [0032] teaches memory 102 which
works in conjunction with CPU 101 using programs…), when executed by the processor,
causes the information processing apparatus to:
perform display control processing to perform control such that an area having a
predetermined shape is displayed on the touch-screen (…wherein [0035] teaches that an
operation unit 106 is an input device for accepting user operations to include the panel
106a, buttons, and a joystick; [0056], additionally, teaches an exemplary settings menu
containing detectable setting items which are in respective areas…);
perform detection processing to detect a touch-slide operation, which is a sliding
operation performed while the area having the predetermined shape is being touched (…[0061]
teaches a slider 501 which is able to be dragged horizontally for a parameter setting; Fig.
5B…);
perform change processing to change a setting value of a setting item assigned to the
area having the predetermined shape, in accordance with the touch-slide operation (…wherein
[0061] teaches the slider 501 which is able to be dragged horizontally for a parameter
setting; Fig. 5B…); and
perform vibration control processing to
1) perform control such that a vibration in accordance with the touch-slide operation is
generated in a case where a first setting item is assigned to the area having the predetermined
shape (…wherein [0020] teaches an exemplary way of providing a tactile sensation for a
move operation of a slider; wherein as taught in [0051] a tactile sensation may
correspond to a vibration…); and
2) perform control such that the vibration in accordance with the touch-slide operation is
not generated in a case where a second setting item, which is different from the first setting
item, is assigned to the area having the predetermined shape (…wherein [0076] (Yoshikawa)
teaches that not all touch operations need be notified by tactile sensations; as such a
user may determine what operations may generate a tactile sensation).
While Yoshikawa teaches tactile sensation being provided along a first setting and
also specifies that not all operations generate a tactile sensation, Yoshikawa doesn’t
explicitly teach a second setting different from the first setting (multiple settings).
However , Nakagawa teaches an information processing apparatus with settable
parameters including the functions of zooming, focus, or shutter speed, as taught in
[0045].
Further, though Yoshikawa teaches the changing of a setting through a slider on a touchscreen, as depicted in figures 5 A and B, Yoshikawa doesn’t further teach wherein
a setting value of the first setting item is a value that discontinuously changes in
accordance with the touch-slide operation (…however, Nakagawa teaches a terminal apparatus comprising a touch panel which is able to vibrate the panel/housing in
response to touch operations (as taught in [0004]); wherein the settings values can be
viewed as being discontinuous on the basis that settings can be adjusted on a one-notch
interval, as taught in [0046-0047]…), and
a setting value of the second setting item is a value that continuously changes in
accordance with the touch-slide operation (…wherein Nakagawa teaches setting values
which may further be set to values including decimal fractions between integers; this can
be viewed as a continuous adjustment of a parameter. As taught, in [0048], through a
continuous rotation of a dial changes in parameter can be successively changed.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention that different parameter settings can be
assigned different mechanisms of confirmation or feedback (or lack thereof) so that a
user of an electronic device is made aware of user operations…).
9. Regarding claim 3, Yoshikawa in view of Nakagawa teaches the information processing
apparatus according to claim 1 (see claim 1 above), wherein
connection processing is performed to connect to an imaging apparatus which performs
image capturing (…wherein Yoshikawa in [0033] teaches image data stored in a recording
medium or acquired via an external interface 109 or a communication interface 110…);
and
notification processing is performed to notify the imaging apparatus of the setting value,
changed in the change processing (…wherein Yoshikawa teaches an operation unit 106,
which according to [0062] and Fig. 6, which facilitates user input from a touch panel to
the CPU; Fig. 1…),
the first setting item is a setting item of gain or shutter speed (…wherein Yoshikawa, in
[0060], teaches a brightness setting in accordance with Fig. 5 (A, B)…), and
the second setting item is a setting item of zooming or focusing (…wherein Nakagawa
teaches an information processing apparatus with settable parameters including the
functions of zooming, focus, or shutter speed, as taught in [0045].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention that different parameter settings can be
assigned different mechanisms of confirmation or feedback (or lack thereof) so that a
user of an electronic device is made aware of user operations…).
10. Regarding claim 4, Yoshikawa in view of Nakagawa teaches the information processing
apparatus according to claim 1 (see claim 1 above), wherein:
it is controlled that the vibration is generated in the vibration control processing in a case
where an operation amount of the touch-slide operation reaches a predetermined operation
amount that leads to a change of the setting value of the first setting item in the change
processing (…wherein Yoshikawa, in [0061], teaches that a CPU unit causes a haptic
feedback generator 113 to generate a tactile sensation for notifying a move operation in
the horizontal direction when the slider 501 is touched for a predetermined time period,
wherein tactile sensations are sequentially generated at a plurality of positions from left
to right …), and
it is controlled that the vibration is not generated in the vibration control processing in a
case where an operation amount of the touch-slide operation does not reach the predetermined
operation amount (…wherein [0061] teaches that a CPU unit causes a haptic feedback
generator 113 to generate a tactile sensation for notifying a move operation in the
horizontal direction when the slider 501 is touched for a predetermined time period;
hence this may read on that a vibration is not generated if as specified a certain amount
time in operating the slider 501 has not occurred…).
