DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a stage driving mechanism” in claims 1 and 19.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “airflow generator on the stage” as recited in claims 11 and 18 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 11-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, because the specification, while being enabling for “a stage in the first process space, the stage configured to support a substrate . . . an airflow generator above the stage,” does not reasonably provide enablement for “a stage in the first process space, the stage configured to support a substrate . . . an airflow generator on the stage.” The specification does not enable any person skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and use the invention commensurate in scope with these claims. The figures and specification do not appear to depict or discuss the claimed configuration. The level of direction provided is insufficient to teach a person skilled in the art how to provide the airflow generator on the stage without it interfering with the cleaning nozzle arm (5) and cleaning nozzle (51) and/or the wafer (W). The lack of disclosure would result in undue experimentation required for a person skilled in the art to modify the disclosed designs to be as claimed, since it would require a reengineering of large portions of the apparatus. These factors support a conclusion that there the specification does not enable any person skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and use the invention commensurate in scope with these claims.
Claims 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 18 recites the limitation "the rotating air current" in lines 7-8. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 5, and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sanada et al. (US 2008/0022928).
Regarding claim 1, Sanada discloses a substrate processing apparatus, comprising: a first process chamber including a first process space (1); a stage in the first process space, the stage being configured to support a substrate (21); a stage driving mechanism configured to drive the stage to rotate about a first axis (22); a cleaning nozzle arm configured to supply a cleaning solution onto the stage (50, 51, 52); a gas supply unit configured to provide an inert gas to the first process space (4; paragraph 108); and an airflow generator between the stage and the gas supply unit, the airflow generator being configured to generate a spiral-shaped rotating air current (FFU, and 1a; paragraph 63).
Note that performing cleaning and supplying a cleaning solution is intended use of the claimed apparatus and capable of being met by the apparatus of Sanada. The claimed intended use must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art.
Regarding claims 3, 5, and 6, Sanada discloses wherein the airflow generator includes a showerhead configured to provide a gas hole through which the inert gas passes (upper portion of 1 and 1a); wherein the gas supply unit is configured to supply one of nitrogen (N2), argon (Ar), and helium (He) on the airflow generator (paragraph 63); wherein the gas hole extends obliquely, and the first axis and a second axis intersect each other, the second axis being parallel to an extending direction of the gas hole (see rotation axis of 21, and note that the holes 1a extend in three dimensions and can have any arbitrary second axis).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chae et al. (KR 2023-0126938), in view of Sanada et al. (US 2008/0022928), and further in view of KR 100497201 (hereafter, “KR ‘201”).
Regarding claim 1, Chae discloses a substrate processing apparatus, comprising: a first process chamber including a first process space (100); a stage in the first process space, the stage being configured to support a substrate (410); a stage driving mechanism configured to drive the stage to rotate about a first axis (450); a cleaning nozzle arm configured to supply a cleaning solution onto the stage (500); a gas supply unit configured to provide a gas to the first process space (200); and an airflow generator between the stage and the gas supply unit (300).
Chae does not expressly disclose the gas supply unit is configured to provide an inert gas.
Sanada discloses a substrate processing apparatus having a fan filter unit (FFU) to generate an air current, and may use an inert gas such as nitrogen gas (paragraphs 52, 53, 108).
Because it is known in the art to provide an inert gas such as nitrogen, and the results of the modification would be predictable, namely, providing a nonreactive gas, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have wherein the gas supply unit is configured to provide an inert gas.
Chae does not expressly disclose the airflow generator being configured to generate a spiral-shaped rotating air current.
Sanada discloses a substrate processing apparatus wherein a spiral/twister shaped air current is generated to remove the turbulent flow generated by friction between an atmosphere and a rotating substrate, preventing particles from adhering on the substrate (paragraphs 15-17, 74-77). KR ‘201 discloses a gas distributer for processing a semiconductor device with gas having a spiral motion, having a gas distribution plate (44) with gas distribution holes (H’) with inlet ends (H’1) and outlet ends (H’2) displaced to be obliquely arranged and disposed on concentric circles, or with the outlet ends (H’2) located slightly out of the concentric circles (CL; see Figure 4; translation, page 4, paragraph 6 – page 5, paragraph 1).
