Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hayashi (US 20190049649 A1), in view of Iguchi (US 20190243149 A1).
Regarding independent claim 1, Hayashi teaches a display apparatus, comprising: a thin-film transistor (TFT) substrate (Fig. 1, 20; [0116], "The wiring board 20 may be a thin-film transistor substrate that includes a plurality of TFTs."); and a light-emitting module, arranged on the TFT substrate (Fig. 1, 100; [0111], "As shown in FIG. 3I, the light emitting module 100 of the present disclosure may include the wiring board 20."); wherein the light-emitting module comprises a plurality of light-emitting elements (Fig. 2B, 11; [0050], "The light emitting module 100 includes a light guide plate 1 and a plurality of light emitting elements 11 joined to the light guide plate 1."), the plurality of light-emitting elements comprise a first light-emitting element emitting a first wavelength, a second light-emitting element emitting a second wavelength, and a third light-emitting element emitting a third wavelength ([0096], "For example, the light emitting module 100 may include light emitting elements that respectively emit red, blue, and green lights, and thereby white light may be emitted by mixing the red, blue, and green lights therefrom.").
However, Hayashi does not teach and a voltage of each of the plurality of light-emitting elements is greater than or equal to 3 volts (V) when a rated current is 1 microampere (μA).
However, in the same field of endeavor, Iguchi teaches a voltage of each of the plurality of light-emitting elements is greater than or equal to 3 volts (V) when a rated current is 1 microampere (μA) ([0074], "Configuration of Blue Light Emitting Micro LED 16 [0075] Micro LED chip made of InGaN-based compound semiconductor", [0078], "Light output of 0.9 μW at voltage of 3.0 V and current of 1 μA").
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the display apparatus of Hayashi with the voltage of Iguchi so that each LED "emits light upon supply of the current at [the] predetermined voltage", (Iguchi, [0059]).
Regarding dependent claim 15, Hayashi, as previously modified by Iguchi, teaches the display apparatus as claimed in claim 1, and further teaches wherein a spacing between the first light-emitting element and the third light-emitting element is D, a width of the light-emitting module in an arrangement direction of the light-emitting elements is P, and a value of D/P is less than or equal to 0.15 ([0053], "...the thickness of the light emitting module 100 can be reduced to 5 mm or less, 3 mm or less, 1 mm or less, or the like.", [0094], "...a distance between the adjacent light emitting elements 11, can be set to, for example, about 0.05 mm to 20 mm, and preferably about 1 mm to 10 mm.", (The minimum distance between elements is 0.05 mm, while the max thickness of the module is 5 mm. The distance from one element to a third element over the max thickness then is less than 0.15)).
Claim(s) 2-5 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hayashi (US 20190049649 A1), in view of Iguchi (US 20190243149 A1) and Chae (US 20190164945 A1).
Regarding dependent claim 2, Hayashi, as previously modified by Iguchi, teaches the display apparatus as claimed in claim 1. However, as previously combined, they do not teach wherein each of the plurality of light-emitting elements at least comprises two light-emitting diodes emitting a same wavelength and the two light-emitting diodes are connected in series; and each of the plurality of light-emitting elements further comprises a connection electrode, and the two light-emitting diodes emitting the same wavelength are connected in series on the light-emitting element through the connection electrode.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Chae teaches wherein each of the plurality of light-emitting elements at least comprises two light-emitting diodes emitting a same wavelength and the two light-emitting diodes are connected in series ([0954], "Furthermore, the first light emitting diode R has a multi-junction LED stack structure and thus has a structure in which at least two light emitting diodes are connected to each other in series."); and each of the plurality of light-emitting elements further comprises a connection electrode, and the two light-emitting diodes emitting the same wavelength are connected in series on the light-emitting element through the connection electrode (Fig. 92, 725; [0958], "The pixels may be arranged in a matrix form in which the anodes of the light emitting diodes R, G, B of each pixel are commonly connected to the first reflective electrode 725…").
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the display device as described by the combination of Hayashi and Iguchi with the two light-emitting diodes of Chae so as to allow "the micro-LEDs to emit light having similar brightness without significantly changing the area occupied by the micro-LEDs", (Chae, [0009]).
Regarding dependent claim 3, Hayashi, as previously modified by Iguchi, teaches the display apparatus as claimed in claim 1. However, as previously combined, they do not teach wherein each of the plurality of light-emitting elements at least comprises two light-emitting diodes emitting a same wavelength and the two light-emitting diodes are connected in series ([0954], "Furthermore, the first light emitting diode R has a multi-junction LED stack structure and thus has a structure in which at least two light emitting diodes are connected to each other in series."); and each of the plurality of light-emitting elements further comprises a tunneling junction, and the two light-emitting diodes emitting the same wavelength are connected in series on the light-emitting element through the tunneling junction (Fig. 97, 7130; [0991], "In addition, the light emitting diode R includes the first-1 LED stack 723a, the first-2 LED stack 723b, and the tunnel-junction layer 7130 interposed therebetween.").
