DETAILED ACTION
The office action is a response to an application filed on July 23, 2024, wherein claims 1-20 are pending and ready for examination.
Double Patenting
A rejection based on double patenting of the “same invention” type finds its support in the language of 35 U.S.C. 101 which states that “whoever invents or discovers any new and useful process... may obtain a patent therefor...” (Emphasis added). Thus, the term “same invention,” in this context, means an invention drawn to identical subject matter. See Miller v. Eagle Mfg. Co., 151 U.S. 186 (1894); In re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); In re Ockert, 245 F.2d 467, 114 USPQ 330 (CCPA 1957).
A statutory type (35 U.S.C. 101) double patenting rejection can be overcome by canceling or amending the claims that are directed to the same invention so they are no longer coextensive in scope. The filing of a terminal disclaimer cannot overcome a double patenting rejection based upon 35 U.S.C. 101.
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as claiming the same invention as that of claims1-11 of prior U.S. Patent No. US 11,309,934 B2 and claims 1-15 of prior U.S. Patent No. US 12081259 B2. This is a statutory double patenting rejection.
Application Number: 18/780,890
US 11,309,934 B2
1.A method of determining frequency hopping for a channel, the method comprising:
determining, by a terminal, a first bandwidth corresponding to a bandwidth part, wherein the first bandwidth corresponding to the bandwidth part is less than a second bandwidth corresponding to a system bandwidth; determining, by the terminal based on the first bandwidth corresponding to the bandwidth part, a frequency hopping step corresponding to an uplink channel; and
determining, by the terminal based on the frequency hopping step corresponding to the uplink channel, a frequency domain position used for transmitting the uplink channel.
3. The method of determining frequency hopping for a channel of claim 1,
wherein the determining, by the terminal based on the first bandwidth corresponding to the bandwidth part, a frequency hopping step corresponding to an uplink channel comprises: determining, by the terminal based on the following formula, the frequency hopping step corresponding to the uplink channel: WH = nW, wherein WH is the frequency hopping step corresponding to the uplink channel, W is the first bandwidth corresponding to the bandwidth part, n is a proportionality coefficient, n = 1/m, and m is a positive integer greater than 1.
1.A method of determining frequency hopping for a channel, the method comprising:
determining, by a terminal, a first bandwidth corresponding to a bandwidth part, wherein the first bandwidth corresponding to the bandwidth part is less than a second bandwidth corresponding to a system bandwidth; determining, by the terminal based on the first bandwidth corresponding to the bandwidth part, a frequency hopping step corresponding to an uplink channel; and
determining, by the terminal based on the frequency hopping step corresponding to the uplink channel, a frequency domain position used for transmitting the uplink channel,
wherein determining, by the terminal based on the first bandwidth corresponding to the bandwidth part, the frequency hopping step corresponding to the uplink channel comprises: determining, by the terminal based on the following formula, the frequency hopping step corresponding to the uplink channel: WH = nW, wherein W.sub.H is the frequency hopping step corresponding to the uplink channel, W is the first bandwidth corresponding to the bandwidth part, n is a proportionality coefficient, n=1/m, and m is a positive integer greater than 1.
4. The method of determining frequency hopping for a channel of claim 1, wherein the determining, by a terminal, a first bandwidth corresponding to a bandwidth part comprises: receiving, by the terminal, first configuration information, and determining, based on the first configuration information, the first bandwidth corresponding to the bandwidth part.
2. The method of determining frequency hopping for a channel of claim 1, wherein determining, by a terminal, a first bandwidth corresponding to a bandwidth part comprises: receiving, by the terminal, first configuration information, and determining, based on the first configuration information, the first bandwidth corresponding to the bandwidth part.
5. The method of determining frequency hopping for a channel of claim 4, wherein the receiving, by the terminal, first configuration information comprises: receiving, by the terminal, radio resource control (RRC) signaling that carries the first configuration information; or receiving, by the terminal, system information carrying the first configuration information.
3. The method of determining frequency hopping for a channel of claim 2, wherein receiving, by the terminal, first configuration information comprises: receiving, by the terminal, radio resource control RRC signaling that carries the first configuration information; or receiving, by the terminal, system information carrying the first configuration information.
