DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
1. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 8/16/2024 and 2/24/2025 were filed prior to the mailing date of this action. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 11, the language recites “wherein at least one of the one or more steam openings extends along the longitudinal ridge positioned a radial first distance from the longitudinal axis”. However, the term “a radial first distance” lacks proper antecedent basis because this term was previously introduced in claim 7 and it is not precisely clear if this is the same “radial first distance” or a different “radial first distance”. Additionally, it is not precisely clear what the phrase “positioned a radial first distance from the longitudinal axis” is with respect to. That is, it is not clear if this phrase is with respect to the steam openings or with respect to the longitudinal ridge. For purposes of examination, the language will be interpreted as requiring the longitudinal ridge to be a radial distance from the longitudinal axis that is not the same as the previously recited radial first distance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 6-11, and 13-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Siegel et al. (DE 102019109298), hereinafter Siegel.
Regarding claim 1, Siegel teaches a cleaning apparatus (fig. 1, cleaning machine station 88) for a floor cleaner (cleaning machine 10), the floor cleaner having a base movable along a surface to be cleaned (fig. 4, cleaning head 12), a brushroll motor (electric motor 18, third paragraph on page 16 of the attached translation), and a brushroll (cleaner roller 14) rotatable about a brushroll axis relative to the base by the brushroll motor (third paragraph on page 16 of the attached translation), the cleaning apparatus comprising:
a tray (fig. 5, tray which includes receiving chamber 92) configured to removably receive the floor cleaner in a mounted position (figs. 5 and 2), the tray including a brushroll-receiving portion configured to receive the brushroll of the floor cleaner (receiving chamber 92 is configured to receive the brushroll of the floor cleaner);
a reservoir configured to store liquid (tank 134 of the disinfection device 130, fig. 1);
a boiler (last paragraph on page 24 of the attached translation, heater for dispensing disinfectant through nozzles 148 in a gaseous state and/or as steam to the cleaning roller unit 14) in fluid communication with the reservoir (last paragraph on page 24 of the attached translation), the boiler configured to convert the liquid into steam (last paragraph on page 24 through first paragraph on page 25 of the attached translation); and
a steam distributor (nozzles 148, fig. 5) in fluid communication with the boiler (last paragraph on page 24 through first paragraph on page 25 of the attached translation), the steam distributor having one or more steam openings configured to dispense the steam onto the brushroll (see annotated fig. 5 above. last paragraph on page 24 through first paragraph on page 25 of the attached translation, Siegel teaches disinfectant can be dispensed using nozzles 148 as steam to the cleaning roller unit 14).
Regarding claim 2, Siegel teaches the claimed invention as rejected above in claim 1. Additionally, Siegel teaches wherein the reservoir is removable from the tray (second to last paragraph on page 23 of the attached translation).
Regarding claim 6, Siegel teaches the claimed invention as rejected above in claim 1. Additionally, Siegel teaches the one or more steam openings being a plurality of steam openings configured to dispense the steam onto the brushroll (fig. 5, nozzles 148 in fig. 5).
Regarding claim 7, Siegel teaches the claimed invention as rejected above in claim 6. Additionally, Siegel teaches wherein the brushroll-receiving portion defines a longitudinal axis (figs. 3 and 5, wherein the brushroll-receiving portion defines a longitudinal axis that is parallel to a longitudinal axis of the brushroll being received), and wherein the steam distributor includes a plurality of segments along the longitudinal axis (fig. 5, nozzles 148 along the longitudinal axis of the receiving portion), at least one of the plurality of segments including at least one of the plurality of steam openings positioned a radial first distance from the longitudinal axis (fig. 5, nozzles 148 include a steam opening positioned a radial first distance (with respect to the longitudinal axis) from the longitudinal axis).
Regarding claim 8, Siegel teaches the claimed invention as rejected above in claim 7. Additionally, Siegel teaches wherein each of the plurality of segments includes at least one of the plurality of steam openings positioned the radial first distance from the longitudinal axis (fig. 5, nozzles 148 positioned the radial first distance from the longitudinal axis).
Regarding claim 9, Siegel teaches the claimed invention as rejected above in claim 7. Additionally, Siegel teaches wherein each of the plurality of segments is separated from an adjacent segment by a divot (see annotated fig. 6 below),
a rear wall bounding the divot positioned a radial second distance from the longitudinal axis, the second distance being greater than the first distance (see annotated fig. 6 above, wherein the divot is bounded by a rear wall positioned a second radial distance from the longitudinal axis, the second distance being greater than the first distance).
Regarding claim 10, Siegel teaches the claimed invention as rejected above in claim 7. Additionally, Siegel teaches wherein the plurality of segments forms a comb shape (fig. 6, Under Broadest Reasonable Interpretation (BRI), the plurality of nozzles 148 form a comb shape).
