DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “energizing member” in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 1, there is no support for the optical sensor restricting a position of the circuit board in up-and-down directions. Only the direction towards the light transmissive portion is restricted (based on contact between the sensor and the portion). The other direction is not restricted by the optical sensor.
Claims 2-4 are rejected because they depend on rejected claims.
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, antecedent basis for the second recitation of “an energizing member” is unclear because one has already been recited. For purposes of examination, it will be interpreted as referring to the same energizing member.
Claims 2-4 are rejected because they depend on rejected claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over various teachings of US Patent Application Publication 2018/0348048 (“Fei").
Regarding claim 1, Fei teaches [a] detection device (Fig. 1, apparatus 100, ¶ 0031) comprising:
an exterior member (Figs. 2, 3, and 6, caseback 220, including e.g. ring 620) which is provided with an opening portion (Fig. 3, openings 320 and 350, as well as the general area between the ring and caseback as shown in Fig. 6);
a holder which is fixed around the opening portion of the exterior member (Figs. 5A, 6, and 7, placement posts 535 and their support, which occupies the space of the opening); and
a light transmissive transparent portion which is fixed around the opening portion of the exterior member and on a surface opposite to a side where the holder is fixed (Figs. 2, 5, 7, lenses 234 and 244, ¶ 0042, etc.);
wherein an energizing member, a circuit board and an optical sensor are arranged in order between the holder and the light transmissive transparent portion (see Figs. 2, 5A, 6, and 7, showing the layering of resilient members 630, circuit board 510, and optical sensor 210/photodiode 242),
wherein a portion of the optical sensor is arranged in the opening portion (see Figs. 2, 5A, 6, and 7, and ¶¶s 0058, 0064, etc., describing the openings as used for passing LEDs and a photodiode therethrough),
wherein the circuit board is pressed to an optical sensor side by an energizing member interposed between the holder and the circuit board, whereby the optical sensor is pressed to a light transmissive transparent portion side (¶¶s 0008 and 0009, the transparent lenses are installed in the caseback, as shown in Fig. 2; ¶¶s 0083 and 0084 describe resilient members/springs configured to urge the circuit board 510, sensor 210, and/or central portion 610 towards the body. This means that in one configuration, the circuit board 510 and sensor 210 are urged, but the central portion 610 which receives the lenses is not, leading to a pressing of the sensor against the transparent portion/lens. ¶ 0043 describes a configuration in which the caseback is configured such that the optical sensor is in contact with, or urged firmly against, the skin. ¶¶s 0045 and 0046 describe recesses 310 and 340 being arranged in the caseback, and e.g. Figs. 5A, 6, and 7 show a lens 244 arranged in such a recess. Notably, this is part of the central/raised portion 610/260. It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to push the sensor against the light transmissive transparent portion using the resilient members/springs, for the purpose of bringing the sensor as close to the skin as possible (¶ 0043)), and
wherein the optical sensor restricts a position of the circuit board in up-and-down directions with respect to the light transmissive transparent portion so as to separate the circuit board and the exterior member (further travel is prevented at least when the optical sensor is pressed against the light transmissive transparent portion).
Regarding claim 2, Fei teaches the detection device according to claim 1. Fei further teaches wherein the optical sensor has a light emitting area and a light receiving area (Fig. 2 and 7, light emitting area 230, 232 and light receiving area 240, 242).
Regarding claim 3, Fei teaches the detection device according to claim 1. Fei further teaches wherein light of a specific wavelength (i.e., not all wavelengths of ambient light but a portion thereof that can affect the operation and/or accuracy of the physiological parameter monitor) passes through the transparent portion (the transparent portions of Fei may filter ambient light as described in ¶ 0042, for the purpose of increasing accuracy/reducing noise - “it may be possible to form lens 234 and 244 from material that imparts a filtering effect to the lenses. For example, ambient light that reaches photodiode 242 may be noise that can affect the operation and/or accuracy of a physiological parameter monitor. In embodiments in which LEDs 232 emit light sufficiently removed from the infrared region, apparatus 100 may comprise lenses that block a portion of incident infrared energy to thereby decrease the effect of any ambient light that may pass between caseback 220 and the user's tissue”).
Regarding claim 4, Fei teaches the detection device of claim 1. Fei further teaches a body-worn device comprising the detection device according to claim 1 (¶ 0031, “apparatus 100 may comprise a wrist watch. In alternative embodiments, apparatus 100 may be a bracelet or an arm band. In further embodiments, apparatus 100 may be any wearable monitor device configured for positioning at a user's wrist, arm, another extremity of the user, or some other area of the user's body”).
Conclusion
/ANDREY SHOSTAK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791