DETAILED ACTION
This office action is responsive to application 18/780,883 filed on July 23, 2024. Claim 1 is pending in the application and has been examined by the Examiner.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statements (IDS) filed on August 19, 2024 and January 21, 2025 were received and have been considered by the Examiner.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. 14/851,785, filed on September 11, 2015.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negatived by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claim 1 is rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Olsen et al. (US 2008/0029714) in view of Kinsman et al. (US 2013/0221470).
Consider claim 1, Olsen et al. teaches:
An imaging element comprising a plurality of semiconductor substrates (Olsen et al. details “in some embodiments one, some or all portions of the processor are disposed on one or more substrates that are separate from (and possibly remote from) one or more substrates on which one or more of the one or more sensor arrays, e.g., sensor arrays 310A-310D, may be disposed” paragraph 0805. The substrates are semiconductor substrates, paragraphs 0089, 0327, 0330, 0343, 0375 and 0377.), wherein
the plurality of semiconductor substrates include
a plurality of photoelectric converting sections (sensor arrays 310A-310D, figure 8, paragraph 0385) that convert light into charges (see paragraph 0392),
a first computational circuit that performs a computational process using a signal based on a charge converted by a first photoelectric converting section among the plurality of photoelectric converting sections, a second computational circuit that performs a computational process using a signal based on a charge converted by a second photoelectric converting section among the plurality of photoelectric converting sections (The sensor arrays (310A-310D) are connected to a processor (340), figure 8, paragraph 0389. The processor (340) includes a plurality of channel processors (i.e. computational circuits) which are respectively connected to the sensor arrays of the respective camera channels, paragraph 0807, figure 110A). The respective channel processors (i.e. computational circuits) perform computational processes through analog signal logic, black level logic, and exposure control, figure 110B, paragraphs 0810-0813.), and
a drive control section (“system control”, figures 110A and 110E, paragraph 0817) that performs a control such that the computational process performed in the first computational circuit is different from the computational process performed in the second computational circuit (Each channel processor is tailored to its associated camera channel such that different computational processes are performed for different wavelengths or colors of the respective camera channels, paragraphs 0807, 0808 and 0810-0813.).
However, Olsen et al. does not explicitly teach that the plurality of semiconductor substrates are stacked on each other.
Kinsman et al. similarly teaches an imaging element comprising a plurality of photoelectric converting sections (pixel arrays (20) of image sensor chip (16), figure 2, paragraphs 0019 and 0020) included in a first substrate (integrated circuit substrate, 17, paragraph 0019) and image processing circuitry (control and processing circuitry, 18, paragraph 0016) included in a second substrate (“image signal processing die”, paragraph 0024, figure 3).
However, Kinsman et al. additionally teaches that the first and second substrates are stacked (see 16 and 18 of figure 3, paragraph 0024).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have the plurality of semiconductor substrates taught by Olsen et al. be stacked on each other as taught by Kinsman et al. for the benefit of providing more efficient use of area, allowing each substrate to be implemented using the most appropriate technology process, increasing the performance of die-to-die interface and simplifying printed circuit board design (Kinsman et al., paragraph 0023).
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,081,882. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 1 is anticipated by claim 1 of US 12,081,882 as follows:
Consider claim 1, claim 1 of US 12,081,882 teaches (in parentheses):
An imaging element comprising (An imaging element comprising)
a plurality of semiconductor substrates stacked on each other (a plurality of semiconductor substrates stacked on each other), wherein
the plurality of semiconductor substrates include a plurality of photoelectric converting sections that convert light into charges (the plurality of semiconductor substrates include a first photoelectric converting section that converts light into charges, a second photoelectric converting section that converts light into charges),
a first computational circuit that performs a computational process using a signal based on a charge converted by a first photoelectric converting section among the plurality of photoelectric converting sections, (a first computational circuit that performs a computational process using a first signal based on a charge converted by the first photoelectric converting section)
a second computational circuit that performs a computational process using a signal based on a charge converted by a second photoelectric converting section among the plurality of photoelectric converting sections, (a second computational circuit that performs a computational process using a second signal based on a charge converted by the second photoelectric converting section) and
a drive control section that performs a control such that the computational process performed in the first computational circuit is different from the computational process performed in the second computational circuit (a drive control section that performs a control such that (i) the computational process performed in the first computational circuit is different from the computational process performed in at least one of the second computational circuit and the third computational circuit).
Conclusion
/ALBERT H CUTLER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2637