6 ,14. The method of determining frequency hopping for a channel of claim 4, wherein the receiving, by the terminal, first configuration information, and determining, based on the first configuration information, the first bandwidth corresponding to the bandwidth part comprises: determining, by the terminal based on one piece of first configuration information when receiving the one piece of first configuration information, the first bandwidth corresponding to the bandwidth part; and determining, by the terminal based on a plurality of pieces of first configuration information when receiving the plurality of pieces of first configuration information, a plurality of candidate first bandwidths corresponding to the bandwidth part; and selecting, from the plurality of candidate first bandwidths, the first bandwidth corresponding to the bandwidth part.
4. The method of determining frequency hopping for a channel of claim 2, wherein receiving, by the terminal, first configuration information, and determining, based on the first configuration information, the first bandwidth corresponding to the bandwidth part comprises: determining, by the terminal based on one piece of first configuration information when receiving the one piece of first configuration information, the first bandwidth corresponding to the bandwidth part; and determining, by the terminal based on a plurality of pieces of first configuration information when receiving the plurality of pieces of first configuration information, a plurality of candidate first bandwidths corresponding to the bandwidth part; and selecting, from the plurality of candidate first bandwidths, the first bandwidth corresponding to the bandwidth part.
7. The method of determining frequency hopping for a channel of claim 3, wherein, when WH is determined based on a formula WH= nW, WH= ┌nW┐ or └nW┘, wherein ┌nW┐ represents a minimum integer greater than nW, and └nW┘ represents a maximum integer less than nW.
5. The method of determining frequency hopping for a channel of claim 1, wherein, when W.sub.H is determined based on a formula WH= nW, WH=┌nW┐ or └nW┘, wherein ┌nW┐ represents a minimum integer greater than nW, and └nW┘ represents a maximum integer less than nW.
8. The method of determining frequency hopping for a channel of claim 3, further comprising: determining, by the terminal, n or WH based on a preset value; or receiving, by the terminal, second configuration information, and determining n or WH based on the second configuration information.
6. The method of determining frequency hopping for a channel of claim 1, further comprising: determining, by the terminal, n or WH based on a preset value; or receiving, by the terminal, second configuration information, and determining n or WH based on the second configuration information.
9. A terminal, comprising: one or more processors; and a memory, configured to store computer-readable instructions executable by the one or more processors; wherein the one or more processors are configured to:
determine a first bandwidth corresponding to a bandwidth part, wherein the first bandwidth corresponding to the bandwidth part is less than a second bandwidth corresponding to a system bandwidth;
determine, based on the first bandwidth corresponding to the bandwidth part, a frequency hopping step corresponding to an uplink channel; and
determine, based on the frequency hopping step corresponding to the uplink channel, a frequency domain position used for transmitting the uplink channel.
11. The terminal of claim 9, wherein the determining, based on the first bandwidth corresponding to the bandwidth part, a frequency hopping step corresponding to an uplink channel comprises: determining, based on the following formula, the frequency hopping step corresponding to the uplink channel: WH = nW, wherein WH is the frequency hopping step corresponding to the uplink channel, W is the first bandwidth corresponding to the bandwidth part, n is a proportionality coefficient, n = 1/m, and m is a positive integer greater than 1.
7. A computer system including: one or more processors; and one or more memories storing computer-readable instructions that, upon execution by the one or more processors, configure the computer system to:
determine, by a terminal, a first bandwidth corresponding to a bandwidth part, wherein the first bandwidth corresponding to the bandwidth part is less than a second bandwidth corresponding to a system bandwidth;
determine, by the terminal based on the first bandwidth corresponding to the bandwidth part, a frequency hopping step corresponding to an uplink channel; and
determine, by the terminal based on the frequency hopping step corresponding to the uplink channel, a frequency domain position used for transmitting the uplink channel,
wherein determining, by the terminal based on the first bandwidth corresponding to the bandwidth part, the frequency hopping step corresponding to the uplink channel comprises:
determining, by the terminal based on the following formula, the frequency hopping step corresponding to the uplink channel: WH = nW, wherein WH is the frequency hopping step corresponding to the uplink channel, W is the first bandwidth corresponding to the bandwidth part, n is a proportionality coefficient, n=1/m, and m is a positive integer greater than 1.
12. The terminal of claim 9, wherein the determining a first bandwidth corresponding to a bandwidth part comprises: receiving first configuration information, and determining, based on the first configuration information, the first bandwidth corresponding to the bandwidth part.