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the display device as described by the combination of Hayashi and Iguchi with the two light-emitting diodes of Chae so as to allow "the micro-LEDs to emit light having similar brightness without significantly changing the area occupied by the micro-LEDs", (Chae, [0009]).
Regarding dependent claim 4, Hayashi, as previously modified by Iguchi and Chae, teaches the display apparatus as claimed in claim 2, and further teaches wherein the light-emitting module further comprises a wiring layer (Fig. 3I, 20b; [0114], "Each of the wiring layers 20b is, for example, a conductive foil (conductive layer) provided on the base material 20a."), and the wiring layer is formed on the plurality of light-emitting elements and configured to electrically connect to the plurality of light-emitting elements ([0114], "The respective wiring layers 20b are electrically connected to the plurality of light emitting elements 11."), and Chae further teaches and the two light-emitting diodes emitting the same wavelength are connected in series through the wiring layer ([0954], "Furthermore, the first light emitting diode R has a multi-junction LED stack structure and thus has a structure in which at least two light emitting diodes are connected to each other in series.").
Regarding dependent claim 5, Hayashi, as previously modified by Iguchi and Chae, teaches the display apparatus as claimed in claim 4. Chae further teaches wherein the wiring layer comprises a connection part, and the two light-emitting diodes are connected in series through the connection part ([0957], "...each of the pixels is connected to the first reflective electrodes 25 and interconnection lines 771, 773, 775.").
Regarding dependent claim 9, Hayashi, as previously modified by Iguchi, teaches the display apparatus as claimed in claim 1. However, as previously combined, they do not teach wherein the TFT substrate comprises a TFT driving circuit, and the TFT driving circuit is arranged to drive the light-emitting module in an active matrix manner.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Chae teaches wherein the TFT substrate comprises a TFT driving circuit (Fig. 9, Tr1, Tr2; [0358], "Referring to FIG. 9, the drive circuit according to this exemplary embodiment includes at least two transistors Tr1, Tr2 and a capacitor.", [0359], "The transistors Tr1, Tr2 and the capacitor may be formed inside the support substrate 51. For example, thin film transistors formed on a silicon substrate may be used for active matrix driving."), and the TFT driving circuit is arranged to drive the light-emitting module in an active matrix manner ([0359], "The transistors Tr1, Tr2 and the capacitor may be formed inside the support substrate 51. For example, thin film transistors formed on a silicon substrate may be used for active matrix driving.").
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the display device as described by the combination of Hayashi and Iguchi with the TFT driving circuit of Chae for "enabling continuous light emission", (Chae, [0358]).
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hayashi (US 20190049649 A1), in view of Iguchi (US 20190243149 A1), Chae (US 20190164945 A1), and Yoo (US 20200013759 A1).
Regarding dependent claim 6, Hayashi, as previously modified by Iguchi and Chae, teaches the display apparatus as claimed in claim 5. However, as previously combined, they do not teach wherein the connection part comprises a first connection part, a second connection part, and a third connection part; the first light-emitting element comprises a first light-emitting diode and a second light-emitting diode emitting the first wavelength, the second light-emitting element comprises a third light-emitting diode and a fourth light-emitting diode emitting the second wavelength, and the third light-emitting element comprises a fifth light-emitting diode and a sixth light-emitting diode emitting the third wavelength; and wherein the first light-emitting diode and the second light-emitting diode are connected in series through the first connection part, the third light-emitting diode and the fourth light-emitting diode are connected in series through the second connection part, and the fifth light-emitting diode and the sixth light-emitting diode are connected in series through the third connection part.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Yoo teaches wherein the connection part comprises a first connection part, a second connection part, and a third connection part (Fig. 37, 510, 520, 530; [0193], "Each of the plurality of LED pixel units 2 includes a first connection part 510, a second connection part 520, and a third connection part 530…"); and Chae further teaches the first light-emitting element comprises a first light-emitting diode and a second light-emitting diode emitting the first wavelength ([0954], "Furthermore, the first light emitting diode R has a multi-junction LED stack structure and thus has a structure in which at least two light emitting diodes are connected to each other in series."), the second light-emitting element comprises a third light-emitting diode and a fourth light-emitting diode emitting the second wavelength ([0954], "Furthermore, the first light emitting diode R has a multi-junction LED stack structure and thus has a structure in which at least two light emitting diodes are connected to each other in series."), and the third light-emitting element comprises a fifth light-emitting diode and a sixth light-emitting diode emitting the third wavelength ([0954], "Furthermore, the first light emitting diode R has a multi-junction LED stack structure and thus has a structure in which at least two light emitting diodes are connected to each other in series."); and wherein the first light-emitting diode and the second light-emitting diode are connected in series through the first connection part ([0957], "...each of the pixels is connected to the first reflective electrodes 25 and interconnection lines 771, 773, 775."), the third light-emitting diode and the fourth light-emitting diode are connected in series through the second connection part ([0957], "...each of the pixels is connected to the first reflective electrodes 25 and interconnection lines 771, 773, 775."), and the fifth light-emitting diode and the sixth light-emitting diode are connected in series through the third connection part ([0957], "...each of the pixels is connected to the first reflective electrodes 25 and interconnection lines 771, 773, 775.").
