DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s response filed on 07/02/2026 is duly acknowledged.
Claims 1-12 (as filed on 07/23/2024) are currently pending in this application.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (claims 1-3; drawn to “A method for manufacturing a pharmaceutical composition…”) in the reply filed on 07/02/2026 (see REM, p. 2) is acknowledged.
Claims 4-12 (non-elected invention of Group II) have been withdrawn from further considerations.
Claims 1-3 (elected invention of Group I, without traverse; directed to “A method for manufacturing a pharmaceutical composition…”) have been examined on their merits in this action hereinafter.
Priority
This application is a CIP of 16/305,039 (filed on 11/27/2018, now ABN), which is a 371 of PCT/KR2018/003011 (filed on 03/14/2018), which claims priority from Korean application KR 10-2017-0032019 (filed on 03/14/2017) and KR 10-2018-0029857 (filed on 03/14/2018).
Objection to Specification
The disclosure is objected to because it contains an embedded hyperlink and/or other form of browser-executable code (see SPEC, paragraph [00116], line 5). Applicant is required to delete the embedded hyperlink and/or other form of browser-executable code; references to websites should be limited to the top-level domain name without any prefix such as http:// or other browser-executable code. See MPEP § 608.01. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
1. Claim 2 (as recited) is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 recites the limitation “further comprising mixing the sol-phase composition with a neuronal cell growth factor…”, which is ambiguous as it is unclear as to at when exactly “the sol-phase composition” is mixed with one of the growth factors, after “adding thrombin” step, or before said step of “adding thrombin to a sol-phase composition”? The disclosure does not provide for such explanation (see instant SPEC, p. 16, Examples “1.1. Hydrogel blend” and “1-2. Addition of neuron growth factor to hydrogel blend”, for instance), and therefore, the claimed process is deemed indefinite, as the metes and bounds of the claimed process for manufacturing the pharmaceutical composition as claimed does not appear to be properly defined. Appropriate correction and/or explanation is required.
For the prior art purposes herein, the process has been interpreted as having no order of addition requirements.
NOTE: In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 (as currently presented) is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Arulmoli et al (2016; NPL cited in applicant’s IDS dated 07/23/2024).
Claim 1 is directed to “A method for manufacturing a pharmaceutical composition, the method comprising:
adding thrombin to a sol-phase composition comprising fibrin or fibrinogen; laminin, and hyaluronic acid or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof.” (in the absence of a specific definition from applicants, the term “sol-phase” has been taken as a solution state/phase; see instant SPEC, Example 1-1)
Arulmoli et al (2016), while teaching combination scaffold of salmon fibrin, hyaluronic acid and laminin for human stem cell and vascular tissue engineering (see Title, Abstract and section 2.2, for instance), disclose a method for making a pharmaceutical composition that is in the form of a hydrogel comprising 5 mg/ml fibrin gel, which was formulated by adding thrombin enzyme solution (2U/mL in Minimal Essential Medium) to fibrinogen (5 mg/mL solution), in combination with 1 mg/mL thiolated hyaluronic acid (HA), and 100 mg/ml laminin; wherein the solutions of HA and laminin were added (to fibrinogen solution) prior to addition of thrombin to the sol-phase composition (see section “2.2. Hydrogen/scaffold formulation”).
Thus, the cited prior art reference reasonably discloses all the limitations of the claimed process for manufacturing the pharmaceutical composition as claimed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 (as presented) are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Arulmoli et al (2016; NPL cited in applicant’s IDS dated 07/23/2024) in view of Xing et al (US 2012/0282324 A1; US-PGPUB cited in applicant’s IDS) and Spotnitz (2014; NPL cited in applicant’s IDS dated 07/23/2024).
