DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 6, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jiang et al. (2020/0252863) in view of Zhou et al. (US 9,282,488).
Regarding claim 1, Jiang et al. (2020/0252863) teaches a method for connecting a mobile terminal to a network when said mobile terminal is in a visited area beyond a range of its home network (connection of mobile terminal to network when it is outside of it boundary [abstr.], [0008]), comprising the following acts, performed by said mobile terminal: sending a request to connect the mobile terminal to a first network in said visited area, termed first visited network (i.e., registration request when user is outside the home network or in the visited area [abrtr.], [0083]), responsive to said request to connect, receiving a response message from said first visited network, wherein said response message comprises a list of at least one network, ranked in order of priority (i.e., obtaining a preferential roaming list, where the preferential roaming list is used to indicate information about at least one network that a user preferentially attempts to register with when the user is roaming [abstr.], [0008]-[0012], [0018]-[0020]).
Jiang does not specifically disclose disconnecting the terminal from the first visited network and connecting the terminal to a second visited network, ranked in the list as having a higher priority than said first visited network.
However, the preceding limitation is known in the art of communications. Zhou teaches the wireless device may have been moved to the low priority network when the home (e.g., high priority) network is unreachable. In another example, the wireless device may have been moved to the low priority network when the high priority network is overloaded. When the high priority network becomes available, the wireless device can break (e.g., disconnect) the connection with the low priority network and connect to the high priority network. In this manner, the wireless device can move from the low priority network to the high priority network without receiving permission from the low priority network (col. 2, line 51 to col. 3, line 12). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the invention, to have implemented the technique Zhou within the system of Jiang in order to provide Instant Service Restoration: When your primary ("home") network becomes reachable again, the device immediately drops the backup/low-priority network. This ensures you aren't stuck paying roaming fees or using congested tower bandwidth longer than necessary.
Regarding claim 6, Jiang et al. (2020/0252863) teaches a device comprising: a sender configured to send a request to connect a mobile terminal to a first network in a visited area beyond a range of its home network, termed first visited network (i.e., registration request when user is outside the home network or in the visited area [abrtr.], [0083]), a receiver configured to receive, in response to said request to connect, a response message from said first visited network, the response message comprising a list of at least one network, ranked in order of priority (i.e., obtaining a preferential roaming list, where the preferential roaming list is used to indicate information about at least one network that a user preferentially attempts to register with when the user is roaming [abstr.], [0008]-[0012], [0018]-[0020]).
Jiang does not specifically disclose a processor configured to disconnect the terminal from the first visited network and connect the terminal to a second visited network, ranked in the list as having a higher priority than said first visited network.
However, the preceding limitation is known in the art of communications. Zhou teaches the wireless device may have been moved to the low priority network when the home (e.g., high priority) network is unreachable. In another example, the wireless device may have been moved to the low priority network when the high priority network is overloaded. When the high priority network becomes available, the wireless device can break (e.g., disconnect) the connection with the low priority network and connect to the high priority network. In this manner, the wireless device can move from the low priority network to the high priority network without receiving permission from the low priority network (col. 2, line 51 to col. 3, line 12). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the invention, to have implemented the technique Zhou within the system of Jiang in order to provide Instant Service Restoration: When your primary ("home") network becomes reachable again, the device immediately drops the backup/low-priority network. This ensures you aren't stuck paying roaming fees or using congested tower bandwidth longer than necessary.
Regarding claim 11, Jiang et al. (2020/0252863) teaches non-transitory computer-readable medium comprising a computer program stored thereon, comprising instructions for implementing a method of connecting a mobile terminal to a network when said mobile terminal is in a visited area beyond a range of its home network, when this program is executed by a processor of the terminal, wherein the instructions configure the mobile terminal to perform acts comprising: sending a request to connect the mobile terminal to a first network in said visited area, termed first visited network (i.e., registration request when user is outside the home network or in the visited area [abrtr.], [0083]), responsive to said request to connect, receiving a response message from said first visited network, wherein said response message comprises a list of at least one network, ranked in order of priority (i.e., obtaining a preferential roaming list, where the preferential roaming list is used to indicate information about at least one network that a user preferentially attempts to register with when the user is roaming [abstr.], [0008]-[0012], [0018]-[0020]).
