DETAILED ACTION
In Request for Continued Examination filed on 02/09/2026, claims 1-3 and 6-21 are pending. Claims 11-20 are withdrawn based on the restriction requirement. Claims 1, 6, and 21 are currently amended. Claims 1-3, 6-10, and 21 are considered in the current Office Action.
Status of Previous Objections/Rejections
Previous 35 USC 112(b) rejection of claim 6 has been withdrawn based on the Applicant’s amendment. 35 USC 112(b) rejection of claim 21 is maintained.
Previous 35 USC 103 rejections are withdrawn based on the Applicant’s amendment. However, new rejections have been established.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 21 recites the limitation “an extruder”. Claim 1, which claim 21 is depended upon, also recites “an extruder”. It is unclear if “an extruder” as recited in claim 21 is referring to the same extruder as recited in claim 1 or a different extruder. For the purpose of compact prosecution, the Examiner is interpreting the limitation as they are the same extruder which corresponds to [0005] and [0007] of the instant application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 6-9 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US2025/0100221 (“Kim et al” hereinafter Kim), US2023/0415399 (Windels), US2021/0086443 (“Cote et al” hereinafter Cote), US2024/0001609 (“Poddar et al” hereinafter Poddar), and US2022/0126521 (“Hashimoto et al” hereinafter Hashimoto).
Regarding Claim 1, Kim teaches a heater block for use in a hot end assembly of a 3D printer (Figure 1, heating part 400 and abstract), the heater block (Figure 1, heating part 400) comprising:
a. a body (Figure 1, heating block 410) made from a thermally conductive material ([0042], the heating block 410 is preferably made of an aluminum material having excellent thermal conductivity) configured to evenly distribute heat throughout the body (the characteristic of the heating block will achieve even distribution of heat throughout the body);
b. a first and a second aperture extending through the body (see annotated Figure 2) operable to receive a first and a second heater cartridge (Figure 2, a plurality of cartridge heater 420 are inserted through the plurality of aperture), the first and second apertures securing said heater cartridges in thermal contact with said body to heat the body ([0041]);
c. at least one third aperture extending through the body (see annotated Figure 2) for receiving at least one temperature measuring device (Figure 2, temperature measurement part 500), such that after insertion, the temperature measuring device is capable of measuring the temperature of said body ([0044]); and
d. a central conduit extending through the body (see annotated Figure 2) for receiving a heat break on a top surface of said body (Figure 2 and [0039], syringe 200 inserted through the central conduit from the top surface of the heating block 410), the central conduit configured to guide a filament from an extruder to a nozzle secured to a bottom surface of said body (Figures 2 and 5 and [0049], the printing composition 211 received in the receiving part 210 of the syringe 200 may be ejected through the nozzle part 220 at the lower part of the syringe 200 which is located at the bottom surface of the heating block 400. The apparatus disclosed by Kim is capable of being used as intended as discussed above and thus meets all of the structural limitations as claimed. MPEP 2114); wherein said nozzle is in thermal contact with the body and is positioned between said first and second heater cartridges (Figure 5, the nozzle part 220 is in thermal contact with the heating block 410 and is positioned between the first and second heater cartridges 420), and is operable to provide heat for melting the filament ([0041]-[0042]).
Kim fails to teach the temperature measuring device is a thermistor.
However, Windels teaches the temperature measuring device is a thermistor (Figure 9 and [0091], thermistor cartridge 32).
Kim and Windels are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same field of additive manufacturing comprises of using a heating block to melt the material and a temperature measuring sensor to monitor the temperature of the material. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modified the temperature measurement part of Kim such that the temperature measuring device is a thermistor as taught by Windels to measure the temperature of the heating block. Furthermore, it is known in the art that both the temperature measuring device of Kim and the thermistor cartridge of Windels perform the same function of measuring and monitoring temperature of the heating block, thus, the substitution of the known elements provides a predictable result, namely, another known way to implement various aspects of temperature monitoring. See MPEP 2143(I)(B).
The modified Kim fails to teach wherein the top surface of said body comprises a first threaded hole in communication with said first aperture, and a second threaded hole in communication with said second aperture; and wherein said first threaded hole is operable to receive a first fastener that is operable to frictionally engage against the first heater cartridge to secure said first cartridge in the first aperture, and said second threaded hole is operable to receive a second fastener that is operable to frictionally engage against the second heater cartridge to secure said second cartridge in the second aperture.