Claim 1 is directed to “A method for manufacturing a pharmaceutical composition, the method comprising:
adding thrombin to a sol-phase composition comprising fibrin or fibrinogen; laminin, and hyaluronic acid or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof.” (in the absence of a specific definition from applicants, the term “sol-phase” has been taken as a solution state/phase; see instant SPEC, Example 1-1)
The dependent claims 2 and 3 recite the following:
Arulmoli et al (2016), while teaching combination scaffold of salmon fibrin, hyaluronic acid and laminin for human stem cell and vascular tissue engineering (see Title, Abstract and section 2.2, for instance), disclose a method for making a pharmaceutical composition that is in the form of a hydrogel comprising 5 mg/ml fibrin gel, which was formulated by adding thrombin enzyme solution (2U/mL in Minimal Essential Medium) to fibrinogen (5 mg/mL solution), in combination with 1 mg/mL thiolated hyaluronic acid (HA), and 100 mg/ml laminin; wherein the solutions of HA and laminin were added (to fibrinogen solution) prior to addition of thrombin to form the sol-phase composition (see section “2.2. Hydrogen/scaffold formulation”).
However, the method further comprising “mixing the sol-phase composition with a neuronal cell growth factor, a vascular endothelial cell growth factor…” (instant claim 2); and “wherein the pharmaceutical composition is low temperature preserved or cryopreserved in a solution at a temperature of -210 0C to 4 0C” (instant claim 3), has not been specifically disclosed by the cited prior art of Arulmoli et al, as discussed above.
Xing et al (2012), while teaching methods for promoting the revascularization and reenervation of CNS lesions (such as spinal cord injury) using topical delivery of neurotrophic growth factors via in situ cross-linkable hydrogel (see Title, Abstract, Claims; and [0064], [0074], [0085], [0116], for instances), disclose incorporation of nerve growth factor (NGF), hepatocyte growth factor, or vascular endothelial growth factor (VEGF), and others in the hydrogel composition for treating spinal cord injury (see p. 9-10, section “IV. Topical Treatment of Spinal Cord Injury”); wherein the hydrogel can comprise gelatin, collagen, laminin, fibronectin, vitronectin, and any combination thereof (see [0070]-[0073], for instance).
Spotnitz (2014), while reviewing the fibrin sealant, discloses the fact that fibrin-based biomaterials are already available in either freeze-dried or lyophilized powder kits that require reconstitution, or in the form of frozen fibrin sealant preloaded in syringes that require thawing at the time of use, and that the thawed unopened frozen pouches may also be kept for up to two weeks in a refrigerator for prompt use (see p. 6, left column, 1st paragraph).
Thus, given the detailed teachings and/or suggestions from the cited prior art references of Xing et al (for incorporation of growth factors including nerve growth factor or vascular endothelial growth factor; see teaching above) and Spotnitz (for the low temperature preservation and storage of fibrin gel pharmaceutical compositions; see teachings above), it would have been obvious to an artisan in the clinical art to successfully modify the method disclosed by Arulmoli et al for manufacturing the composition comprising fibrin such that the solution phase comprising HA, laminin along with fibrinogen is added with suitable growth factors (such as NGF or VEGF, or others) depending on the need (such as for repair and/or regeneration of CNS or spinal cord injury, etc.; see disclosure from Xing et al above), and preserved at low temperatures as already known in the art for fibrin sealants, as disclosed by Spotnitz as discussed above.
Thus, the claim as a whole would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention as claimed.
As per MPEP 2111.01, during examination, the claims must be interpreted as broadly as their terms reasonably allow. In re American Academy of Science Tech Center, F.3d, 2004 WL 1067528 (Fed. Cir. May 13, 2004)(The USPTO uses a different standard for construing claims than that used by district courts; during examination the USPTO must give claims their broadest reasonable interpretation.). This means that the words of the claim must be given their plain meaning unless applicant has provided a clear definition in the specification. In re Zletz, 893 F.2d 319, 321, 13 USPQ2d 1320, 1322 (Fed. Cir. 1989).
Double Patenting
Claims 1 and 2 (as presented) are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over at least claims 4-6 of co-pending Application No. 18/833,324 (reference application; filed as 371 application by common inventor and assignee on 04/09/2026). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because amended claim dated 07/25/2024, though directed to a method of use, essentially use the same product composition as being made by the process as claimed in the instant application under examination. T
he claims 1 and 4-6 in co-pending application ‘324 are reproduced as follows:
Since, the scope of the product being used in the co-pending application ‘324 and the product composition as currently being made in the instant application under examination are essentially the same (i.e. co-extensive in scope), and ODP rejection is deemed proper.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
NO claims are currently allowed.
SATYENDRA K. SINGH
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1657
/SATYENDRA K SINGH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1657