8. The computer system of claim 7, wherein determining, by a terminal, a first bandwidth corresponding to a bandwidth part comprises: receiving, by the terminal, first configuration information, and determining, based on the first configuration information, the first bandwidth corresponding to the bandwidth part.
13. The terminal of claim 12, wherein the receiving first configuration information comprises: receiving radio resource control (RRC) signaling that carries the first configuration information; or receiving system information carrying the first configuration information.
9. The computer system of claim 8, wherein receiving, by the terminal, first configuration information comprises: receiving, by the terminal, radio resource control RRC signaling that carries the first configuration information; or receiving, by the terminal, system information carrying the first configuration information.
15. The terminal of claim 11, wherein when WH is determined based on a formula WH= nW, WH= ┌nW┐ or └nW┐, wherein ┌nW┐ represents a minimum integer greater than nW, and └nW┘ represents a maximum integer less than nW.
10. The computer system of claim 7, wherein, when W.sub.H is determined based on a formula WH= nW, WH =┌nW┐ or └nW┐, wherein ┌nW┐ represents a minimum integer greater than nW, and └nW┘ represents a maximum integer less than nW.
16. The terminal of claim 11,
wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: determine n or WH based on a preset value; or receive second configuration information, and determine n or WH based on the second configuration information.
11. The computer system of claim 10,
wherein the computer-readable instructions further configure the computer system to: determine, by the terminal, n or WH based on a preset value; or receive, by the terminal, second configuration information, and determine n or WH based on the second configuration information.
Application Number: 18/780,890
US 12,081,259 B2
1.A method of determining frequency hopping for a channel, the method comprising:
determining, by a terminal, a first bandwidth corresponding to a bandwidth part, wherein the first bandwidth corresponding to the bandwidth part is less than a second bandwidth corresponding to a system bandwidth; determining, by the terminal based on the first bandwidth corresponding to the bandwidth part, a frequency hopping step corresponding to an uplink channel; and determining, by the terminal based on the frequency hopping step corresponding to the uplink channel, a frequency domain position used for transmitting the uplink channel.
3. The method of determining frequency hopping for a channel of claim 1,
wherein the determining, by the terminal based on the first bandwidth corresponding to the bandwidth part, a frequency hopping step corresponding to an uplink channel comprises:
determining, by the terminal based on the following formula, the frequency hopping step corresponding to the uplink channel: WH = nW,
wherein WH is the frequency hopping step corresponding to the uplink channel, W is the first bandwidth corresponding to the bandwidth part, n is a proportionality coefficient, n = 1/m, and m is a positive integer greater than 1.
1.A method for determining frequency hopping for a channel, the method comprising:
receiving, by a terminal, first configuration information, and determining, based on the first configuration information, a first bandwidth size corresponding to the bandwidth part, wherein the first bandwidth size corresponding to the bandwidth part is less than or equal to a bandwidth size of a carrier; determining, by the terminal, based on the first bandwidth size corresponding to the bandwidth part,
a frequency hopping step-size corresponding to an uplink channel;
determining, by the terminal, a frequency domain position of a second step of frequency hopping based on a frequency domain position of a first step of frequency hopping and the frequency hopping step-size corresponding to the uplink channel, wherein the frequency domain position of the first step of frequency hopping and
the frequency domain position of the second step of frequency hopping are frequency domain positions used for transmitting the uplink channel; transmitting, by the terminal, the uplink channel based on the frequency domain positions, wherein determining, by the terminal, based on the first bandwidth size corresponding to the bandwidth part, a frequency hopping step-size corresponding to an uplink channel comprises: determining, by the terminal based on the following formula, the frequency hopping step-size corresponding to the uplink channel: W.sub.H=nW, wherein W.sub.H is the frequency hopping step-size corresponding to the uplink channel, W is the first bandwidth size corresponding to the bandwidth part, n is a scale factor, n=1/m, and m is a positive integer greater than 1.
2. The method of determining frequency hopping for a channel of claim 1,
wherein the determining, by the terminal based on the frequency hopping step corresponding to the uplink channel, a frequency domain position used for transmitting the uplink channel comprises:
determining, by the terminal, a frequency domain position of a second step of frequency hopping based on a frequency domain position of a first step of frequency hopping and the frequency hopping step corresponding to the uplink channel, wherein the frequency domain position of the first step of frequency hopping and the frequency domain position of the second step of frequency hopping are frequency domain positions used for transmitting the uplink channel.
