DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
The examiner acknowledges applicant’s amendments to claims 1, 5-8, and 12-19 and the cancellation of claims 2-4 and 9-11.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 5, 6, 8, 12, 13, and 15-19 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In regards to claim 1, the claim should read as follows: “A latch apparatus in combination with an opening and closing door and a housing, the latch apparatus configured to latch the opening and closing door with respect to the housing, the latch apparatus comprising: a first latch and a second latch provided to the opening and closing door; a handle, which is provided to the opening and closing door and is configured to operate the first and second latches; a first engaged member and a second engaged member provided to the housing and engageable with the first and second latches, respectively; a first support member and a second support member configured to support the first and second engaged members, so that the first and second engaged members are movable in an engagement direction, in which the first and second engaged members are brought into engagement with the first and second latches, respectively, each of the first and second support members includes a first shaft member and a second shaft member extending in the engagement direction; and a first fixing portion and a second fixing portion configured to fix positions of the first and second shaft members of each of the first and second support members, so as to fix positions of the first and second engaged members in the engagement direction, respectively, wherein, when the opening and closing door is closed, the first and second latches are engaged with the first and second engaged members, respectively, and wherein, when the first and second latches are operated by the handle in a state in which the opening and closing door is closed, the first and second latches are disengageable from the first and second engaged members, respectively.”
In regards to claim 5, the claim should read as follows: “The latch apparatus in combination with the opening and closing door and the housing according to claim 1, wherein each of the first and second engaged members is elastically urged by a first elastic member in the engagement direction toward the first and second latches, respectively, wherein each of the first and second latches is elastically urged by a second elastic member in a second direction toward the first and second engaged members, respectively, and wherein a second urging force, by which the second elastic member elastically urges each of the first and second latches toward each of the first and second engage members, respectively, is equal to or larger than a first urging force, by which the first elastic member elastically urges each of the first and second engaged members toward each of the first and second latches, respectively.”
In regards to claim 6, the claim should read as follows: The latch apparatus in combination with the opening and closing door and the housing according to claim 1, wherein the positions of the first and second engaged members are adjustable in a state in which the engagement direction, in which the first and second engaged members are moved, faces a front.”
In regards to claim 8, the claim should read as follows: “A sheet conveying apparatus comprising: a conveying portion configured to convey a sheet; a housing; an opening and closing door configured to be opened and closed with respect to the housing; a first latch and a second latch provided to the opening and closing door; a handle provided to the opening and closing door and configured to operate the first and second latches; a first engaged member and a second engaged member provided to the housing and engageable with the first and second latches, respectively; a first support member and a second support member configured to support the first and second engaged members, respectively, so that the first and second engaged members are movable in an engagement direction in which the first and second engaged members are brought into engagement with the first and second latches, respectively, each of the first and second support members includes a first shaft member and a second shaft member extending in the engagement direction; and a first fixing portion and a second fixing portion configured to fix positions of the first and second shaft members, so as to fix positions of the first and second engaged members in the engagement direction, respectively, wherein, when the opening and closing door is closed, the first and second latches are engaged with the first and second engaged members, respectively, and wherein, when the first and second latches are operated by the handle in a state in which the opening and closing door is closed, the first and second latches are disegnageable from the first and second engaged members, respectively.”
In regards to claim 12, the claim should read as follows: “The sheet conveying apparatus according to claim 8, wherein each of the first and second engaged members is elastically urged by a first elastic member in the engagement direction towards the first and second latches, respectively, wherein each of the first and second latches is elastically urged by a second elastic member in a second direction toward the first and second engaged members, respectively, and wherein a second urging force, by which the second elastic member elastically urges each of the first and second latches toward each of the first and second engage members, respectively, is equal to or larger than a first urging force, by which the first elastic member elastically urges each of the first and second engaged members toward each of the first and second latches, respectively.”
In regards to claim 13, the claim should read as follows: “The sheet conveying apparatus according to claim 8, wherein the positions of the first and second engaged members are adjustable in a state in which the engagement direction, in which the first and second engaged members are moved, faces a front.”
