DETAILED ACTION
The current Office Action is in response to the papers submitted 04/15/2026. Claims 1, 3, 5 – 7, 9 – 18, and 20 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 3, 5 – 7, and 9 - 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the first and second set of block status data of the OTP memory and the first memory device" in lines 19 - 20. The claim previously discloses storing a first set of block status data in the first memory and storing in a memory location which is within a OTP memory a second set of block status data. However, there is no previous mention of both first and second set of block status data in both the OTP memory and the first memory device. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For examination the limitations will be interpreted as the first set of block status data being in the first memory device and the second set of block status data being in the memory location that is within a OTP memory.
Claims 9 – 10 are listed as being dependent on claim 8. Claim 8 has been cancelled. This makes it unclear which claim(s) claims 9 and 10 are meant to dependent on. This uncertainty makes the scope of claims 9 – 10 indefinite. The limitations from cancelled claim 8 appear to be added to independent claim 1. For examination claims 9 – 10 will be treated as being dependent on claim 1.
Claim 12 recites the limitation “second set of block status data of the OTP” in line 14. The claim previously discloses the second set of block status data of the OTP in line 10 which refers back to a second set of block status data that is read from a OTP in line 9. It is unclear if “second set of block status data of the OTP” is meant to refer to the second set of block status data read from the OTP or other data. This also makes the recitation of “the second set of clock status data” in lines after 14 unclear since it is unclear if the second set of clock status data after line 14 refers to the second set of block status data in line 14 or line 9 or both. This makes the claim limitation and the claim indefinite.
All remaining claims are rejected for being dependent on a rejected base claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 5 – 7, 9 – 10, 12, and 14 - 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oh et al. (Pub. No.: US 2019/0310774) referred to as Oh in view of Nipunage et al. (Pat 11,467,736) referred to as Nipunage in view of Twocentpdx (Programmable ROM) referred to Twocentpdx in view of Lopes et al. (Pub. No.: US 2019/0181864) referred to as Lopes.
Regarding claim 1, Oh teaches tracking a block status of each of a plurality of blocks [G/B BITMAP, Fig 9; Each bit in the bitmap indicates if a block of memory is good or bad] of a first memory device [6100, Fig 10] by:
storing a first set of block status data that indicates a status of each block of the plurality of blocks [G/B BITMAP, Fig 9] in the first memory device [6100, Fig 10], wherein the first set of block status data indicates whether the plurality of blocks are bad blocks [G/B BITMAP, Fig 9];
in response to a controller [6120, Fig 10] tagging one of the plurality of blocks as a bad block, analyzing the first block status data to determine if a block is bad or not [Fig 8; G/B BITMAP, Fig 9; Paragraphs 0105 – 0124; The bad block metadata is used to manage data in the memory];
the first memory device is a non-volatile memory device [6110, Fig 10];
a controller [6120, Fig 10] to which the first memory device is coupled [6110, Fig 10].
However, Oh may not specifically disclose the limitations of storing, in a memory location external to the first memory device, a second set of block status data that indicates a status of each block of the plurality of blocks in a memory location, wherein the second set of block status data indicates whether the plurality of blocks are bad blocks, in response to a controller tagging one of the plurality of blocks as a bad block, determine whether the first set of block status data has been corrupted by comparing the first set of block status data to the second set of block status data, and in response to determining that the first set of status data has been corrupted, overwriting the first set of block status data with the second set of block status data, the memory location is within a one-time programmable (OTP) memory, storing the second set of block status data is carried out by a controller during operation of the controller, and a difference in the first and second set of block status data of the OTP memory and the first memory device indicates a latch upset has occurred in the first memory device.