11. Regarding claim 5, Yoshikawa in view of Nakagawa teaches the information processing
apparatus according to claim 1 (see claim 1 above), wherein
acquisition processing is performed to acquire data relating to a state of a specific
apparatus connected to the information processing apparatus (…wherein Yoshikawa, in
[0032], teaches that the CPU unit realizes the operations of electronic device by
controlling the components of the electronic device…), and
it is controlled that the vibration in accordance with the touch-slide operation is not
generated in the vibration control processing in a case where the specific apparatus is in a
specific state (…Yoshikawa, in [0044], teaches a touch off state; wherein [0049] teaches
that detection of a touch off within a predetermined time period after touch down may be
regarded as a tap operation. Further, [0076] teaches that that not all touch operations
need to generate a tactile sensation; as such a tap operation determined by a user…).
12. Regarding claim 8, Yoshikawa in view of Nakagawa teaches the information processing
apparatus according to claim 1 (see claim 1 above), wherein
the area having the predetermined shape is an area representing a slide bar (…wherein
Yoshikawa, in [0060], teaches a slider 501 for adjusting a parameter of camera setting…).
13. Regarding claim 9, claim 9 is rejected for reasons related to claim 1.
14. Regarding claim 10, a non-transitory computer readable medium that stores a program
(…Yoshikawa, in [0032] teaches a nonvolatile memory for storing programs executable
by a CPU…), wherein
the program causes a computer to execute a control method of an information
processing apparatus including a touch-screen capable of detecting a touch by a user (…[0030]
further teaches a touch-sensitive input device such as a touch panel; wherein [0035]
teaches a touch panel 106a…),
the control method comprising:
performing control such that an area having a predetermined shape is displayed on the
touch-screen (…wherein [0035] teaches that an operation unit 106 is an input device for
accepting user operations to include the panel 106a, buttons, and a joystick; [0056],
additionally, teaches an exemplary settings menu containing detectable setting items
which are in respective areas…);
detecting a touch-slide operation, which is a sliding operation performed while the area
having the predetermined shape is being touched; changing a setting value of a setting item
assigned to the area having the predetermined shape, in accordance with the touch-slide
operation (…[0061] teaches a slider 501 which is able to be dragged horizontally for a
parameter setting; Fig. 5B…); and
1) performing control such that a vibration in accordance with the touch-slide operation is
generated in a case where a first setting item is assigned to the area having the predetermined
shape (…wherein [0020] teaches an exemplary way of providing a tactile sensation for a
move operation of a slider; wherein as taught in [0051] a tactile sensation may
correspond to a vibration…) and
2) performing control such that the vibration in accordance with the touch-slide operation
is not generated in a case where a second setting item, which is different from the first setting
item, is assigned to the area having the predetermined shape (…wherein [0076] (Yoshikawa) teaches that not all touch operations need be notified by tactile sensations; as such a
user may determine what operations may generate a tactile sensation.
Further, Nakagawa teaches an information processing apparatus with settable parameters including the functions of zooming, focus, or shutter speed, as taught in [0045]…).
Though Yoshikawa teaches the changing of a setting through a slider on a touchscreen, as depicted in figures 5 A and B, Yoshikawa doesn’t further teach wherein
a setting value of the first setting item is a value that discontinuously changes in
accordance with the touch-slide operation (…however, Nakagawa teaches a terminal apparatus comprising a touch panel which is able to vibrate the panel/housing in
response to touch operations (as taught in [0004]); wherein the settings values can be
viewed as being discontinuous on the basis that settings can be adjusted on a one-notch
interval, as taught in [0046-0047]…), and
a setting value of the second setting item is a value that continuously changes in
accordance with the touch-slide operation (…wherein Nakagawa teaches setting values
which may further be set to values including decimal fractions between integers; this can
be viewed as a continuous adjustment of a parameter. As taught, in [0048], through a
continuous rotation of a dial changes in parameter can be successively changed.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention that different parameter settings can be
assigned different mechanisms of confirmation or feedback (or lack thereof) so that a
user of an electronic device is made aware of user operations…).
15. Regarding claim 11, Yoshikawa in view of Nakagawa teaches the information processing apparatus according to claim 1 (see claim 1 above), wherein
the value that discontinuously changes is a value that changes one step at a time for each predetermined operation amount of the touch-slide operation (…Nakagawa teaches a selection bar with respect to a parameter bar ([0093]) wherein selectable values can correspond to an adjustment of whole numbers (accordingly viewed as being stepped per operation…), and
the value that continuously changes is a value that constantly changes during the touch- slide operation regardless of an operation amount of the touch-slide operation (…Nakagawa, in [0048], teaches an ability to operate an adjustable parameter continuously. Further, [0093-0094] teach selectable values of decimal fractions.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that parameter settings can be implemented by means of intervals, as taught by Nakagawa, wherein settings can be adjusted on a one notch basis or in a continuous manner of rotation to set values of a setting, thus providing a user a wider degree of adjustment setting…).
