DETAILED ACTION
Nucleotide and/or Amino Acid Sequence Disclosures
Summary of Requirements for Patent Applications Filed On Or After July 1, 2022, That Have Sequence Disclosures
37 CFR 1.831(a) requires that patent applications which contain disclosures of nucleotide and/or amino acid sequences that fall within the definitions of 37 CFR 1.831(b) must contain a “Sequence Listing XML”, as a separate part of the disclosure, which presents the nucleotide and/or amino acid sequences and associated information using the symbols and format in accordance with the requirements of 37 CFR 1.831-1.835. This “Sequence Listing XML” part of the disclosure may be submitted:
1. In accordance with 37 CFR 1.831(a) using the symbols and format requirements of 37 CFR 1.832 through 1.834 via the USPTO patent electronic filing system (see Section I.1 of the Legal Framework for Patent Electronic System (https://www.uspto.gov/PatentLegalFramework), hereinafter “Legal Framework”) in XML format, together with an incorporation by reference statement of the material in the XML file in a separate paragraph of the specification (an incorporation by reference paragraph) as required by 37 CFR 1.835(a)(2) or 1.835(b)(2) identifying:
a. the name of the XML file
b. the date of creation; and
c. the size of the XML file in bytes; or
2. In accordance with 37 CFR 1.831(a) using the symbols and format requirements of 37 CFR 1.832 through 1.834 on read-only optical disc(s) as permitted by 37 CFR 1.52(e)(1)(ii), labeled according to 37 CFR 1.52(e)(5), with an incorporation by reference statement of the material in the XML format according to 37 CFR 1.52(e)(8) and 37 CFR 1.835(a)(2) or 1.835(b)(2) in a separate paragraph of the specification identifying:
a. the name of the XML file;
b. the date of creation; and
c. the size of the XML file in bytes.
SPECIFIC DEFICIENCIES AND THE REQUIRED RESPONSE TO THIS NOTICE ARE AS FOLLOWS:
Specific deficiency - This application fails to comply with the requirements of 37 CFR 1.831-1.834 because it does not contain a “Sequence Listing XML” as a separate part of the disclosure. A “Sequence Listing XML” is required because the specification at page 38 discloses three (3) nucleotide sequences.
Required response - Applicant must provide:
• A “Sequence Listing XML” part of the disclosure, as described above in item 1. or 2.; together with
o A statement that indicates the basis for the amendment, with specific references to particular parts of the application as originally filed, as required by 37 CFR 1.835(a)(3);
o A statement that the “Sequence Listing XML” includes no new matter as required by 37 CFR 1.835(a)(4)
AND
• A substitute specification in compliance with 37 CFR 1.52, 1.121(b)(3), and 1.125 inserting the required incorporation by reference paragraph as required by 37 CFR 1.835(a)(2), consisting of:
o A copy of the previously-submitted specification, with deletions shown with strikethrough or brackets and insertions shown with underlining (marked-up version);
o A copy of the amended specification without markings (clean version); and
o A statement that the substitute specification contains no new matter.
Specific deficiency - Sequences appearing in the specification are not identified by sequence identifiers (i.e., “SEQ ID NO:X” or the like) in accordance with 37 CFR 1.831(c).
Required response – Applicant must provide:
A substitute specification in compliance with 37 CFR 1.52, 1.121(b)(3), and 1.125 inserting the required sequence identifiers, consisting of:
• A copy of the previously-submitted specification, with deletions shown with strikethrough or brackets and insertions shown with underlining (marked-up version);
• A copy of the amended specification without markings (clean version); and
• A statement that the substitute specification contains no new matter.
Claim Objections
Claim 16 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 16 recites the language “any claim 1”. It would appear that “any” should be deleted. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Voskuhl, Rhonda (US11628146B2, 2023-04-18) in view of Hoffman et al. (Neuron. 2016; 89(4):725-733).
Voskuhl teach a method of slowing or halting progression of disability in a neurodegenerative disease, comprising administering to a patient an effective amount of an estrogen receptor beta ligand of formula I (Column 14, lines 3-6) . With regards to the compound of formula I, the US Patent teaches that compound of formula I has the structure:
which is identical to non-steroidal selective estrogen receptor beta agonist recited in claim 4 of the instant application (Column 2, lines 43-55).
The US patent does not teach administering an estrogen receptor beta ligand of Formula I to a patient suffering from autism.
Hoffman et al. teach that homozygous loss-of-function mutations in Contactin Associated Protein-like 2 (CNTNAP2) are strongly linked to ASD, wherein high-throughput behavioral profiling identified nighttime hyperactivity in cntnap2 mutants (page 2, Summary). Hoffman et al. further teach that biochanin A, a plant-derived estrogen and b-estradiol 17-cypionate most strongly reverse the mutant behavioral phenotype, wherein the behavioral response of cntnap2ab larvae treated with biochanin A decreased nighttime activity with little effect on other measures of rest and activity (page 5, 3rd full paragraph).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention, to modify the method taught by Voskuhl to include treating a patient with autism in view of the teachings of Hoffman et al. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a substitution, with a reasonable expectation of success, because:
-Hoffman et al. teach that estrogen receptor agonists elicit a behavioral fingerprint anti-correlative to that of cntnap2 mutants.
Conclusion
Claims 1 and 3-20 appear to be free of the prior art and are allowable. The closest prior art is considered to be Voskuhl, Rhonda (US11628146B2, 2023-04-18) as described above. Thus, while the prior art teaches treating neurodegenerative disorders, the prior art does not teach or suggest treating a neurodevelopmental disorder, specifically Angelman syndrome, with an estrogen receptor beta agonist.
BRANDON J. FETTEROLF, PHD
Primary Patent Examiner
Art Unit 1626
/BRANDON J FETTEROLF/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1626