Jiang does not specifically disclose disconnecting the terminal from the first visited network and connecting the terminal to a second visited network, ranked in the list as having a higher priority than said first visited network.
However, the preceding limitation is known in the art of communications. Zhou teaches the wireless device may have been moved to the low priority network when the home (e.g., high priority) network is unreachable. In another example, the wireless device may have been moved to the low priority network when the high priority network is overloaded. When the high priority network becomes available, the wireless device can break (e.g., disconnect) the connection with the low priority network and connect to the high priority network. In this manner, the wireless device can move from the low priority network to the high priority network without receiving permission from the low priority network (col. 2, line 51 to col. 3, line 12). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the invention, to have implemented the technique Zhou within the system of Jiang in order to provide Instant Service Restoration: When your primary ("home") network becomes reachable again, the device immediately drops the backup/low-priority network. This ensures you aren't stuck paying roaming fees or using congested tower bandwidth longer than necessary.
Claims 2-5, 7-10, and 12-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jiang et al. (2020/0252863) in view of Zhou et al. (US 9,282,488) in view of Gonzalez et al. (US 2017/0353851).
Regarding claim 2, Jiang in view of Zhou teaches all the limitations above except the list takes the form of a table comprising at least one network PLMN (Public Land Mobile Network) identifier.
However, the preceding limitation is known in the art of communications. Gonzalez teaches the PLMN list is based on three categories of priority which can be thought of as buckets. For example, the wireless carrier can generally place PLMN identifiers into one of three buckets: i) an unlimited bucket, ii) a metered bucket, and iii) a qualifying bucket ([0011]); the PLMN list is stored in the wireless device ([0045]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to tone of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the invention, to have implemented the technique of Gonzalez within the system Jiang in view of Zhou in order to assist a user of a wireless device that is roaming by providing a PLMN list based on a roaming plan associated with the device.
Regarding claim 3, Jiang in view of Zhou teaches all the limitations above except said at least one network PLMN identifier is accompanied by a weighting coefficient representing a priority relative to other network PLMN identifiers of the list.
However, the preceding limitation is known in the art of communications. Gonzalez teaches When the wireless device 111 reads the PLMN list, for example, the array called “plmn-priority-list” in Table 4, PLMNs from the unlimited object such as “310ANY” and “311ANY” are preferred over PLMNs in the metered object and PLMNs in the others_preferred object (corresponding to the bucket also referred to as “qualifying” herein). 310 and 311 are MCC values that occur in the United States. The PLMNs 21401, 21406, and 21409 have the same priority (priority 1), same wireless carrier (although not evident from the MNC values 01, 06, and 09) and are preferred over other remaining PLMNs under 214ANY (priority 2) ([0062]-[0063], [0066]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to tone of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the invention, to have implemented the technique of Gonzalez within the system of Jiang in view of Zhou in order to assign a priority value to assign PLMN identified in the PLMN list, wherein the highest priority PLMN for a given geographic region is listed first.
Regarding claim 4, Jiang in view of Zhou teaches all the limitations above except
said at least one network PLMN identifier is accompanied by an indication of an access technology of the network identified by the network PLMN identifier.
However, the preceding limitation is known in the art of communications. Gonzalez teaches the entries on the list include at least a place or geographic region identifier known as a mobile country code (MCC) and a wireless network identifier known as a mobile network code (MNC). The two identifiers taken together, MCC:MNC, are referred to as identifying a public land mobile network (PLMN). A given PLMN will often support more than one RAT ([0006], [0026]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to tone of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the invention, to have implemented the technique of Gonzalez within the system of Jiang in view of Zhou in order to assist a user of a wireless device that is roaming by providing a PLMN list based on a roaming plan associated with the device.
Regarding claim 5, Jiang in view of Zhou further in view of Conzalez teaches all the limitations above. Jiang further teaches said at least one PLMN network identifier is composed of the network's MCC (Mobile Country Code) and MNC (Mobile Network Code) codes (i.e., obtaining, by means of screening, at least one network that matches the MCC from the preferential roaming list, to generate an available preferential roaming list [0018]-[0020]).
