DETAILED ACTION
The examiner acknowledges applicant’s amendments to claims 1-15 and the addition of new claims 16-19 filed January 5, 2026.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 4, and 16-19 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In regards to claim 1, line 7, the phrase “which is to be provided” should be changed to “which is provided.”
In regards to claim 4, line 5, the phrase “using the fixing portion” should be inserted after the phrase “is fixed to the housing.”
In regards to claim 16, line 2, the phrase “each includes a shaft” should be changed to “includes at least one shaft.”
In regards to claim 17, line 4, the phrase “the support member and the engaged member” should be changed to “the at least one support member and the adjusted position of the engaged member,” and in line 5, the phrase “a screw” should be changed to “at least one screw.”
In regards to claim 18, line 2, the phrase “each includes a shaft” should be changed to “includes at least one shaft.”
In regards to claim 19, line 4, the phrase “the support member and the engaged member” should be changed to “the at least one support member and the adjusted position of the engaged member,” and in line 5, the phrase “a screw” should be changed to “at least one screw.”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In regards to claims 1, 8, and 15, it is unclear to which component(s) applicant considers as the “fixing portion,” since the specification does not utilize this term to define structure or components within the device. For examination purpose, the claims will be given a broad interpretation.
In regards to claim 4, the relationship between the at least one support member being fixed to the housing and the fixing portion of claim 1 is unclear from the claim language. If assuming that the fixing portion of claim 1 refers to component 1654 or 1655 of the current application, then the fixing portion is the structure that provides the fixing function of the support member, and will be examined as such. See claim objections above.
In regards to claims 16 and 18, it is unclear how many support members and how many shafts applicant intends to claim. Specifically, the claim recites “the at least one support member each includes a shaft,” with the word “each” suggesting more than one support shaft instead of “at least one support member,” which could include a singular support member. It is understood that the device includes a equal number of support members and shafts, and therefore, the claim will be examined as reciting that the at least one support member includes at least one shaft. See claim objections above.
In regards to claims 17 and 19, the relationship between the fixing of the position of the at least one support member, as recited in claims 17 and 19, and the fixing of the adjusted position of the engaged member, as recited in claims 1 and 8, is unclear from the claim language. It is understood from the specification that the fixing of the at least one support member causes the fixing of the engaged member in its adjusted position, and will be examined as such. See claim objections above.
In regards to claims 17 and 19, the phrase “a screw” suggests a single component, however, the specification and drawings disclose that the device uses two screws. For examination purposes, the claim will be examined as reciting “at least one screw.”
In regards to claims 2, 3, 5-7, and 9-14, these claims are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) because they depend from claims 1, 8, and 15.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 6, and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Aldo (FR 1351734 A).
In regards to claim 1, Aldo discloses a latch apparatus in combination with an opening and closing door (Paragraph 2 of the Computer Generated Translation and Figure 7) and a housing 25, 27, 28, the latch apparatus configured to latch the opening and closing door with respect to the housing, the latch apparatus comprising: a latch 14 provided to the opening and closing door (Figure 7); a handle 1, which is provided to the opening and closing door and is configured to operate the latch; an engaged member 21, which is provided to the housing and is engageable with the latch (Figure 7); and a fixing portion (threads of leg 23 that engage with sleeve 25, Paragraph 2, lines 39-46 of the Computer Generated Translation), wherein, when the opening and closing door is closed, the latch is engaged with the engaged member (Figure 7), wherein, when the latch is operated by the handle in a state in which the opening and closing door is closed, the latch is disengageable from the engaged member (Paragraph 2, lines 36-39 of the Computer Generated Translation), wherein a position of the engaged member relative to the housing is adjustable (Paragraph 2, lines 39-46 of the Computer Generated Translation), and wherein the fixing portion is configured to fix the engaged member to the housing at an adjusted position of the engaged member (the threads engage with sleeve 25 to fix the screwed adjusted position of the engaged member, Paragraph 2, lines 39-46 of the Computer Generated Translation).
In regards to claim 2, Aldo discloses a position adjusting portion 23 configured to adjust the position of the engaged member with respect to the latch (Paragraph 2, lines 36-39 of the Computer Generated Translation).
In regards to claim 3, Aldo discloses that the position adjusting portion includes at least one support member (Figure 7) configured to support the engaged member so that the engaged member is movable in an engagement direction in which the latch is brought into engagement with the engaged member (the transverse direction in Paragraph 2, lines 39-46 of the Computer Generated Translation), and wherein the at least one support member is provided to the housing (Figure 7).
In regards to claim 4, Aldo discloses that a part of the at least one support member extends through the housing (part extending through portion 25 of the housing in Figure 7), and wherein, after the position of the engaged member is adjusted with respect to the latch, the at least one support member is fixed to the housing using the fixing portion (Paragraph 2, lines 39-46 of the Computer Generated Translation).
