Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper content of an abstract of the disclosure.
A patent abstract is a concise statement of the technical disclosure of the patent and should include that which is new in the art to which the invention pertains. The abstract should not refer to purported merits or speculative applications of the invention and should not compare the invention with the prior art.
If the patent is of a basic nature, the entire technical disclosure may be new in the art, and the abstract should be directed to the entire disclosure. If the patent is in the nature of an improvement in an old apparatus, process, product, or composition, the abstract should include the technical disclosure of the improvement. The abstract should also mention by way of example any preferred modifications or alternatives.
Where applicable, the abstract should include the following: (1) if a machine or apparatus, its organization and operation; (2) if an article, its method of making; (3) if a chemical compound, its identity and use; (4) if a mixture, its ingredients; (5) if a process, the steps.
Extensive mechanical and design details of an apparatus should not be included in the abstract. The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph within the range of 50 to 150 words in length.
See MPEP § 608.01(b) for guidelines for the preparation of patent abstracts.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because the abstract of the disclosure exceeds 150 words. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
In paragraph [0078], “In some examples, In some examples, the first conduit” should be corrected to “In some examples,
In paragraph [0088], line 2, in “shown by an arow 39”, the word “arow” should be corrected such that the specification reads “shown by an arrow 39”;
In paragraph [00124], “The hydrogen exist the housing 70 via the third outlet port 80” should be corrected to “The hydrogen exits the housing 70 via the third outlet port 80”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4-5, 9-11, 13, 16, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Feng et al. (CN-111129552-A), hereinafter Feng, as cited and translated in the IDS.
Regarding claim 1, Feng teaches a system for a fuel cell vehicle, the system comprising:
a fuel cell system comprising at least one fuel cell stack comprising an anode and a cathode, the fuel cell stack being configured to generate electricity by an electrochemical reaction between hydrogen supplied to the anode and oxygen supplied to the cathode, the electrochemical reaction producing a fuel cell exhaust fluid as a byproduct ([0016] fuel cell stack with a hydrogen injector; [0022] hydrogen reacts with oxygen in the fuel cell stack and exhaust gas is discharged containing hydrogen, nitrogen, and water); and
an exhaust assembly comprising an exhaust conduit configured to fluidly couple to the fuel cell system ([0047]; fig. 3, conduit for exhaust gas denoted with B and connected to exhaust gas inlet pipe 11), the exhaust assembly comprising an exhaust fluid processing device configured to fluidly couple to the exhaust conduit ([0047]; fig. 3 exhaust gas treatment device 1), the exhaust fluid processing device comprising:
a housing encompassing a chamber and comprising an inlet port configured to receive the fuel cell exhaust fluid ([0047]; [0052]; fig. 3 exhaust gas inlet pipe 11), a first outlet port (figs. 3-4 first outlet 12 for water; [0065]; [0047]), a second outlet port (figs. 3-4; nitrogen discharge pipe 14; [0047]; [0065]), and a third outlet port (figs. 3-4 hydrogen discharge pipe 13; [0047]; [0065]), the housing further comprising, positioned in the chamber:
a centrifugal separator comprising at least one swirler and configured to have the fuel cell exhaust fluid to pass therethrough so that the fuel cell exhaust fluid passing through the centrifugal separator is separated into liquid water, hydrogen gas, and dry exhaust vapor (figs. 3-5 [0052]-[0055]; [0065]-[0067]; [0014]; [0030]; gas-liquid separation chamber 18 with a hydrocyclone 19 including swirling blades 22 which ensures separation of liquid water in the exhaust gas), wherein the first outlet port is configured to allow the liquid water to exit the housing (figs. 3-4 first outlet 12 for water; [0065]; [0047]), the second outlet port is configured to allow the dry vapor to exit the housing port (figs. 3-4; nitrogen discharge pipe 14; [0047]; [0065]), and the third outlet port is configured to allow the hydrogen gas to exit the housing (figs. 3-4 hydrogen discharge pipe 13; [0047]; [0065]),
wherein the housing comprises a membrane positioned in the housing below the third outlet port and above the centrifugal separator, along at least a portion of a length of the centrifugal separator (figs. 3-4; [[0052] membrane separation filter element 20 that is at least partially below the third outlet port 13).
Regarding claim 4, Feng teaches all of the limitations of claim 1. Feng also teaches wherein the first outlet port comprises a first valve configured and/or controlled to selectively allow the liquid water to pass through first outlet port and away from the exhaust fluid processing device ([0060] drain valve 7).