In regards to claim 15, the claim should read as follows: “An image forming apparatus comprising: a sheet conveying apparatus including a conveying portion configured to convey a sheet, a housing, an opening and closing door configured to be opened and closed with respect to the housing, a first latch and a second latch provided to the opening and closing door, a handle provided to the opening and closing door and configured to operate the first and second latches, a first engaged member and a second engaged member provided to the housing and engageable with the first and second latches, a first support member and a second support member configured to support the first and second engaged members, respectively, so that the first and second engaged members are movable in an engagement direction in which the first and second engaged members are brought into engagement with the first and second latches, respectively, each of the first and second support members includes a first shaft member and a second shaft member extending in the engagement direction, and a first fixing portion and a second fixing portion configured to fix positions of the first and second shaft members so as to fix positions of the first and second engaged members in the engagement direction, respectively, wherein, when the opening and closing door is closed, the first and second latches are engaged with the first and second engaged members, respectively, and wherein, when the first and second latches are operated by the handle in a state in which the opening and closing door is closed, the first and second latches are disengageable from the first and second engaged members, respectively; and an image forming portion configured to form an image on the sheet conveyed from the sheet conveying apparatus.”
In regards to claim 16, the claim should read as follows: “The latch apparatus in combination with the opening and closing and the housing according to claim 1, wherein each of the first and second shaft members has a plurality of key grooves arranged side by side in an axial direction.”
In regards to claim 17, the claim should read as follows: “The latch apparatus in combination with the opening and closing door and the housing according to claim 16, wherein each of the first and second fixing portions includes: a stopper configured to selectively engage with one of the plurality of key grooves on each of the first and second shaft members to fix the positions of the first and second shaft members and the positions of the first and second engaged members; and first and second screws configured to fix the stopper to the housing.”
In regards to claim 18, the claim should read as follows: “The sheet conveying apparatus according to claim 8, wherein each of the first and second shaft members has a plurality of grooves arranged side by side in an axial direction.”
In regards to claim 19, the claim should read as follows: “The sheet conveying apparatus according to claim 18, wherein each of the first and second fixing portions includes: a stopper configured to selectively engage with one of the plurality of key grooves on each of the first and second shaft members to fix the positions of the first and second shaft members and the positions of the first and second engaged members; and first and second screws configured to fix the stopper to the housing.”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 5-8, and 12-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In regards to claim 1, there is no support in the specification for the device to operate with a single latch, a single engaged member, a single support member, a single shaft member, and a single fixing portion, as suggested by the phrases “a latch,” “an engaged member,” “a support member,” “a shaft member,” and “a fixing portion.” The specification only provides support for two of each of these elements. For examination purposes, claim 1 and its dependents will be examined as reciting a first and a second of each of these elements. See claim objections above.
In regards to claim 5, the relationship between the “first direction” recited in claim 5 and the “engagement direction” recited in claim 1 is unclear from the claim language. It is understood from the specification that the “first direction” is equivalent to the “engagement direction,” and will be examined as such. See claim objections above.
In regards to claim 6, the relationship between “a direction” recited in claim 6 and the “engagement direction” recited in claim 1 is unclear from the claim language. It is understood from the specification that the “direction” recited in claim 6 is equivalent to the “engagement direction” recited in claim 1, and will be examined as such. See claim objections above.
In regards to claim 8, there is no support in the specification for the device to operate with a single latch, a single engaged member, a single support member, a single shaft member, and a single fixing portion, as suggested by the phrases “a latch,” “an engaged member,” “a support member,” “a shaft member,” and “a fixing portion.” The specification only provides support for two of each of these elements. For examination purposes, claim 8 and its dependents will be examined as reciting a first and a second of each of these elements. See claim objections above.
In regards to claim 12, the relationship between the “first direction” recited in claim 12 and the “engagement direction” recited in claim 8 is unclear from the claim language. It is understood from the specification that the “first direction” is equivalent to the “engagement direction,” and will be examined as such. See claim objections above.
In regards to claim 13, the relationship between “a direction” recited in claim 13 and the “engagement direction” recited in claim 8 is unclear from the claim language. It is understood from the specification that the “direction” recited in claim 13 is equivalent to the “engagement direction” recited in claim 8, and will be examined as such. See claim objections above.
In regards to claim 15, there is no support in the specification for the device to operate with a single latch, a single engaged member, a single support member, a single shaft member, and a single fixing portion, as suggested by the phrases “a latch,” “an engaged member,” “a support member,” “a shaft member,” and “a fixing portion.” The specification only provides support for two of each of these elements. For examination purposes, claim 15 and its dependents will be examined as reciting a first and a second of each of these elements. See claim objections above.
In regards to claims 17 and 19, after further review of the claims and specification, there is no support for the device to include a single screw, which can be included in the limitation “at least one screw.” The specification only provides support for two screws, and therefore, the claims will be examined with that language. See claim objections above.
In regards to claims 7, 14, and 18, these claims are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) because they depend from claims 1, 8, and 15.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Aldo (FR 1351734 A).
