/ARTHUR O. HALL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3752 DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed November 13th, 2025 has been entered. Claims 1-9, 11-19 and 21 remain pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-9, 11-18, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “proximate” in claim 1, ln. 7 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “proximate” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. It is unclear how proximate the swirling component is to the second end of the liquid channel. For examination purposes, it will be interpreted that proximate is as immediately preceding or following (Merriam-Webster Dictionary).
Claims 2-9, 11-18, and 21 are rejected by virtue of dependency under claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 12-17, 19, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wurz (US 20100116900 A1), embodiment of Fig. 2, in view of Wurz (US 20100116900 A1), embodiment of Fig. 6, Hacibekir et al. (US 20230166275 A1), and Gerking (US 20050140031 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Wurz discloses a spray device (entire structure, Fig. 2), comprising:
a first housing structure (2, 104, entire internal housing structure extending to nozzle orifice 48, and lance pipe 2 and nozzle housing 104 together can be considered one housing structure because they both house a liquid channel for a liquid to travel through, annotated in Fig. 2), including:
a liquid channel (channel within lance pipe 2, shown in Fig. 2) having a first end (upstream end of channel within lance pipe 2, shown in Fig. 2) and a second end (downstream end of channel within lance pipe 2, shown in Fig. 2) opposite to the first end (shown in Fig. 2), the liquid channel (channel within lance pipe 2, shown in Fig. 2) configured to receive a liquid flow (fluid in channel within lance pipe 2 indicated by dots, there is at least one fluid inlet for fluid to be atomized, shown in Fig. 2, Paragraphs 0001, 0010, 0052) at the first end of the liquid channel (upstream end of channel within lance pipe 2, shown in Fig. 2) and transport the liquid flow (1, fluid in channel within lance pipe 2 indicated by dots, shown in Fig. 2) from the first end (upstream end of channel within lance pipe 2, shown in Fig. 2) to the second end (downstream end of channel within lance pipe 2, shown in Fig. 2); and
a second housing structure (4, Fig. 2) surrounding the first housing structure (2, 104, entire internal housing structure extending to nozzle orifice 48, annotated and shown in Fig. 2); and
a gas channel (6, Fig. 2), separate from the liquid channel (channel within lance pipe 2, shown in Fig. 2), formed between the first housing structure (2, 104, entire internal housing structure extending to nozzle orifice 48, annotated in Fig. 2) and the second housing structure (4, Fig. 2), wherein the gas channel (6, Fig. 2) further includes a tapered section (annotated in Fig. 2) coupled to a second outlet (32, Fig. 2), and the tapered section (annotated in Fig. 2) has a varying width that decreases continuously with respect to an extended section length (L1, L2, shown in Fig. 2), and is configured to convert a gas flow to a supersonic gas jet to be released from the gas channel via the second outlet (Paragraph 0079).
However, Wurz does not disclose a swirling component contained within the liquid channel, the swirling component disposed proximate to the second end of the liquid channel and including an incoming channel portion, a plurality of side channels, and an exit channel portion, wherein the swirling component is configured to guide the liquid flow into the incoming channel portion, split the liquid flow into a plurality of sideway flows running in the plurality of side channels, guide the plurality of sideway flows towards the exit channel portion to generate swirling liquid stream, and expel the swirling liquid stream out of the first housing structure via a first outlet as claimed. In the embodiment of Fig. 6, Wurz discloses a spray device (entire structure, Fig. 6), comprising:
a first housing structure (entire internal housing structure extending to nozzle orifice 8, annotated in Fig. 6) including:
a swirling component (7, 13, Fig. 6) contained within the liquid channel (channel within annotated housing structure, shown in Fig. 6).
Wurz is considered to be analogous art to the claimed invention because it is in the same field of nanojet spray devices. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of the swirling component and the liquid channel taught in Wurz’s spray device in the embodiment of Fig. 6, to Wurz’s spray device in the embodiment of Fig. 2, to have a swirling component contained within the liquid channel. Doing so improves the efficiency of the fluid flow in the liquid channel to form smaller droplets (Paragraph 0109).