Regarding claim 5, Feng teaches all of the limitations of claim 1. Feng also teaches wherein the third outlet port comprises a second valve configured and/or controlled to allow the hydrogen gas to pass therethrough and away from the exhaust fluid processing device, and wherein the second valve is configured to release overpressure in the exhaust fluid processing device ([0058] one-way valve 9 or [0065]-[0066] the controller is connected to the first pressure sensor 24 and the hydrogen circulating pump 10 wherein the circulation pump is controlled based on the pressure).
Regarding claim 9, Feng teaches an exhaust fluid processing device ([0047]; fig. 3 exhaust gas treatment device 1) configured to process a fuel cell exhaust fluid produced by a fuel cell system of a fuel cell vehicle as a byproduct of an electrochemical reaction between hydrogen supplied to an anode and oxygen supplied to a cathode of a fuel cell stack of the fuel cell system ([0016] fuel cell stack with a hydrogen injector; [0022] hydrogen reacts with oxygen in the fuel cell stack and exhaust gas is discharged containing hydrogen, nitrogen, and water), the exhaust fluid processing device comprising:
a housing encompassing a chamber and comprising an inlet port configured to receive the fuel cell exhaust fluid ([0047]; fig. 3, conduit for exhaust gas denoted with B and connected to exhaust gas inlet pipe 11), a first outlet port(figs. 3-4 first outlet 12 for water; [0065]; [0047]), a second outlet port (figs. 3-4; nitrogen discharge pipe 14; [0047]; [0065]), and a third outlet port (figs. 3-4 hydrogen discharge pipe 13; [0047]; [0065]), the housing further comprising, positioned in the chamber,
a centrifugal separator comprising at least one swirler and configured to have the fuel cell exhaust fluid to pass therethrough so that the exhaust fluid passing through the centrifugal separator is separated into liquid water, hydrogen gas, and dry exhaust vapor (figs. 3-5 [0052]-[0055]; [0065]-[0067]; [0014]; [0030]; gas-liquid separation chamber 18 with a hydrocyclone 19 including swirling blades 22 which ensures separation of liquid water in the exhaust gas), wherein the first outlet port is configured to allow the liquid water to exit the housing (figs. 3-4 first outlet 12 for water; [0065]; [0047]), the second outlet port is configured to allow the dry vapor to exit the housing port (figs. 3-4; nitrogen discharge pipe 14; [0047]; [0065]), and the third outlet port is configured to allow the hydrogen gas to exit the housing (figs. 3-4 hydrogen discharge pipe 13; [0047]; [0065]),
wherein the housing comprises a membrane positioned in the housing below the third outlet port and above the centrifugal separator, along at least a portion of a length of the centrifugal separator (figs. 3-4; [[0052] membrane separation filter element 20 that is at least partially below the third outlet port 13).
Regarding claim 10, Feng teaches all of the limitations of claim 9. Feng also teaches wherein the first outlet port comprises a first valve configured and/or controlled to selectively allow the liquid water to pass through first outlet port and away from the exhaust fluid processing device ([0060] drain valve 7).
Regarding claim 11, Feng teaches all of the limitations of claim 9. Feng also teaches wherein the third outlet port comprises a second valve configured and/or controlled to allow the hydrogen gas to pass therethrough and away from the exhaust fluid processing device, and wherein the second valve is configured to release overpressure in the exhaust fluid processing device ([0058] one-way valve 9 or [0065]-[0066] the controller is connected to the first pressure sensor 24 and the hydrogen circulating pump 10 wherein the circulation pump is controlled based on the pressure).
