DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 07/23/2024 has been considered and placed on record.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 11 and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wang (US 2018/0131102 A1).
Consider claim 1, Wang teaches an electronic device (see paras. 52-54 and figures 1a-3b) comprising: a phased antenna array configured to transmit wireless signals using a phase and magnitude setting that configures the phased antenna array to form a signal beam of the wireless signals (see at least figures 1a-1b, figure 3b and para. 54, Wang teaches phased antenna array configured to transmit signal(s) using phase and amplitude inputs to form a beam (beam direction)); and one or more processors configured to adjust, based on a beam squint of the signal beam, the wireless signals transmitted by the phased antenna array (see at least paras. 48-49, 53-54 and figures 2a-3b, Wang teaches transforming the signals based on the effect of signal beam squint).
Consider claim 11, Wang teaches a method of operating an electronic device (see abstract, figures (1a-3b)), the method comprising: forming, using phase and magnitude controllers of a phased antenna array (see at least figures 3a (330), 3b (350), 4, 6, and paras. 48-49), a signal beam while the phase and magnitude controllers exhibit a phase and magnitude setting (see at least figures 3a-3b, paras. 48-49 and 54, Wang teaches using phase and gain settings forming a beam (beam direction)) ; transmitting, using a transmitter coupled to the phased antenna array (see figure 2b (272-278), 3b (360)), wireless signals over the signal beam while the phase and magnitude controllers exhibit the phase and magnitude setting (see at least paras. 48-49 and 54, Wang teaches transmitting the signals using the beam (with direction) while having same phase and amplitude input); and adjusting, using the transmitter, the wireless signals based on a beam squint of the signal beam (see at least paras. 48-49, 53-54 and figures 2a-3b, Wang teaches transforming the signals based on the effect of signal beam squint).
Consider claim 21, Wang teaches a method of operating a wireless base station (see at least figures 1a-3b, para. 6 and abstract, Wang teaches a wireless base station like transmitters (i.e., radar, satellite systems, etc.), the method comprising: transmitting, using a transmitter, radio-frequency signals via a signal beam of a phased antenna array, the signal beam being formed while phase and magnitude controllers of the phased antenna array exhibit a phase and magnitude setting (see figure 2b (272-278), 3b (360), paras. 48-49 and 54, Wang teaches transmitting the signals using the beam (with direction) via phased array having phase and amplitude/gain settings); and adjusting, using one or more processors (para. 50), being configured to adjust, the radio-frequency signals transmitted by the phased antenna array based on a beam squint of the signal beam without changing the phase and magnitude setting (see at least paras. 48-49, 53-54 and figures 2a-3b, Wang teaches transforming the signals based on the effect of signal beam squint having the same phase and amplitude inputs).
Consider claim 2, Wang teaches the one or more processors being configured to adjust, based on the beam squint, the wireless signals transmitted by the phased antenna array without changing the phase and magnitude setting (see at least paras. 48-49, 53-54 and figures 2a-3b, Wang teaches transforming the signals based on the effect of signal beam squint having the same phase and amplitude inputs).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-10 and 22-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang (US 2018/0131102 A1) in view of BAO et al. (US 2024/0319309 A1, hereinafter, “Bao”).
Consider claims 3 and 22, Wang teaches the one or more processors to adjust, the radio-frequency signals transmitted by the phased antenna array (see at least paras. 48-49, 53-54 and figures 2a-3b), however, did not particularly teach adjust a modulation coding scheme (MCS) of the wireless (radio frequency) signals based on the beam squint of the signal beam. Bao teaches said limitation (see at least paras. 74 and 78, Bao teaches selecting/adapting to MCS based om spatial stream of antennas (beam(s)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the application to modify the invention of Wang and teach adjust a modulation coding scheme (MCS) of the wireless (radio frequency) signals based on the beam squint of the signal beam, as taught by Bao, thereby, allowing efficient signal beam adjustment.