In regards to claim 1, Aldo discloses a latch apparatus in combination with an opening and closing door (Paragraph 2 of the Computer Generated Translation and Figure 7) and a housing 25, 27, 28, the latch apparatus configured to latch the opening and closing door with respect to the housing, the latch apparatus comprising: a first latch (top element 14 in Figure 1) and a second latch (bottom element 14 in Figure 1) provided to the opening and closing door; a handle 1, which is provided to the opening and closing door and is configured to operate the first and second latches; a first engaged member (top portion of element 21 which is engaged with the associated latch, see Figure 7 below) and a second engaged member (top portion of element 21 which is engaged with the associated latch, see Figure 7 below) provided to the housing and engageable with the first and second latches, respectively; a first support member (element 23 associated with the first engaged member, Figure 7) and a second support member (element 23 associated with the second engaged member, Figure 7) configured to support the first and second engaged members, so that the first and second engaged members are movable in an engagement direction (movable in the transverse direction relative to the position of the first and second latches, Paragraph section 4 under Paragraph 2 of the Computer Generated Translation), in which the first and second engaged members are brought into engagement with the first and second latches, respectively (Figure 7), each of the first and second support members includes a first shaft member and a second shaft member extending in the engagement direction (see Figure 7 below, with each shaft member having at least a dimension or width extending in the engagement direction); and a first fixing portion (element 22 associated with the first shaft member, Figure 7) and a second fixing portion (element 22 associated with the second shaft member, Figure 7) configured to fix positions of the first and second shaft members of each of the first and second support members, so as to fix positions of the first and second engaged members in the engagement direction, respectively (the fixing portions fixing or holding the first and second shaft members within element 28, such that positions of the first and second engaged members in the engagement direction can be adjusted and fixed or held), wherein, when the opening and closing door is closed, the first and second latches are engaged with the first and second engaged members, respectively (Figure 7), and wherein, when the first and second latches are operated by the handle in a state in which the opening and closing door is closed, the first and second latches are disengageable from the first and second engaged members, respectively (Paragraph section 4 under Paragraph 2 of the Computer Generated Translation).
In regards to claim 6, Aldo discloses that the positions of the first and second engaged members are adjustable in a state in which the engagement direction, in which the first and second engaged members are moved, faces a front (at least a portion of each engaged member faces a front of the door in Figure 7, with each engaged member being adjustable in the engagement direction or the transverse direction relative to the position of the first and second latches, Paragraph section 4 under Paragraph 2 of the Computer Generated Translation).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7, 8, and 13-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aldo (FR 1351734 A) in view of Watanabe et al. (US-9348284).
In regards to claim 7, Aldo discloses the latch apparatus in combination with the opening and closing door and the housing as applied to claim 1, but fails to disclose that the latch apparatus is used with an opening and closing door of a sheet conveying apparatus of an image forming apparatus, with the opening and closing door is provided with a first conveying surface and a first conveying roller, wherein the housing is provided with a second conveying surface and a second conveying roller, and wherein, when the opening and closing door is closed, the first conveying surface and the second conveying surface form a conveying path through which a sheet is conveyed, and the first conveying roller and the second conveying roller are brought into abutment against each other with a predetermined pressing force to form a roller pair configured to convey the sheet through the conveying path. Watanabe et al. teaches an image forming apparatus with a sheet conveying apparatus including an opening and closing door 31 with a first conveying roller 55, wherein the housing is provided with a second conveying surface (surface of roller 57, Figure 2) and a second conveying roller 57, and wherein, when the opening and closing door is closed, the first conveying surface and the second conveying surface form a conveying path through which a sheet P is conveyed (Figure 2), and the first conveying roller and the second conveying roller are brought into abutment against each other with a predetermined pressing force to form a roller pair configured to convey the sheet through the conveying path (Figure 2). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant's invention to utilize the latch apparatus with an opening and closing door of a sheet conveying apparatus of an image forming apparatus, with reasonable expectation of success, since the latch apparatus would yield the predictable result of latching and unlatching the opening and closing door of the image forming apparatus.