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the display device as described by the combination of Hayashi, Iguchi, and Chae with the connection parts of Yoo "so as to penetrate a support substrate 501 by which the first vertical LED chip 200, the second vertical LED chip 300, the third vertical LED chip 400, and the common electrode 600 are supported", (Yoo, [0195]), and the light-emitting diodes of Chae so that "the light emitting diodes R, G, B in each pixel can be independently driven", (Chae, [0955]).
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hayashi (US 20190049649 A1), in view of Iguchi (US 20190243149 A1), Chae (US 20190164945 A1), and Wakamatsu (US 20200335676 A1).
Regarding dependent claim 7, Hayashi, as previously modified by Iguchi and Chae, teaches the display apparatus as claimed in claim 2, and further teaches and a spacing between light-emitting elements of the plurality of light-emitting elements emitting different wavelengths is less than or equal to 50 μm ([0094], "...a distance between the adjacent light emitting elements 11, can be set to, for example, about 0.05 mm…").
However, as previously combined, they do not teach wherein a spacing between the two light-emitting diodes emitting the same wavelength is less than or equal to 50 micrometers (μm).
However, in the same field of endeavor, Wakamatsu teaches wherein a spacing between the two light-emitting diodes emitting the same wavelength is less than or equal to 50 micrometers (μm) ([0055], "For example, the distance between the light emitting elements 14 or the optical components 13 can be in a range of 30 μm to 100 μm, preferably 50 μm to 70 μm.").
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the display device as described by the combination of Hayashi, Iguchi, and Chae with the spacing of Wakamatsu so that "light is less likely to leak from the turned-on light emitting element to the optical component on the adjacent turned-off light emitting element", (Wakamatsu, [0055])
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hayashi (US 20190049649 A1), in view of Iguchi (US 20190243149 A1), Chae (US 20190164945 A1), Yoo (US 20200013759 A1), and Yoshinaga (US 20200381602 A1).
Regarding dependent claim 8, Hayashi, as previously modified by Iguchi, Chae, and Yoo, teaches the display apparatus as claimed in claim 6. However, as previously combined, they do not teach wherein the wiring layer comprises a first sub-wiring, a second sub-wiring, a third sub-wiring and a fourth sub-wiring; the first light-emitting diode, the third light-emitting diode and the fifth light-emitting diode are connected to the first sub-wiring, the second light-emitting diode is connected to the second sub-wiring, the fourth light-emitting diode is connected to the third sub-wiring, and the sixth light-emitting diode is connected to the fourth sub-wiring.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Yoshinaga teaches wherein the wiring layer comprises a first sub-wiring, a second sub-wiring, a third sub-wiring and a fourth sub-wiring ([0006], "The wiring patterns include: a first wiring pattern connecting the first terminal and the second terminal; a second wiring pattern connecting the first terminal and the second terminal; a third wiring pattern disposed between the first wiring pattern and the second wiring pattern to connect the first terminal and the second terminal; a fourth wiring pattern..."); the first light-emitting diode, the third light-emitting diode and the fifth light-emitting diode are connected to the first sub-wiring (Fig. 1, 32, 47a, (All LEDs are labeled as 32)), the second light-emitting diode is connected to the second sub-wiring (Fig. 1, 32, 46a), the fourth light-emitting diode is connected to the third sub-wiring (Fig. 1, 32, 46b), and the sixth light-emitting diode is connected to the fourth sub-wiring (Fig. 1, 32, 47b).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the display device as described by the combination of Hayashi, Iguchi, Chae, and Yoo with the wirings of Yoshinaga "for electrical connection of the corresponding light-emitting elements", (Yoshinaga, [0033]).
Claim(s) 10 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hayashi (US 20190049649 A1), in view of Iguchi (US 20190243149 A1), Cai (US 20210408349 A1), and Machikawa (US 20200338879 A1).
Regarding dependent claim 10, Hayashi, as previously modified by Iguchi, teaches the display apparatus as claimed in claim 1. However, as previously combined, they do not teach wherein the light-emitting module further comprises a filling layer formed between adjacent light-emitting elements of the plurality of light-emitting elements, and a thickness of the filling layer is less than or equal to 15 μm.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Cai teaches wherein the light-emitting module further comprises a filling layer formed between adjacent light-emitting elements of the plurality of light-emitting elements (Fig. 17, 30, 50; [0070], "Specifically, referring to FIG. 16, in the display panel 200, the light-emitting elements 30 are encapsulated by the encapsulation layer 50.", (The encapsulation layer here serves the functions of the filling layer and encapsulation layer of the application)), and Machikawa teaches nd a thickness of the filling layer is less than or equal to 15 μm ([0204], "In some examples, the sealant layer comprises a thin film of a polymer, wherein the film is less than...15 μm in thickness.").