Nipunage teaches storing, in a memory location external to the first memory device, a second set of block status data that indicates a status of each block of the plurality of blocks in a memory location, wherein the second set of block status data indicates whether the plurality of blocks are bad blocks, in response to a controller tagging one of the plurality of blocks as a bad block, determine whether the first set of block status data has been corrupted by comparing the first set of block status data to the second set of block status data, and in response to determining that the first set of status data has been corrupted, overwriting the first set of block status data with the second set of block status data, storing the second set of block status data is carried out by a controller during operation of the controller [210, 270M, 272M, 260, 262, 270A, and 272A, Fig 2; 402, 404, 406, and 416, Fig 4; 502, 504, and 506, Fig 5; 602, 604, 606, 608, 610, and 614, Fig 6A; Column 7, Lines 58 – 67; Column 8, Lines 1 – 16; The bad block bitmap information in Oh is metadata. Nipunage discloses storing copies of metadata in difference storage devices and then comparing the versions of the metadata from the different storage devices. The metadata being compared shows the metadata was created before the comparison and the comparison is in response to the creation of the metadata. Either copy of the metadata can be considered corrupted or invalid as a result of the comparison and then the valid metadata is used to replace the invalid metadata. The operations of storing and comparing are performed by the controller using modules 214 and 220].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Nipunage in Oh, because it provides for redundancy by creating a backup of data and also verifying the backup.
However, Oh in view of Nipunage may not specifically disclose the limitation(s) of the memory location is within a one-time programmable (OTP) memory and a difference in the first and second set of block status data of the OTP memory and the first memory device indicates a latch upset has occurred in the first memory device.
Twocentpdx discloses the memory location is within a one-time programmable (OTP) memory [One time programmable memory, Page 2].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Twocentpdx in Oh in view of Nipunage because it allows the identification of bad blocks of memory after manufacture when the memory is first used which can identify blocks that went bad during manufacture and after manufacture and then stored in memory allowing the system to access an immutable list of bad blocks from when the memory was first used.
However, Oh in view of Nipunage in view of Twocentpdx may not specifically disclose the limitation(s) of a difference in the first and second set of block status data of the OTP memory and the first memory device indicates a latch upset has occurred in the first memory device.
Lopes discloses a difference in the first and second set of block status data of the OTP memory and the first memory device indicates a latch upset has occurred in the first memory device [Paragraph 0021, 0051 - 0052, Figs 4 - 7; The error is based on the comparison of data not resulting in a match between the data which is an indication of a single event upset which is considered the latch upset event. Oh teaches the first memory device is non-volatile. Twocentpdx discloses the memory location is OTP which is immutable. The comparison disclosed by Lopes would indicate any difference would be due to a latch upset event in the first memory of Oh since the OTP memory of Twocentpdx is immutable].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Lopes in Oh in view of Nipunage in view of Twocentpdx, because it allows the system to be tolerant to errors from radiation [Paragraphs 0006 and 0010].
Regarding claim 3, Nipunage teaches the memory location is within a controller and the controller is configured to store the second set of block status data in a register of the controller [222A or 222M, Fig 2; Column 8, Lines 47 – 61; The controller receives the second set of block status metadata and stores the data in a memory register allowing the controller to then write the second set of block status metadata to the external memory location].
Regarding claim 5, Oh teaches tagging the one of the plurality of blocks as the bad block comprises changing its status from a good block to a bad block [Paragraphs 0012, 0063, 0101, 0105, Fig 9; Blocks are determined to be good or bad. When a block is determined to be bad the bitmap is changed for the block to indicate it is no longer good and is bad by switching from 0 to 1].
Regarding claim 6, Oh teaches tracking a block status of each of a plurality of blocks [G/B BITMAP, Fig 9; Each bit in the bitmap indicates if a block of memory is good or bad].
Nipunage discloses in response to the first set of block status data matching the second set of block status data, preventing the first set of block status data from being overwritten [418, Fig 4; The bad block bitmap information in Oh is metadata. Nipunage discloses storing copies of metadata in difference storage devices and then comparing the versions of the metadata from the different storage devices. The Yes outcome in step 418 prevents data from being overwritten for the time being not overwriting any data].
Regarding claim 7, Oh teaches tracking a block status of each of a plurality of blocks [G/B BITMAP, Fig 9; Each bit in the bitmap indicates if a block of memory is good or bad] of a first memory device [6100, Fig 10].