Regarding claim 13, Feng teaches a fuel cell vehicle comprising at least one system, the at least one system comprising:
a fuel cell system comprising at least one fuel cell stack comprising an anode and a cathode, the fuel cell stack being configured to generate electricity by an electrochemical reaction between hydrogen supplied to the anode and oxygen supplied to the cathode, the electrochemical reaction producing a fuel cell exhaust fluid as a byproduct ([0016] fuel cell stack with a hydrogen injector; [0022] hydrogen reacts with oxygen in the fuel cell stack and exhaust gas is discharged containing hydrogen, nitrogen, and water); and
an exhaust assembly comprising an exhaust conduit configured to fluidly couple to the fuel cell system ([0047]; fig. 3, conduit for exhaust gas denoted with B and connected to exhaust gas inlet pipe 11), the exhaust assembly comprising an exhaust fluid processing device ([0047]; fig. 3 exhaust gas treatment device 1) configured to fluidly couple to the exhaust conduit, the exhaust fluid processing device comprising:
a housing encompassing a chamber and comprising an inlet port configured to receive the fuel cell exhaust fluid ([0047]; fig. 3, conduit for exhaust gas denoted with B and connected to exhaust gas inlet pipe 11), a first outlet port(figs. 3-4 first outlet 12 for water; [0065]; [0047]), a second outlet port (figs. 3-4; nitrogen discharge pipe 14; [0047]; [0065]), and a third outlet port (figs. 3-4 hydrogen discharge pipe 13; [0047]; [0065]), the housing further comprising, positioned in the chamber,
a centrifugal separator comprising at least one swirler and configured to have the fuel cell exhaust fluid to pass therethrough so that the fuel cell exhaust fluid passing through the centrifugal separator is separated into liquid water, hydrogen gas, and dry exhaust vapor (figs. 3-5 [0052]-[0055]; [0065]-[0067]; [0014]; [0030]; gas-liquid separation chamber 18 with a hydrocyclone 19 including swirling blades 22 which ensures separation of liquid water in the exhaust gas), wherein the first outlet port is configured to allow the liquid water to exit the housing(figs. 3-4 first outlet 12 for water; [0065]; [0047]), the second outlet port is configured to allow the dry vapor to exit the housing port (figs. 3-4; nitrogen discharge pipe 14; [0047]; [0065]), and the third outlet port is configured to allow the hydrogen gas to exit the housing (figs. 3-4 hydrogen discharge pipe 13; [0047]; [0065]),
wherein the housing comprises a membrane positioned in the housing below the third outlet port and above the centrifugal separator, along at least a portion of a length of the centrifugal separator (figs. 3-4; [[0052] membrane separation filter element 20 that is at least partially below the third outlet port 13).
Regarding claim 16, Feng teaches a method for processing a fuel cell exhaust fluid produced by a fuel cell system of a fuel cell vehicle, the method comprising:
routing the fuel cell exhaust fluid from the fuel cell system to and through an exhaust assembly comprising an exhaust conduit configured to fluidly couple to the fuel cell system ([0047]; fig. 3, conduit for exhaust gas denoted with B and connected to exhaust gas inlet pipe 11), the exhaust assembly comprising an exhaust fluid processing device configured to fluidly couple to the exhaust conduit ([0047]; fig. 3 exhaust gas treatment device 1), the exhaust fluid processing device being configured to process the fuel cell exhaust fluid so as to separate the fuel cell exhaust fluid into separate flows of liquid water, hydrogen gas, and dry exhaust vapor (figs. 3-4 first outlet 12 for water, second outlet port 14 for nitrogen, and a third outlet port 13 for hydrogen), the exhaust fluid processing device comprising:
a housing encompassing a chamber and comprising an inlet port configured to receive the fuel cell exhaust fluid, a first outlet port (figs. 3-4 first outlet 12 for water; [0065]; [0047]), a second outlet port (figs. 3-4; nitrogen discharge pipe 14; [0047]; [0065]), and a third outlet port (figs. 3-4 hydrogen discharge pipe 13; [0047]; [0065]), the housing further comprising, positioned in the chamber:
a centrifugal separator comprising at least one swirler and configured to have the fuel cell exhaust fluid to pass therethrough so that the fuel cell exhaust fluid passing through the centrifugal separator is separated into the liquid water, the hydrogen gas, and the dry exhaust vapor (figs. 3-5 [0052]-[0055]; [0065]-[0067]; [0014]; [0030]; gas-liquid separation chamber 18 with a hydrocyclone 19 including swirling blades 22 which ensures separation of liquid water in the exhaust gas), wherein the first outlet port is configured to allow the liquid water to exit the housing(figs. 3-4 first outlet 12 for water; [0065]; [0047]), the second outlet port is configured to allow the dry vapor to exit the housing port (figs. 3-4; nitrogen discharge pipe 14; [0047]; [0065]), and the third outlet port is configured to allow the hydrogen gas to exit the housing (figs. 3-4 hydrogen discharge pipe 13; [0047]; [0065]),
wherein the housing comprises a membrane positioned in the housing below the third outlet port and above the centrifugal separator, along at least a portion of a length of the centrifugal separator (figs. 3-4; [[0052] membrane separation filter element 20 that is at least partially below the third outlet port 13).