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the display device as described by the combination of Hayashi and Iguchi with the filling layer of Cai to "cover the supporting base", (Cai, [0069]), and the thickness of Machikawa so as "to provide means for sealing", (Machikawa, [0203]).
Regarding dependent claim 11, Hayashi, as previously modified by Iguchi, Cai, and Machikawa, teaches the display apparatus as claimed in claim 10. However, as previously combined, they do not teach wherein the light-emitting module further comprises an encapsulation layer and a conductive pad, the conductive pad is formed on the filling layer, the encapsulation layer is formed on a periphery of the conductive pad, and a thickness of the encapsulation layer is greater than 20 μm.
However, Cai further teaches wherein the light-emitting module further comprises an encapsulation layer and a conductive pad (Fig. 17, 12, 30; [0069], "The display panel 200 further includes the encapsulation layer 50 disposed on a side of the light emitting element 30 away from the main conductive pad unit 11 or the spare conductive pad unit 12."), the conductive pad is formed on the filling layer (Fig. 17, 12, 30, (The encapsulation layer here serves the functions of the filling layer and encapsulation layer of the application)), the encapsulation layer is formed on a periphery of the conductive pad (Fig. 17, 12, 30; [0069], "The display panel 200 further includes the encapsulation layer 50 disposed on a side of the light emitting element 30 away from the main conductive pad unit 11 or the spare conductive pad unit 12."), and Machikawa further teaches and a thickness of the encapsulation layer is greater than 20 μm ([0205], "In some examples, the sealant layer comprises a thin film of a polymer, wherein the film is greater than...20 μm in thickness…").
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the display device as described by the combination of Hayashi, Iguchi, Cai, and Machikawa with the encapsulation layer of Cai so as to "effectively block external moisture and oxygen from entering the light-emitting elements", (Cai, [0070]), and the thickness of Machikawa so as "to provide means for sealing", (Machikawa, [0203]).
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hayashi (US 20190049649 A1), in view of Iguchi (US 20190243149 A1), Cai (US 20210408349 A1), Machikawa (US 20200338879 A1), and Minas (US 20200397403 A1).
Regarding dependent claim 12, Hayashi, as previously modified by Iguchi, Cai, and Machikawa, teaches the display apparatus as claimed in claim 11. However, as previously combined, they do not teach wherein a thickness of the conductive pad is greater than 20 μm.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Minas teaches wherein a thickness of the conductive pad is greater than 20 μm ([0054], "In that regard, an exemplary range for the thickness of a conductive trace 216 and/or conductive pad is between 10-50 μm.").
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the display device as described by the combination of Hayashi, Iguchi, Cai, and Machikawa with the pad thickness of Minas so as "to provide proper conductivity and resilience", (Minas, [0054]).
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hayashi (US 20190049649 A1), in view of Iguchi (US 20190243149 A1) and Maki (US 20180301437 A1).
Regarding dependent claim 13, Hayashi, as previously modified by Iguchi, teaches the display apparatus as claimed in claim 1. However, as previously combined, they do not teach wherein the light-emitting module further comprises a wiring layer formed on the plurality of light-emitting elements and a conductive pad formed on a side of the wiring layer facing away from the plurality of light-emitting elements; the wiring layer comprises a first sub-wiring, a second sub-wiring, a third sub-wiring, and a fourth sub-wiring; and the conductive pad comprises a first sub-pad, a second sub-pad, a third sub-pad, and a fourth sub-pad; and wherein the first light-emitting element, the second light-emitting element and the third light-emitting element are connected to the first sub-pad through the first sub-wiring; the first light-emitting element is connected to the second sub-pad through the second sub-wiring; the second light-emitting element is connected to the third sub-pad through the third sub-wiring; and the third light-emitting element is connected to the fourth sub-pad through the fourth sub-wiring.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Maki teaches wherein the light-emitting module further comprises a wiring layer formed on the plurality of light-emitting elements and a conductive pad formed on a side of the wiring layer facing away from the plurality of light-emitting elements; the wiring layer comprises a first sub-wiring, a second sub-wiring, a third sub-wiring, and a fourth sub-wiring; and the conductive pad comprises a first sub-pad, a second sub-pad, a third sub-pad, and a fourth sub-pad ([0052], "As recognized from FIG. 5, each of the light-emitting elements 50R, 50G, and 50B is arranged between a pair of mesh patterns while the bumps 57 and 58 are connected to the connection pads 24P formed in the mesh patterns 201 to 236."); and wherein the first light-emitting element, the second light-emitting element and the third light-emitting element are connected to the first sub-pad through the first sub-wiring (Fig. 7, 50R,B,G, 201); the first light-emitting element is connected to the second sub-pad through the second sub-wiring (Fig. 7, 50B, 202); the second light-emitting element is connected to the third sub-pad through the third sub-wiring (Fig. 7, 50R, 203); and the third light-emitting element is connected to the fourth sub-pad through the fourth sub-wiring (Fig. 7, 50G, 204).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the display device as described by the combination of Hayashi and Iguchi with the wiring setup of Maki so as to "individually drive each of the light-emitting elements", (Maki, [0054]).