Regarding claim 11, Siegel teaches the claimed invention as rejected above in claim 7. Additionally, Siegel teaches wherein the steam distributor includes a longitudinal ridge extending along at least a portion of the brushroll-receiving portion (see annotated fig. 6 below, wherein the portion of the nozzle extending in the longitudinal direction is interpreted as the longitudinal ridge, wherein the longitudinal ridge extends along a portion of the brushroll-receiving portion),
wherein at least one of the one or more steam openings extends along the longitudinal ridge positioned a radial first distance from the longitudinal axis (the steam opening of the nozzle 148 extends along the longitudinal ridge, wherein the longitudinal ridge is positioned a radial distance from the longitudinal axis. As best understood by the examiner, in view of the above 35 USC 112(b) rejection, the prior art teaches the claim language).
Regarding claim 13, Siegel teaches the claimed invention as rejected above in claim 1. Additionally, Siegel teaches wherein the brushroll has a brushroll radius defined from the brushroll axis to an outer perimeter of the brushroll (fig. 4), and wherein the cleaning apparatus is configured to engage the brushroll (the cleaning apparatus is configured to operationally engage the brushroll) and expose an internal portion of the brushroll to the one or more steam openings (The internal portion of the brushroll is fluidically exposed to the steam openings of the nozzles 148. That is, the internal portion of the brushroll is capable of receiving steam from the steam openings, thereby being fluidically exposed), wherein the internal portion of the brushroll includes portions of the brushroll disposed at a dimension less than the brushroll radius from the brushroll axis (internal portions of the brushroll disposed at a dimension less than the brushroll radius from the brushroll axis are capable of being exposed to the steam from the steam openings).
Regarding claim 14, Siegel teaches the claimed invention as rejected above in claim 1. Additionally, Siegel teaches wherein the cleaning apparatus includes a controller (control device) operable to control an operation of either the boiler (Siegel teaches the disinfectant is heated/evaporated by the heater to be dispensed in a gaseous state/steam (last paragraph on page 24 of the attached translation). Additionally, Siegel teaches the control device is connected to the disinfectant module so that supply of the disinfectant can be carried out in a controlled manner by means of the control device. As a result, the disinfection and/or cleaning of the cleaning machine and/or the cleaning machine station can be carried out in a controlled and/or automated manner (fifth paragraph on page 7 of the attached translation)) or a pump configured to deliver the liquid to the boiler, or both of the boiler and the pump (the prior art is not required to teach this claim language because the language recites the term “or”).
Regarding claim 15, Siegel teaches the claimed invention as rejected above in claim 1. Additionally, Siegel teaches wherein the tray includes an actuator (control device 110 is interpreted as the actuator) configured to activate the brushroll when the floor cleaner is in the mounted position in the tray (second to last paragraph on page 39 of the attached translation and last 5 paragraphs on page 29 of the attached translation).
Regarding claim 16, Siegel teaches the claimed invention as rejected above in claim 1. Additionally, Siegel teaches further comprising a plenum configured to deliver steam to the one or more steam openings (fig. 5, structure attached to the nozzle head in fig. 5 (that is, structure indicated by leader line 148) which conveys the steam to the steam opening of the nozzle 148 is interpreted as the plenum).
Regarding claim 17, Siegel teaches the claimed invention as rejected above in claim 1. Additionally, Siegel teaches wherein a cover portion is configured to shield at least a portion of the one or more steam openings to inhibit an ingress of water and/or debris into the one or more steam openings (fig. 6, truncated cone structure of the nozzle head 148 is interpreted as the cover portion which is configured to shield at least a portion of the one or more steam openings to inhibit an ingress of water and/or debris into the one or more steam openings).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Siegel et al. (DE 102019109298), hereinafter Siegel, in view of Fordahl et al. (US PGPUB 20230210333), hereinafter Fordahl.
Regarding claim 3, Siegel teaches the claimed invention as rejected above in claim 1. Additionally, Siegel teaches a pump for the disinfectant (fig. 1, pump 140).
Siegel does not explicitly teach wherein the cleaning apparatus includes a pump operably positioned between the reservoir and the boiler, the pump configured to transfer the liquid from the reservoir to the boiler.