4. The method of determining frequency hopping for a channel of claim 1, wherein the determining, by a terminal, a first bandwidth corresponding to a bandwidth part comprises:
receiving, by the terminal, first configuration information, and determining, based on the first configuration information, the first bandwidth corresponding to the bandwidth part. wherein the first bandwidth corresponding to the bandwidth part is less than a second bandwidth corresponding to a system bandwidth;
determining, by the terminal based on the first bandwidth corresponding to the bandwidth part, a frequency hopping step corresponding to an uplink channel; and
determining, by the terminal based on the frequency hopping step corresponding to the uplink channel, a frequency domain position used for transmitting the uplink channel.
5. The method of determining frequency hopping for a channel of claim 4,
wherein the receiving, by the terminal, first configuration information comprises: receiving, by the terminal, radio resource control (RRC) signaling that carries the first configuration information; or receiving, by the terminal, system information carrying the first configuration information.
2. The method for determining frequency hopping for a channel of claim 1,
wherein receiving, by the terminal, the first configuration information comprises: receiving, by the terminal, radio resource control RRC signaling that carries the first configuration information; or receiving, by the terminal, system information that carries the first configuration information.
6. The method of determining frequency hopping for a channel of claim 4,
wherein the receiving, by the terminal, first configuration information, and determining, based on the first configuration information, the first bandwidth corresponding to the bandwidth part comprises:
determining, by the terminal based on one piece of first configuration information when receiving the one piece of first configuration information, the first bandwidth corresponding to the bandwidth part; and
determining, by the terminal based on a plurality of pieces of first configuration information when receiving the plurality of pieces of first configuration information, a plurality of candidate first bandwidths corresponding to the bandwidth part; and
selecting, from the plurality of candidate first bandwidths, the first bandwidth corresponding to the bandwidth part.
3. The method for determining frequency hopping for a channel of claim 1,
wherein receiving, by the terminal, the first configuration information, and determining, based on the first configuration information, the first bandwidth size corresponding to the bandwidth part comprises:
determining, by the terminal based on one piece of first configuration information when receiving the one piece of first configuration information, the first bandwidth size corresponding to the bandwidth part; and
determining, by the terminal based on a plurality of pieces of first configuration information when receiving the plurality of pieces of first configuration information, a plurality of candidate first bandwidth sizes corresponding to the bandwidth part; and
selecting, from the plurality of candidate first bandwidth sizes, the first bandwidth size corresponding to the bandwidth part.
7. The method of determining frequency hopping for a channel of claim 3, wherein, when WH is determined based on a formula WH= nW, WH=
⌈
nW
⌉
or
⌊
nW
⌋
, wherein
⌈
nW
⌉
represents a minimum integer greater than nW, and
⌊
nW
⌋
represents a maximum integer less than nW.
5. The method for determining frequency hopping for a channel of claim 1, wherein WH is determined based on the formula WH=nW, WH=┌nW┐ or └nW┘, wherein ┌nW┐ represents a minimum integer greater than nW, and └nW┘ represents a maximum integer less than nW.
9. A terminal, comprising: one or more processors; and a memory, configured to store computer-readable instructions executable by the one or more processors;
12. The terminal of claim 9, wherein the determining a first bandwidth corresponding to a bandwidth part comprises: receiving first configuration information, and determining, based on the first configuration information, the first bandwidth corresponding to the bandwidth part.
wherein the one or more processors are configured to: determine a first bandwidth corresponding to a bandwidth part, wherein the first bandwidth corresponding to the bandwidth part is less than a second bandwidth corresponding to a system bandwidth; determine, based on the first bandwidth corresponding to the bandwidth part, a frequency hopping step corresponding to an uplink channel; and determine, based on the frequency hopping step corresponding to the uplink channel, a frequency domain position used for transmitting the uplink channel.
10. The terminal of claim 9, wherein the determining, based on the frequency hopping step corresponding to the uplink channel, a frequency domain position used for transmitting the uplink channel comprises: determining a frequency domain position of a second step of frequency hopping based on a frequency domain position of a first step of frequency hopping and the frequency hopping step corresponding to the uplink channel, wherein the frequency domain position of the first step of frequency hopping and the frequency domain position of the second step of frequency hopping are frequency domain positions used for transmitting the uplink channel.