16. Regarding claim 12, Yoshikawa in view of Nakagawa teaches the information processing apparatus according to claim 1 (see claim 1 above), wherein,
in the vibration control processing,
in a case where the first setting item is assigned to the area having the predetermined shape, at least one predetermined item is displayed in the area having the predetermined shape (…wherein a predetermined item may correspond to a particular first type of parameter being set and a corresponding adjustment mechanism. For example, Yoshikawa presents a brightness parameter and the adjusting bar 502 and slider 501 in figures 5A and 5B; or Nakagawa presents a parameter bar 41 with a selection bar 42 for selecting an in figures 4A and 4B…), and
in a case where the second setting item is assigned to the area having the predetermined shape, the predetermined item is not displayed in the area having the predetermined shape (…a particular first type of parameter (which is part of the predetermined item (as mapped in the instant claim above) is replaced by a different parameter;.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that parameter settings can be implemented by means of intervals, as taught by Nakagawa, wherein settings can be adjusted on a one notch basis or in a continuous manner of rotation to set values of a setting, thus providing a user a wider degree of adjustment setting…).
17. Regarding claim 13, Yoshikawa in view of Nakagawa teaches the information processing apparatus according to claim 12 (see claim 12 above), wherein,
in the vibration control processing, vibration is generated in a case where a touch position of the user reaches the predetermined item (…wherein Nakagawa, in [0099-0100], teaches that upon user operation of dial 6a and changing a parameter value, tactile sensation is provided. Further, [0046-0047] teach that dial 6a is adjusted in intervals of a notch; wherein [0049] teaches vibrational feedbacks can correspond to different intervals of adjustment. As such, Nakagawa teaches selectable values, in figures 4A and 4B, having numeric values and values represented by dots.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that parameter settings can be implemented by means of intervals, as taught by Nakagawa, wherein settings can be adjusted on a one notch basis or in a continuous manner of rotation to set values of a setting, thus providing a user a wider degree of adjustment setting…).
18. Regarding claim 14, Yoshikawa in view of Nakagawa teaches the information processing apparatus according to claim 12 (see claim 12 above), wherein
the predetermined item is displayed in response to a start of the touch-slide operation and is displayed at predetermined intervals based on a start position of the touch-slide operation (…wherein Nakagawa, in [0099-0100], teaches that upon user operation of dial 6a and changing a parameter value, tactile sensation is provided. Further, [0046-0047] teach that dial 6a is adjusted in intervals of a notch; wherein [0049] teaches vibrational feedbacks can correspond to different intervals of adjustment. As such, Nakagawa teaches selectable values, in figures 4A and 4B, having numeric values and values represented by dots.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that parameter settings can be implemented by means of intervals, as taught by Nakagawa, wherein settings can be adjusted on a one notch basis or in a continuous manner of rotation to set values of a setting, thus providing a user a wider degree of adjustment setting…).
19. Claims 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoshikawa (US
2014/0347296 A1) in view of Nakagawa et al. (US 2024/0168560 A1; further referred to
as Nakagawa) and further view of Lai et al. (US 2017/0041528 A1; further referred to as
Lai).
20. Regarding claim 6, Yoshikawa in view of Nakagawa teaches the information processing
apparatus according to claim 5 (see claim 5 above). Though Yoshikawa teaches an image
processing unit, Yoshikawa doesn’t teach an electronic device wherein
the specific apparatus is an imaging apparatus that performs image capturing
(…however, Lai, in [0031] teaches a camera device; wherein the camera may generate
haptic feedbacks (vibration), when values of parameter setting are changed; as such the
reference doesn’t teach providing these vibrations during image capturing…),
the setting value changed in the change processing is notified to the imaging apparatus
(…wherein Yoshikawa teaches an operation unit 106, which according to [0062] and Fig.
6, which facilitates user input from a touch panel to the CPU; Fig. 1; Lai further teaches a
camera wherein changes in setting reflect in a preview image of a camera’s…), and
the specific state is a state in which the imaging apparatus is performing image capturing
(…wherein Yoshikawa, in [0032], teaches that the CPU unit realizes the operations of
electronic device by controlling the components of the electronic device; Lai further
teaches image capturing.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention that the camera device as taught by Lai
could have been implemented in the device as taught by Yoshikawa; wherein during an
image capturing state a processing unit may realize operations of the electronic device
without providing a haptic feedback, thus making such vibrational feedbacks only
available during parameter adjusting of camera settings…).
21. Regarding claim 7, Yoshikawa in view of Nakagawa teaches the information processing
apparatus according to claim 1 (see claim 1 above).
The combined reference does not teach the processing information processing
apparatus wherein
the area having the predetermined shape is an area representing a wheel shape
(…however, Lai, in [0011], teaches a camera setting wherein a rotating wheel is simulated
on a display screen for selecting control values corresponding to camera parameters.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a control method as taught by Lai
in the electronic device as taught by Yoshikawa for easy access of inputting parameter
settings…).
Conclusion
22. THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SURAFEL YILMAKASSAYE/Examiner, Art Unit 2639
/TWYLER L HASKINS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2639