Regarding claim 18, Feng teaches a method for processing a fuel cell exhaust fluid produced by a fuel cell system of a fuel cell vehicle, the method comprising:
routing the fuel cell exhaust fluid from the fuel cell system to and through an exhaust fluid processing device ([0047]; fig. 3 exhaust gas treatment device 1) configured to process the fuel cell exhaust fluid ([0047]; fig. 3, conduit for exhaust gas denoted with B and connected to exhaust gas inlet pipe 11), the exhaust fluid processing device comprising:
a housing encompassing a chamber and comprising an inlet port configured to receive the fuel cell exhaust fluid ([0047]; fig. 3, conduit for exhaust gas denoted with B and connected to exhaust gas inlet pipe 11), a first outlet port(figs. 3-4 first outlet 12 for water; [0065]; [0047]), a second outlet port (figs. 3-4; nitrogen discharge pipe 14; [0047]; [0065]), and a third outlet port (figs. 3-4 hydrogen discharge pipe 13; [0047]; [0065]), the housing further comprising, positioned in the chamber:
a centrifugal separator comprising at least one swirler and configured to have the fuel cell exhaust fluid to pass therethrough so that the fuel cell exhaust fluid passing through the centrifugal separator is separated into liquid water, hydrogen gas, and dry exhaust vapor (figs. 3-5 [0052]-[0055]; [0065]-[0067]; [0014]; [0030]; gas-liquid separation chamber 18 with a hydrocyclone 19 including swirling blades 22 which ensures separation of liquid water in the exhaust gas), wherein the first outlet port is configured to allow the liquid water to exit the housing(figs. 3-4 first outlet 12 for water; [0065]; [0047]), the second outlet port is configured to allow the dry vapor to exit the housing port (figs. 3-4; nitrogen discharge pipe 14; [0047]; [0065]), and the third outlet port is configured to allow the hydrogen gas to exit the housing (figs. 3-4 hydrogen discharge pipe 13; [0047]; [0065]),
wherein the housing comprises a membrane positioned in the housing below the third outlet port and above the centrifugal separator, along at least a portion of a length of the centrifugal separator (figs. 3-4; [[0052] membrane separation filter element 20 that is at least partially below the third outlet port 13).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Feng as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Li et al. (CN-212725388-U), hereinafter Li.
Regarding claim 2, Feng teaches all of the limitations of claim 1. Feng also teaches wherein the third outlet port is configured to fluidly couple to a third conduit extending from the third outlet (fig.3)
Feng fails to teach the third conduit extending from the third outlet port towards a top of a cabin of the vehicle, the third conduit being configured to release the hydrogen gas at the top of the cabin of the vehicle.
Li is considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of fuel cells ([0001]). Li teaches the third conduit extending from the third outlet port towards a top of a cabin of the vehicle, the third conduit being configured to release the hydrogen gas at the top of the cabin of the vehicle ([0040]-[0042] hydrogen is released at the top of the vehicle body to facilitate diffusion of hydrogen and preventing hydrogen from accumulating at the rear of the vehicle body causing a safety accident).
Therefore, it would be obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Feng such that the third conduit extending from the third outlet port towards a top of a cabin of the vehicle, the third conduit being configured to release the hydrogen gas at the top of the cabin of the vehicle. Doing so to facilitates diffusion of hydrogen and prevents hydrogen from accumulating at the rear of the vehicle body causing a safety accident (Li [0040]-[0042]).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Feng as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Jufuku et al. (US-20100297514-A1).
Regarding claim 3, Feng teaches all of the limitations of claim 1. Feng also teaches wherein the first outlet port is configured to fluidly couple to a first conduit that allows the liquid water to exit the exhaust conduit ([0066]; fig. 3 conduit after outlet port 12 connected to drain valve 7), and the second outlet port is configured to fluidly couple to a second conduit that allows the dry vapor to exit the exhaust conduit (fig. 3 conduit after outlet port 14 with exhaust valve 8; [0066]).
Feng fails to teach the first conduit that allows the liquid water to exit the exhaust conduit at a bottom of the vehicle and the second conduit that allows the dry vapor to exit the exhaust conduit at the bottom of the vehicle.
Jufuku is considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of fuel cells ([0001]). Jufuku teaches that dry vapor and water can exit at the bottom of a vehicle ([0009] the exhaust fluid contains the produced water as well as the exhaust gas; fig. 2 outlet 60o).
Therefore, it would be obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Feng such that the dry vapor and water exit at the bottom of the vehicle. Doing so is known in the art and produces the predictable result of discharging exhaust fluid from fuel cells (Jufuku [0009]). In addition, discharging the exhaust fluid at a relatively low position has higher discharge efficiency (Jufuku [0009]).