In regards to claim 6, Aldo discloses that the position of the engaged member is adjustable in a state in which a direction in which the engaged member is moved faces a front (at least a portion of the engaged member faces a front of the door in Figure 7, with the engaged member being adjustable in the transverse direction in Paragraph 2, lines 39-46 of the Computer Generated Translation).
In regards to claim 16, Aldo discloses that the at least one support member includes at least one shaft (Figure 7) having a plurality of key grooves arranged side by side in an axial direction (key grooves or threads, Paragraph 2, lines 39-46 of the Computer Generated Translation).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7-11, 13-15, and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aldo (FR 1351734 A) in view of Watanabe et al. (US-9348284).
In regards to claim 7, Aldo discloses the latch apparatus in combination with the opening and closing door and the housing as applied to claim 1, but fails to disclose that the latch apparatus is used with an opening and closing door of a sheet conveying apparatus of an image forming apparatus, with the opening and closing door is provided with a first conveying surface and a first conveying roller, wherein the housing is provided with a second conveying surface and a second conveying roller, and wherein, when the opening and closing door is closed, the first conveying surface and the second conveying surface form a conveying path through which a sheet is conveyed, and the first conveying roller and the second conveying roller are brought into abutment against each other with a predetermined pressing force to form a roller pair configured to convey the sheet through the conveying path. Watanabe et al. teaches an image forming apparatus with a sheet conveying apparatus including an opening and closing door 31 with a first conveying roller 55, wherein the housing is provided with a second conveying surface (surface of roller 57, Figure 2) and a second conveying roller 57, and wherein, when the opening and closing door is closed, the first conveying surface and the second conveying surface form a conveying path through which a sheet P is conveyed (Figure 2), and the first conveying roller and the second conveying roller are brought into abutment against each other with a predetermined pressing force to form a roller pair configured to convey the sheet through the conveying path (Figure 2). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s invention to utilize the latch apparatus with an opening and closing door of a sheet conveying apparatus of an image forming apparatus, with reasonable expectation of success, since the latch apparatus would yield the predictable result of latching and unlatching the opening and closing door of the image forming apparatus.
In regards to claim 8, Aldo discloses a latch apparatus in combination with an opening and closing door (Paragraph 2 of the Computer Generated Translation and Figure 7) configured to be opening and closed with respect to a housing 25, 27, 28, with the latch apparatus comprising: a latch 14 provided to the opening and closing door (Figure 7); a handle 1, which is provided to the opening and closing door and is configured to operate the latch; an engaged member 21, which is provided to the housing and is engageable with the latch (Figure 7); and a fixing portion (threads of leg 23 that engage with sleeve 25, Paragraph 2, lines 39-46 of the Computer Generated Translation), wherein, when the opening and closing door is closed, the latch is engaged with the engaged member (Figure 7), wherein, when the latch is operated by the handle in a state in which the opening and closing door is closed, the latch is disengageable from the engaged member (Paragraph 2, lines 36-39 of the Computer Generated Translation), wherein a position of the engaged member relative to the housing is adjustable (Paragraph 2, lines 39-46 of the Computer Generated Translation), and wherein the fixing portion is configured to fix the engaged member to the housing at an adjusted position of the engaged member (the threads engage with sleeve 25 to fix the screwed adjusted position of the engaged member, Paragraph 2, lines 39-46 of the Computer Generated Translation).
Aldo fails to disclose that the latch apparatus is used with an opening and closing door of a sheet conveying apparatus of an image forming apparatus, with the sheet conveying apparatus comprising: a conveying portion configured to convey a sheet. Watanabe et al. teaches an image forming apparatus with a sheet conveying apparatus including a conveying portion (Figure 2) configured to convey a sheet P; a housing 32, 81, 87 (Figures 4A and 25); and an opening and closing door 31 configured to be open and closed with respect to the housing. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s invention to utilize the latch apparatus with an opening and closing door of a sheet conveying apparatus of an image forming apparatus, with reasonable expectation of success, since the latch apparatus would yield the predictable result of latching and unlatching the opening and closing door of the image forming apparatus.
In regards to claim 9, Aldo discloses a position adjusting portion 23 configured to adjust the position of the engaged member with respect to the latch (Paragraph 2, lines 36-39 of the Computer Generated Translation).
In regards to claim 10, Aldo discloses that the position adjusting portion includes at least one support member (Figure 7) configured to support the engaged member so that the engaged member is movable in an engagement direction in which the latch is brought into engagement with the engaged member (the transverse direction in Paragraph 2, lines 39-46 of the Computer Generated Translation), and wherein the at least one support member is provided to the housing (Figure 7).