However, both embodiments of Wurz do not teach a swirling component contained within the liquid channel, the swirling component disposed proximate to the second end of the liquid channel and including an incoming channel portion, a plurality of side channels, and an exit channel portion, wherein the swirling component is configured to guide the liquid flow into the incoming channel portion, split the liquid flow into a plurality of sideway flows running in the plurality of side channels, guide the plurality of sideway flows towards the exit channel portion to generate swirling liquid stream, and expel the swirling liquid stream out of the first housing structure via a first outlet as claimed. Hacibekir teaches a swirling component (3, Figs. 1-3), the swirling component (3, Figs. 1-3) disposed proximate (interpreting as immediately preceding or following, Merriam-Webster Dictionary) to the second end (downstream end of liquid channel 2, shown in Figs. 1-3) of the liquid channel (2, Figs. 1-3) and including an incoming channel portion (2.1, Fig. 3), a plurality of side channels (6, 7, Fig. 3), and an exit channel portion (6.2, Fig. 3), wherein the swirling component (3, Figs. 1-3) is configured to guide the liquid flow (dotted lines shown in Fig. 4) into the incoming channel portion (2.1, fluid enters inlet channel 2 and enters inlet openings 2.1 to the swirl chamber 3, shown in Fig. 3, Paragraph 0041), split the liquid flow (dotted lines shown in Fig. 4) into a plurality of sideway flows (dotted lines shown in Fig. 4) running in the plurality of side channels (6, 7, flow is divided and transferred to internal and external outlet channels 6 and 7, Fig. 3, Paragraph 0044), guide the plurality of sideway flows (dotted lines shown in Fig. 4) towards the exit channel portion (6.2, 7.2, Fig. 3) to generate swirling liquid stream (shown in Fig. 4, fluid with swirling characteristics travels through internal and external outlet channels 6 and 7 to internal and external outlet channel outlets 6.2 and 7.2, Paragraphs 0046-0048), and expel the swirling liquid stream (shown in Fig. 4) out of the first housing structure (1, Figs. 1-5) via a first outlet (annotated and shown in Fig. 5).
Wurz and Hacibekir are considered to be analogous art to the claimed invention because it is in the same field of nanojet spray devices. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of the swirling component taught by Hacibekir, to Wurz’s spray device in the embodiment of Fig. 2, as modified by Wurz’s spray device in the embodiment of Fig. 6, to have a swirling component contained within the liquid channel, the swirling component disposed proximate to the second end of the liquid channel and including an incoming channel portion, a plurality of side channels, and an exit channel portion, wherein the swirling component is configured to guide the liquid flow into the incoming channel portion, split the liquid flow into a plurality of sideway flows running in the plurality of side channels, guide the plurality of sideway flows towards the exit channel portion to generate swirling liquid stream, and expel the swirling liquid stream out of the first housing structure via a first outlet. Doing so provides a homogeneous spray application at high flow rates and low pressure (Hacibekir, Paragraph 0010).
However, both embodiments of Wurz and Hacibekir do not teach the first housing structure further includes a first channel section directly coupled to the first outlet, and the first channel section and the tapered section of the gas channel have overlapping projections with respect to a central axis of the spray device. Gerking teaches a spray device (entire structure, Fig. 1a) comprising a first housing structure (1, Fig. 1a) further includes a first channel section (14, interpreting as a specific section of the liquid channel, capillary 14 is a specific section of the liquid channel 4, Figs. 1a, 2, Paragraph 0027) directly coupled to a first outlet (15, capillary 14 terminates at outlet 15, shown in Fig. 2, Paragraphs 0027-0028), and the first channel section (14, Figs. 1a, 2) and a tapered section (11, Figs. 1a, 2) of a gas channel (6, Figs. 1a, 2) have overlapping projections (liquid jet 16 contacts accelerated air flow from annular gas chamber 6, shown in Fig. 2, Paragraph 0030) with respect to a central axis (central longitudinal axis of the entire structure, Fig. 1a) of the spray device (entire structure, Fig. 1a).
Wurz, Hacibekir, and Gerking considered to be analogous art to the claimed invention because it is in the same field of nanojet spray devices. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of the first channel section taught in Gerking’s spray device to Wurz’s spray device in the embodiment of Fig. 2, as modified by Wurz’s spray device in the embodiment of Fig. 6 and Hacibekir, to have the first housing structure further includes a first channel section directly coupled to the first outlet, and the first channel section and the tapered section of the gas channel have overlapping projections with respect to a central axis of the spray device as claimed. The mixing channel 7 within the nozzle housing 104 disclosed in Wurz would be modified to add the capillary taught in Gerking. Doing so provides a device that atomizes liquids with gas streams to have the liquid as fine as possible droplets through narrow and controlled distribution before it exits the outlet (Gerking, Paragraph 0009).