Nipunage discloses in response to the first set of block status data being different than the second set of block status data, writing over the first set of block status data with the second set of block status data [Column 2, Lines 51 – 64; Column 8, Lines 32 – 46; Column 7, Lines 58 – 67; Column 8, Lines 1 – 16; Column 13, Lines 64 – 67; Column 14, Lines 1 – 20; Column 14, Lines 55 – 67; Column 15, Lines 1 – 5; The bad block bitmap information in Oh is metadata. Nipunage discloses storing copies of metadata in difference storage devices and then comparing the versions of the metadata from the different storage devices. When the two versions of metadata do not match one version is used to overwrite the other version of metadata. The UUID is another version of metadata and when metadata of different data does not match one version of UUID metadata is replaced with another version of the UUID metadata].
Regarding claim 9, Lopes discloses in response to determining that the latch upset event has occurred, setting a flag [Paragraph 0021, 0051 - 0052, Figs 4 – 7; The Error signal(s) are the flags indicating the single even upset (latch upset event) has occurred].
Regarding claim 10, Oh teaches tracking a block status of each of a plurality of blocks [G/B BITMAP, Fig 9; Each bit in the bitmap indicates if a block of memory is good or bad] of a first memory device [6100, Fig 10].
Nipunage discloses determining that an error event on a first set of status data has occurred [Column 2, Lines 51 – 64; Column 8, Lines 32 – 46; Column 13, Lines 64 – 67; Column 14, Lines 1 – 20; Column 14, Lines 55 – 67; Column 15, Lines 1 – 5; The bad block bitmap information in Oh is metadata. Nipunage discloses storing copies of metadata in difference storage devices and then comparing the versions of the metadata from the different storage devices. The status data that is not the majority is where the error is determined to occur].
Lopes discloses the error is a latch upset event [Paragraph 0021, 0051 - 0052, Figs 4 - 7; The error is based on the comparison of data not resulting in a match between the data which is an indication of a single event upset which is considered the latch upset event].
Regarding claim 12, Oh teaches a non-volatile memory device [6110, Fig 10] comprising a plurality of blocks of memory [Fig 9; Each chip is comprised of planes divided into blocks of memory]; and
a controller [6120, Fig 10] coupled to the non-volatile memory device [6110, Fig 10] and configured to:
write a first set of block status data [G/B BITMAP, Fig 9] to the non-volatile memory device [6110, Fig 10];
read the first set of block status data from the non-volatile memory device, wherein the first set of block status data indicates whether the plurality of blocks are bad blocks, and wherein the first set of block status data indicates a status of each block of the plurality of blocks in the non-volatile memory device [G/B BITMAP, Fig 9; Each bit in the bitmap indicates if a block of memory is good or bad], and
in response to the controller [6120, Fig 10] tagging one of the plurality of blocks as a bad block, analyzing the first block status data to determine if a block is bad or not [Fig 8; G/B BITMAP, Fig 9; Paragraphs 0105 – 0124; The bad block metadata is used to manage data in the memory].
However, Oh may not specifically disclose the limitation of reading a second set of block status data from a one-time programmable (OTP) memory, wherein the second set of block status data of the OTP memory is non-changing, wherein the second set of block status data indicates whether the plurality of blocks are bad blocks, wherein the second set of block status data indicates the status of each block of the plurality of blocks of memory, and wherein a difference in the first set of block status data of the non-volatile memory device and the second set of block status data of the OTP memory indicates a latch upset event has occurred in the non-volatile memory device, in response to tagging one of the first set of blocks as a bad block, determining whether the first set of block status data has been corrupted by comparing the first set of block status data to the second set of block status data, and in response to the first set of block status data being different than the second set of block status data, write the second set of block status data over the first set of block status data in the non-volatile memory device.
Nipunage discloses reading a second set of block status data from a memory, wherein the second set of block status data indicates whether the plurality of blocks are bad blocks, wherein the second set of block status data indicates the status of each block of the plurality of blocks of memory, compare the first set of block status data to the second set of block status data, in response to tagging one of the first set of blocks as a bad block, determining whether the first set of block status data has been corrupted by comparing the first set of block status data to the second set of block status data, and in response to the first set of block status data being different than the second set of block status data, write the second set of block status data over the first set of block status data in the non-volatile memory device [270M, 272M, 260, 262, 270A, and 272A, Fig 2; 402, 404, 406, and 416, Fig 4; 502, 504, and 506, Fig 5; 602, 604, 606, 608, 610, and 614, Fig 6A; Column 2, Lines 51 – 64; Column 7, Lines 58 – 67; Column 8, Lines 1 – 16 and 32 – 46; Column 13, Lines 64 – 67; Column 14, Lines 1 – 20; Column 14, Lines 55 – 67; Column 15, Lines 1 – 5; The bad block bitmap information in Oh is metadata. Nipunage discloses storing copies of metadata in difference storage devices and then comparing the versions of the metadata from the different storage devices. The metadata being compared shows the metadata was created before the comparison and the comparison is in response to the creation of the metadata. Either copy of the metadata can be considered corrupted or invalid as a result of the comparison and then the valid metadata is used to replace the invalid metadata].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Nipunage in Oh, because it provides for redundancy by creating a backup of data and also verifying the backup.