11. The terminal of claim 9, wherein the determining, based on the first bandwidth corresponding to the bandwidth part, a frequency hopping step corresponding to an uplink channel comprises: determining, based on the following formula, the frequency hopping step corresponding to the uplink channel: WH = nW, wherein WH is the frequency hopping step corresponding to the uplink channel, W is the first bandwidth corresponding to the bandwidth part, n is a proportionality coefficient, n = 1/m, and m is a positive integer greater than 1.
6. A terminal, comprising: one or more processors; and one or more memories, configured to store computer-readable instructions executable by the one or more processors; wherein the one or more processors are configured to: receive first configuration information, and determine, based on the first configuration information, a first bandwidth size corresponding to the bandwidth part,
wherein the first bandwidth size corresponding to the bandwidth part is less than or equal to a bandwidth size of a carrier;
determine, based on the first bandwidth size corresponding to the bandwidth part, a frequency hopping step-size corresponding to an uplink channel; determine a frequency domain position of a second step of frequency hopping based on a frequency domain position of a first step of frequency hopping and the frequency hopping step-size corresponding to the uplink channel,
wherein the frequency domain position of the first step of frequency hopping and the frequency domain position of the second step of frequency hopping are frequency domain positions used for transmitting the uplink channel; transmit the uplink channel based on the frequency domain positions,
wherein determining, based on the first bandwidth size corresponding to the bandwidth part, the frequency hopping step-size corresponding to the uplink channel comprises: determining, based on the following formula, the frequency hopping step-size corresponding to the uplink channel: W.sub.H=nW, wherein W.sub.H is the frequency hopping step-size corresponding to the uplink channel, W is the first bandwidth size corresponding to the bandwidth part, n is a scale factor, n=1/m, and m is a positive integer greater than 1.
13. The terminal of claim 12, wherein the receiving first configuration information comprises: receiving radio resource control (RRC) signaling that carries the first configuration information; or receiving system information carrying the first configuration information.
7. The terminal of claim 6, wherein receiving the first configuration information comprises: receiving radio resource control RRC signaling that carries the first configuration information; or receiving system information that carries the first configuration information.
15. The terminal of claim11, wherein, when WH is determined based on a formula WH= nW, WH=
⌈
nW
⌉
or
⌊
nW
⌋
, wherein
⌈
nW
⌉
represents a minimum integer greater than nW, and
⌊
nW
⌋
represents a maximum integer less than nW.
10. The terminal of claim 6, wherein WH is determined based on the formula WH=nW, WH=┌nW┐ or └nW┘, wherein ┌nW┐ represents a minimum integer greater than nW, and └nW┘ represents a maximum integer less than nW.
17. A network device, comprising: one or more processors; and a memory, configured to store computer-readable instructions executable by the one or more processors; wherein the one or more processors are configured to: determine a first bandwidth corresponding to a bandwidth part, wherein the first bandwidth corresponding to the bandwidth part is less than a second bandwidth corresponding to a system bandwidth; determine, based on the first bandwidth corresponding to the bandwidth part, a frequency hopping step corresponding to an uplink channel; and determine, based on the frequency hopping step corresponding to the uplink channel, a frequency domain position used for transmitting the uplink channel.
18. The network device of claim 17, wherein the determining, based on the frequency hopping step corresponding to the uplink channel, a frequency domain position used for transmitting the uplink channel comprises: determining, a frequency domain position of a second step of frequency hopping based on a frequency domain position of a first step of frequency hopping and the frequency hopping step corresponding to the uplink channel, wherein the frequency domain position of the first step of frequency hopping and the frequency domain position of the second step of frequency hopping are frequency domain positions used for transmitting the uplink channel, and wherein the determining, based on the first bandwidth corresponding to the bandwidth part, a frequency hopping step corresponding to an uplink channel comprises: determining, based on the following formula, the frequency hopping step corresponding to the uplink channel: WH = nW, wherein WH is the frequency hopping step corresponding to the uplink channel, W is the first bandwidth corresponding to the bandwidth part, n is a proportionality coefficient, n = 1/m, and m is a positive integer greater than 1.