With respect to claim 2, Wurz, embodiment of Fig. 2, as modified by the embodiment of Fig. 6, Hacibekir, and Gerking, discloses the spray device of claim 1. In the embodiment of Fig. 2, Wurz further discloses an external surface (external surface of lance pipe 2, shown in Fig. 2) of the first housing structure (2, Fig. 2) is conical (shown in Fig. 2) and has a first opening angle (annotated in Fig. 2), and an internal surface (internal surface of lance pipe 4, shown in Fig. 2) of the second housing structure (4, Fig. 2) is conical (shown in Fig. 2) and has a second opening angle (annotated in Fig. 2) greater than the first opening angle (annotated and shown in Fig. 2).
In regards to claim 3, Wurz, embodiment of Fig. 2, as modified by the embodiment of Fig. 6, Hacibekir, and Gerking, discloses the spray device of claim 2. In the embodiment of Fig. 2, Wurz further discloses the gas channel (6, Fig. 2) is formed between the external surface (external surface of lance pipe 2, shown in Fig. 2) of the first housing structure (2, Fig. 2) and an internal surface (internal surface of lance pipe 4, shown in Fig. 2) of the second housing structure (4, Fig. 2) and configured to increase a gas flow speed of the gas flow (Paragraphs 0079, 0081).
In regards to claim 4, Wurz, embodiment of Fig. 2, as modified by the embodiment of Fig. 6, Hacibekir, and Gerking, discloses the spray device of claim 1. In the embodiment of Fig. 2, Wurz further discloses the second outlet (32, Fig. 2) of the gas channel (6, Fig. 2) has a ring shape (32 has an annular shape, which is a ring shape, Paragraph 0079) and surrounds the first outlet (48, shown in Fig. 2) of the liquid channel (channel within lance pipe 2, shown in Fig. 2), and a width of the second outlet (32, shown in Fig. 2) of the gas channel (6, Fig. 2) is in a predetermined width range (there is a predetermined width for outer annular gap 32, shown in Fig. 2, Paragraph 0079). In the embodiment of Fig. 6, Wurz further teaches expelling the swirling liquid stream (fluid is twisted in the mixing chamber 7 and exits out, shown in Fig. 6, Paragraphs 0011, 0026, 0100, 0109). Gerking further teaches the spray device is configured to generate the supersonic gas jet (“accelerated air flow coming from annular gas chamber 6”, accelerated air flow leads to supersonic flow under adequate pressure, Paragraphs 0014, 0016, 0030) in the tapered section (11, Fig. 1a, 2) of the gas channel (6, Fig. 1a, 2) concurrently with expelling the liquid stream (16, Fig. 2) through the first channel section (14, fluid and gas flow in parallel, shown in Figs. 1a, 2, Paragraph 0017). Wurz, embodiment of Fig. 2, as modified in view of Wurz, embodiment of Fig. 6, and Gerking above, would result in the spray device is configured to generate the supersonic gas jet in the tapered section of the gas channel concurrently with expelling the swirling liquid stream through the first channel section.
Regarding claim 5, Wurz, embodiment of Fig. 2, as modified by the embodiment of Fig. 6, Hacibekir, and Gerking, discloses the spray device of claim 1. In the embodiment of Fig. 2, Wurz further discloses an aerospike zone (31, Fig. 2) coupled immediately adjacent to both the first outlet (48, Fig. 2) of the liquid channel (channel within lance pipe 2, shown in Fig. 2) and the second outlet (32, Fig. 2) of the gas channel (6, Fig. 2), the aerospike zone (31, Fig. 2) is configured to receive the swirling liquid stream and the supersonic gas jet and form a converging aerospike mixture (shown in Fig. 2, Paragraph 0086).
