DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
This Office Action is responsive to the amendment filed 5/21/2026. Claims 1-20 are pending. Claims 1, 4, 11, 15, and 18 have been amended.
The objection to the drawings is withdrawn in response to Applicant’s amendments.
The rejection of claims 11-20 under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, for lacking enablement is withdrawn in response to Applicant’s amendments.
The rejection of claims 18-20 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, is withdrawn in response to Applicant’s amendments.
The rejection of claim(s) 1, 3, 5, and 6 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sanada et al. (US 2008/0022928) is withdrawn in response to Applicant’s amendments.
The rejection of claim(s) 1-3 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chae et al. (KR 2023-0126938), in view of Sanada et al. (US 2008/0022928), and further in view of KR 100497201 (hereafter, “KR ‘201”), is withdrawn in response to Applicant’s amendments. Accordingly, the rejections of claim(s) 7-10 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over combinations of Chae et al. (KR 2023-0126938), Sanada et al. (US 2008/0022928), KR 100497201 (hereafter, “KR ‘201”), Miyagawa et al. (JP 2022-70067), and Kisakibaru et al. (US 2019/0206704) are also withdrawn.
In response to Applicant’s amendments, new ground(s) of rejection are applied below.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a stage driving mechanism” in claims 1 and 19.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 5, and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sanada et al. (US 2008/0022928) in view of Miyagawa et al. (JP 2022-70067).
Regarding claim 1, Sanada discloses a substrate processing apparatus, comprising: a first process chamber including a first process space (1); a stage in the first process space, the stage being configured to support a substrate (21); a stage driving mechanism configured to drive the stage to rotate about a first axis (22); a cleaning nozzle arm configured to supply a cleaning solution onto the stage (50, 51, 52); a gas supply unit configured to provide an inert gas to the first process space (4; paragraph 108); and an airflow generator between the stage and the gas supply unit, the airflow generator being configured to generate a spiral-shaped rotating air current (FFU, and 1a; paragraph 63).
Sanada does not expressly disclose wherein at least a portion of the airflow generator is configured to utilize a magnetic force to float in the first process space.
Miyagawa discloses a substrate processing device, including a processing unit (Figure 7: 6) and an electric fan for adjusting a gas flow may be provided in a flow path, wherein the fan is a magnetic levitation fan or the like (machine translation, page 17, paragraph 4).
Because it is known in the art to provide a magnetic levitation electric fan, and the results of the modification would be predictable, namely, providing a known device for a known purpose, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have wherein at least a portion of the airflow generator is configured to utilize a magnetic force to float in the first process space.
Note that performing cleaning and supplying a cleaning solution is intended use of the claimed apparatus and capable of being met by the apparatus of modified Sanada. The claimed intended use must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art.
Regarding claims 3, 5, and 6, modified Sanada discloses wherein the airflow generator includes a showerhead configured to provide a gas hole through which the inert gas passes (Sanada: upper portion of 1 and 1a); wherein the gas supply unit is configured to supply one of nitrogen (N2), argon (Ar), and helium (He) on the airflow generator (Sanada: paragraph 63); wherein the gas hole extends obliquely, and the first axis and a second axis intersect each other, the second axis being parallel to an extending direction of the gas hole (Sanada: see rotation axis of 21, and note that the holes 1a extend in three dimensions and can have any arbitrary second axis).
Claim(s) 1-3, and 7-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chae et al. (KR 2023-0126938), in view of Sanada et al. (US 2008/0022928), in view of KR 100497201 (hereafter, “KR ‘201”), and further in view of Miyagawa et al. (JP 2022-70067).
Regarding claim 1, Chae discloses a substrate processing apparatus, comprising: a first process chamber including a first process space (100); a stage in the first process space, the stage being configured to support a substrate (410); a stage driving mechanism configured to drive the stage to rotate about a first axis (450); a cleaning nozzle arm configured to supply a cleaning solution onto the stage (500); a gas supply unit configured to provide a gas to the first process space (200); and an airflow generator between the stage and the gas supply unit (300).