However, Fordahl teaches a cleaning apparatus with a steam delivery, wherein the cleaning apparatus includes a pump (steam supply pump 54, fig. 2) operably positioned between the reservoir (fig. 2, supply tank 18) and the boiler (heater 26), the pump configured to transfer the liquid from the reservoir to the boiler (fig. 2).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Siegel to incorporate the teachings of Fordahl to provide wherein the cleaning apparatus includes a pump operably positioned between the reservoir and the boiler, the pump configured to transfer the liquid from the reservoir to the boiler. Specifically, it would have been obvious to incorporate the pump, reservoir, boiler, steam distributor configuration into the device of Siegel. Doing so would have been a simple substitution (MPEP 2143) of one known steam system configuration for another known steam system configuration to obtain the predictable results of producing steam for cleaning. Additionally, doing so would continue to allow the device to function as intended with explicit component layouts.
Claims 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Siegel et al. (DE 102019109298), hereinafter Siegel, in view of Tang et al. (CN 113243823), hereinafter Tang.
Regarding claim 4, Siegel teaches the claimed invention as rejected above in claim 1. Siegel does not explicitly teach wherein the one or more steam openings extend along at least 50% of a length of the brushroll-receiving portion.
However, Tang teaches a base station and surface cleaning system, wherein the base station includes outlets 1011 for processing the rolling brush (fifth paragraph on page 16 of the attached translation). Overall, Tang teaches wherein the one or more openings extend along at least 50% of a length of the brushroll-receiving portion (fig. 3).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Siegel to incorporate the teachings of Tang to provide wherein the one or more steam openings extend along at least 50% of a length of the brushroll-receiving portion. Specifically, it would have been obvious to modify the steam openings of Siegel such that they extend along at least 50% of the length of the brushroll receiving portion. Doing so would promote increased cleanliness and disinfecting of the brushroll of Siegel over the entire length of the brushroll.
Regarding claim 5, Siegel teaches the claimed invention as rejected above in claim 1. Siegel does not explicitly teach wherein the steam distributor extends along at least 50% of a length of the brushroll- receiving portion.
However, Tang teaches a base station and surface cleaning system, wherein the base station includes outlets 1011 for processing the rolling brush (fifth paragraph on page 16 of the attached translation). Overall, Tang teaches wherein the distributor extends along at least 50% of a length of the brushroll- receiving portion (fig. 3).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Siegel to incorporate the teachings of Tang to provide wherein the steam distributor extends along at least 50% of a length of the brushroll- receiving portion. Specifically, it would have been obvious to modify the steam openings of Siegel such that they extend along at least 50% of the length of the brushroll receiving portion. Doing so would promote increased cleanliness and disinfecting of the brushroll of Siegel over the entire length of the brushroll.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Siegel et al. (DE 102019109298), hereinafter Siegel, in view of Krebs et al. (US PGPUB 20180344112).
Regarding claim 12, Siegel teaches the claimed invention as rejected above in claim 1. Additionally, Siegel teaches wherein the brushroll has a brushroll radius defined from the brushroll axis to an outer perimeter of the brushroll (fig. 4), wherein the one or more steam openings are positioned a radial first distance from the brushroll axis (fig. 8).
However, Siegel does not explicitly teach wherein the radial first distance is less than the brushroll radius.
However, Krebs teaches a cleaning system including spray nozzles 152 (fig. 8), wherein the spray nozzles 152 extend upwards from a base surface of the tray (fig. 8).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Siegel to incorporate the teachings of Krebs to provide wherein the nozzles of Siegel extend upwards from the base surface of the tray. Doing so would have been a simple substitution (MPEP 2143) of one known nozzle configuration for another known nozzle configuration to obtain the predictable results of providing nozzles for cleaning. Additionally, doing so would continue to allow the device to function as intended and clean the rollers.
In summary, Siegel, as modified, teaches wherein the brushroll has a brushroll radius defined from the brushroll axis to an outer perimeter of the brushroll (The independent claim is directed towards a cleaning apparatus for a floor cleaner. Therefore, the cleaning apparatus need only be capable of operating on a floor cleaner. The floor cleaner is capable of including a brush roll which has a brushroll radius defined from the brushroll axis to an outer perimeter of the brushroll), wherein the one or more steam openings are positioned a radial first distance from the brushroll axis (as modified, the upwardly extending nozzles position the steam openings, wherein the position is capable of being positioned a radial first distance from the brushroll axis), wherein the radial first distance is less than the brushroll radius (As modified, the upwardly extending nozzles provide the capability of wherein the radial first distance is less than the brushroll radius. Overall, because the claim is directed towards the cleaning apparatus and not a system, the prior art is required to provide a steam opening which capable of being positioned a radial first distance from the brushroll axis, wherein the radial first distance is less than the brushroll radius. Siegel, as modified, provides this capability).
Conclusion
5. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Davila et al. (US Patent 11432644) teaches a floor cleaner and tray which includes an actuator 48 similar to the disclosed and claimed invention (fig. 5)
/MICHAEL A GUMP/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3723