Regarding claim 12, Wurz, embodiment of Fig. 2, as modified by the embodiment of Fig. 1, Hacibekir, and Gerking, discloses the spray device of claim 1. In the embodiment of Fig. 6, Wurz further discloses the swirling component (7, 43, Fig. 6) is configured to touch a plurality of locations of an internal wall (annotated in Fig. 6) of the first housing structure (annotated in Fig. 6 under claim 1) that forms the liquid channel (channel within annotated housing structure, shown in Fig. 6), and has a plurality of recesses (shown in Fig. 6) from the internal wall (annotated in Fig. 6) of the first housing structure (annotated and shown in Fig. 6 under claim 1), which are configured to split the liquid flow (shown in Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 13, Wurz, embodiment of Fig. 2, as modified by the embodiment of Fig. 6, Hacibekir, and Gerking, discloses the spray device of claim 1. In the embodiment of Fig. 6, Wurz further discloses the plurality of side channels (annotated in Fig. 6 under claim 10) includes two identical side channels that are aligned to each other (shown in Fig. 6) and meet at the exit channel portion (shown in Fig. 6).
In regards to claim 14, Wurz, embodiment of Fig. 2, as modified by the embodiment of Fig. 6, Hacibekir, and Gerking, discloses the spray device of claim 1. In the embodiment of Fig. 6, Wurz further discloses the swirling component (7, 43, Fig. 6) is configured to split the liquid (1, Fig. 6) flow into a plurality of sideway flows (shown in Fig. 6) running in the plurality of side channels (annotated in Fig. 6), guide the plurality of sideway flows (shown in Fig. 6) towards the exit channel portion (annotated in Fig. 6), and form the swirling liquid stream that is stable in the exit channel portion (29, a desired fluid film is generated from the twist generator 43 and mixing chamber 7, annotated and shown in Fig. 6, Paragraph 0109), and the plurality of side channels (annotated in Fig. 6 under claim 10) meets at the exit channel portion (annotated and shown in Fig. 6 under claim 10) and have identical geometric features (shown in Fig. 6).
With respect to claim 15, Wurz, embodiment of Fig. 2, as modified by the embodiment of Fig. 6, Hacibekir, and Gerking, discloses the spray device of claim 1. In the embodiment of Fig. 2, Wurz further discloses the extended section length (shown in Fig. 2) of the tapered section (annotated in Fig. 2 under claim 1) of the gas channel (6, Fig. 2) is in a predetermined length range (shown in Fig. 2), a taper width of the tapered section of the gas channel is in a predetermined width range (shown in Fig. 2), and a volumetric flow rate of the gas channel (6, Fig. 2) is in a predetermined flow rate range (Paragraph 0011).
With respect to claim 16, Wurz, embodiment of Fig. 2, as modified by the embodiment of Fig. 6, Hacibekir, and Gerking, discloses the spray device of claim 1. In the embodiment of Fig. 2, Wurz further discloses the spray device (entire structure, Fig. 2) has a plurality of cross sections (annotated in Fig. 2) that are perpendicular to, and intersect with, the central axis (50, Fig. 2), and each cross section (annotated in Fig. 2) is symmetric with respect to a respective intersecting node with the central axis (50, shown in Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 17, Wurz, embodiment of Fig. 2, as modified by the embodiment of Fig. 6, Hacibekir, and Gerking, discloses the spray device of claim 1. In the embodiment of Fig. 2, Wurz further discloses the first housing structure (2, Fig. 2) further comprises a delivering portion (annotated in Fig. 2) providing a gas incoming region (annotated in Fig. 2) and a gas channel section (annotated in Fig. 2), and the gas channel section (annotated in Fig. 2) is coupled to the second housing structure (4, shown in Fig. 2) and has a plurality of air holes (35, 37, Fig. 2) coupling the gas incoming region (annotated in Fig. 2) to the gas channel (6, shown in Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 19, Wurz discloses a method for providing a spray device (Paragraphs 0009, 0052), comprising:
providing a first housing structure (2, 104, entire internal housing structure extending to nozzle orifice 48, and lance pipe 2 and nozzle housing 104 together can be considered one housing structure because they both house a liquid channel for a liquid to travel through, annotated in Fig. 2) including a liquid channel (channel within lance pipe 2, shown in Fig. 2, Paragraph 0052), wherein:
the liquid channel (channel within lance pipe 2, shown in Fig. 2) includes a first end (upstream end of channel within lance pipe 2, shown in Fig. 2) and a second end (downstream end of channel within lance pipe 2, shown in Fig. 2) opposite to the first end (shown in Fig. 2), the liquid channel (channel within lance pipe 2, shown in Fig. 2) configured to receive a liquid flow (fluid in channel within lance pipe 2 indicated by dots, there is at least one fluid inlet for fluid to be atomized, shown in Fig. 2, Paragraphs 0001, 0010, 0052) at the first end of the liquid channel (upstream end of channel within lance pipe 2, shown in Fig. 2) and transport the liquid flow (1, fluid in channel within lance pipe 2 indicated by dots, shown in Fig. 2) from the first end (upstream end of channel within lance pipe 2, shown in Fig. 2) to the second end (downstream end of channel within lance pipe 2, shown in Fig. 2);
providing a second housing structure (4, Fig. 2) surrounding the first housing structure (2, 104, entire internal housing structure extending to nozzle orifice 48, annotated and shown in Fig. 2, Paragraph 0052); and
providing a gas channel (6, Fig. 2), separate from the liquid channel (channel within lance pipe 2, shown in Fig. 2), formed between the first housing structure (2, 104, entire internal housing structure extending to nozzle orifice 48, annotated and shown in Fig. 2) and the second housing structure (4, shown in Fig. 2, Paragraphs 0054-0055), wherein the gas channel (6, Fig. 2) further includes a tapered section (annotated in Fig. 2 under claim 1) coupled to a second outlet (32, Fig. 2), and the tapered section (annotated in Fig. 2 under claim 1) has a varying width that decreases continuously with respect to an extended section length (L1, L2, shown in Fig. 2), and is configured to convert a gas flow to a supersonic gas jet to be released from the gas channel via the second outlet (Paragraph 0079).
However, Wurz does not disclose a swirling component contained within the liquid channel as claimed in one embodiment. In the embodiment of Fig. 6, Wurz discloses a method for providing a spray device (Paragraphs 0009, 0052), comprising:
a swirling component (7, 13, Fig. 6).
Wurz is considered to be analogous art to the claimed invention because it is in the same field of nanojet spray devices. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of the swirling component and the liquid channel taught in Wurz’s spray device in the embodiment of Fig. 6, to Wurz’s spray device in the embodiment of Fig. 2, to have a swirling component contained within the liquid channel. Doing so improves the efficiency of the fluid flow in the liquid channel to form smaller droplets (Paragraph 0109).
However, both embodiments of Wurz do not teach a swirling component contained within the liquid channel, the swirling component disposed proximate to the second end of the liquid channel and including an incoming channel portion, a plurality of side channels, and an exit channel portion, wherein the swirling component is configured to guide the liquid flow into the incoming channel portion, split the liquid flow into a plurality of sideway flows running in the plurality of side channels, guide the plurality of sideway flows towards the exit channel portion to generate swirling liquid stream, and expel the swirling liquid stream out of the first housing structure via a first outlet as claimed. Hacibekir teaches a swirling component (3, Figs. 1-3), the swirling component (3, Figs. 1-3) disposed proximate (interpreting as immediately preceding or following, Merriam-Webster Dictionary) to the second end (downstream end of liquid channel 2, shown in Figs. 1-3) of the liquid channel (2, Figs. 1-3) and including an incoming channel portion (2.1, Fig. 3), a plurality of side channels (6, 7, Fig. 3), and an exit channel portion (6.2, Fig. 3), wherein the swirling component (3, Figs. 1-3) is configured to guide the liquid flow (dotted lines shown in Fig. 4) into the incoming channel portion (2.1, fluid enters inlet channel 2 and enters inlet openings 2.1 to the swirl chamber 3, shown in Fig. 3, Paragraph 0041), split the liquid flow (dotted lines shown in Fig. 4) into a plurality of sideway flows (dotted lines shown in Fig. 4) running in the plurality of side channels (6, 7, flow is divided and transferred to internal and external outlet channels 6 and 7, Fig. 3, Paragraph 0044), guide the plurality of sideway flows (dotted lines shown in Fig. 4) towards the exit channel portion (6.2, 7.2, Fig. 3) to generate swirling liquid stream (shown in Fig. 4, fluid with swirling characteristics travels through internal and external outlet channels 6 and 7 to internal and external outlet channel outlets 6.2 and 7.2, Paragraphs 0046-0048), and expel the swirling liquid stream (shown in Fig. 4) out of the first housing structure (1, Figs. 1-5) via a first outlet (annotated and shown in Fig. 5).