Because it is known in the art to provide a spiral gas motion, as taught by Sanada, and to generate a spiral gas motion using a distribution plate, as taught by KR ‘201, and the results of the modification would be predictable, namely, providing a gas with spiral motion to reduce particle adherence to the substrate, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have wherein the airflow generator being configured to generate a spiral-shaped rotating air current.
Claims 2-3 are considered to be met by modified Chae as applied above and which results in: wherein the airflow generator includes a rotatable propeller (320; translation, paragraph bridging pages 4 and 5); wherein the airflow generator includes a showerhead configured to provide a gas hole through which the inert gas passes (Chae: 340, 341; KR ‘201: H’).
Claim(s) 7-8, and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chae et al. (KR 2023-0126938), in view of Sanada et al. (US 2008/0022928), in view of KR 100497201 (hereafter, “KR ‘201”), and further in view of Miyagawa et al. (JP 2022-70067).
Regarding claim 7, modified Chae is relied upon as above, and is interpreted as having a second process chamber (Chae: 100), wherein the second process chamber is configured to provide a second process space (Chae: interior of 100), wherein the stage, the cleaning nozzle arm, and the airflow generator are in the second process space (Chae: 410, 520, 300).
Chae does not expressly disclose the second process chamber in the first process chamber.
Miyagawa discloses a substrate processing device, including a processing block (Figures 1-3: 3; note walls of processing block) and processing chambers (61) located inside the processing block.
Because it is known in the art to provide processing chambers inside a processing block, and the results of the modification would be predictable, namely, providing a known arrangement of plural processing chambers, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the second process chamber in the first process chamber.
Chae does not expressly disclose wherein the gas supply unit is on the second process chamber; however, this limitation is considered to be a mere rearrangement of parts. Absent unexpected results or persuasive secondary considerations, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to rearrange the location of the gas supply unit to be on the second process chamber, and the results would be predictable. MPEP 2144.04(VI)(C) – Rearrangement of Parts.
Claims 8 and 10 are considered to be met by modified Chae as relied upon as above and which results in: wherein the airflow generator includes a showerhead connected to a lateral surface of the second process chamber (Chae: 300, 340, 1000); wherein the showerhead is configured to provide a gas hole having one of arc, helical, and wavy shapes, each of which is configured to allow the inert gas to have spiral-shaped fluidity, the gas supply unit configured to supply the inert gas (KR ‘201: Figure 4, see arc/circle shape distribution holes).
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chae et al. (KR 2023-0126938), in view of Sanada et al. (US 2008/0022928), in view of KR 100497201 (hereafter, “KR ‘201”), in view of Miyagawa et al. (JP 2022-70067), and further in view of Kisakibaru et al. (US 2019/0206704).
Regarding claim 9, modified Chae is relied upon as above and further discloses wherein the airflow generator includes: a propeller on the showerhead (320, 310/340), but does not expressly disclose a rotary motor configured to rotate the propeller or the showerhead.
Kisakibaru discloses an apparatus for manufacturing semiconductors including a fan and filter unit (20) with a fan (24) rotated by a driving motor (22).
Because it is known in the art to provide a driving motor, and the results of the modification would be predictable, namely, providing a known means of driving a fan, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a rotary motor configured to rotate the propeller or the showerhead.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 4 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art does not disclose, or render obvious, a substrate processing apparatus as defined by the combination of claims 1, 2, and 4. There is no apparent teaching, suggestion, or motivation to modify the closest prior art, Chae et al. (KR 2023-0126938), to further include wherein the airflow generator is rotatable, and the airflow generator includes a magnetic levitation motor configured to generate a magnetic force that is configured to cause the propeller to float in the first process space.
Conclusion
DAVID G. CORMIER
Examiner
Art Unit 1711
/DAVID G CORMIER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1711