In regards to claim 11, Aldo discloses that a part of the at least one support member extends through the housing (part extending through portion 25 of the housing in Figure 7), and wherein, after the position of the engaged member is adjusted with respect to the latch, the at least one support member is fixed to the housing using the fixing portion (Paragraph 2, lines 39-46 of the Computer Generated Translation).
In regards to claim 13, Aldo discloses that the position of the engaged member is adjustable in a state in which a direction in which the engaged member is moved faces a front (at least a portion of the engaged member faces a front of the door in Figure 7, with the engaged member being adjustable in the transverse direction in Paragraph 2, lines 39-46 of the Computer Generated Translation).
In regards to claim 14, Watanabe et al. teaches that the opening and closing door is provided with a first conveying surface (surface of roller 55, Figure 2) and a first conveying roller 55, wherein the housing is provided with a second conveying surface (surface of roller 57, Figure 2) and a second conveying roller 57, and wherein, when the opening and closing door is closed, the first conveying surface and the second conveying surface form a conveying path through which a sheet P is conveyed (Figure 2), and the first conveying roller and the second conveying roller are brought into abutment against each other with a predetermined pressing force to form a roller pair configured to convey the sheet through the conveying path (Figure 2).
In regards to claim 15, Aldo discloses a latch apparatus in combination with an opening and closing door (Paragraph 2 of the Computer Generated Translation and Figure 7) configured to be opening and closed with respect to a housing 25, 27, 28, with the latch apparatus comprising: a latch 14 provided to the opening and closing door (Figure 7); a handle 1, which is provided to the opening and closing door and is configured to operate the latch; an engaged member 21, which is provided to the housing and is engageable with the latch (Figure 7); and a fixing portion (threads of leg 23 that engage with sleeve 25, Paragraph 2, lines 39-46 of the Computer Generated Translation), wherein, when the opening and closing door is closed, the latch is engaged with the engaged member (Figure 7), wherein, when the latch is operated by the handle in a state in which the opening and closing door is closed, the latch is disengageable from the engaged member (Paragraph 2, lines 36-39 of the Computer Generated Translation), wherein a position of the engaged member relative to the housing is adjustable (Paragraph 2, lines 39-46 of the Computer Generated Translation), and wherein the fixing portion is configured to fix the engaged member to the housing at an adjusted position of the engaged member (the threads engage with sleeve 25 to fix the screwed adjusted position of the engaged member, Paragraph 2, lines 39-46 of the Computer Generated Translation).
Aldo fails to disclose that the latch apparatus is used with an opening and closing door of a sheet conveying apparatus of an image forming apparatus, with the sheet conveying apparatus comprising: a conveying portion configured to convey a sheet. Watanabe et al. teaches an image forming apparatus with a sheet conveying apparatus including a conveying portion (Figure 2) configured to convey a sheet P; a housing 32, 81, 87 (Figures 4A and 25); and an opening and closing door 31 configured to be open and closed with respect to the housing. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s invention to utilize the latch apparatus with an opening and closing door of a sheet conveying apparatus of an image forming apparatus, with reasonable expectation of success, since the latch apparatus would yield the predictable result of latching and unlatching the opening and closing door of the image forming apparatus.
In regards to claim 18, Aldo discloses that the at least one support member includes at least one shaft (Figure 7) having a plurality of key grooves arranged side by side in an axial direction (key grooves or threads, Paragraph 2, lines 39-46 of the Computer Generated Translation).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5, 12, 17, and 19 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Although the references of record show some features similar to those of applicant’s device, the prior art fails to teach or make obvious the invention of claims 5, 12, 17, and 19.
In regards to claims 5 and 12, Aldo (FR 1351734 A) fails to disclose that the engaged member is elastically urged by a first elastic member in a first direction toward the latch, wherein the latch is elastically urged by a second elastic member in a second direction toward the engaged member, and wherein a second urging force by which the second elastic member elastically urges the latch toward the engaged member is equal to or larger than a first urging force by which the first elastic member elastically urges the engaged member toward the latch. The examiner can find no motivation to modify the device of Aldo without employing improper hindsight reasoning and without destroying the intended structure and operation of the device.
In regards to claims 17 and 19, Aldo (FR 1351734 A) fails to disclose that the fixing portion includes a stopper configured to selectively engage with one of the plurality of key grooves to fix a position of the at least one support member and the adjusted position of the engaged member; and at least one screw configured to fix the stopper to the housing. The examiner can find no motivation to modify the device of Aldo without employing improper hindsight reasoning and without destroying the intended structure and operation of the device.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 8, and 15 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
In light of applicant’s amendments to the claims, the claim objections and rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) set forth in the previous Office Action are withdrawn, however, new claim objections and rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) are set forth in the current Office Action and made in light of applicant’s amendments to the claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ALYSON M MERLINO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3675 March 27, 2026