Wurz and Hacibekir are considered to be analogous art to the claimed invention because it is in the same field of nanojet spray devices. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of the swirling component taught by Hacibekir, to Wurz’s spray device in the embodiment of Fig. 2, as modified by Wurz’s spray device in the embodiment of Fig. 6, to have a swirling component contained within the liquid channel, the swirling component disposed proximate to the second end of the liquid channel and including an incoming channel portion, a plurality of side channels, and an exit channel portion, wherein the swirling component is configured to guide the liquid flow into the incoming channel portion, split the liquid flow into a plurality of sideway flows running in the plurality of side channels, guide the plurality of sideway flows towards the exit channel portion to generate swirling liquid stream, and expel the swirling liquid stream out of the first housing structure via a first outlet. Doing so provides a homogeneous spray application at high flow rates and low pressure (Hacibekir, Paragraph 0010
However, both embodiments of Wurz and Hacibekir do not teach the first housing structure further includes a first channel section directly coupled to the first outlet, and the first channel section and the tapered section of the gas channel have overlapping projections with respect to a central axis of the spray device. Gerking teaches a method for providing a spray device (entire structure, “process and a device for atomizing liquids with the aid of gas streams, Fig. 1a, Abstract, Paragraphs 0001, 0009) comprising a first housing structure (1, Fig. 1a) further includes a first channel section (14, interpreting as a specific section of the liquid channel, capillary 14 is a specific section of the liquid channel 4, Figs. 1a, 2, Paragraph 0027) directly coupled to a first outlet (15, capillary 14 terminates at outlet 15, shown in Fig. 2, Paragraphs 0027-0028), and the first channel section (14, Figs. 1a, 2) and a tapered section (11, Figs. 1a, 2) of a gas channel (6, Figs. 1a, 2) have overlapping projections (liquid jet 16 contacts accelerated air flow from annular gas chamber 6, shown in Fig. 2, Paragraph 0030) with respect to a central axis (central longitudinal axis of the entire structure, Fig. 1a) of the spray device (entire structure, Fig. 1a).
Wurz, Hacibekir, and Gerking considered to be analogous art to the claimed invention because it is in the same field of nanojet spray devices. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of the first channel section taught in Gerking’s spray device to Wurz’s spray device in the embodiment of Fig. 2, as modified by Wurz’s spray device in the embodiment of Fig. 6 and Hacibekir, to have the first housing structure further includes a first channel section directly coupled to the first outlet, and the first channel section and the tapered section of the gas channel have overlapping projections with respect to a central axis of the spray device as claimed. The mixing channel 7 within the nozzle housing 104 disclosed in Wurz would be modified to add the capillary taught in Gerking. Doing so provides a device that atomizes liquids with gas streams to have the liquid as fine as possible droplets through narrow and controlled distribution before it exits the outlet (Gerking, Paragraph 0009).
Regarding claim 21, Wurz, embodiment of Fig. 2, as modified by the embodiment of Fig. 6, Hacibekir, and Gerking, discloses the spray device of claim 1. Gerking further teaches at least a portion of the first channel section (14, Figs. 1a, 2) has a contracting cone shape (shown in Fig. 2).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wurz (US 20100116900 A1, herein referenced as Wurz ‘900), embodiment of Fig. 2, in view of embodiment of Fig. 6, Hacibekir et al. (US 20230166275 A1), and Gerking (US 20050140031 A1) as applied to claims 1 and 5 above, and further in view of Wurz (US 20100163647 A1, herein referenced as Wurz ‘647).
With respect to claim 6, Wurz ‘900, embodiment of Fig. 2, as modified by the embodiment of Fig. 6, Hacibekir, and Gerking, discloses the spray device of claim 5. However, Wurz ‘900 in both embodiments, Hacibekir, and Gerking do not teach the second housing structure further comprises an expansion portion. In another reference, Wurz ‘647 teaches a spray device (entire structure, Fig. 1) comprising a second housing structure (4, Fig. 1) further comprises an expansion portion (26, Fig. 1) extending beyond a second outlet (6, Fig. 1) of a gas channel (channel within external lance tube 4, shown in Fig. 1), and the expansion portion (26, Fig. 1) is configured to constrain a converging aerospike mixture (9, Fig. 1) in the aerospike zone adjacent to a first outlet (annotated in Fig. 1) and the second outlet (6, Fig. 1).
