DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “hydrogen purification unit” in claim 6, 7, 13.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 2, 7 and 12 are objected to because of the following informalities: Regarding each of claims 1, 2 7 and 12, each claim is an independent claim reciting a series of limitations without line break indentation, however this is required to avoid being a single run-on paragraph, see MPEP 608.01(i) “(i) Where a claim sets forth a plurality of elements or steps, each element or step of the claim should be separated by a line indentation.”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 7-11, in claim 7, the ranges claimed are attempting to claim multiple varying ranges with unclear language, including the language "such as" which renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention, and even before the “such as” there are multiple different ranges so that the range cannot be fairly ascertained. See MPEP § 2173.05(d). The range must be claimed in a single range that clearly sets forth the metes and bounds of the claimed protection sought, the claim will be examined with broadest reasonable interpretation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 5 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Belassaoui et al ("Vapour reactive distillation process for hydrogen production by HI decomposition from Hl-I"2-H"2O solutions", CHEMICAL ENGINEERING AND PROCESSING: PROCESS INTENSIFICATION, ELSEVIER SEQUOIA, LAUSANNE, CH, vol. 47, no. 3, 7 January 2008 (2008-01-07), pages 396-407, XP022411485).
Regarding claim 1, Belassaoui teaches vapour reactive distillation methods and systems for production of hydrogen from HI decomposition (title, abstract), Belassaoui teaches the system utilizes reactive distillation of a mixture of HI and H2O provided to a reactive distillation column via an inlet (shown in Figs 3 and 18, FEED), the column comprises bottom reboiler with column recirculation, thereby providing a moving vapor phase to the distillation column along with a liquid phase outlet comprising HI and water (RESIDUE, Fig 18), as well as top vapor condenser with reflux return thereby providing descending liquid phase and distillate outlet comprising water and H2 (DISTILLATE, Fig 18) (see Figs 3, 18, p. 398-399, 405-406).
Regarding claim 5, in Belassaoui Fig 18 the column is a staged tray distillation column (see Fig 18).
Regarding claim 2, Belassaoui teaches vapour reactive distillation methods and systems for production of hydrogen from HI decomposition (title, abstract), Belassaoui teaches the system utilizes reactive distillation of a mixture of HI and H2O provided to a reactive distillation column via an inlet (shown in Figs 3 and 18, FEED), the column comprises bottom reboiler with column recirculation, thereby providing a moving vapor phase to the distillation column along with a liquid phase outlet comprising HI and water (RESIDUE, Fig 18), as well as top vapor condenser with reflux return thereby providing descending liquid phase and distillate outlet comprising water and H2 (DISTILLATE, Fig 18) (see Figs 3, 18, p. 398-399, 405-406).
Regarding claim 12, Belassaoui teaches vapour reactive distillation methods and systems for production of hydrogen from HI decomposition (title, abstract), Belassaoui teaches the system utilizes reactive distillation of a mixture of HI and H2O provided to a reactive distillation column via an inlet (shown in Figs 3 and 18, FEED), the column comprises bottom reboiler with column recirculation, thereby providing a moving vapor phase to the distillation column along with a liquid phase outlet comprising HI and water (RESIDUE, Fig 18), as well as top vapor condenser with reflux return thereby providing descending liquid phase and distillate outlet comprising water and H2 (DISTILLATE, Fig 18) (see Figs 3, 18, p. 398-399, 405-406).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-4, 14-15 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Belassaoui et al ("Vapour reactive distillation process for hydrogen production by HI decomposition from Hl-I"2-H"2O solutions", CHEMICAL ENGINEERING AND PROCESSING: PROCESS INTENSIFICATION, ELSEVIER SEQUOIA, LAUSANNE, CH, vol. 47, no. 3, 7 January 2008 (2008-01-07), pages 396-407, XP022411485) taken in combination with Gadewar (US 2014/0012037).
Regarding claim 3-4, 14-15 and 20, Belassaoui teaches all limitations as set forth above, however Belassaoui does not teach the design of the reboiler or reflux condensers as claimed.