Regarding claim 7, Jiang in view of Zhou teaches all the limitations above except the list takes the form of a table comprising at least one network PLMN (Public Land Mobile Network) identifier.
However, the preceding limitation is known in the art of communications. Gonzalez teaches the PLMN list is based on three categories of priority which can be thought of as buckets. For example, the wireless carrier can generally place PLMN identifiers into one of three buckets: i) an unlimited bucket, ii) a metered bucket, and iii) a qualifying bucket ([0011]); the PLMN list is stored in the wireless device ([0045]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to tone of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the invention, to have implemented the technique of Gonzalez within the system Jiang in view of Zhou in order to assist a user of a wireless device that is roaming by providing a PLMN list based on a roaming plan associated with the device.
Regarding claim 8, Jiang in view of Zhou teaches all the limitations above except said at least one network PLMN identifier is accompanied by a weighting coefficient representing a priority relative to other network PLMN identifiers of the list.
However, the preceding limitation is known in the art of communications. Gonzalez teaches When the wireless device 111 reads the PLMN list, for example, the array called “plmn-priority-list” in Table 4, PLMNs from the unlimited object such as “310ANY” and “311ANY” are preferred over PLMNs in the metered object and PLMNs in the others_preferred object (corresponding to the bucket also referred to as “qualifying” herein). 310 and 311 are MCC values that occur in the United States. The PLMNs 21401, 21406, and 21409 have the same priority (priority 1), same wireless carrier (although not evident from the MNC values 01, 06, and 09) and are preferred over other remaining PLMNs under 214ANY (priority 2) ([0062]-[0063], [0066]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to tone of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the invention, to have implemented the technique of Gonzalez within the system of Jiang in view of Zhou in order to assign a priority value to assign PLMN identified in the PLMN list, wherein the highest priority PLMN for a given geographic region is listed first.
Regarding claim 9, Jiang in view of Zhou teaches all the limitations above except
said at least one network PLMN identifier is accompanied by an indication of an access technology of the network identified by the network PLMN identifier.
However, the preceding limitation is known in the art of communications. Gonzalez teaches the entries on the list include at least a place or geographic region identifier known as a mobile country code (MCC) and a wireless network identifier known as a mobile network code (MNC). The two identifiers taken together, MCC:MNC, are referred to as identifying a public land mobile network (PLMN). A given PLMN will often support more than one RAT ([0006], [0026]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to tone of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the invention, to have implemented the technique of Gonzalez within the system of Jiang in view of Zhou in order to assist a user of a wireless device that is roaming by providing a PLMN list based on a roaming plan associated with the device.
Regarding claim 10, Jiang in view of Zhou further in view of Conzalez teaches all the limitations above. Jiang further teaches said at least one PLMN network identifier is composed of the network's MCC (Mobile Country Code) and MNC (Mobile Network Code) codes (i.e., obtaining, by means of screening, at least one network that matches the MCC from the preferential roaming list, to generate an available preferential roaming list [0018]-[0020]).
Regarding claim 12, Jiang in view of Zhou teaches all the limitations above except the list takes the form of a table comprising at least one network PLMN (Public Land Mobile Network) identifier.
However, the preceding limitation is known in the art of communications. Gonzalez teaches the PLMN list is based on three categories of priority which can be thought of as buckets. For example, the wireless carrier can generally place PLMN identifiers into one of three buckets: i) an unlimited bucket, ii) a metered bucket, and iii) a qualifying bucket ([0011]); the PLMN list is stored in the wireless device ([0045]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to tone of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the invention, to have implemented the technique of Gonzalez within the system Jiang in view of Zhou in order to assist a user of a wireless device that is roaming by providing a PLMN list based on a roaming plan associated with the device.
Regarding claim 13, Jiang in view of Zhou teaches all the limitations above except said at least one network PLMN identifier is accompanied by a weighting coefficient representing a priority relative to other network PLMN identifiers of the list.