However, Oh in view of Nipunage may not specifically disclose the limitation of reading data from a one-time programmable (OTP) memory wherein the data read from the OTP is non-changing and wherein a difference in the first set of block status data of the non-volatile memory device and the second set of block status data of the OTP memory indicates a latch upset event has occurred in the non-volatile memory device.
Twocentpdx reading data from a one-time programmable (OTP) memory wherein the data read from the OTP is non-changing [One time programmable memory, Page 2].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Twocentpdx in Oh in view of Nipunage because it allows the identification of bad blocks of memory after manufacture when the memory is first used which can identify blocks that went bad during manufacture and after manufacture and then stored in memory allowing the system to access an immutable list of bad blocks from when the memory was first used.
However, Oh in view of Nipunage in view of Twocentpdx may not specifically disclose the limitation(s) of wherein a difference in the first set of block status data of the non-volatile memory device and the second set of block status data of the OTP memory indicates a latch upset event has occurred in the non-volatile memory device.
Lopes discloses a difference in the first set of block status data of the non-volatile memory device and the second set of block status data of the OTP memory indicates a latch upset event has occurred in the non-volatile memory device [Paragraph 0021, 0051 - 0052, Figs 4 - 7; The error is based on the comparison of data not resulting in a match between the data which is an indication of a single event upset which is considered the latch upset event. Oh teaches the first memory device is non-volatile. Twocentpdx discloses the memory location is OTP which is immutable. The comparison disclosed by Lopes would indicate any difference would be due to a latch upset event in the first memory which is non-volatile and can change of Oh since the OTP memory of Twocentpdx is immutable].
Regarding claim 14, Oh teaches the controller [6120, Fig 10] tracking a block status of each of a plurality of blocks [G/B BITMAP, Fig 9; Each bit in the bitmap indicates if a block of memory is good or bad] of a first memory device [6100, Fig 10].
Nipunage discloses comparing metadata about data to determine when an error occurred regarding the data [270M, 272M, 260, 262, 270A, and 272A, Fig 2; 402, 404, 406, and 416, Fig 4; 502, 504, and 506, Fig 5; 602, 604, 606, 608, 610, and 614, Fig 6A; The bad block bitmap information in Oh is metadata. Nipunage discloses storing copies of metadata in difference storage devices and then comparing the versions of the metadata from the different storage devices].
Lopes discloses setting a flag indicating occurrence of a latch upset event in response to the first set of block data being different than the second set of block data [Paragraph 0021, 0051 - 0052, Figs 4 - 7; The error is based on the comparison of data not resulting in a match between the data which is an indication of a single event upset which is considered the latch upset event. The Error signal(s) are the flags indicating the single even upset (latch upset event) has occurred].
Regarding claim 15, Oh teaches the controller [6120, Fig 10] tracking a block status of each of a plurality of blocks [G/B BITMAP, Fig 9; Each bit in the bitmap indicates if a block of memory is good or bad] of a first memory device [6100, Fig 10].
Nipunage discloses comparing metadata about data to determine when an error occurred regarding the data [270M, 272M, 260, 262, 270A, and 272A, Fig 2; 402, 404, 406, and 416, Fig 4; 502, 504, and 506, Fig 5; 602, 604, 606, 608, 610, and 614, Fig 6A; The bad block bitmap information in Oh is metadata. Nipunage discloses storing copies of metadata in difference storage devices and then comparing the versions of the metadata from the different storage devices].