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hayashi (US 20190049649 A1), in view of Iguchi (US 20190243149 A1), Maki (US 20180301437 A1), Tsai (US 20190097387 A1), Tao (US 20200350361 A1), and Mengqun (US 20140370389 A1).
Regarding dependent claim 14, Hayashi, as previously modified by Iguchi and Maki, teaches the display apparatus as claimed in claim 13. However, as previously combined, they do not teach wherein the conductive pad comprises a conductive layer and a protective layer sequentially formed on the wiring layer, and the protective layer completely covers an upper surface of the conductive layer; the conductive pad further comprises a eutectic layer, and the eutectic layer is located between the conductive layer and the protective layer; and the eutectic layer is a single layer or a plurality of layers made of at least one material of tin (Sn), tin-silver (SnAg), and gold-tin (AuSn); and a thickness of the eutectic layer is in a range of 10-50 nanometers (nm).
However, in the same field of endeavor, Tsai teaches wherein the conductive pad comprises a conductive layer and a protective layer sequentially formed on the wiring layer (Fig. 9, 207, 2073; [0042], "An adhesion layer such as titanium (Ti) 2073 and a barrier layer such as platinum (Pt) or nickel (Ni) are disposed at the p-type electrode 205P.", "\[0043], "...the AuSn eutectic alloy is solidified and becomes a contiguous conductive layer 207."), the conductive pad further comprises a eutectic layer (Fig. 9, 2072; [0042], "In addition, a conductive layer 2072 such as eutectic compounds previously described…"), and the eutectic layer is located between the conductive layer and the protective layer (Fig. 9, 2072, 207, 2073, (2072 is between 207 and 2073)); and the eutectic layer is a single layer or a plurality of layers made of at least one material of tin (Sn), tin-silver (SnAg), and gold-tin (AuSn) ([0041], "...the bond pad 207B includes eutectic compounds having a eutectic temperature of more than 260 degrees Celsius. For example, gold-tin (AuSn), gold-germanium (AuGe), gold-silicon (AuSi), aluminum-germanium (AlGe), aluminum-silicon (AlSi) or the like can be adopted as the bond pad 207B.", [0042], "In addition, a conductive layer 2072 such as eutectic compounds previously described..."); Tao teaches and the protective layer completely covers an upper surface of the conductive layer (Fig. 12, 10, 12, 20; [0119], "As a result, the constituent elements such as LEDs, IC chips, and strips can be sealed and protected between the two transparent substrates 10, 12."); and Mengqun teaches and a thickness of the eutectic layer is in a range of 10-50 nanometers (nm) ([0044], "The eutectic layers have a thickness of 4 nm or larger and 800 nm or smaller, for example.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the display device as described by the combination of Hayashi, Iguchi, and Maki with the layers of Tsai for "joining the interposer and a substrate through a bonding layer", (Tsai, [0005]), the protective layer of Tao so that the conductive layer can "be sealed and protected", (Tao, [0119]), and the thickness of Mengqun so that a corresponding electrode "can readily generate ions", (Mengqun, [0044]).
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hayashi (US 20190049649 A1), in view of Iguchi (US 20190243149 A1) and Okubo (US 20160276553 A1).
Regarding dependent claim 16, Hayashi, as previously modified by Iguchi, teaches the display apparatus as claimed in claim 1. However, as previously combined, they do not teach wherein the light-emitting module further comprises: a plurality of groups of light-emitting elements, arranged in a centrosymmetric manner, wherein each of the plurality of groups of light-emitting elements comprises the plurality of light-emitting elements; a wiring layer, arranged in the centrosymmetric manner, formed on the plurality of groups of light-emitting elements and configured to electrically connect to the plurality of groups of light-emitting elements; and a conductive pad, arranged in the centrosymmetric manner, formed on a side of the wiring layer facing away from the plurality of groups of light-emitting elements and electrically connected to the wiring layer.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Okubo teaches wherein the light-emitting module further comprises: a plurality of groups of light-emitting elements, arranged in a centrosymmetric manner (Fig. 2; [0022], "The first light-emitting unit and the second light-emitting unit are concentrically formed."), wherein each of the plurality of groups of light-emitting elements comprises the plurality of light-emitting elements (Fig. 2, 10, 11; [0018], "...the light-emitting elements of the first light-emitting element group 10…"); a wiring layer, arranged in the centrosymmetric manner, formed on the plurality of groups of light-emitting elements and configured to electrically connect to the plurality of groups of light-emitting elements (Fig. 2, 4a,b,c; [0013], "The wiring patterns are concentrically formed as illustrated in FIG. 2 and include first wiring patterns 4a to 4c that are formed along the first light-emitting element group 10 and drive the first light-emitting element group 10, and second wiring patterns 5a to 5f that are formed along the second light-emitting element group 11 and drive the second light-emitting element group 11. "); and a conductive pad, arranged in the centrosymmetric manner, formed on a side of the wiring layer facing away from the plurality of groups of light-emitting elements and electrically connected to the wiring layer ([0016], "The first wiring pattern 4a includes a pad portion…").