Claim 6-7, 12, 15, 17, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Feng as applied to claims 1, 9, 13, 16, and 18 above, and further in view of Sanderson et al. (US-20140272631-A1), hereinafter Sanderson.
Regarding claim 6, Feng teaches all of the limitations of claim 1.
Feng fails to teach wherein the housing comprises at least one demister positioned downstream of the inlet port and having a shape that conforms to a shape of an inner wall of the chamber, the at least one demister being configured to have the fuel cell exhaust fluid pass therethrough to cause at least a portion of vapor in the fuel cell exhaust fluid to be converted into water droplets, whereby liquid water is extracted from the fuel cell exhaust fluid.
Sanderson is considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of fuel cells with centrifugal separators. Sanderson teaches at least one demister positioned downstream of the inlet port and having a shape that conforms to a shape of an inner wall of the chamber, the at least one demister being configured to have the fuel cell exhaust fluid pass therethrough to cause at least a portion of vapor in the fuel cell exhaust fluid to be converted into water droplets, whereby liquid water is extracted from the fuel cell exhaust fluid (figs. 3 and 5; [0029]; screen 116 allows the liquid to drip down into the collection chamber).
Therefore, it would be obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Feng such that at least one demister is positioned downstream of the inlet port. Doing so creates a location for condensation to occur and also provides a flow-smoothing effect for fluid rotating in the vortex chamber. Further, the screen acts to maintain a relatively calm environment and prevents fluid motion such as splashback into the upper chamber (Sanderson [0044]).
Regarding claim 7, modified Feng teaches all of the limitations of claim 6, Modified Feng also teaches wherein the at least one demister comprises one demister positioned upstream of the centrifugal separator or one demister positioned downstream of the centrifugal separator (Sanderson figs. 3 and 5; [0029]; [0044] screen 116).
Regarding claim 12, Feng teaches all of the limitations of claim 9. Feng fails to teach wherein the housing comprises, positioned in the chamber, at least one demister positioned downstream of the inlet port and having a shape that conforms to a shape of an inner wall of the chamber, the at least one demister being configured to have the fuel cell exhaust fluid pass therethrough to cause at least a portion of vapor in the fuel cell exhaust fluid to be converted into water droplets, whereby liquid water is extracted from the fuel cell exhaust fluid.
Sanderson is considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of fuel cells with centrifugal separators. Sanderson teaches positioned in the chamber, at least one demister positioned downstream of the inlet port and having a shape that conforms to a shape of an inner wall of the chamber, the at least one demister being configured to have the fuel cell exhaust fluid pass therethrough to cause at least a portion of vapor in the fuel cell exhaust fluid to be converted into water droplets, whereby liquid water is extracted from the fuel cell exhaust fluid (figs. 3 and 5; [0029]; screen 116 allows the liquid to drip down into the collection chamber).
Therefore, it would be obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Feng such that at least one demister is positioned downstream of the inlet port. Doing so creates a location for condensation to occur and also provides a flow-smoothing effect for fluid rotating in the vortex chamber. Further, the screen acts to maintain a relatively calm environment and prevents fluid motion such as splashback into the upper chamber (Sanderson [0044]).
Regarding claim 15, Feng teaches all of the limitations of claim 13. Feng fails to teach wherein the housing comprises at least one demister positioned downstream of the inlet port and having a shape that conforms to a shape of an inner wall of the chamber, the at least one demister being configured to have the fuel cell exhaust fluid pass therethrough to cause at least a portion of vapor in the fuel cell exhaust fluid to be converted into water droplets, whereby liquid water is extracted from the fuel cell exhaust fluid.
Sanderson is considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of fuel cells with centrifugal separators. Sanderson teaches at least one demister positioned downstream of the inlet port and having a shape that conforms to a shape of an inner wall of the chamber, the at least one demister being configured to have the fuel cell exhaust fluid pass therethrough to cause at least a portion of vapor in the fuel cell exhaust fluid to be converted into water droplets, whereby liquid water is extracted from the fuel cell exhaust fluid (figs. 3 and 5; [0029]; screen 116 allows the liquid to drip down into the collection chamber).
Therefore, it would be obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Feng such that at least one demister is positioned downstream of the inlet port. Doing so creates a location for condensation to occur and also provides a flow-smoothing effect for fluid rotating in the vortex chamber. Further, the screen acts to maintain a relatively calm environment and prevents fluid motion such as splashback into the upper chamber (Sanderson [0044]).