Lopes discloses in response to the first set of block status data matching the second set of block status data, determining an absence of a latch upset event on the non-volatile memory device [Paragraph 0021, 0051 - 0052, Figs 4 – 7; When the two sets of data match an error is not detected which indicates there is no single even upset which is considered the latch upset event].
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oh et al. (Pub. No.: US 2019/0310774) referred to as Oh in view of Nipunage et al. (Pat 11,467,736) referred to as Nipunage in view of Twocentpdx (Programmable ROM) referred to Twocentpdx in view of Lopes et al. (Pub. No.: US 2019/0181864) referred to as Lopes as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Marcu et al. (Pub. No.: US 2022/0405601) referred to as Marcus.
Regarding claim 11, Oh teaches storing and tracking a block status of each of a plurality of blocks [G/B BITMAP, Fig 9; Each bit in the bitmap indicates if a block of memory is good or bad] of a first memory device [6100, Fig 10].
However, Oh in view of Nipunage in view of Twocentpdx in view of Lopes may not specifically disclose the limitation of storing data within complementary metal-oxide semiconductor (CMOS) latches of the first memory device.
Marcu discloses storing data within complementary metal-oxide semiconductor (CMOS) latches of the first memory device [200, Fig 2; 304, Fig 3; 406 and 410, Fig 4; Paragraph 0032; The latches are part of a CMOS chip making the CMOS latches store data of the memory. The CMOS latches are in a CMOS Chip that is part of a memory device such as 200 or 304].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Marcu in Oh in view of Nipunage in view of Twocentpdx in view of Lopes, because CMOS latches allow for low power consumption and high integration density in memory.
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oh et al. (Pub. No.: US 2019/0310774) referred to as Oh in view of Nipunage et al. (Pat 11,467,736) referred to as Nipunage in view of Twocentpdx (Programmable ROM) referred to Twocentpdx in view of Lopes et al. (Pub. No.: US 2019/0181864) referred to as Lopes as applied to claim 12 above, and further in view of Marcu et al. (Pub. No.: US 2022/0405601) referred to as Marcus.
Regarding claim 13, Oh teaches storing and tracking a block status of each of a plurality of blocks [G/B BITMAP, Fig 9; Each bit in the bitmap indicates if a block of memory is good or bad] of a first memory device [6100, Fig 10].
However, Oh in view of Nipunage in view of Twocentpdx in view of Lopes may not specifically disclose the limitation of storing data within complementary metal-oxide semiconductor (CMOS) latches of the first memory device.
Marcu discloses storing data within complementary metal-oxide semiconductor (CMOS) latches of the first memory device [200, Fig 2; 304, Fig 3; 406 and 410, Fig 4; Paragraph 0032; The latches are part of a CMOS chip making the CMOS latches store data of the memory. The CMOS latches are in a CMOS Chip that is part of a memory device such as 200 or 304].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Marcu in Oh in view of Nipunage in view of Twocentpdx in view of Lopes, because CMOS latches allow for low power consumption and high integration density in memory.
Claim(s) 16 – 17 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oh et al. (Pub. No.: US 2019/0310774) referred to as Oh in view of Nipunage et al. (Pat 11,467,736) referred to as Nipunage in view of Ayyapureddi et al. (Pub. No.: US 2023/0229348) referred to as Ayyapureddi in view of Lopes et al. (Pub. No.: US 2019/0181864) referred to as Lopes.
Regarding claim 16, Oh teaches a non-volatile memory device [6110, Fig 10] comprising a plurality of blocks of memory [Fig 9; Each chip is comprised of planes divided into blocks of memory]; and
a controller [6120, Fig 10] coupled to the non-volatile memory device [6110, Fig 10] and configured to:
load the first set of clock status data into the non-volatile memory device [G/B BITMAP, Fig 9; The bitmap information is created and loaded in the memory device];
read a first set of block status data from the non-volatile memory device, wherein the first set of block status data indicates whether the plurality of blocks are bad blocks, and wherein the first set of block status data indicates a status of each block of the plurality of blocks in the non-volatile memory device [G/B BITMAP, Fig 9; Each bit in the bitmap indicates if a block of memory is good or bad].