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the display device as described by the combination of Hayashi and Iguchi with the concentric arrangement of Okubo so that "the light-emitting units can simultaneously emit light", (Okubo, [0005]).
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hayashi (US 20190049649 A1), in view of Iguchi (US 20190243149 A1), Okubo (US 20160276553 A1), and Maki (US 20180301437 A1).
Regarding dependent claim 17, Hayashi, as previously modified by Iguchi and Okubo, teaches the display apparatus as claimed in claim 16. However, as previously combined, they do not teach wherein the wiring layer corresponding to each of the plurality of groups of light-emitting elements comprises a first sub-wiring, a second sub-wiring, a third sub-wiring, and a fourth sub-wiring; the conductive pad corresponding to each of the plurality of groups of light-emitting elements comprises a first sub-pad, a second sub-pad, a third sub-pad, and a fourth sub-pad; and wherein the first light-emitting element, the second light-emitting element and the third light-emitting element are connected to the first sub-pad through the first sub-wiring; the first light-emitting element is connected to the second sub-pad through the second sub-wiring; the second light-emitting element is connected to the third sub-pad through the third sub-wiring; and the third light-emitting element is connected to the fourth sub-pad through the fourth sub-wiring.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Maki teaches wherein the wiring layer corresponding to each of the plurality of groups of light-emitting elements comprises a first sub-wiring, a second sub-wiring, a third sub-wiring, and a fourth sub-wiring ([0052], "As recognized from FIG. 5, each of the light-emitting elements 50R, 50G, and 50B is arranged between a pair of mesh patterns while the bumps 57 and 58 are connected to the connection pads 24P formed in the mesh patterns 201 to 236."); the conductive pad corresponding to each of the plurality of groups of light-emitting elements comprises a first sub-pad, a second sub-pad, a third sub-pad, and a fourth sub-pad ([0052], "As recognized from FIG. 5, each of the light-emitting elements 50R, 50G, and 50B is arranged between a pair of mesh patterns while the bumps 57 and 58 are connected to the connection pads 24P formed in the mesh patterns 201 to 236."); and wherein the first light-emitting element, the second light-emitting element and the third light-emitting element are connected to the first sub-pad through the first sub-wiring (Fig. 7, 50R,B,G, 201); the first light-emitting element is connected to the second sub-pad through the second sub-wiring (Fig. 7, 50B, 202); the second light-emitting element is connected to the third sub-pad through the third sub-wiring (Fig. 7, 50R, 203); and the third light-emitting element is connected to the fourth sub-pad through the fourth sub-wiring (Fig. 7, 50G, 204).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the display device as described by the combination of Hayashi, Iguchi, and Okubo with the wiring layout of Maki so as to "individually drive each of the light-emitting elements", (Maki, [0054]).
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hayashi (US 20190049649 A1), in view of Iguchi (US 20190243149 A1), Okubo (US 20160276553 A1), Maki (US 20180301437 A1), and Hussell (US 20200312220 A1).