Chae does not expressly disclose the gas supply unit is configured to provide an inert gas.
Sanada discloses a substrate processing apparatus having a fan filter unit (FFU) to generate an air current, and may use an inert gas such as nitrogen gas (paragraphs 52, 53, 108).
Because it is known in the art to provide an inert gas such as nitrogen, and the results of the modification would be predictable, namely, providing a nonreactive gas, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have wherein the gas supply unit is configured to provide an inert gas.
Chae does not expressly disclose the airflow generator being configured to generate a spiral-shaped rotating air current.
Sanada discloses a substrate processing apparatus wherein a spiral/twister shaped air current is generated to remove the turbulent flow generated by friction between an atmosphere and a rotating substrate, preventing particles from adhering on the substrate (paragraphs 15-17, 74-77). KR ‘201 discloses a gas distributer for processing a semiconductor device with gas having a spiral motion, having a gas distribution plate (44) with gas distribution holes (H’) with inlet ends (H’1) and outlet ends (H’2) displaced to be obliquely arranged and disposed on concentric circles, or with the outlet ends (H’2) located slightly out of the concentric circles (CL; see Figure 4; translation, page 4, paragraph 6 – page 5, paragraph 1).
Because it is known in the art to provide a spiral gas motion, as taught by Sanada, and to generate a spiral gas motion using a distribution plate, as taught by KR ‘201, and the results of the modification would be predictable, namely, providing a gas with spiral motion to reduce particle adherence to the substrate, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have wherein the airflow generator being configured to generate a spiral-shaped rotating air current.
Chae does not expressly disclose wherein at least a portion of the airflow generator is configured to utilize a magnetic force to float in the first process space.
Miyagawa discloses a substrate processing device, including a processing unit (Figure 7: 6) and an electric fan for adjusting a gas flow may be provided in a flow path, wherein the fan is a magnetic levitation fan or the like (machine translation, page 17, paragraph 4).
Because it is known in the art to provide a magnetic levitation electric fan, and the results of the modification would be predictable, namely, providing a known device for a known purpose, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have wherein at least a portion of the airflow generator is configured to utilize a magnetic force to float in the first process space.
Claims 2-3 are considered to be met by modified Chae as applied above and which results in: wherein the airflow generator includes a rotatable propeller (Chae: 320; translation, paragraph bridging pages 4 and 5); wherein the airflow generator includes a showerhead configured to provide a gas hole through which the inert gas passes (Chae: 340, 341; KR ‘201: H’).
Regarding claim 7, modified Chae is relied upon as above, and is interpreted as having a second process chamber (Chae: 100), wherein the second process chamber is configured to provide a second process space (Chae: interior of 100), wherein the stage, the cleaning nozzle arm, and the airflow generator are in the second process space (Chae: 410, 520, 300).
Chae does not expressly disclose the second process chamber in the first process chamber.
Miyagawa discloses a substrate processing device, including a processing block (Figures 1-3: 3; note walls of processing block) and processing chambers (61) located inside the processing block.
Because it is known in the art to provide processing chambers inside a processing block, and the results of the modification would be predictable, namely, providing a known arrangement of plural processing chambers, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the second process chamber in the first process chamber.
Chae does not expressly disclose wherein the gas supply unit is on the second process chamber; however, this limitation is considered to be a mere rearrangement of parts. Absent unexpected results or persuasive secondary considerations, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to rearrange the location of the gas supply unit to be on the second process chamber, and the results would be predictable. MPEP 2144.04(VI)(C) – Rearrangement of Parts.
Claims 8-10 are considered to be met by modified Chae as relied upon as above and which results in: wherein the airflow generator includes a showerhead connected to a lateral surface of the second process chamber (Chae: 300, 340, 1000); a propeller on the showerhead (Chae: 320, 310/340), a rotary motor configured to rotate the propeller or the showerhead (Miyagawa: machine translation, page 17, paragraph 4); wherein the showerhead is configured to provide a gas hole having one of arc, helical, and wavy shapes, each of which is configured to allow the inert gas to have spiral-shaped fluidity, the gas supply unit configured to supply the inert gas (KR ‘201: Figure 4, see arc/circle shape distribution holes).