However, Oh may not specifically disclose the limitations of loading a first set of block status data into latches of memory, reading a second set of block status data from a memory, wherein the second set of block status data indicates whether the plurality of blocks are bad blocks, and wherein the second set of block status data indicates the status of each block of the plurality of blocks of memory, compare the first set of block status data to the second set of block status data, and in response to determining that the first set of block status data does not match the second set of block status data, reloading the first set of block status data by overwriting the first set of block status data stored in the latches of the non-volatile memory device with the second set of block status data stored in an additional memory device, wherein a difference between the first set of block status data of the non-volatile memory device, and the second set of block status data of the register of the controller indicates a latch upset event has occurred in the non-volatile memory device.
Nipunage discloses reading a second set of block status data from a memory, wherein the second set of block status data indicates whether the plurality of blocks are bad blocks, and wherein the second set of block status data indicates the status of each block of the plurality of blocks of memory, compare the first set of block status data to the second set of block status data, and in response to determining that the first set of block status data does not match the second set of block status data, reloading the first set of block status data by overwriting the first set of block data stored in the non-volatile memory device with block status data stored in an additional memory device, wherein a difference between the first set of block status data of the non-volatile memory device, and the second set of block status data of the register of the controller indicates a negative event has occurred in the non-volatile memory device [270M, 272M, 260, 262, 270A, and 272A, Fig 2; 402, 404, 406, and 416, Fig 4; 502, 504, and 506, Fig 5; 602, 604, 606, 608, 610, and 614, Fig 6A; Column 2, Lines 51 – 64; Column 7, Lines 58 – 67; Column 8, Lines 1 – 16; Column 8, Lines 32 – 46; Column 13, Lines 64 – 67; Column 14, Lines 1 – 20; Column 14, Lines 55 – 67; Column 15, Lines 1 – 5; The bad block bitmap information in Oh is metadata. Nipunage discloses storing copies of metadata in difference storage devices and then comparing the versions of the metadata from the different storage devices. The storage device with the lower count value indicates a negative event occurred with the storage device such as a dropped write. The UUID is another version of metadata. When the metadata does not match one of the metadata is used to overwrite the other metadata].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Nipunage in Oh, because it provides for redundancy by creating a backup of data and also verifying the backup.
However, Oh in view of Nipunage may not specifically disclose the limitation of storing block status data in latches and the difference indicates a latch upset even has occurred.
Ayyapureddi discloses storing block status data in latches [Paragraph 0042; Metadata is stored in latches in memory].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Ayyapureddi in Oh in view of Nipunage, because latches are a fundamental storage mechanism in the art that one of ordinary skill in the art would understand and have a high level of predictability to store data.
However, Oh in view of Nipunage in view of Ayyapureddi may not specifically disclose the limitation(s) of the difference indicates a latch upset even has occurred.
Lopes discloses the difference indicates a latch upset even has occurred [Paragraph 0021, 0051 - 0052, Figs 4 - 7; The error is based on the comparison of data not resulting in a match between the data which is an indication of a single event upset which is considered the latch upset event].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Lopes in Oh in view of Nipunage in view of Ayyapureddi, because it allows the system to be tolerant to errors from radiation [Paragraphs 0006 and 0010].
Regarding claim 17, Oh teaches the controller [6120, Fig 10] is configured to prevent access to any block of memory that is determined to be a bad block based on the block status data [Paragraph 0063, 0101, and 0129; Bad blocks are not used and replaced with good normal blocks].
Regarding claim 20, Oh teaches the controller [6120, Fig 10] tracking a block status of each of a plurality of blocks [G/B BITMAP, Fig 9; Each bit in the bitmap indicates if a block of memory is good or bad] of a first memory device [6100, Fig 10].
Nipunage discloses comparing metadata about data to determine when an error occurred regarding the data [270M, 272M, 260, 262, 270A, and 272A, Fig 2; 402, 404, 406, and 416, Fig 4; 502, 504, and 506, Fig 5; 602, 604, 606, 608, 610, and 614, Fig 6A; The bad block bitmap information in Oh is metadata. Nipunage discloses storing copies of metadata in difference storage devices and then comparing the versions of the metadata from the different storage devices].