11. A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, comprising a computer executable instruction that, when being executed by one or more processors of a terminal, causes the terminal to implement operations, the operations comprising: receiving first configuration information, and determining, based on the first configuration information, a first bandwidth size corresponding to a bandwidth part, wherein the first bandwidth size corresponding to the bandwidth part is less than or equal to a bandwidth size of a carrier; determining, based on the first bandwidth size corresponding to the bandwidth part, a frequency hopping step-size corresponding to an uplink channel; determining a frequency domain position of a second step of frequency hopping based on a frequency domain position of a first step of frequency hopping and the frequency hopping step-size corresponding to the uplink channel, wherein the frequency domain position of the first step of frequency hopping and the frequency domain position of the second step of frequency hopping are frequency domain positions used for transmitting the uplink channel; and transmitting the uplink channel based on the frequency domain position, wherein determining, based on the first bandwidth size corresponding to the bandwidth part, the frequency hopping step-size corresponding to the uplink channel comprises: determining, based on the following formula, the frequency hopping step-size corresponding to the uplink channel: W.sub.H=nW, wherein: W.sub.H is the frequency hopping step-size corresponding to the uplink channel, W is the first bandwidth size corresponding to the bandwidth part, n is a scale factor, n=1/m, and m is a positive integer greater than 1.
20. The network device of claim 18, wherein WH is determined based on the formula WH =nW, WH =┌nW┐ or └nW┘, wherein ┌nW┐ represents a minimum integer greater than nW, and └nW┘ represents a maximum integer less than nW.
15. The non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 11, wherein WH is determined based on the formula WH =nW, WH =┌nW┐ or └nW┘, wherein ┌nW┐ represents a minimum integer greater than nW, and └nW┘ represents a maximum integer less than nW.
Claims 1,2, 9, 10, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 12,081,259 B2 and in view of 3GPP TSG RAN WG1 NR Ad-Hoc#2 R1-1710782 (NPL hereafter) (IDS provided).
Regarding claim1 US 12,081,259 B2 teaches, A method of determining frequency hopping for a channel, the method comprising:
determining, by a terminal, a first bandwidth corresponding to a bandwidth part, wherein the first bandwidth corresponding to the bandwidth part is less than a second bandwidth corresponding to a system bandwidth;
US 12,081,259 B22 fails to explicitly teach, determining, by the terminal based on the first bandwidth corresponding to the bandwidth part, a frequency hopping step corresponding to an uplink channel; and
determining, by the terminal based on the frequency hopping step corresponding to the uplink channel, a frequency domain position used for transmitting the uplink channel.
However, in the same field of endeavor NPL teaches, determining, by the terminal based on the first bandwidth corresponding to the bandwidth part, a frequency hopping step (S0, S1, S2, S3 and S4, are selected) corresponding to an uplink channel; and ( NPL;[3.1 PUCCH resource allocation] Figure 2, where the whole system bandwidth is 100 MHz. Assuming UEs served by the cell either have bandwidth of 20 MHz or 100 MHz, five subbands, S0, S1, S2, S3 and S4, are selected as follows)
determining, by the terminal based on the frequency hopping step corresponding to the uplink channel, a frequency domain position used for transmitting the uplink channel (the PUCCH of these UEs) ( NPL;[3.1 PUCCH resource allocation d)] If the edges of S4 is overcrowded by UEs with 100 MHz bandwidth, the PUCCH of these UEs can be allocated at the edge of S0, S1, S2, or S3)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date to create the invention of US 12,081,259 B2 to include the above recited limitations as taught by NPL in order to guarantee continuous uplink transmission for UE whose bandwidth is smaller than the system bandwidth (NPL; [3.1. PUCCH resource allocation]).
Regarding claim 9 US 12,081,259 B2 teaches, A terminal comprising:
one or more processors; and a memory, configured to store computer-readable instructions executable by the one or more processors; wherein the one or more processors are configured to:
determine a first bandwidth corresponding to a bandwidth part, wherein the first bandwidth corresponding to the bandwidth part is less than a second bandwidth corresponding to a system bandwidth;
US 12,081,259 B22 fails to explicitly teach, determine based on the first bandwidth corresponding to the bandwidth part, a frequency hopping step corresponding to an uplink channel; and
determine based on the frequency hopping step corresponding to the uplink channel, a frequency domain position used for transmitting the uplink channel.