However, Cote teaches the top surface of said body comprises a first threaded hole in communication with said first aperture (Figure 2A and 2C, top surface of the heat block 132 comprises a first aperture 156, [0057], that allows fastening means 134, may comprises screws [0053], to be extended through heat block and couple the heat block which implied that the holes aperture of the heat block must be threaded hole for a screw to be inserted through. The first threaded hole is in thermal communication with the aperture 158 for receiving a heating element [0059]), and a second threaded hole in communication with said second aperture (Figure 2A and 2C, top surface of the heat block 132 comprises a second aperture 156, [0057], that allows fastening means 134, may comprises screws [0053], to be extended through heat block and couple the heat block which implied that the holes aperture of the heat block must be threaded hole for a screw to be inserted through. The second threaded hole is in thermal communication with the aperture 158 for receiving a heating element [0059]), and wherein said first threaded hole is operable to receive a first fastener (Figure 2A, top surface of the heat block 132 comprises a first aperture 156, [0057], that allows fastening means 134, may comprises screws [0053], to be extended through heat block and couple the heat block which implied that the holes aperture of the heat block must be threaded hole for a screw to be inserted through) that is operable to frictionally engage against the first heater cartridge ([0053], functional limitation, as the fastening means comprising screws extended through and couple the heat block. As the heat block is connected to the heat cartridge, it is capable of engage against the heat cartridge and as long as the fastening means are in contact with the heater cartridge, it creates some friction. MPEP 2114) to secure said first cartridge in the first aperture ([0053]), and said second threaded hole is operable to receive a second fastener (Figure 2A, top surface of the heat block 132 comprises a first aperture 156, [0057], that allows fastening means 134, may comprises screws [0053], to be extended through heat block and couple the heat block which implied that the holes aperture of the heat block must be threaded hole for a screw to be inserted through) that is operable to frictionally engage ([0053], functional limitation, as the fastening means comprising screws extended through and couple the heat block. As the heat block is connected to the heat cartridge, it is capable of engage against the heat cartridge and as long as the fastening means are in contact with the heater cartridge, it creates some friction. MPEP 2114) against the second heater cartridge to secure said second cartridge in the second aperture ([0053]).
Cote discloses the first threaded hole and the second threaded hole are operable to receive fastening means for example, bolts, screws, or other fastening mean ([0053]) but fails to teach the first threaded hole and the second threaded hole are operable to receive set screw.
However, Poddar teaches the first threaded hole and the second threaded hole are operable to receive set screw ([0069] and Figure 6B, the first fastener hole 116 may be, for example, configured (e.g., shaped and dimensioned) to accommodate a set screw (not shown) or other common fastener, and the fastener hole 119 may be, for example, configured (e.g., shaped and dimensioned) to accommodate a set screw (not shown) or other common fastener). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modified the plurality of threaded holes operable to receive fastening means discloses by the Cote such that the threaded holes are operable to receive set screw as taught by Poddar because the combination of the known elements provides a predictable result, namely, another known way to implement various fastening means to the threaded holes to secure heating element and/or sensor at fixed positions. MPEP 2143.
Kim, Cote, and Poddar are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of additive manufacturing comprises of using a heating block to melt the material and a temperature measuring sensor to monitor the temperature of the material. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the modified apparatus of Kim such that it teaches all of the above discussed limitations as taught by Cote in view of Poddar to couple the heat block to the hot end through the heat break (Cote, [0053]) and to prevent or reduce heat transfer from the heat block to portions of the extrusion head located above the heat block (Cote, [0055]).
The modified Kim fails to teach wherein said first and second heater cartridges are independently electrically addressable by a controller, the controller being configured to independently supply electrical power to the first heater cartridge and the second heater cartridge.
However, Hashimoto teaches first and second heater cartridges are independently electrically addressable by a controller (Figure 1 and [0088], the control unit 40 can independently control the first heater 150 and the second heater 152), the controller being configured to independently supply electrical power to the first heater cartridge and the second heater cartridge ([0088], the temperature of the first heater and the second heater are independently controlled by the control unit based on the measured value. Thus, it is implied that various power is independently supplies to different heater based on the control unit).
Kim and Hashimoto are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of additive manufacturing comprises of using a heating block to melt the material and a temperature measuring sensor to monitor the temperature of the material. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the modified apparatus of Kim such that it teaches all of the above discussed limitations as taught by Hashimoto to independently adjust the temperature of the first heater and the second heater based on the measured value ([0088] to prevent over-melting the materials ([0087]).