Lopes discloses the controller inferring that a latch upset event has occurred in response to the first set of block data being different than the second set of block data. [Paragraph 0021, 0051 - 0052, Figs 4 - 7; The error is based on the comparison of data not resulting in a match between the data which is an indication of a single event upset which is considered the latch upset event].
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oh et al. (Pub. No.: US 2019/0310774) referred to as Oh in view of Nipunage et al. (Pat 11,467,736) referred to as Nipunage in view of Ayyapureddi et al. (Pub. No.: US 2023/0229348) referred to as Ayyapureddi in view of Lopes et al. (Pub. No.: US 2019/0181864) referred to as Lopes as applied to claim 16 above, and further in view of Twocentpdx (Programmable ROM) referred to Twocentpdx.
Regarding claim 18, Nipunage discloses the additional memory device [Column 2, Lines 51 – 64; Column 7, Lines 58 – 67; Column 8, Lines 1 – 16 and 32 – 46; Column 13, Lines 64 – 67; Column 14, Lines 1 – 20; Column 14, Lines 55 – 67; Column 15, Lines 1 – 5; The bad block bitmap information in Oh is metadata. Nipunage discloses storing copies of metadata in difference storage devices and then comparing the versions of the metadata from the different storage devices].
However, Oh in view of Nipunage in view of Ayyapureddi in view of Lopes may not specifically disclose the limitation of storing data in and accessing the data from a one-time programmable (OTB) memory.
Twocentpdx discloses storing data in and accessing the data from a one-time programmable (OTB) memory [One time programmable memory, Page 2].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Twocentpdx in Oh in view of Nipunage in view of Ayyapureddi in view of Lopes because it allows the identification of bad blocks of memory after manufacture when the memory is first used which can identify blocks that went bad during manufacture and after manufacture and then stored in memory allowing the system to access an immutable list of bad blocks from when the memory was first used.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 04/15/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The applicant argues on page 7 that amendments overcome the previous 112 rejections. After a review of the amendments the previous 112 rejections have been removed. However, the amendments to the claims have introduced new 112 rejections.
The applicant argues on pages 7 – 9 that the 103 rejection of claim 1 and any dependent claims should be withdrawn since Oh, Nipunage, and Twocentpdx fail to teach the newly added limitations in claim 1. After careful consideration of the applicant’s arguments the examiner respectfully disagrees.
The applicant’s arguments are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection. The amendments have changed the scope of the claims requiring further search and consideration of the prior art. The new grounds of rejection are a result of the further search and consideration of the prior art. The examiner suggests amending the claims to include further details defining the inventive concept from the specification to overcome the cited prior art and further advance prosecution.
The applicant argues on pages 10 – 11 that the 103 rejection of claims 16 – 17 should be withdrawn since Oh, Nipunage, and Ayyapureddi fail to teach the new amended limitations of the claims. After careful consideration of the applicant’s arguments the examiner respectfully disagrees.
The applicant’s arguments are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection. The amendments have changed the scope of the claims requiring further search and consideration of the prior art. The new grounds of rejection are a result of the further search and consideration of the prior art. The examiner suggests amending the claims to include further details defining the inventive concept from the specification to overcome the cited prior art and further advance prosecution.
The applicant argues on pages 11 – 12 that Oh, Nipunage, and Twocentpdx fails to teach the limitations of claim 2. Claim 2 has been cancelled therefor making the arguments against claim 2 moot.
The applicant argues on page 12 regarding claims 8 – 10 that the 103 rejection should be withdrawn based on the arguments regarding claim 1 above and that Lopes fails to cure the deficiencies of Oh and Nipunage. After careful consideration of the applicant’s arguments the examiner respectfully disagrees.
Claim 8 has been cancelled and therefor the arguments regarding claim 8 are moot. The applicant points to one sentence from the abstract to show what Lopes teaches. This does not take into account the specific citations for the limitations of claims 9 – 10. There is no specific argument indicating how Lopes fails to teach specific claim limitations. The arguments fail to properly explain how the claim limitations are not taught by the prior art other than saying they do not. There are no specific examples or explanation detailing how the prior art is different from the current claim limitations. Applicant's arguments fail to comply with 37 CFR 1.111(b) because they amount to a general allegation that the claims define a patentable invention without specifically pointing out how the language of the claims patentably distinguishes them from the references. The rejections contain citations and explanations detailing how the prior art teaches the current claim limitations.