Consider claims 4 and 23, Wang teaches one or more processors to adjust, the radio-frequency signals transmitted by the phased antenna array (see at least paras. 48-49, 53-54 and figures 2a-3b), however did not particularly teach, adjust a transmit power level of the wireless (RF) signals based on the beam squint of the signal beam. Bao teaches said technique (see at least paras. 115, 153-156, Bao teaches adjusting/adapting a transmit power (RSRP) of the wireless signal(s) based on beam squint).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the application to modify the invention of Wang and teach adjust a transmit power level of the wireless signals based on the beam squint of the signal beam, as taught by Bao, thereby, allowing efficient signal beam adjustment.
Consider claim 5, Wang teaches one or more processors to adjust, the radio-frequency signals transmitted by the phased antenna array (see at least paras. 48-49, 53-54 and figures 2a-3b), however did not particularly teach, adjust a reference signal density of the wireless signals based on the beam squint of the signal beam. Bao teaches said technique (see at least paras. 115, Bao teaches identifying and adapting to list of power densities associated with reference signal (i.e., PRS)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the application to modify the invention of Wang and teach, adjust a reference signal density of the wireless signals based on the beam squint of the signal beam, as taught by Bao, thereby, allowing efficient signal beam adjustment.
Consider claim 6, Wang teaches one or more processors to adjust, the radio-frequency signals transmitted by the phased antenna array (see at least paras. 48-49, 53-54 and figures 2a-3b), however did not particularly teach, adjust a width of the signal beam based on the beam squint of the signal beam. Bao teaches said technique (see at least para. 105, Bao teaches having best beam width based on angle of the beam (i.e., beam squint)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the application to modify the invention of Wang and teach, adjust a width of the signal beam based on the beam squint of the signal beam, as taught by Bao, thereby, allowing efficient signal beam adjustment.
Consider claim 7, Wang teaches one or more processors to adjust, the radio-frequency signals transmitted by the phased antenna array (see at least paras. 48-49, 53-54 and figures 2a-3b), however did not particularly teach adjust a frequency resource allocation of the wireless signals based on the beam squint of the signal beam. Bao teaches said technique (see at least para. 117, 120-121, 171-172, Bao teaches adapting to resource allocation (resource blocks) based on beam responses (para. 115)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the application to modify the invention of Wang and teach, adjust a frequency resource allocation of the wireless signals based on the beam squint of the signal beam, as taught by Bao, thereby, allowing efficient signal beam adjustment.
Consider claim 8, Wang teaches one or more processors to adjust, the radio-frequency signals transmitted by the phased antenna array (see at least paras. 48-49, 53-54 and figures 2a-3b), however did not particularly teach perform carrier aggregation band selection for the wireless signals based on the beam squint of the signal beam. Bao teaches said technique (see at least paras. 51-52, 147 and 176, Bao teaches performing carrier aggregation).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the application to modify the invention of Wang and teach perform carrier aggregation band selection for the wireless signals based on the beam squint of the signal beam, as taught by Bao, thereby, allowing efficient signal beam adjustment.
Consider claim 9, Wang teaches one or more processors to adjust, the radio-frequency signals transmitted by the phased antenna array (see at least paras. 48-49, 53-54 and figures 2a-3b), however did not particularly teach perform a beam selection procedure based on the beam squint of the signal beam. Bao teaches said technique (see at least para. 105 and figure 5, Bao teaches having best beam based on angle of the beam (i.e., beam squint)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the application to modify the invention of Wang and teach, adjust a width of the signal beam based on the beam squint of the signal beam, as taught by Bao, thereby, allowing efficient signal beam adjustment.
Consider claim 10, Wang teaches one or more processors to adjust, the radio-frequency signals transmitted by the phased antenna array (see at least paras. 48-49, 53-54 and figures 2a-3b), however did not particularly teach transmit, to an external device, beam information that identifies an adjustment made to the wireless signals based on the beam squint of the signal beam. Bao teaches said technique (see at least paras. 154 and 183).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the application to modify the invention of Wang and teach, transmit, to an external device, beam information that identifies an adjustment made to the wireless signals based on the beam squint of the signal beam, as taught by Bao, thereby, allowing efficient signal beam adjustment.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 12-17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
FITWI Y. HAILEGIORGIS
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2632
/FITWI Y HAILEGIORGIS/ Examiner, Art Unit 2632