Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 14 November 2024 has been considered by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
With respect to claim 15, in addition to a potential incorrect claim dependency, it is unclear what is actually being claimed. The language of first and second side does not clarify the relationship with the one or two PCBs. The Examiner turned to the specification for further clarification but was unable to ascertain the meets and bounds of the claim. Therefore, it precludes a reasonable search.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-13 and 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Yang (US 2011/0237101; hereinafter ‘Yang’).
Regarding claim 1, Yang discloses a card edge connector, comprising: a body (at least 3, as seen in at least figs. 10-15) including a first side (at least 322, 322a, at least figs 8-15) and a second side (the surface of 3 opposite to 322,322a); an open socket (at least 31b; as seen in at least figs. 13-15) extending through the body (3) from the first side to the second side (as seen in at least figs. 13-15); wherein the open socket (31b) includes an interior wall and a plurality of channels (at least 34; labeled in fig. 8, as seen in at least figs. 13-15) extending within the interior wall (as seen in at least figs. 13-15); and a plurality of electrical contacts (at least 33; as seen in at least figs. 13-15) positioned within the plurality of channels (34) and extending into the open socket (as seen in fig. 8 and 10-15).
Regarding claim 2, Yang discloses the card edge connector of claim 1, wherein each electrical contact (33) of the plurality of electrical contacts comprises: a first end (at least 332; labelled in at least fig. 8 and seen in 10-15) extending from a respective channel (34) to a position outside of and beyond a third side of the body (as seen in at least figs. 8 and 15); a second end (at least 3331; as labelled in at least figs. 8-9 and seen in 10-15) positioned within the channel (24) and behind the interior wall of the open socket (as seen in at least figs. 10-15); and a contact portion (at least 333; as labelled in at least fig. 8 and seen in 10-15) between the first end (332) and the second end (3331), wherein the contact portion (333) extends from the channel into the open socket (as seen in at least figs. 8 and 15).
Regarding claim 3, Yang discloses the card edge connector of claim 2, wherein each electrical contact (33) of the plurality of electrical contacts (34) comprises: a U-shaped portion (3312; as labelled in at least fig. 8 and seen in 10-15) between the contact portion (333) and the first end (332); a leg portion (3311; as labelled in at least fig. 8 and seen in 10-15) extending between the U-shaped portion (3312) and the first end (332), wherein the first end (332) extends perpendicularly from the leg portion (as labelled in at least fig. 8 and seen in 10-15); wherein the contact portion (333) comprises a bent portion (at 333) connecting a first contact section extending between the second end and the contact portion and a second contact section extending between the contact portion and the U-shaped portion (these are not independently labelled, but clearly seen in at least figs. 8 and 15 matching the first and second contact sections of the instant application).
Regarding claim 4, Yang discloses the card edge connector of claim 1, wherein each electrical contact (34) of the plurality of electrical contacts comprises a contact portion (at least 333; as labelled in at least fig. 8 and seen in 10-15) extending into the open socket (31), wherein the contact portion (333) includes a first portion extending at a first angle in a first contact direction toward the first side of the body, and a second portion extending at a second angle in a second contact direction toward the second side of the body (both the first and second portions are not independently labelled, but clearly seen in at least figs. 8 and 15).
Regarding claim 5, Yang discloses the card edge connector of claim 1, wherein the plurality of electrical contracts (34) are configured to electrically coupled to a plurality of electrical pads (at least 11) of a printed circuit board (PCB) (1; as seen in at least figs. 10-15), wherein the PCB comprises a hole (12; as seen in at least figs. 15) configured to receive the body (as disclosed in at least paragraph [0030]).
Regarding claim 6, Yang discloses the card edge connector of claim 5, wherein the body (3) further comprises shoulders (near Yang’s board locks 4; as labelled in at least fig. 4 and seen in 10-15), and wherein the shoulders (at 4) are configured to be positioned adjacent to a surface of the PCB and to the hole of the PCB (as labelled in at least fig. 4 and seen in 10-15).
Regarding claim 7, Yang discloses the card edge connector of claim 5, wherein each electrical contact (34) of the plurality of electrical contacts comprises a first end (at least 332; labelled in at least fig. 8 and seen in 10-15) extending from a respective channel (34) to a position outside of and beyond a third side of the body (as seen in at least figs. 8 and 15), and wherein the first ends of the plurality of electrical contacts (34) are configured to be electrically coupled to the electrical pads (11) of the PCB (as taught in at least paragraph [0030]).
Regarding claim 8, Yang discloses the card edge connector of claim 1, wherein the body (3) includes beveled edges (not numbered but clearly seen in at least figs. 8 and 15) on both the first side and the second side, and wherein each of the beveled edges extend along a perimeter of the open socket (clearly seen in at least figs. 8 and 15).
