Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hendricks et al. (USPGPub 2016/0177109) in view of Fugetsu et al. (US9885146) and Oya et al. (JP2021078553).
Regarding claims 1 and 3-4, Hendricks teaches that it is known to coat a synthetic fiber [0130] with n,n-dimethylformamide and polydopamine (claim 116) which reads upon the solvent claimed wherein the solvent is later removed [0055]. Hendricks further teaches wherein carbon nanotubes are incorporated into the coating (claim 125) but fails to teach wherein the carbon nanotubes are single-walled carbon nanotubes. However, Fugetsu teaches that it is known to incorporate single-walled or multi-walled nanotubes into coatings for synthetic fibers as in Hendricks. Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the single wall CNTs of Fugetsu into place of the multi-walled CNTs of Hendricks as a simple substitution of one known form of CNT for another for the purpose of providing electrical coatings for synthetic fibers wherein either would be expected to provided predictable results. Further Hendricks teaches repeating the coating step of Hendricks which is explicitly described in Hendricks [0124] which would read upon a pretreatment step identical to the immersion step. Hendricks further teaches wherein the substrate may be a PET substrate [0129] in the form of a wire [0141] which would read upon a PET fiber. The teachings of Hendricks in view of Fugetsu are as shown above. Hendricks in view of Fugetsu teaches the use of PET fibers in general and is silent as to the cross-sectional shape of those employed. However, Oya teaches that when making conducting fibers having non-conducting portions comprising PET it is preferable to use material such as Nanofront (see Description of Embodiments, 6th paragraph), wherein the current application describes Nanofront as reading upon the current claim limitations as relates to fiber cross-sectional shape [0040]. Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the PET fibers of Oya that support conductivity as the PET fiber for supporting conductivity of Henricks in view of Fugetsu as a simple substitution of one known PET fiber for supporting conductivity for another wherein the substitution would have been predictable based upon the teachings of Oya.
Regarding claim 2, PET is a polyester fiber.
Regarding claim 5, although Hendricks does not explicitly state that temperature is directly related to the glass transition temperature of the fiber, it is noted that Hendricks states that the temperature is chosen so that it is “low enough to maintain the integrity of the substrate material”. Those of ordinary skill in the art would readily recognize that the glass transition temperature of a material is the temperature at which the material begins to change from a harder state to a softer state. Therefore Hendricks reasonably implies that temperatures employed should not be above the glass transition temperature because that temperature is implied to those of ordinary skill in the art as the/a temperature at which a loss of integrity would take place.
Regarding claim 6, the teachings of Hendricks in view of Fugetsu and Oya are as shown above. Hendricks in view of Fugetsu fails to teach wherein vacuum pressure is used during the drying. However, the examiner is taking Official Notice to inform the applicant that vacuum (reduced pressure) modification of drying processes is well known in the field of drying coatings in general in order to speed drying operations without necessarily raising temperatures. Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate vacuum pressures in the drying process of Hendricks in view of Fugetsu and Oya in order to control the drying time of the invention of Hendricks in view of Fugetsu without needing to substantially increase drying temperatures.
Regarding claim 7, the teachings of Hendricks in view of Fugetsu and Oya are as shown above. Hendricks alone fails to teach the use of a ball mill during the coating step. However, Fugetsu teaches that it is known to incorporate ball milling into the coating mixing process for coating for synthetic fibers in order to promote the dispersion of components into the coating created (col. 20 ,lines 20-40). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the ball milling of Fugetsu into the invention of Hendricks in view of Fugetsu and Oya in order to gain the stated dispersing abilities described.
Regarding claim 8, Hendricks teaches wherein the composition “may” contain a surfactant, reasonably implying that the component is considered to be optional [0058]. Further the amount of surfactant said to be present may be “about 0.1%” which also reads on 0%.
Regarding claim 9, the teachings of Hendricks in view of Fugetsu and Oya are as shown above. Hendricks in view of Fugetsu and Oya fails to teach the concentration of single walled carbon nanotubes claimed although Hendricks does teach similar percentages on a weight per volume basis [0101]. However, Hendricks further teaches the amount of conductive material provided is provided so as to control the amount of contact resistance associated with the use of a conductive polymer [0099]. Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to optimize the mass percentage of SWCNTs provided in the composition of Henricks in view of Fugetsu in order to optimize the contact resistance associated with the use of a conductive polymer in the invention of Hendricks in view of Fugetsu and Oya as guided by Hendricks. Discovery of optimum value of result effective variable in known process is ordinarily within skill of art. In re Boesch, CCPA 1980, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ215.
Regarding claim 10, the teachings of Hendricks in view of Fugetsu and Oya are as shown above. Hendricks in view of Fugetsu and Oya fails to teach wherein the solvent removal temperature is in the range claimed. Hendricks generally teaches a solvent removal range from “about 80C to about 160C” [0162]. However, Hendricks additionally states “Those skilled in the art will appreciate that certain substrates may require the thermal curing step to be carried out at a lower temperature and for a longer period of time.” [0165]. Therefore, in the absence of criticality of the specific range claimed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to optimize the curing temperature of Hendricks in view of Fugetsu and Oya as guided by Hendricks as needed and determined by those of ordinary skill in the art as literally stated by Hendricks. Discovery of optimum value of result effective variable in known process is ordinarily within skill of art. In re Boesch, CCPA 1980, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ215.
Response to Arguments
The applicants’ arguments are largely moot and based upon newly provided claim limitations that are currently addressed with newly provided art in the currently provided Office Action.
Conclusion
/ANDREW J BOWMAN/Examiner, Art Unit 1717