However, the preceding limitation is known in the art of communications. Gonzalez teaches When the wireless device 111 reads the PLMN list, for example, the array called “plmn-priority-list” in Table 4, PLMNs from the unlimited object such as “310ANY” and “311ANY” are preferred over PLMNs in the metered object and PLMNs in the others_preferred object (corresponding to the bucket also referred to as “qualifying” herein). 310 and 311 are MCC values that occur in the United States. The PLMNs 21401, 21406, and 21409 have the same priority (priority 1), same wireless carrier (although not evident from the MNC values 01, 06, and 09) and are preferred over other remaining PLMNs under 214ANY (priority 2) ([0062]-[0063], [0066]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to tone of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the invention, to have implemented the technique of Gonzalez within the system of Jiang in view of Zhou in order to assign a priority value to assign PLMN identified in the PLMN list, wherein the highest priority PLMN for a given geographic region is listed first.
Regarding claim 14, Jiang in view of Zhou teaches all the limitations above except said at least one network PLMN identifier is accompanied by an indication of an access technology of the network identified by the network PLMN identifier.
However, the preceding limitation is known in the art of communications. Gonzalez teaches the entries on the list include at least a place or geographic region identifier known as a mobile country code (MCC) and a wireless network identifier known as a mobile network code (MNC). The two identifiers taken together, MCC:MNC, are referred to as identifying a public land mobile network (PLMN). A given PLMN will often support more than one RAT ([0006], [0026]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to tone of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the invention, to have implemented the technique of Gonzalez within the system of Jiang in view of Zhou in order to assist a user of a wireless device that is roaming by providing a PLMN list based on a roaming plan associated with the device.
Regarding claim 15, Jiang in view of Zhou further in view of Conzalez teaches all the limitations above. Jiang further teaches said at least one PLMN network identifier is composed of the network's MCC (Mobile Country Code) and MNC (Mobile Network Code) codes (i.e., obtaining, by means of screening, at least one network that matches the MCC from the preferential roaming list, to generate an available preferential roaming list [0018]-[0020]).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-15 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-15 of U.S. Patent No. 12,082103. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the subject matter claimed in the instant application is fully disclosed in the patent and is covered by the patent since the patent and the application are claiming common subject matter, as follows:
Application 18/781134
Patent 12,082,103
1. A method for connecting a mobile terminal to a network when said mobile terminal is in a visited area beyond a range of its home network, comprising the following acts, performed by said mobile terminal: sending a request to connect the mobile terminal to a first network in said visited area, termed first visited network, responsive to said request to connect, receiving a response message from said first visited network, wherein said response message comprises a list of at least one network, ranked in order of priority, and disconnecting the terminal from the first visited network and connecting the terminal to a second visited network, ranked in the list as having a higher priority than said first visited network.
1. A connection method comprising: connecting a terminal beyond a range of the terminal's home network to a network in a plurality of networks in a visited area, termed visited networks, the connecting comprising the following acts performed by the terminal: sending to a first visited network of the plurality of networks a request to connect the terminal to the first visited network, receiving from the first visited network a response to the request to connect the terminal to the first visited network, the response comprising a list of at least one identifier of a network of the plurality of networks, to which the terminal must connect by priority, without sending a request for the list, and disconnecting the terminal from the first visited network and connecting the terminal to a second visited network identified in the list.
2. The connection method as claimed in claim 1, wherein the list takes the form of a table comprising at least one network PLMN (Public Land Mobile Network) identifier.
2. The connection method as claimed in claim 1, wherein the list takes the form of a table comprising at least one network PLMN (Public Land Mobile Network) identifier.
3. The connection method as claimed in claim 2, wherein said at least one network PLMN identifier is accompanied by a weighting coefficient representing a priority relative to other network PLMN identifiers of the list.
3. The connection method as claimed in claim 2, wherein said at least one network PLMN identifier is accompanied by a weighting coefficient representing a priority relative to other network PLMN identifiers of the list.
4. The connection method as claimed in claim 2, wherein said at least one network PLMN identifier is accompanied by an indication of an access technology of the network identified by the network PLMN identifier.