However, in the same field of endeavor NPL teaches, determine based on the first bandwidth corresponding to the bandwidth part, a frequency hopping step (S0, S1, S2, S3 and S4, are selected) corresponding to an uplink channel; and ( NPL;[3.1 PUCCH resource allocation] Figure 2, where the whole system bandwidth is 100 MHz. Assuming UEs served by the cell either have bandwidth of 20 MHz or 100 MHz, five subbands, S0, S1, S2, S3 and S4, are selected as follows)
determine based on the frequency hopping step corresponding to the uplink channel, a frequency domain position used for transmitting the uplink channel (the PUCCH of these UEs) ( NPL;[3.1 PUCCH resource allocation d)] If the edges of S4 is overcrowded by UEs with 100 MHz bandwidth, the PUCCH of these UEs can be allocated at the edge of S0, S1, S2, or S3)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date to create the invention of US 12,081,259 B2 to include the above recited limitations as taught by NPL in order to guarantee continuous uplink transmission for UE whose bandwidth is smaller than the system bandwidth (NPL; [3.1. PUCCH resource allocation]).
Regarding claim 17 US 12,081,259 B2 teaches, A network device comprising: one or more processors; and a memory, configured to store computer-readable instructions executable by the one or more processors; wherein the one or more processors are configured to:
determine a first bandwidth corresponding to a bandwidth part, wherein the first bandwidth corresponding to the bandwidth part is less than a second bandwidth corresponding to a system bandwidth;
US 12,081,259 B22 fails to explicitly teach, determine a first bandwidth corresponding to the bandwidth part, a frequency hopping step corresponding to an uplink channel; and
determine a frequency hopping step corresponding to the uplink channel, a frequency domain position used for transmitting the uplink channel.
However, in the same field of endeavor NPL teaches, determine based on the first bandwidth corresponding to the bandwidth part, a frequency hopping step (S0, S1, S2, S3 and S4, are selected) corresponding to an uplink channel; and ( NPL;[3.1 PUCCH resource allocation] Figure 2, where the whole system bandwidth is 100 MHz. Assuming UEs served by the cell either have bandwidth of 20 MHz or 100 MHz, five subbands, S0, S1, S2, S3 and S4, are selected as follows)
determine based on the frequency hopping step corresponding to the uplink channel, a frequency domain position used for transmitting the uplink channel (the PUCCH of these UEs) ( NPL;[3.1 PUCCH resource allocation d)] If the edges of S4 is overcrowded by UEs with 100 MHz bandwidth, the PUCCH of these UEs can be allocated at the edge of S0, S1, S2, or S3)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date to create the invention of US 12,081,259 B2 to include the above recited limitations as taught by NPL in order to guarantee continuous uplink transmission for UE whose bandwidth is smaller than the system bandwidth (NPL; [3.1. PUCCH resource allocation]).
Regarding claims 2 and 10 US 12,081,259 B2-NPL teaches, The method of determining frequency hopping for a channel of claim 1,
US 12,081,259 B2 fails to explicitly teach, wherein the determining, by the terminal based on the frequency hopping step corresponding to the uplink channel, a frequency domain position used for transmitting the uplink channel comprises: determining by the terminal a frequency domain position of a second step of frequency hopping based on a frequency domain position of a first step of frequency hopping and the frequency hopping step-size corresponding to the uplink channel, wherein the frequency domain position of the first step of frequency hopping and the frequency domain position of the second step of frequency hopping are frequency domain positions used for transmitting the uplink channel
However, in the same field of endeavor NPL teaches, determining a frequency domain position (UEs served by the cell either have bandwidth of 20 MHz) of a second step of frequency hopping based on a frequency domain position of a first step of frequency hopping and the frequency hopping step-size corresponding to the uplink channel (five subbands, S0, S1, S2, S3 and S4, are selected), wherein the frequency domain position of the first step of frequency hopping and the frequency domain position of the second step of frequency hopping (UEs with 20 MHz bandwidth can transmit their PUCCH on the edges of S0, S1, S2, or S3) are frequency domain positions used for transmitting the uplink channel (to guarantee continuous uplink transmission for UE whose bandwidth is smaller than the system bandwidth) ( NPL; [3.1. PUCCH resource allocation] to guarantee continuous uplink transmission for UE whose bandwidth is smaller than the system bandwidth ...An example of such subbands selection is given in Figure 2, where the whole system bandwidth is 100 MHz. Assuming UEs served by the cell either have bandwidth of 20 MHz or 100 MHz, five subbands, S0, S1, S2, S3 and S4, are selected as follows. UEs with 20 MHz bandwidth can transmit their PUCCH on the edges of S0, S1, S2, or S3.);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date to create the invention of US 12,081,259 B2 to include the above recited limitations as taught by NPL in order to guarantee continuous uplink transmission for UE whose bandwidth is smaller than the system bandwidth (NPL; [3.1. PUCCH resource allocation]).