In regards to claim 8, Aldo discloses a latch apparatus in combination with an opening and closing door (Paragraph 2 of the Computer Generated Translation and Figure 7) and a housing 25, 27, 28, the latch apparatus configured to latch the opening and closing door with respect to the housing, the latch apparatus comprising: a first latch (top element 14 in Figure 1) and a second latch (bottom element 14 in Figure 1) provided to the opening and closing door; a handle 1, which is provided to the opening and closing door and is configured to operate the first and second latches; a first engaged member (top portion of element 21 which is engaged with the associated latch, see Figure 7 on Page 12 of the current Office Action) and a second engaged member (top portion of element 21 which is engaged with the associated latch, see Figure 7 on Page 12 of the current Office Action) provided to the housing and engageable with the first and second latches, respectively; a first support member (element 23 associated with the first engaged member, Figure 7) and a second support member (element 23 associated with the second engaged member, Figure 7) configured to support the first and second engaged members, so that the first and second engaged members are movable in an engagement direction (movable in the transverse direction relative to the position of the first and second latches, Paragraph section 4 under Paragraph 2 of the Computer Generated Translation), in which the first and second engaged members are brought into engagement with the first and second latches, respectively (Figure 7), each of the first and second support members includes a first shaft member and a second shaft member extending in the engagement direction (see Figure 7 on Page 12 of the current Office Action, with each shaft member having at least a dimension or width extending in the engagement direction); and a first fixing portion (element 22 associated with the first shaft member, Figure 7) and a second fixing portion (element 22 associated with the second shaft member, Figure 7) configured to fix positions of the first and second shaft members of each of the first and second support members, so as to fix positions of the first and second engaged members in the engagement direction, respectively (the fixing portions fixing or holding the first and second shaft members within element 28, such that positions of the first and second engaged members in the engagement direction can be adjusted and fixed or held), wherein, when the opening and closing door is closed, the first and second latches are engaged with the first and second engaged members, respectively (Figure 7), and wherein, when the first and second latches are operated by the handle in a state in which the opening and closing door is closed, the first and second latches are disengageable from the first and second engaged members, respectively (Paragraph section 4 under Paragraph 2 of the Computer Generated Translation).
Aldo fails to disclose that the latch apparatus is used with an opening and closing door of a sheet conveying apparatus of an image forming apparatus, with the sheet conveying apparatus comprising: a conveying portion configured to convey a sheet. Watanabe et al. teaches an image forming apparatus with a sheet conveying apparatus including a conveying portion (Figure 2) configured to convey a sheet P; a housing 32, 81, 87 (Figures 4A and 25); and an opening and closing door 31 configured to be open and closed with respect to the housing. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant's invention to utilize the latch apparatus with an opening and closing door of a sheet conveying apparatus of an image forming apparatus, with reasonable expectation of success, since the latch apparatus would yield the predictable result of latching and unlatching the opening and closing door of the image forming apparatus.
In regards to claim 13, Aldo discloses that the positions of the first and second engaged members are adjustable in a state in which the engagement direction, in which the first and second engaged members are moved, faces a front (at least a portion of each engaged member faces a front of the door in Figure 7, with each engaged member being adjustable in the engagement direction or the transverse direction relative to the position of the first and second latches, Paragraph section 4 under Paragraph 2 of the Computer Generated Translation).
In regards to claim 14, Watanabe et al. teaches that the opening and closing door is provided with a first conveying surface (surface of roller 55, Figure 2) and a first conveying roller 55, wherein the housing is provided with a second conveying surface (surface of roller 57, Figure 2) and a second conveying roller 57, and wherein, when the opening and closing door is closed, the first conveying surface and the second conveying surface form a conveying path through which a sheet P is conveyed (Figure 2), and the first conveying roller and the second conveying roller are brought into abutment against each other with a predetermined pressing force to form a roller pair configured to convey the sheet through the conveying path (Figure 2).