Gadewar teaches reactive distillation methods and systems [0029], Gadewar exemplifies suitable heat exchanger for reboiler and condenser of known designs to use in the system (see [0067], “suitable heat exchangers 30 include, but are not limited to, shell and tube heat exchangers, double pipe heat exchangers, plate fin heat exchangers, bayonet heat exchangers, reboilers, condensers, evaporators, and air coolers”).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use notoriously well known reboiler and condenser designs for the unspecified designs of Belassaoui, including but not limited to known designs taught by Gadewar such as shell and tube heat exchangers, double pipe heat exchangers, plate fin heat exchangers, bayonet heat exchangers without unexpected results.
Claim(s) 6-11, 13 and 16-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Belassaoui et al ("Vapour reactive distillation process for hydrogen production by HI decomposition from Hl-I"2-H"2O solutions", CHEMICAL ENGINEERING AND PROCESSING: PROCESS INTENSIFICATION, ELSEVIER SEQUOIA, LAUSANNE, CH, vol. 47, no. 3, 7 January 2008 (2008-01-07), pages 396-407, XP022411485) taken in combination with Parker et al (US 11,167,242) and/or Obata et al (US 2020/0368667).
Regarding claim 6, 13 and 16-19, Belassaoui teaches all limitations as set forth above, however Belassaoui does not teach the at least one hydrogen purification unit as claimed.
Parker teaches a process and system for hydrogen recovery (title, abstract), Parker teaches the hydrogen recovery system comprises first and second absorber columns 70/80 scrubbing out contaminants from gas streams with water to recovery and separate hydrogen vent gas 16/17 (Fig 1, C52:L6-C53:L15).
Obata teaches a system and method for PSA to absorb impurity from hydrogen gas (title, abstract) Obata teaches the system comprises hydrogen purification step in a hydrogen production process by employing PSA packed bed columns 10a-d in PSA system 100, with absorbent beds filled with activated carbon and zeolite to purify the hydrogen (title, abstract, Fig 1, [0052]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use commercially known hydrogen purification steps in the methods and system of Belassaoui as taught by both Parker and/or Obata to arrive at the instantly claimed configurations with the expected result of purifying the hydrogen produced by the system of Belassaoui.
Regarding claim 7, Belassaoui teaches vapour reactive distillation methods and systems for production of hydrogen from HI decomposition (title, abstract), Belassaoui teaches the system utilizes reactive distillation of a mixture of HI and H2O provided to a reactive distillation column via an inlet (shown in Figs 3 and 18, FEED), the column comprises bottom reboiler with column recirculation, thereby providing a moving vapor phase to the distillation column along with a liquid phase outlet comprising HI and water (RESIDUE, Fig 18), as well as top vapor condenser with reflux return thereby providing descending liquid phase and distillate outlet comprising water and H2 (DISTILLATE, Fig 18) (see Figs 3, 18, p. 398-399, 405-406).
However Belassaoui does not teach the at least one hydrogen purification unit as claimed.
Parker teaches a process and system for hydrogen recovery (title, abstract), Parker teaches the hydrogen recovery system comprises first and second absorber columns 70/80 scrubbing out contaminants from gas streams with water to recovery and separate hydrogen vent gas 16/17 (Fig 1, C52:L6-C53:L15).
Obata teaches a system and method for PSA to absorb impurity from hydrogen gas (title, abstract) Obata teaches the system comprises hydrogen purification step in a hydrogen production process by employing PSA packed bed columns 10a-d in PSA system 100, with absorbent beds filled with activated carbon and zeolite to purify the hydrogen (title, abstract, Fig 1, [0052]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use commercially known hydrogen purification steps in the methods and system of Belassaoui as taught by both Parker and/or Obata to arrive at the instantly claimed configurations with the expected result of purifying the hydrogen produced by the system of Belassaoui.
Regarding claims 8-11, in modified Belassoui as set forth above, the secondary hydrogen purification units as taught by Parker and/or Obata teaches all limitations of the hydrogen purification unit as claimed.
Pertinent Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. No et al (US 8,506,925) teaches methods for HI reaction with hydrogen production. Gildert (US 6,083,378) teaches hydrogen distillation systems with naphtha. Norman (US 4,127,644) teaches hydrogen production from water.
Conclusion
/JONATHAN MILLER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1772