4. The connection method as claimed in claim 2, wherein said at least one network PLMN identifier is accompanied by an indication of an access technology of the network identified by the network PLMN identifier.
5. The connection method as claimed in claim 2, wherein said at least one PLMN network identifier is composed of the network's MCC (Mobile Country Code) and MNC (Mobile Network Code) codes.
5. The connection method as claimed in claim 2, wherein said at least one PLMN network identifier is composed of the network's MCC (Mobile Country Code) and MNC (Mobile Network Code) codes
6. A device comprising: a sender configured to send a request to connect a mobile terminal to a first network in a visited area beyond a range of its home network, termed first visited network, a receiver configured to receive, in response to said request to connect, a response message from said first visited network, the response message comprising a list of at least one network, ranked in order of priority, and a processor configured to disconnect the terminal from the first visited network and connect the terminal to a second visited network, ranked in the list as having a higher priority than said first visited network
6. A device comprising: a sender configured to send a request to connect a terminal, beyond a range of the terminal's home network, to a first visited network of a plurality of networks in a visited area, termed visited networks, a receiver configured to receive from the first visited network a response to the request to connect the terminal to the first visited network, the response comprising a list of at least one identifier of a network of the plurality of networks, to which the terminal must connect by priority, without sending a request for the list, and a processor configured to disconnect the terminal from the first visited network and connect the terminal to a second network identified in the list.
7. The device as claimed in claim 6, wherein the list takes the form of a table comprising at least one network PLMN (Public Land Mobile Network) identifier.
7. The device as claimed in claim 6, wherein the list takes the form of a table comprising at least one network PLMN (Public Land Mobile Network) identifier.
8. The device as claimed in claim 7, wherein said at least one network PLMN identifier is accompanied by a weighting coefficient representing a priority relative to other network PLMN identifiers of the list.
8. The device as claimed in claim 7, wherein said at least one network PLMN identifier is accompanied by a weighting coefficient representing a priority relative to other network PLMN identifiers of the list.
9. The device as claimed in claim 7, wherein said at least one network PLMN identifier is accompanied by an indication of an access technology of the network identified by the network PLMN identifier.
9. The device as claimed in claim 7, wherein said at least one network PLMN identifier is accompanied by an indication of an access technology of the network identified by the network PLMN identifier.
10. The device as claimed in claim 7, wherein said at least one PLMN network identifier is composed of the network's MCC (Mobile Country Code) and MNC (Mobile Network Code) codes.
10. The device as claimed in claim 7, wherein said at least one PLMN network identifier is composed of the network's MCC (Mobile Country Code) and MNC (Mobile Network Code) codes.
11. A non-transitory computer-readable medium comprising a computer program stored thereon, comprising instructions for implementing a method of connecting a mobile terminal to a network when said mobile terminal is in a visited area beyond a range of its home network, when this program is executed by a processor of the terminal, wherein the instructions configure the mobile terminal to perform acts comprising: sending a request to connect the mobile terminal to a first network in a visited area beyond a range of its home network, termed first visited network, responsive to said request to connect, receiving a response message from said first visited network, wherein said response message comprises a list of at least one network, ranked in order of priority, and, and disconnecting the terminal from the first visited network and connecting the terminal to a second visited network, ranked in the list as having a higher priority than said first visited network.
11. A non-transitory computer-readable medium comprising a computer program stored thereon, comprising instructions for implementing a method of connecting a terminal, beyond a range of the terminal's home network, to a network in a plurality of networks in a visited area, termed visited networks, when this program is executed by a processor of the terminal, wherein the instructions configure the terminal to perform acts comprising: sending to a first visited network of the plurality of networks a request to connect the terminal to the first visited network, receiving from the first visited network a response to the request to connect the terminal to the first visited network, the response comprising a list of at least one identifier of a network of the plurality of networks to which the terminal must connect by priority, without sending a request for the list, and disconnecting the terminal from the first visited network and connecting the terminal to a second visited network identified in the list.
12. The non-transitory computer-readable medium as claimed in claim 11, wherein the list takes the form of a table comprising at least one network PLMN (Public Land Mobile Network) identifier.