Claims 4-6, 12-14, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 12,081,259 B2-NPL as applied to claim1 and 9 above, and further in view of Li et al.(Li hereafter) (US 20200022127 A1).
Regarding claims 4, 12, and 19 US 12,081,259 B2-NPL teaches, The claims 1 and 9,
US 12,081,259 B2-NPL fails to explicitly teach, wherein the determining, by a terminal, a first bandwidth corresponding to a bandwidth part comprises: receiving, by the terminal, first configuration information, and determining, based on the first configuration information, the first bandwidth corresponding to the bandwidth part.
However, in the same field of endeavor Li teaches, receiving, by the terminal, first configuration information, and determining, based on the first configuration information, the first bandwidth corresponding to the bandwidth part ([0148] in a 5G communications system, a 400 MHz carrier bandwidth may be divided into four 100 MHz bandwidth parts, and information about the division may be predefined, or may be configured by using a SIB message or an RRC message. A bandwidth part or several bandwidth parts used by the terminal may be indicated by a base station to the terminal based on the PBCH, the RRC, or the DCI.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date to create the invention of US 12,081,259 B2-NPL to include the above recited limitations as taught by Li in order to support different bandwidths (Li; [0150]).
Regarding claims 5 and 13 US 12,081,259 B2-NPL-Li teaches, The claims 4 and 12,
US 12,081,259 B2-NPL fails to explicitly teach, wherein the receiving, by the terminal, first configuration information comprises: receiving, by the terminal, radio resource control (RRC) signaling that carries the first configuration information; or receiving, by the terminal, system information carrying the first configuration information.
However, in the same field of endeavor Li teaches, wherein the receiving, by the terminal, first configuration information comprises: receiving, by the terminal, radio resource control (RRC) signaling that carries the first configuration information (Li; [0147] In a communications system, a carrier bandwidth on a single carrier may include several bandwidth parts. There may be a plurality of definitions for a bandwidth part size: For example, the bandwidth part size may be predefined, or may be configured by using a system information block (SIB) message or a radio resource control (RRC) message).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date to create the invention of US 12,081,259 B2-NPL to include the above recited limitations as taught by Li in order to support different bandwidths (Li; [0150]).
Regarding claims 6 and 14 US 12,081,259 B2-NPL-Li teaches, The claims 4 and 12,
US 12,081,259 B2 teaches, wherein the receiving, by the terminal, first configuration information, and determining, based on the first configuration information, the first bandwidth corresponding to the bandwidth part comprises: determining, by the terminal based on one piece of first configuration information when receiving the one piece of first configuration information, the first bandwidth corresponding to the bandwidth part; and determining, by the terminal based on a plurality of pieces of first configuration information when receiving the plurality of pieces of first configuration information, a plurality of candidate first bandwidths corresponding to the bandwidth part; and selecting, from the plurality of candidate first bandwidths, the first bandwidth corresponding to the bandwidth part.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 7, 8, 11, 15, 16, 18 and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Determining frequency hopping for a channel by the terminal based on the first bandwidth corresponding to the bandwidth part, a frequency hopping step corresponding to an uplink channel comprises: determining, by the terminal based on the following formula, the frequency hopping step corresponding to the uplink channel: WH=nW, wherein
WH is the frequency hopping step corresponding to the uplink channel,
W is the first bandwidth corresponding to the bandwidth part,
n is a proportionality coefficient,
n=1/m, and
m is a positive integer greater than 1.
Conclusion
/W. T/ Examiner, Art Unit 2416
/SAI AUNG/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2416