Both references from Wurz, Hacibekir, and Gerking are considered to be analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of nanojet spray devices. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of the expansion portion taught in Wurz ‘647’s spray device to Wurz ‘900’s spray device in the embodiment of Fig. 2, as modified by the embodiment of Fig. 6, Hacibekir, and Gerking, to have the second housing structure further comprises an expansion portion extending beyond the second outlet of the gas channel, and the expansion portion is configured to constrain the converging aerospike mixture in the aerospike zone adjacent to the first outlet and the second outlet. Doing so improves the dispersion of the droplets (Wurz ‘647, Paragraph 0004).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wurz (US 20100116900 A1), embodiment of Fig. 2, in view of embodiment of Fig. 6, Hacibekir et al. (US 20230166275 A1), and Gerking (US 20050140031 A1) as applied to claims 1 and 5 above, further in view of Wurz (US 20100163647 A1) as applied to claim 6 above, and further in view of Prather et al. (US 20220362789 A1).
Regarding claim 7, Wurz ‘900, embodiment of Fig. 2, as modified by the embodiment of Fig. 6, Hacibekir, Gerking, and Wurz ‘647, discloses the spray device of claim 6. However, both references from Wurz, Hacibekir, and Gerking do not teach a droplet size of liquid droplets of the converging aerospike mixture is in a range of 0.05-50 μm. Prather teaches a spray device (100, Fig. 1) comprising a droplet size of liquid droplets is in a range of 0.05-50 μm (droplet sizes may range from 1 μm to 500 μm, Paragraph 0036).
Both references from Wurz, Hacibekir, Gerking, and Prather are considered to be analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of nanojet spray devices. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of the droplet size of the liquid droplets taught in Prather’s spray device to Wurz ‘900’s spray device in the embodiment of Fig. 2, as modified by the embodiment of Fig. 6, Hacibekir, Gerking, and Wurz ‘647, to have a droplet size of liquid droplets of the converging aerospike mixture is in a range of 0.05-50 μm. Doing so allows for improved drying times of the particle (Prather, Paragraph 0036).
Claims 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wurz (US 20100116900 A1), embodiment of Fig. 2, in view of embodiment of Fig. 6, Hacibekir et al. (US 20230166275 A1), and Gerking (US 20050140031 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Bambray et al. (US 20210213470 A1).
In regards to claim 8, Wurz ‘900, embodiment of Fig. 2, as modified by the embodiment of Fig. 6, Hacibekir, and Gerking, discloses the spray device of claim 1. However, Wurz ‘900 in both embodiments, Hacibekir, and Gerking do not teach an acoustic structure. Bambray teaches an acoustic structure (103b, interpreting an acoustic structure as an air cap, Figs. 1b, 2b) coupled to a housing structure (not explicitly shown, but air caps attach to a nozzle housing, Paragraphs 0003, 0005), the acoustic structure (103b, Figs. 1b, 2b) configured to control spreading of a mixture of the supersonic gas jet and the swirling liquid stream and reduce a noise level of the spray device (Paragraphs 0007-0008).
Wurz, Hacibekir, Gerking, and Bambray are considered to be analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of nanojet spray devices. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of the acoustic structure taught in Bambray’s spray device to Wurz ‘900’s spray device in the embodiment of Fig. 2, as modified by the embodiment of Fig. 6, Hacibekir, and Gerking, to have an acoustic structure coupled to the second housing structure, the acoustic structure configured to control spreading of a mixture of the supersonic gas jet and the swirling liquid stream and reduce a noise level of the spray device. Doing so allows for more stabilized air jets in the spray device (Bambray, Paragraph 0008).
With respect to claim 9, Wurz ‘900, embodiment of Fig. 2, as modified by the embodiment of Fig. 6, Hacibekir, Gerking, and Bambray, discloses the spray device of claim 8. Bambray further teaches the acoustic structure (103b, Figs. 1b, 2b) has a serration edge (104, Figs. 1b, 2b).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wurz (US 20100116900 A1), embodiment of Fig. 2, in view of embodiment of Fig. 6, Hacibekir et al. (US 20230166275 A1), and Gerking (US 20050140031 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Mansour et al. (US 20040098989 A1).