In regards to claim 15, Aldo discloses a latch apparatus in combination with an opening and closing door (Paragraph 2 of the Computer Generated Translation and Figure 7) and a housing 25, 27, 28, the latch apparatus configured to latch the opening and closing door with respect to the housing, the latch apparatus comprising: a first latch (top element 14 in Figure 1) and a second latch (bottom element 14 in Figure 1) provided to the opening and closing door; a handle 1, which is provided to the opening and closing door and is configured to operate the first and second latches; a first engaged member (top portion of element 21 which is engaged with the associated latch, see Figure 7 on Page 12 of the current Office Action) and a second engaged member (top portion of element 21 which is engaged with the associated latch, see Figure 7 on Page 12 of the current Office Action) provided to the housing and engageable with the first and second latches, respectively; a first support member (element 23 associated with the first engaged member, Figure 7) and a second support member (element 23 associated with the second engaged member, Figure 7) configured to support the first and second engaged members, so that the first and second engaged members are movable in an engagement direction (movable in the transverse direction relative to the position of the first and second latches, Paragraph section 4 under Paragraph 2 of the Computer Generated Translation), in which the first and second engaged members are brought into engagement with the first and second latches, respectively (Figure 7), each of the first and second support members includes a first shaft member and a second shaft member extending in the engagement direction (see Figure 7 on Page 12 of the current Office Action, with each shaft member having at least a dimension or width extending in the engagement direction); and a first fixing portion (element 22 associated with the first shaft member, Figure 7) and a second fixing portion (element 22 associated with the second shaft member, Figure 7) configured to fix positions of the first and second shaft members of each of the first and second support members, so as to fix positions of the first and second engaged members in the engagement direction, respectively (the fixing portions fixing or holding the first and second shaft members within element 28, such that positions of the first and second engaged members in the engagement direction can be adjusted and fixed or held), wherein, when the opening and closing door is closed, the first and second latches are engaged with the first and second engaged members, respectively (Figure 7), and wherein, when the first and second latches are operated by the handle in a state in which the opening and closing door is closed, the first and second latches are disengageable from the first and second engaged members, respectively (Paragraph section 4 under Paragraph 2 of the Computer Generated Translation).
Aldo fails to disclose that the latch apparatus is used with an opening and closing door of a sheet conveying apparatus of an image forming apparatus, with the sheet conveying apparatus comprising: a conveying portion configured to convey a sheet. Watanabe et al. teaches an image forming apparatus with a sheet conveying apparatus including a conveying portion (Figure 2) configured to convey a sheet P; a housing 32, 81, 87 (Figures 4A and 25); and an opening and closing door 31 configured to be open and closed with respect to the housing. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant's invention to utilize the latch apparatus with an opening and closing door of a sheet conveying apparatus of an image forming apparatus, with reasonable expectation of success, since the latch apparatus would yield the predictable result of latching and unlatching the opening and closing door of the image forming apparatus.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5, 12, and 16-19 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The examiner would like to note that the claims were examined with the language set forth in the claim objections above.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Although the references of record show some features similar to those of applicant’s device, the prior art fails to teach or make obvious the invention of claims 5, 12, 16, and 18.
In regards to claims 5 and 12, Aldo (FR 1351734 A) fails to disclose that the engaged member is elastically urged by a first elastic member in a first direction toward the latch, wherein the latch is elastically urged by a second elastic member in a second direction toward the engaged member, and wherein a second urging force by which the second elastic member elastically urges the latch toward the engaged member is equal to or larger than a first urging force by which the first elastic member elastically urges the engaged member toward the latch. The examiner can find no motivation to modify the device of Aldo without employing improper hindsight reasoning and without destroying the intended structure and operation of the device.
In regards to claims 16 and 18, Aldo (FR 1351734 A) fails to disclose that each of the first and second shaft members has a plurality of key grooves arranged side by side in an axial direction. Portion 23 of Aldo is the only structure including threads or key grooves, and therefore, the portions considered as the first and second shaft members of Aldo, as shown in Figure 7 on Page 12 of the current Office Action, do not include a plurality of key grooves. The examiner can find no motivation to modify the device of Aldo without employing improper hindsight reasoning and without destroying the intended structure and operation of the device.
Response to Arguments
In light of applicant’s amendments to the claims, the claim objections and rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) set forth in the previous Office Action are withdrawn, however, after further review of the claims and in light of the amendments to the claims, new rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) and corresponding claim objections are set forth in the current Office Action. In regards to applicant’s remarks concerning the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) in which it was unclear what applicant considered as the “fixing portion,” based on applicant’s remarks and dependent claims 17 and 19, it is considered that applicant’s “fixing portion” includes the stopper and the two screws.
In regards to applicant’s remarks concerning the amendments to the independent claims and the Aldo reference, applicant is referred to the new interpretation of the Aldo reference applied to the claims in the current Office Action based on applicant’s amendments to the claims.
In regards to applicant’s remarks concerning the combination of Aldo in view of Watanabe, the combination did not include any modifications to the structure of the latch apparatus disclosed by Aldo. Watanabe was utilized to teach the environment in which the latch apparatus disclosed by Aldo could be used. Specifically, it would have been obvious one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize the latch apparatus of Aldo with an opening and closing door of a sheet conveying apparatus of an image forming apparatus, with reasonable expectation of success, since the latch apparatus would yield the predictable result of latching and unlatching the opening and closing door of the image forming apparatus. Therefore, the rejections are maintained.
Conclusion
/ALYSON M MERLINO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3675 August 27, 2026