Regarding dependent claim 18, Hayashi, as previously modified by Iguchi and Okubo, teaches the display apparatus as claimed in claim 16. However, as previously combined, they do not teach wherein the conductive pad comprises 2m+1 number of sub-pads, where m is a number of groups of light-emitting elements; when the number of groups of light-emitting elements m=2, arrangement orders of the two groups of light-emitting elements are opposite; the wiring layer includes a first wiring layer and a second wiring; the first wiring layer comprises a first sub-wiring, a second sub-wiring, a third sub-wiring, a fourth sub-wiring, and a fifth sub-wiring; and the second wiring layer comprises a sixth sub-wiring and a seventh sub-wiring; and the conductive pad comprises a first sub-pad, a second sub-pad, a third sub-pad, a fourth sub-pad and a fifth sub-pad; the first light-emitting element, the second light-emitting element in a first group of the two groups of light-emitting elements and the third light-emitting element in a second group of the two groups of light-emitting elements are connected to the first sub-wiring; the third light-emitting element in the first group of the two groups of light-emitting elements is connected to the second sub-wiring; the third light-emitting element in the first group of the two groups of light-emitting elements and the first light-emitting element and the second light-emitting element in the second group of the two groups of light-emitting elements are connected to the third sub-wiring; the third light-emitting element in the second group of the two groups of light-emitting elements is connected to the fourth sub-wiring; the second light-emitting elements in the two groups of light-emitting elements are connected to the fifth sub-wiring; and the sixth sub-wiring and the seventh sub-wiring are respectively configured to connect to the first light-emitting elements in the two groups of light-emitting elements; and the first sub-pad is electrically connected to the first sub-wiring; the second sub-pad is electrically connected to the second sub-wiring and the sixth sub-wiring; the third sub-pad is electrically connected to the third sub-wiring; the fourth sub-pad is electrically connected to the fourth sub-wiring and the seventh sub-wiring; and the fifth sub-pad is electrically connected to the fifth sub-wiring.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Hussell teaches wherein the conductive pad comprises 2m+1 number of sub-pads, where m is a number of groups of light-emitting elements (Fig. 7, 48-(1-4), 38, (For the purposes of this application, we will only be looking at the top two groups in this figure)); when the number of groups of light-emitting elements m=2, arrangement orders of the two groups of light-emitting elements are opposite (Fig. 7, 48(1-4), 38, 75, 76 (For the purposes of this application, we will only be looking at the top two groups in this figure)); the wiring layer comprises a first sub-wiring, a second sub-wiring, a third sub-wiring, a fourth sub-wiring, and a fifth sub-wiring (Fig 7, 42-(1-14)); and the wiring layer comprises a sixth sub-wiring and a seventh sub-wiring (Fig. 7, 42-(1-7), [0083], "...the plurality of electrically conductive traces 42-1 to 42-7 are formed…"); and the conductive pad comprises a first sub-pad, a second sub-pad, a third sub-pad, a fourth sub-pad and a fifth sub-pad (Fig. 7, 48-(1-4), 38); the first light-emitting element, the second light-emitting element in a first group of the two groups of light-emitting elements and the third light-emitting element in a second group of the two groups of light-emitting elements are connected to the first sub-wiring (Fig. 7, 42-1); the third light-emitting element in the first group of the two groups of light-emitting elements is connected to the second sub-wiring (Fig. 7, 42-14, 75-3); the third light-emitting element in the first group of the two groups of light-emitting elements and the first light-emitting element and the second light-emitting element in the second group of the two groups of light-emitting elements are connected to the third sub-wiring (Fig. 7, 75-3, 76-1, 76-2, 42-1, (They are all connected through one wiring)); the third light-emitting element in the second group of the two groups of light-emitting elements is connected to the fourth sub-wiring (Fig. 7, 42-11. 76-3); the second light-emitting elements in the two groups of light-emitting elements are connected to the fifth sub-wiring (Fig. 7, 75-2, 76-2, 42-1, (They are all connected through one wiring)); and the sixth sub-wiring and the seventh sub-wiring are respectively configured to connect to the first light-emitting elements in the two groups of light-emitting elements (Fig. 7, 42-16, 75-1, 42-13, 76-1); and the first sub-pad is electrically connected to the first sub-wiring (Fig. 7, 48-1); the second sub-pad is electrically connected to the second sub-wiring and the sixth sub-wiring (Fig. 7, 48-2); the third sub-pad is electrically connected to the third sub-wiring (Fig. 7, 48-3); the fourth sub-pad is electrically connected to the fourth sub-wiring and the seventh sub-wiring (Fig. 7, 48-4); and the fifth sub-pad is electrically connected to the fifth sub-wiring (Fig. 7, 38), and Maki teaches the wiring layer includes a first wiring layer and a second wiring (Fig. 8, 32, 33; [0055], "As illustrated in FIG. 8, the board 30 has a conductor layer 32 formed on the upper surface (+Z side surface) and a conductor layer 33 formed on the lower surface (−Z side surface).").
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the display device as described by the combination of Hayashi, Iguchi, and Okubo with the wiring layout of Hussell so as to "control multiple LED pixels with a reduced number of input signal connections", (Hussell, [0091]), and the wiring layers of Maki so as to "individually drive each of the light-emitting elements", (Maki, [0054]).
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hayashi (US 20190049649 A1), in view of Iguchi (US 20190243149 A1), Okubo (US 20160276553 A1), and Yoo (US 20200013759 A1).