The applicant argues on page 12 regarding claim 11 that the 103 rejection should be withdrawn based on the arguments regarding claim 1 above and that Marcu fails to cure the deficiencies of Oh and Nipunage. After careful consideration of the applicant’s arguments the examiner respectfully disagrees.
The applicant points to one sentence from the abstract to show what Marcu teaches. This does not take into account the specific citations for the limitations of claim 11. There is no specific argument indicating how Marcu fails to teach specific claim limitations. The arguments fail to properly explain how the claim limitations are not taught by the prior art other than saying they do not. There are no specific examples or explanation detailing how the prior art is different from the current claim limitations. Applicant's arguments fail to comply with 37 CFR 1.111(b) because they amount to a general allegation that the claims define a patentable invention without specifically pointing out how the language of the claims patentably distinguishes them from the references. The rejections contain citations and explanations detailing how the prior art teaches the current claim limitations.
The applicant argues on pages 13 - 15 that the 103 rejection of claims 12 and any depending claims should be withdrawn since Oh, Nipunage, and Twocentpdx fail to teach the new amended limitations of the claims. After careful consideration of the applicant’s arguments the examiner respectfully disagrees.
The applicant’s arguments are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection. The amendments have changed the scope of the claims requiring further search and consideration of the prior art. The new grounds of rejection are a result of the further search and consideration of the prior art. The examiner suggests amending the claims to include further details defining the inventive concept from the specification to overcome the cited prior art and further advance prosecution.
The applicant argues on page 15 regarding claims 14 – 15 that the prior art fails to teach the claim limitations based in part on the arguments regarding claim 12 above and part of one sentence from the Lopes reference. After careful consideration of the applicant’s arguments the examiner respectfully disagrees.
The rejection of claim 12 is based on the new grounds of rejection used in the rejection of claim 12. The portion of a sentence of the abstract of Lopes does not take into account the rest of the teachings from the Lopes reference. There is also no specific argument as to how the aspect of Lopes or the rest of the Lopes reference fails to teach limitations from the claim indicated in the rejection of claim 12. The arguments fail to properly explain how the claim limitations are not taught by the prior art other than saying they do not. There are no specific examples or explanation detailing how the prior art is different from the current claim limitations. Applicant's arguments fail to comply with 37 CFR 1.111(b) because they amount to a general allegation that the claims define a patentable invention without specifically pointing out how the language of the claims patentably distinguishes them from the references. The rejections contain citations and explanations detailing how the prior art teaches the current claim limitations.
The applicant argues on pages 15 - 16 that the 103 rejection of claim 18 should be withdrawn since Oh, Nipunage, Ayyapureddi, and Twocentpdx fail to teach the new amended limitations of the claims. After careful consideration of the applicant’s arguments the examiner respectfully disagrees.
The applicant’s arguments are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection. The amendments have changed the scope of the claims requiring further search and consideration of the prior art. The new grounds of rejection are a result of the further search and consideration of the prior art. The examiner suggests amending the claims to include further details defining the inventive concept from the specification to overcome the cited prior art and further advance prosecution.
The applicant argues on page 16 regarding claim 20 that the prior art fails to teach the claim limitations based in part on the arguments regarding claim 16 above and one sentence from the Lopes reference. After careful consideration of the applicant’s arguments the examiner respectfully disagrees.
The rejection of claim 16 is based on the new grounds of rejection used in the rejection of claim 16. The portion of a sentence of the abstract of Lopes does not take into account the rest of the teachings from the Lopes reference. There is also no specific argument as to how the aspect of Lopes or the rest of the Lopes reference fails to teach limitations from the claim indicated in the rejection of claim 16. The arguments fail to properly explain how the claim limitations are not taught by the prior art other than saying they do not. There are no specific examples or explanation detailing how the prior art is different from the current claim limitations. Applicant's arguments fail to comply with 37 CFR 1.111(b) because they amount to a general allegation that the claims define a patentable invention without specifically pointing out how the language of the claims patentably distinguishes them from the references. The rejections contain citations and explanations detailing how the prior art teaches the current claim limitations.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Christopher D Birkhimer/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2138