12. The non-transitory computer-readable medium as claimed in claim 11, wherein the list takes the form of a table comprising at least one network PLMN (Public Land Mobile Network) identifier.
13. The non-transitory computer-readable medium as claimed in claim 12, wherein said at least one network PLMN identifier is accompanied by a weighting coefficient representing a priority relative to other network PLMN identifiers of the list.
13. The non-transitory computer-readable medium as claimed in claim 12, wherein said at least one network PLMN identifier is accompanied by a weighting coefficient representing a priority relative to other network PLMN identifiers of the list.
14. The non-transitory computer-readable medium as claimed in claim 12, wherein said at least one network PLMN identifier is accompanied by an indication of an access technology of the network identified by the network PLMN identifier.
14. The non-transitory computer-readable medium as claimed in claim 12, wherein said at least one network PLMN identifier is accompanied by an indication of an access technology of the network identified by the network PLMN identifier.
15. The non-transitory computer-readable medium as claimed in claim 12, wherein said at least one PLMN network identifier is composed of the network's MCC (Mobile Country Code) and MNC (Mobile Network Code) codes.
15. The non-transitory computer-readable medium as claimed in claim 12, wherein said at least one PLMN network identifier is composed of the network's MCC (Mobile Country Code) and MNC (Mobile Network Code) codes.
Claims 1, 6, and 11 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 6, and 11 of US 11,722,956 and claims 1, 5, and 11 of U.S. Patent No. 11343751. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the subject matter claimed in the instant application is fully disclosed in the patent and is covered by the patent since the patent and the application are claiming common subject matter, as follows:
US 18/7811341
Us 11,722,956
1. A method for connecting a mobile terminal to a network when said mobile terminal is in a visited area beyond a range of its home network, comprising the following acts, performed by said mobile terminal: sending a request to connect the mobile terminal to a first network in said visited area, termed first visited network, responsive to said request to connect, receiving a response message from said first visited network, wherein said response message comprises a list of at least one network, ranked in order of priority, and disconnecting the terminal from the first visited network and connecting the terminal to a second visited network, ranked in the list as having a higher priority than said first visited network.
1. A connection method comprising: connecting a terminal beyond a range of the terminal's home network and in a range of a plurality of networks in a visited area, termed visited networks, the connecting comprising the following acts performed by the terminal: sending to a first visited network of the plurality of networks a request to connect the terminal to the first visited network, receiving from the first visited network a response to the request to connect the terminal to the first visited network, the response comprising a list of at least one network of the plurality of networks, to which the terminal must connect by priority, without sending a request for the list, and disconnecting the terminal from the first visited network and connecting the terminal to a second visited network of the list.
6. A device comprising: a sender configured to send a request to connect a mobile terminal to a first network in a visited area beyond a range of its home network, termed first visited network, a receiver configured to receive, in response to said request to connect, a response message from said first visited network, the response message comprising a list of at least one network, ranked in order of priority, and a processor configured to disconnect the terminal from the first visited network and connect the terminal to a second visited network, ranked in the list as having a higher priority than said first visited network.
6. A device comprising: a sender configured to send a request to connect a terminal beyond a range of the terminal's home network and in a range of a plurality of networks in a visited area, to a network of the plurality of networks, termed first visited network, a receiver configured to receive from the first visited network a response to the request to connect the terminal to the first visited network, the response comprising a list of at least one priority network of the plurality of networks, to which the terminal must connect by priority, without sending a request for the list, and a processor configured to disconnect the terminal from the first visited network and connect the terminal to a second network of the list.
11. A non-transitory computer-readable medium comprising a computer program stored thereon, comprising instructions for implementing a method of connecting a mobile terminal to a network when said mobile terminal is in a visited area beyond a range of its home network, when this program is executed by a processor of the terminal, wherein the instructions configure the mobile terminal to perform acts comprising: sending a request to connect the mobile terminal to a first network in a visited area beyond a range of its home network, termed first visited network, responsive to said request to connect, receiving a response message from said first visited network, wherein said response message comprises a list of at least one network, ranked in order of priority, and, and disconnecting the terminal from the first visited network and connecting the terminal to a second visited network, ranked in the list as having a higher priority than said first visited network.