Regrading claim 9, Yang discloses a card edge connector system, comprising: a first card edge connector, comprising: a body (at least 3, as seen in at least figs. 10-15) including a first side (at least 322, 322a, at least figs 8-15) and a second side (the surface of 3 opposite to 322,322a); an open socket (at least 31b; as seen in at least figs. 13-15) extending through the body (3) from the first side to the second side (as seen in at least figs. 13-15); wherein the open socket (31b) includes an interior wall and a plurality of channels (at least 34; labeled in fig. 8, as seen in at least figs. 13-15) extending within the interior wall (as seen in at least figs. 13-15); and a plurality of electrical contacts (at least 33; as seen in at least figs. 13-15) positioned within the plurality of channels (34) and extending into the open socket (as seen in fig. 8 and 10-15); and a first printed circuit board (PCB) (at least 1; as seen in at least figs. 10-15), wherein the first PCB (1) comprises a hole (12; as seen in at least figs. 10-15) configured to receive the body (3).
Regarding claim 10, Yang discloses the card edge connector system of claim 9, wherein each electrical contact (33) of the plurality of electrical contacts is positioned with a contact portion (at least 333; as labelled in at least fig. 8 and seen in 10-15) extending into the open socket (as seen in fig. 8 and 10-15), wherein the contact portion (333) includes a contact angle (formed at 333; as seen in at least figs. 8 and 10-15) in a first contact direction (“up” toward the top opening of 31), angled toward the first side of the body, and a contact angle (formed at 333; as seen in at least figs. 8 and 10-15) in a second contact direction (“down” toward the PCB 1), angled toward the second side of the body (as seen in at least figs. 8 and 10-15).
Regarding claim 11, Yang discloses the card edge connector system of claim 9, further comprising a second PCB (2; as labelled in at least fig. 8 and seen in 10-15) comprising a plurality of electrical pads (22; as labelled in at least fig. 8 and seen in 10-15) configured to electrically couple with the plurality of electrical contacts of the card edge connector assembly (as labelled in at least fig. 8 and seen in 10-15), wherein a first end of the second PCB is configured to be positioned within the open socket of the card edge connector assembly (as labelled in at least fig. 8 and seen in 10-15).
Regarding claim 12, Yang discloses the card edge connector system of claim 11, wherein the plurality of electrical pads (22) of the second PCB (2) electrically couple to the contact portion of the electrical contacts positioned within the open socket (as seen in at least figs. 8 and 15; as disclosed in at least paragraph [0032]).
Regarding claim 13, Yang discloses the card edge connector system of claim 11, wherein the second PCB (2) further comprises shoulders (at least 24 and/or 23; as seen in at least figs. 5 and 15), and wherein the shoulders are positioned adjacent to a surface of the card edge connector (as seen in at least figs. 5 and 15).
Regarding claim 16, Yang discloses the card edge connector system of claim 9, wherein the body (3) further comprises shoulders (matching the shoulders of the PCB), and wherein the shoulders are positioned adjacent to a surface of the first PCB (as seen in at least figs. 8 and 15).
Regarding claim 17, Yang discloses the card edge connector system of claim 9, wherein the first PCB (1) further comprises electrical pads (at least 11) configured to electrically couple with the first ends of the plurality of electrical contacts (as seen in at least fig. 15).
Regarding claim 18, Yang discloses the card edge connector of claim 9, wherein the body (3) includes beveled edges (not numbered but clearly seen in at least figs. 8 and 15) on both the first side and the second side, and wherein each of the beveled edges extend along a perimeter of the open socket (clearly seen in at least figs. 8 and 15).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 14, 19, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang.
Regarding claim 14, Yang discloses the claimed invention as indicated above.
However, Yang does not specifically disclose a second card edge connector assembly.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include a second card edge connector assembly, and wherein the first end of the second PCB is configured to be positioned within the open socket of the card edge connector assembly and a second end of the second PCB is configured to be positioned within an open socket of the second card edge connector assembly, , since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art.
One would have been motivated to do so to provide further connection between additional circuit boards.
Regarding claims 19-20, the structural limitations therein are the same as those recited in claims 1-14 and 16-18, as rejected by Yang above.
Yang is silent to a method for creating a card edge connector assembly.
However, one skilled in the art will recognize that creating Yang’s device will comprise Applicant’s recited steps of forming. Since only generic method steps and no specific method steps are claimed, the structure taught by Yang meets Applicant’s recited method step limitations.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to construct the card edge connector of Yang with the method of claims 19-20, since the method steps are obvious in light of the resultant structure.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure and are cited as teaching similar card connectors, however lacking the open socket as claimed.
/LEAH MACCHIAROLO/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2831