Regarding dependent claim 19, Hayashi, as previously combined with Iguchi, teaches the display apparatus as claimed in claim 1. However, as previously combined, they do not teach wherein the light-emitting module further comprises: a plurality of groups of light-emitting elements, arranged in a centrosymmetric manner, each of the plurality of groups of light-emitting elements constitutes a pixel unit, and each of the plurality of groups of light-emitting elements comprises the plurality of light-emitting elements; a wiring layer, arranged in the centrosymmetric manner, formed on the plurality of groups of light-emitting elements and configured to electrically connect to the plurality of groups of light-emitting elements; and a conductive pad, arranged in the centrosymmetric manner, formed on a side of the wiring layer facing away from the light-emitting elements and electrically connected to the wiring layer; and wherein the light-emitting module is capable of being overlapped with a layout of the light-emitting module before being rotated by 90 degrees in any direction.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Okubo teaches wherein the light-emitting module further comprises: a plurality of groups of light-emitting elements, arranged in a centrosymmetric manner (Fig. 2; [0022], "The first light-emitting unit and the second light-emitting unit are concentrically formed."), and each of the plurality of groups of light-emitting elements comprises the plurality of light-emitting elements (Fig. 2, 10, 11; [0018], "...the light-emitting elements of the first light-emitting element group 10…"); a wiring layer, arranged in the centrosymmetric manner, formed on the plurality of groups of light-emitting elements and configured to electrically connect to the plurality of groups of light-emitting elements (Fig. 2, 4a,b,c; [0013], "The wiring patterns are concentrically formed as illustrated in FIG. 2 and include first wiring patterns 4a to 4c that are formed along the first light-emitting element group 10 and drive the first light-emitting element group 10, and second wiring patterns 5a to 5f that are formed along the second light-emitting element group 11 and drive the second light-emitting element group 11. "); and a conductive pad, arranged in the centrosymmetric manner, formed on a side of the wiring layer facing away from the light-emitting elements and electrically connected to the wiring layer ([0016], "The first wiring pattern 4a includes a pad portion…"); and wherein the light-emitting module is capable of being overlapped with a layout of the light-emitting module before being rotated by 90 degrees in any direction (Fig. 2, (This is obvious from the centrosymmetric shape)), and Yoo teaches each of the plurality of groups of light-emitting elements constitutes a pixel unit ([0007], "...in which a plurality of pixel units, each including first, second, third, and fourth vertical LED chips…").
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the display device as described by the combination of Hayashi and Iguchi with the centrosymmetric layout of Okubo so that "the light-emitting units can simultaneously emit light", (Okubo, [0005]), and the pixel units of Yoo so that "the plurality of pixel units are individually driven by light-transmitting electrode patterns", (Yoo, [0007]).
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hayashi (US 20190049649 A1), in view of Iguchi (US 20190243149 A1), Okubo (US 20160276553 A1), Tao (US 20200350361 A1), and Hussell (US 20200312220 A1).
Regarding dependent claim 20, Hayashi, as previously combined with Iguchi, Okubo, and Yoo, teaches the display apparatus as claimed in claim 19. However, as previously combined, they do not teach wherein the light-emitting module comprises four groups of light-emitting elements, and the wiring layer corresponding to each of the four groups of light-emitting elements comprises a first sub-wiring, a second sub-wiring, a third sub-wiring, a fourth sub-wiring, a fifth sub-wiring, and a sixth sub-wiring; and the conductive pad corresponding to each of the four groups of light-emitting elements comprises a common sub-pad, a first independent sub-pad, a second independent sub-pad and a third independent sub-pad; and the first light-emitting element, the second light-emitting element and the third light-emitting element are respectively connected to the common sub-pad through the first sub-wiring, the second sub-wiring and the third sub-wiring; the first light-emitting element is connected to the first independent sub-pad through the fourth sub-wiring, the second light-emitting element is connected to the second independent sub-pad through the fifth sub-wiring, and the third light-emitting element is connected to the third independent sub-pad through the sixth sub-wiring.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Hussell teaches wherein the light-emitting module comprises four groups of light-emitting elements (Fig. 7, 75,76,77,78), and the wiring layer corresponding to each of the four groups of light-emitting elements comprises a first sub-wiring, a second sub-wiring, a third sub-wiring, a fourth sub-wiring, a fifth sub-wiring, and a sixth sub-wiring (Fig. 7, 42-(1-7)); and the conductive pad corresponding to each of the four groups of light-emitting elements comprises a common sub-pad, a first independent sub-pad, a second independent sub-pad and a third independent sub-pad (Fig. 7 48-(1-4), 38 (38 is many pads connected together, which can count as a single pad)); and the first light-emitting element, the second light-emitting element and the third light-emitting element are respectively connected to the common sub-pad through the first sub-wiring, the second sub-wiring and the third sub-wiring (Fig. 7, 75-(1-3), 42-(14-16)); the first light-emitting element is connected to the first independent sub-pad through the fourth sub-wiring, the second light-emitting element is connected to the second independent sub-pad through the fifth sub-wiring, and the third light-emitting element is connected to the third independent sub-pad through the sixth sub-wiring (Fig. 7, 75-(1-3), 42-1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the display device as described by the combination of Hayashi, Iguchi, Okubo, and Yoo with the wiring layout of Hussell so as to "control multiple LED pixels with a reduced number of input signal connections", (Hussell, [0091]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20210013367 A1, pertaining to an LED display.
/TIMOTHY JAMES MATTABONI/Examiner, Art Unit 2897 /CHAD M DICKE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2897