11. A non-transitory computer-readable medium comprising a computer program stored thereon, comprising instructions for implementing a method of connecting a terminal beyond a range of the terminal's home network and in a range of a plurality of networks in a visited area, termed visited networks, when this program is executed by a processor of the terminal, wherein the instructions configure the terminal to perform acts comprising: sending to a first visited network of the plurality of networks a request to connect the terminal to the first visited network, receiving from the first visited network a response to the request to connect the terminal to the first visited network, the response comprising a list of at least one network of the plurality of networks to which the terminal must connect by priority, without sending a request for the list, and disconnecting the terminal from the first visited network and connecting the terminal to a second visited network of the stored list.
US 18/323691
US 11,343,751
1. A method for connecting a mobile terminal to a network when said mobile terminal is in a visited area beyond a range of its home network, comprising the following acts, performed by said mobile terminal: sending a request to connect the mobile terminal to a first network in said visited area, termed first visited network, responsive to said request to connect, receiving a response message from said first visited network, wherein said response message comprises a list of at least one network, ranked in order of priority, and disconnecting the terminal from the first visited network and connecting the terminal to a second visited network, ranked in the list as having a higher priority than said first visited network.
1. A method comprising: connecting a terminal beyond a range of the terminal's home network and in a range of a plurality of networks in a visited area, to a network of the plurality of networks, termed a visited network, the connecting comprising the following acts performed by the terminal: sending to the visited network a request to connect the terminal to the visited network, receiving from the visited network a response to the request to connect the terminal to the visited network, the response comprising a list of at least one priority network of the plurality of networks, to which the terminal must connect by priority, without sending a request for the list, and disconnecting the terminal from the visited network and connecting the terminal to a priority network of the received list.
6. A device comprising: a sender configured to send a request to connect a mobile terminal to a first network in a visited area beyond a range of its home network, termed first visited network, a receiver configured to receive, in response to said request to connect, a response message from said first visited network, the response message comprising a list of at least one network, ranked in order of priority, and a processor configured to disconnect the terminal from the first visited network and connect the terminal to a second visited network, ranked in the list as having a higher priority than said first visited network.
10. A device comprising: a sender configured to send a request to connect a terminal a terminal beyond a range of the terminal's home network and in a range of a plurality of networks in a visited area, to a network of the plurality of networks, termed a visited network, a receiver configured to receive from the visited network a response to the request to connect the terminal to the visited network, the response comprising a list of at least one priority network of the plurality of networks, to which the terminal must connect by priority, without sending a request for the list, and a processor configured to disconnect the terminal from the visited network and connect the terminal to a priority network of the received list.
11. A non-transitory computer-readable medium comprising a computer program stored thereon, comprising instructions for implementing a method of connecting a mobile terminal to a network when said mobile terminal is in a visited area beyond a range of its home network, when this program is executed by a processor of the terminal, wherein the instructions configure the mobile terminal to perform acts comprising: sending a request to connect the mobile terminal to a first network in a visited area beyond a range of its home network, termed first visited network, responsive to said request to connect, receiving a response message from said first visited network, wherein said response message comprises a list of at least one network, ranked in order of priority, and, and disconnecting the terminal from the first visited network and connecting the terminal to a second visited network, ranked in the list as having a higher priority than said first visited network.
14. A non-transitory computer-readable medium comprising a computer program stored thereon, comprising instructions for implementing a method of connecting a terminal, when this program is executed by a processor of the terminal, wherein the instructions configure the terminal to perform acts comprising: sending to the visited network a request to connect the terminal beyond a range of the terminal's home network and in a range of a plurality of networks in a visited area, to a network of the plurality of networks, termed a visited network, receiving from the visited network a response to the request to connect the terminal to the visited network, the response comprising a list of at least one priority network of the plurality of networks to which the terminal must connect by priority, without sending a request for the list, and disconnecting the terminal from the visited network and connecting the terminal to a priority network of the received list.
