DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-11 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant argument: Applicant argued that the amendment in claim 1 that reads “…wherein the adjustment includes varying a characteristic of the wireless signals across the bandwidth of the frequency band while the phased antenna array exhibits the phase and magnitude setting” is not taught by the Wang reference.
Examiner response: The reference Wang teaches (in paras. 48-49 and 53-54) teaches having same phase and amplitude inputs while the signals are transformed (varying characteristics of the signals). Wang does not explicitly teach the signals across the bandwidth of frequency band, however, the well-known feature of signal communication is taught by Bao (para. 120 and figure 14) where Bao teaches signal across frequency bandwidth of frequency band (i.e., figure 14) having varying modulation scheme (dependent of modulation scheme).
Applicant’s arguments, see Applicant arguments, filed 04/12/2023, with respect to 11-22 and 24-27 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 35 USC 103 rejections of aforementioned claims has been withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang (US 2018/0131102 A1) in view of BAO et al. (US 2024/0319309 A1, hereinafter, “Bao”).
Consider claim 1, Wang teaches an electronic device (see paras. 52-54 and figures 1a-3b) comprising: a phased antenna array configured to transmit wireless signals using a phase and magnitude setting that configures the phased antenna array to form a signal beam of the wireless signals (see at least figures 1a-1b, figure 3b and para. 54, Wang teaches phased antenna array configured to transmit signal(s) using phase and amplitude inputs to form a beam (beam direction)); and one or more processors configured to adjust, based on a beam squint of the signal beam, the wireless signals transmitted by the phased antenna array (see at least paras. 48-49, 53-54 and figures 2a-3b, Wang teaches transforming the signals based on the effect of signal beam squint), wherein the adjustment includes varying a characteristic of the wireless signals while the phased antenna array exhibits the phase and magnitude setting (see paras. 48-49 and 53-54, Wang teaches having same phase and amplitude inputs while the signals are transformed (varying characteristics of the signals).
Wang teaches the adjustment includes varying a characteristic of the wireless signals while the phased antenna array exhibits the phase and magnitude setting (see above), however, did not particularly teach the signals across the bandwidth of frequency band. The well-known feature of signal communication is taught by Bao (para. 74, 78, 120 and figure 14) where Bao teaches signal across frequency bandwidth of frequency band (i.e., figure 14) having varying modulation scheme (dependent of modulation scheme).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the application to modify the invention of Wang and teach adjust a modulation coding scheme (MCS) of the wireless (radio frequency) signals based on the beam squint of the signal beam, as taught by Bao, thereby, allowing efficient signal beam adjustment.
Consider claim 2, Wang teaches the one or more processors being configured to adjust, based on the beam squint, the wireless signals transmitted by the phased antenna array without changing the phase and magnitude setting (see at least paras. 48-49, 53-54 and figures 2a-3b, Wang teaches transforming the signals based on the effect of signal beam squint having the same phase and amplitude inputs).
Consider claim 3, Wang teaches the one or more processors to adjust, the radio-frequency signals transmitted by the phased antenna array (see at least paras. 48-49, 53-54 and figures 2a-3b), however, did not particularly teach the characteristic comprises a modulation coding scheme (MCS) of the wireless (radio frequency) signals. Bao teaches said limitation (see at least paras. 74 and 78, Bao teaches selecting/adapting to MCS based on spatial stream of antennas (beam(s)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the application to modify the invention of Wang and the characteristic comprises a modulation coding scheme (MCS) of the wireless (radio frequency) signals, as taught by Bao, thereby, allowing efficient signal beam adjustment.
Consider claim 4, Wang teaches one or more processors to adjust, the radio-frequency signals transmitted by the phased antenna array (see at least paras. 48-49, 53-54 and figures 2a-3b), however did not particularly teach, wherein the characteristic comprises a transmit power level of the wireless (RF) signals (see at least paras. 115, 153-156, Bao teaches adjusting/adapting a transmit power (RSRP) of the wireless signal(s) based on beam squint).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the application to modify the invention of Wang and teach wherein the characteristic comprise a transmit power level of the wireless (RF) signals, as taught by Bao, thereby, allowing efficient signal beam adjustment.
Consider claim 5, Wang teaches one or more processors to adjust, the radio-frequency signals transmitted by the phased antenna array (see at least paras. 48-49, 53-54 and figures 2a-3b), however did not particularly teach, wherein the characteristic comprises reference signal density of the wireless signals (see at least paras. 115, Bao teaches identifying and adapting to list of power densities associated with reference signal (i.e., PRS)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the application to modify the invention of Wang and teach, wherein the characteristic comprises reference signal density of the wireless signals, as taught by Bao, thereby, allowing efficient signal beam adjustment.
Consider claim 6, Wang teaches one or more processors to adjust, the radio-frequency signals transmitted by the phased antenna array (see at least paras. 48-49, 53-54 and figures 2a-3b), however did not particularly teach, adjust a width of the signal beam based on the beam squint of the signal beam. Bao teaches said technique (see at least para. 105, Bao teaches having best beam width based on angle of the beam (i.e., beam squint)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the application to modify the invention of Wang and teach, adjust a width of the signal beam based on the beam squint of the signal beam, as taught by Bao, thereby, allowing efficient signal beam adjustment.
Consider claim 7, Wang teaches one or more processors to adjust, the radio-frequency signals transmitted by the phased antenna array (see at least paras. 48-49, 53-54 and figures 2a-3b), however did not particularly teach adjust a frequency resource allocation of the wireless signals based on the beam squint of the signal beam. Bao teaches said technique (see at least para. 117, 120-121, 171-172, Bao teaches adapting to resource allocation (resource blocks) based on beam responses (para. 115)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the application to modify the invention of Wang and teach, adjust a frequency resource allocation of the wireless signals based on the beam squint of the signal beam, as taught by Bao, thereby, allowing efficient signal beam adjustment.
Consider claim 8, Wang teaches one or more processors to adjust, the radio-frequency signals transmitted by the phased antenna array (see at least paras. 48-49, 53-54 and figures 2a-3b), however did not particularly teach perform carrier aggregation band selection for the wireless signals based on the beam squint of the signal beam. Bao teaches said technique (see at least paras. 51-52, 147 and 176, Bao teaches performing carrier aggregation).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the application to modify the invention of Wang and teach perform carrier aggregation band selection for the wireless signals based on the beam squint of the signal beam, as taught by Bao, thereby, allowing efficient signal beam adjustment.
Consider claim 9, Wang teaches one or more processors to adjust, the radio-frequency signals transmitted by the phased antenna array (see at least paras. 48-49, 53-54 and figures 2a-3b), however did not particularly teach perform a beam selection procedure based on the beam squint of the signal beam. Bao teaches said technique (see at least para. 105 and figure 5, Bao teaches having best beam based on angle of the beam (i.e., beam squint)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the application to modify the invention of Wang and teach, adjust a width of the signal beam based on the beam squint of the signal beam, as taught by Bao, thereby, allowing efficient signal beam adjustment.
Consider claim 10, Wang teaches one or more processors to adjust, the radio-frequency signals transmitted by the phased antenna array (see at least paras. 48-49, 53-54 and figures 2a-3b), however did not particularly teach transmit, to an external device, beam information that identifies the adjustment (see at least paras. 154 and 183).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the application to modify the invention of Wang and teach, transmit, to an external device, beam information that identifies the adjustment, as taught by Bao, thereby, allowing efficient signal beam adjustment.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 11-22 and 24-27 are allowed.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
FITWI Y. HAILEGIORGIS
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2632
/FITWI Y HAILEGIORGIS/ Examiner, Art Unit 2632