In regards to claim 11, Wurz ‘900, embodiment of Fig. 2, as modified by the embodiment of Fig. 6, Hacibekir, Gerking, discloses the spray device of claim 1. However, Wurz ‘900 in both embodiments, Hacibekir, and Gerking do not teach the plurality of side channels is formed under, and extended in parallel to, a top surface of the swirling component that is configured to face the liquid flow, and the exit channel portion is connected to the plurality of side channels and extends along a flow direction of the liquid flow and perpendicular to the plurality of side channels. Mansour teaches a spray device (31, Fig. 2) comprising a first housing structure (40, Fig. 1) comprising a swirling component (annotated in Fig. 3) disposed within a liquid channel (68, shown in Fig. 3) and adjacent to a first outlet (79, Fig. 3) of the liquid channel (68, shown in Fig. 3), the swirling component includes a plurality of side channels (99, 100, 101, 103, 105, 107, 109, Figs. 3, 5A-15B);
the plurality of side channels (99, 100, 101, 103, 105, 107, 109, Figs. 3, 5A-15B) is formed under, and extended in parallel to, a top surface (annotated in Fig. 3) of the swirling component (annotated and shown in Fig. 3) that is configured to face the liquid flow (annotated and shown in Fig. 3), and the exit channel portion (annotated in Fig. 3) is connected to the plurality of side channels (99, 100, 101, 103, 105, 107, 109, shown in Fig. 3) and extends along a flow direction of the liquid flow (annotated and shown in Fig. 3) and perpendicular to the plurality of side channels (99, 100, 101, 103, 105, 107, 109, shown in Fig. 3).
Wurz ‘900, Hacibekir, Gerking, and Mansour are considered to be analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of nanojet spray devices. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of the plurality of side channels taught in Mansour’s spray device to Wurz ‘900’s spray device in the embodiment of Fig. 2, as modified by the embodiment of Fig. 6, Hacibekir, and Gerking, to have the plurality of side channels is formed under, and extended in parallel to, a top surface of the swirling component that is configured to face the liquid flow, and the exit channel portion is connected to the plurality of side channels and extends along a flow direction of the liquid flow and perpendicular to the plurality of side channels in both embodiments. Doing so improves the swirl motion and creates uniform dispersion of droplets (Mansour, Paragraphs 0085, 0087).
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wurz (US 20100116900 A1), embodiment of Fig. 2, in view of embodiment of Fig. 6, Hacibekir et al. (US 20230166275 A1), and Gerking (US 20050140031 A1) as applied to claim 1, and further in view of Kimura et al. (US 20220379326 A1).
Regarding claim 18, Wurz ‘900, embodiment of Fig. 2, as modified by the embodiment of Fig. 6, Hacibekir, and Gerking, discloses the spray device of claim 1. In the embodiment of Fig. 2, Wurz ‘900 further discloses the gas channel (6, Fig. 2) further includes a straight section (annotated in Fig. 2) coupled to the tapered section (annotated and shown in Fig. 2 under claim 1) and having a constant cross-sectional area (shown in Fig. 2), and the straight section (annotated in Fig. 2) is configured to deliver the gas flow to the tapered section (annotated and shown in Fig. 2, Paragraph 0011).
However, Wurz ‘900 in both embodiments, Hacibekir, and Gerking do not teach the gas flow having a constant flow rate. Kimura teaches a spray device (11, Fig. 2) comprising a gas flow having a constant flow rate (Paragraph 0051).
Wurz, Hacibekir, Gerking, and Kimura are considered to be analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of nanojet spray devices. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of the gas flow taught in Kimura’s spray device to Wurz ‘900’s spray device in the embodiment of Fig. 2, as modified by the embodiment of Fig. 6, Hacibekir, and Gerking, to have the straight section is configured to deliver the gas flow having a constant flow rate to the tapered section. Doing so improves the mist spray as it is being dispensed (Kimura, Paragraph 0051).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-9, 11-19 and 22 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANNA THI HO/Examiner, Art Unit 3752 /ARTHUR O. HALL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3752