Regarding claim 17, Feng teaches all of the limitations of claim 16. Feng fails to teach wherein the housing comprises at least one demister positioned downstream of the inlet port and having a shape that conforms to a shape of an inner wall of the chamber, the at least one demister being configured to have the fuel cell exhaust fluid pass therethrough to cause at least a portion of vapor in the fuel cell exhaust fluid to be converted into water droplets, whereby liquid water is extracted from the fuel cell exhaust fluid.
Sanderson is considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of fuel cells with centrifugal separators. Sanderson teaches at least one demister positioned downstream of the inlet port and having a shape that conforms to a shape of an inner wall of the chamber, the at least one demister being configured to have the fuel cell exhaust fluid pass therethrough to cause at least a portion of vapor in the fuel cell exhaust fluid to be converted into water droplets, whereby liquid water is extracted from the fuel cell exhaust fluid (figs. 3 and 5; [0029]; screen 116 allows the liquid to drip down into the collection chamber).
Therefore, it would be obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Feng such that at least one demister is positioned downstream of the inlet port. Doing so creates a location for condensation to occur and also provides a flow-smoothing effect for fluid rotating in the vortex chamber. Further, the screen acts to maintain a relatively calm environment and prevents fluid motion such as splashback into the upper chamber (Sanderson [0044]).
Regarding claim 19, Feng teaches all of the limitations of claim 18. Feng fails to teach wherein the housing comprises at least one demister positioned downstream of the inlet port and having a shape that conforms to a shape of an inner wall of the chamber, the at least one demister being configured to have the fuel cell exhaust fluid pass therethrough to cause at least a portion of vapor in the fuel cell exhaust fluid to be converted into water droplets, whereby liquid water is extracted from the fuel cell exhaust fluid.
Sanderson is considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of fuel cells with centrifugal separators. Sanderson teaches at least one demister positioned downstream of the inlet port and having a shape that conforms to a shape of an inner wall of the chamber, the at least one demister being configured to have the fuel cell exhaust fluid pass therethrough to cause at least a portion of vapor in the fuel cell exhaust fluid to be converted into water droplets, whereby liquid water is extracted from the fuel cell exhaust fluid (figs. 3 and 5; [0029]; screen 116 allows the liquid to drip down into the collection chamber).
Therefore, it would be obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Feng such that at least one demister is positioned downstream of the inlet port. Doing so creates a location for condensation to occur and also provides a flow-smoothing effect for fluid rotating in the vortex chamber. Further, the screen acts to maintain a relatively calm environment and prevents fluid motion such as splashback into the upper chamber (Sanderson [0044]).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Feng in view of Sanderson as applied to claim 6 above, and further in view of Steiner (US-20030192433-A1).
Regarding claim 8, modified Feng teaches all of the limitations of claim 6. Modified Feng also teaches wherein the at least one demister comprises a first demister positioned upstream of the centrifugal separator
Feng fails to teach a second demister positioned downstream of the centrifugal separator.
Steiner is considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of centrifugal separators ([0011]). Steiner teaches a demister positioned downstream of the centrifugal separator (fig. 1; [0030] demister 16 is downstream the centrifugal separator 14).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Feng such that a second demister is positioned downstream of the centrifugal separator. Doing so allows for more efficient separation of water.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Feng as applied to claim 13 above, and further in view of Ikeda (US-20210135261-A1).
Regarding claim 14, Feng teaches all of the limitations of claim 13. Feng fails to teach wherein the at least one system comprises two systems, each comprising a corresponding fuel cell system and an exhaust assembly configured to fluidly couple to the corresponding fuel cell system. However, vehicles with two fuel cell systems are known in the art.
For example, Ikeda is analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of fuel cell systems ([0002]). Ikeda teaches a fuel cell system mounted on a vehicle ([0027]). The fuel cell system includes two fuel cells, FC, each with their own independent exhaust separators 27a and 27b (fig. 1; [0027]; [0049]; [0054]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art to duplicate the fuel cell system of Feng such that there are two systems (see In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960) wherein the court held that mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced). Doing so is known in the art, as exemplified by Feng. Further, having two systems allows for more control to prevent flooding while still maintaining electric output ([0007] controller may suspend the power of the first fuel cell; [0012] the controller can increase electric power generated by the second fuel cell according to a decline in generated electric power due to the suspension of power generation in the first fuel cell).
Conclusion
/M.L.K./Examiner, Art Unit 1722
/ANCA EOFF/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1722