Claims 2-5, 7-10, and 12-15 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 6, 11 of U.S. Patent No.11,722,956 and 1, 5, and 10 of U.S. Patent No. 11,343,751 in view of Gonzalez et al. (US 2017/0353851).
Regarding claim 2, U.S. Pats. (956 & 751) disclose all claims limitations except the list takes the form of a table comprising at least one network PLMN (Public Land Mobile Network) identifier.
However, the preceding limitation is known in the art of communications. Gonzalez teaches the PLMN list is based on three categories of priority which can be thought of as buckets. For example, the wireless carrier can generally place PLMN identifiers into one of three buckets: i) an unlimited bucket, ii) a metered bucket, and iii) a qualifying bucket ([0011]); the PLMN list is stored in the wireless device ([0045]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to tone of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the invention, to have implemented the technique of Gonzalez within the system of U.S. Pats. (956 & 751) in order to assist a user of a wireless device that is roaming by providing a PLMN list based on a roaming plan associated with the device.
Regarding claim 3, U.S. Pats. (956 & 751) disclose all claims limitations except said at least one network PLMN identifier is accompanied by a weighting coefficient representing a priority relative to other network PLMN identifiers of the list.
However, the preceding limitation is known in the art of communications. Gonzalez teaches When the wireless device 111 reads the PLMN list, for example, the array called “plmn-priority-list” in Table 4, PLMNs from the unlimited object such as “310ANY” and “311ANY” are preferred over PLMNs in the metered object and PLMNs in the others_preferred object (corresponding to the bucket also referred to as “qualifying” herein). 310 and 311 are MCC values that occur in the United States. The PLMNs 21401, 21406, and 21409 have the same priority (priority 1), same wireless carrier (although not evident from the MNC values 01, 06, and 09) and are preferred over other remaining PLMNs under 214ANY (priority 2) ([0062]-[0063], [0066]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to tone of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the invention, to have implemented the technique of Gonzalez within the system of U.S. Pats. (956 & 751) in order to assign a priority value to assign PLMN identified in the PLMN list, wherein the highest priority PLMN for a given geographic region is listed first.
Regarding claim 4, U.S. Pats. (956 & 751) disclose all claims limitations except
said at least one network PLMN identifier is accompanied by an indication of an access technology of the network identified by the network PLMN identifier.
However, the preceding limitation is known in the art of communications. Gonzalez teaches the entries on the list include at least a place or geographic region identifier known as a mobile country code (MCC) and a wireless network identifier known as a mobile network code (MNC). The two identifiers taken together, MCC:MNC, are referred to as identifying a public land mobile network (PLMN). A given PLMN will often support more than one RAT ([0006], [0026]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to tone of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the invention, to have implemented the technique of Gonzalez within the system of U.S. Pats. (956 & 751) in order to assist a user of a wireless device that is roaming by providing a PLMN list based on a roaming plan associated with the device.
Regarding claim 5, U.S. Pats. (956 & 751) disclose all claims limitations except wherein said at least one PLMN network identifier is composed of the network's MCC (Mobile Country Code) and MNC (Mobile Network Code) codes.
However, the preceding limitation is known in the art of communications. Gonzalez teaches the entries on the list include at least a place or geographic region identifier known as a mobile country code (MCC) and a wireless network identifier known as a mobile network code (MNC). The two identifiers taken together, MCC:MNC, are referred to as identifying a public land mobile network (PLMN One PLMN identifier consists of two values taken together: MCC and MNC Corresponding to the unlimited bucket, if represented, an array will be given for one or more MCC values ([0006], [0026]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to tone of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the invention, to have implemented the technique of Gonzalez within the system of U.S. Pats. (956 & 751) in order to identify the geographic footprint and the wireless network identifiers.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Singh (US 2018/0124252) teaches the UE 101 may disconnect from the first data connection path 280, connect to the second data connection path 290, and send updated connection information to the calling service 270. The updated connection information may indicate a second visited network or a second access type. The UE 101 may continue the placed call with a second calling rate through the second data connection path 290 using the calling service 270, wherein the second calling rate is based on the updated connection information ([0055])
/JEAN A GELIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2643