Regarding Claim 2, the modified Kim teaches the heater block of claim 1, wherein said at least a third aperture is provided between said first and second apertures (Kim, see annotated Figure 2).
Regarding Claim 3, the modified Kim teaches the heater block of claim 1, wherein said first and second apertures extend from one side of said body to an opposite side of said body (Kim, Figure 5, the length of the heater cartridge is equivalent to the length of the apertures which extended from one side of the heating block 410 to another side).
Regarding Claim 6, The heater block of claim 1, wherein said first and second heater cartridges each have a heating output monitored by said at least one thermistor (Kim, Figure 5 and [0043], the cartridge heaters 420 may be connected to an external thermostatic controller (not shown) for controlling the temperature of the syringe 200 and the heating block 410).
Regarding Claim 7, the modified Kim teaches the heater block of claim 1, but fails to teach wherein said at least one third aperture comprises two apertures, and said at least one thermistor comprises two thermistors, each thermistor positioned in one of said two third apertures, wherein said two thermistors are operable to independently measure a temperature of said body adjacent to each of said first and second heater cartridges.
However, Cote teaches at least one third aperture comprises two apertures (Figure 2C, the heat block 132 comprises additional apertures 156), and said at least one thermistor comprises two thermistors (Figure 2C and [0058], the additional apertures 156 may be configured to receive a thermistor for measuring a temperature of the heat block 132), each thermistor positioned in one of said two third apertures ([0058]), wherein said two thermistors are operable to independently measure a temperature of said body adjacent to each of said first and second heater cartridges (Figures 2B-2C, [0044] and [0058]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modified the apparatus of the modified Kim such that it teaches all of the above discussed limitations as taught by Cote to measure the temperature of the heat block ([0058]). Alternately, the court held that mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced. See MPEP 2144.04 (VI)(B).
Regarding Claim 8, the modified Kim teaches the heater block of claim 1, wherein said heat break and said nozzle are in axial alignment in said central conduit (Kim, Figure 5).
Regarding Claim 9, the modified Kim teaches the heater block of claim 1 wherein said at least one thermistor is a cartridge thermistor (Windels, Figure 9 and [0091], thermistor cartridge 32).
Regarding Claim 21, the modified Kim teaches the heater block of claim 1, a heat break connects (Kim, Figure 1, heating part adjustment plate 700) said heater block (Figure 1, heating part 400 and abstract) to a heat sink (Figure 1, heat sink 230; heating part adjustment 700 connects the heating part 400 to the heat sink 230), said heat break being secured to a top surface of said heater block ([0045], heating part adjustment plate 700 is removably disposed on top of the heating part 400), but fails to teach wherein said heater block is operable to guide said filament from an extruder to said nozzle.
However, Cote teaches wherein said heater block (Figure 1, heat block 132) is operable to guide said filament from an extruder (Figure 1, extruder 110) to said nozzle (Figure 1 and [0050]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modified the apparatus of Kim such that it teaches all of the above discussed limitations as taught by Cote because the combination of the known elements provides a predictable result, namely, another known design for the heater block to control the temperature of the extruded material. see MPEP 2143.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US2025/0100221 (“Kim et al” hereinafter Kim), US2023/0415399 (Windels), US2021/0086443 (“Cote et al” hereinafter Cote), US2024/0001609 (“Poddar et al” hereinafter Poddar), and US2022/0126521 (“Hashimoto et al” hereinafter Hashimoto) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US2018/0200944 (Chan).
Regarding Claim 10, the modified Kim teaches the heater block of claim 1, but fails to teach wherein said at least one thermistor is a wire thermistor.
However, Chan teaches the at least one thermistor is a wire thermistor (Figure 7 and [0078], thermistor wires 68).
Kim and Chan are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same field of additive manufacturing comprises of using a heating block to melt the material and a temperature measuring sensor to monitor the temperature of the material. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modified the temperature measurement part of Kim such that the temperature measuring device is a wire thermistor as taught by Chan to measure the temperature of the heating block and to send the data to a controller to adjust control commands for controlling the head body temperature ([0078]). Furthermore, it is known in the art that both the temperature measuring device of Kim and the wire thermistor of Chan perform the same function of measuring and monitoring temperature of the heating block, thus, the substitution of the known elements provides a predictable result, namely, another known way to implement various aspects of temperature monitoring. See MPEP 2143(I)(B).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
XINWEN (CINDY) YE
Examiner
Art Unit 1754
/SUSAN D LEONG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1754