DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 6, 8, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wong (US 20130276476).
Per claim 1, Wong teaches a water re-distribution system configured for mounting in an adiabatic pre-cooled cooler between an upper adiabatic pad (2451A) and a lower adiabatic pad (2651A), the water distribution system comprising: a water re-distribution frame (246A, 221A, 231A); a plurality of water deflection baffles (229A, 230A) alternatively arranged in the water distribution frame (246A, 221A, 231A), the plurality of water deflection baffles positioned at an angle with respect to a vertical surface of the frame (see 16).
Per claim 2, Wong meets the claim limitations as disclosed in the above rejection of claim 1. Further, Wong teaches an upper drain pan (211A) located above the plurality of water deflection baffles (229A, 230A) and configured to drop water onto a first baffle (229A) of the plurality of water deflection baffles (229A, 230A).
Per claim 3, Wong meets the claim limitations as disclosed in the above rejection of claim 1. Further, Wong teaches a distribution trough (22B) located below the plurality of water deflection baffles (229A, 230A).
Per claim 6, Wong meets the claim limitations as disclosed in the above rejection of claim 1. Further, Wong teaches wherein the water re-distribution system comprises no sealants (no sealants are disclosed by Wong, thus the system comprises not sealants).
Per claim 8, Wong meets the claim limitations as disclosed in the above rejection of claim 1. Further, Wong teaches wherein water is not able to fall from a height that exceeds 5 inches in the water re-distribution system (when the water is flowing down the baffle water is not falling, thus the water is not falling from a height that exceeds 5 inches).
Per claim 20, Wong meets the claim limitations as disclosed in the above rejection of claim 1. Further, Wong teaches wherein the plurality of water deflection baffles (229A, 230A) include downwardly turned flanges (left flanges of 229A and 230A shown in figure 18A) attached to ends of the plurality of water deflection baffles, the downwardly turned flanges configured to inhibit splashing of water deflected via the plurality of water deflection baffles (the flanges allow water to flow downward thus inhibiting water from splashing upwards).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7 and 17-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wong (US 20130276476).
Per claim 7, Wong meets the claim limitations as disclosed in the above rejection of claim 1. Further, Wong teaches wherein a first water deflection baffle (229A) of water deflection baffles is arranged at a first angel from the vertical surface of the frame (see figure 18A) but fails to explicitly teach wherein the angle is 35° to 75° degrees.
However, one skilled in the art would know that as the angle is adjusted the flow rate of the water will be adjusted. Therefore the angle is recognized as a result-effective variable, i.e. a variable which achieves a recognized result. In this case, the recognized result is that as the angle is adjusted the flow rate of water is adjusted. Therefore, since the general conditions of the claim, i.e. the angle of the first water deflection baffle was disclosed in the prior art by Wong, it is not inventive to discover the optimum workable value of the angle by routine experimentation, and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to provide the angle disclosed by Wong being 35° to 75°.
Per claim 17, Wong teaches a water re-distribution system for an adiabatic cooler, the water re-distribution system comprising: a frame (structure supporting elements shown in figures 15-18) having a left vertical component (left frame of 15A) extending is a vertical direction and a right vertical component (right frame of 15A) extending in the vertical direction (see figure 15A); an upper drain pan (211A) connected to the frame; a first angled baffle (229A) connected to the frame and angled with respect to the vertical direction (see figure 18A), the first angled baffle having a first downward turned flange (left flange of 229A as shown in figure 18A); a second angled baffle 230A) connected to the frame and angled with respect to the vertical direction, the second angled baffle having a second downwardly turned flange (left flange of 230A as shown in figure 18A); and a lower drain pan (drain pan shown at bottom of see figure 16) connected to the frame (all elements of an assembly are considered to “connected” to one another either directly or indirectly); wherein fluid is configured to flow from the upper drain pan (211A), to the first angled baffle (229A), to the second angle baffle (230A), and to the lower drain pan (see figure 16) but fails to explicitly teach wherein the first and second angled baffles are angled at 35° to 75° degrees.
However, one skilled in the art would know that as the angle is adjusted the flow rate of the water will be adjusted. Therefore the angle is recognized as a result-effective variable, i.e. a variable which achieves a recognized result. In this case, the recognized result is that as the angle is adjusted the flow rate of water is adjusted. Therefore, since the general conditions of the claim, i.e. the angle of the first and second angled baffles were disclosed in the prior art by Wong, it is not inventive to discover the optimum workable value of the angle by routine experimentation, and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to provide the angles disclosed by Wong being 35° to 75°.
Per claim 18, Wong, as modified, meets the claim limitations as disclosed in the above rejection of claim 17. Further, Wong, as modified, teaches the first and second angled baffles being angled at 35° to 75° but fails to explicitly teach a third angled baffle connected to the frame and angled between 30° to 75° with respect to the vertical direction.
However, per MPEP 2144, section VI, paragraph B, a “mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced”. Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have a third angled baffle connected to the frame and angled between 30° to 75° with respect to the vertical direction in order to advantageously increasing the capacity of the cooling system.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9-16 are allowed.
Claim(s) 4-5 and 19 is/are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DAVID J TEITELBAUM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763