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chae et al. (KR 2023-0126938), in view of Sanada et al. (US 2008/0022928), in view of KR 100497201 (hereafter, “KR ‘201”), in view of Miyagawa et al. (JP 2022-70067), and further in view of Matsuyama et al. (JP 2001-118790).
Regarding claim 4, modified Chae is relied upon as above and results in: the airflow generator includes a magnetic levitation motor configured to generate the magnetic force that is configured to cause the propeller to float in the first process space (Chae: 320; Miyagawa: machine translation, page 17, paragraph 4), but does not expressly disclose wherein the airflow generator is rotatable.
Matsuyama discloses a development device and substrate treater including a processing case (20), a filter unit (F), and a rectifying member (6) to enhance uniformity of flow (translation, page 6, paragraph 14). In an embodiment, the rectifying member (6) may comprise plates (162, 163) that are configured to rotate (Figure 13). The Examiner takes Official Notice that a rotary motor is well-known for rotating elements in the art.
Because it is known in the art to provide a rotating rectifying member, and the results of the modification would be predictable, namely, use of a known element for a known purpose, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have wherein the airflow generator is rotatable.
Claim(s) 11-12, 16, and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chae et al. (KR 2023-0126938), in view of Sanada et al. (US 2008/0022928), in view of KR 100497201 (hereafter, “KR ‘201”), and further in view of Matsuyama et al. (JP 2001-118790).
Regarding claim 11, Chae discloses a substrate processing apparatus, comprising: a first process chamber including a first process space (100); a stage in the first process space, the stage configured to support a substrate (410); a cleaning nozzle arm in the first process space and upwardly spaced apart from the stage (500); a gas supply unit configured to supply the first process space with gas (200); and an airflow generator between the stage and the gas supply unit, wherein the airflow generator includes a showerhead comprising a gas hole configured to uniformly spray the inert gas on the stage (300, 340).
Chae does not expressly disclose the gas supply unit is configured to supply the first process space with an inert gas.
Sanada discloses a substrate processing apparatus having a fan filter unit (FFU) to generate an air current, and may use an inert gas such as nitrogen gas (paragraphs 52, 53, 108).
Because it is known in the art to provide an inert gas such as nitrogen, and the results of the modification would be predictable, namely, providing a nonreactive gas, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have wherein the gas supply unit is configured to provide an inert gas.
Chae does not expressly disclose the airflow generator is configured to create a spiral-shaped rotating air current.
Sanada discloses a substrate processing apparatus wherein a spiral/twister shaped air current is generated to remove the turbulent flow generated by friction between an atmosphere and a rotating substrate, preventing particles from adhering on the substrate (paragraphs 15-17, 74-77). KR ‘201 discloses a gas distributer for processing a semiconductor device with gas having a spiral motion, having a gas distribution plate (44) with gas distribution holes (H’) with inlet ends (H’1) and outlet ends (H’2) displaced to be obliquely arranged and disposed on concentric circles, or with the outlet ends (H’2) located slightly out of the concentric circles (CL; see Figure 4; translation, page 4, paragraph 6 – page 5, paragraph 1).
Because it is known in the art to provide a spiral gas motion, as taught by Sanada, and to generate a spiral gas motion using a distribution plate, as taught by KR ‘201, and the results of the modification would be predictable, namely, providing a gas with spiral motion to reduce particle adherence to the substrate, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have wherein the airflow generator being configured to generate a spiral-shaped rotating air current.
Chae does not expressly disclose wherein the airflow generator includes a rotary motor configured to rotate the showerhead.
Matsuyama discloses a development device and substrate treater including a processing case (20), a filter unit (F), and a rectifying member (6) to enhance uniformity of flow (translation, page 6, paragraph 14). In an embodiment, the rectifying member (6) may comprise plates (162, 163) that are configured to rotate (Figure 13). The Examiner takes Official Notice that a rotary motor is well-known for rotating elements in the art.
Because it is known in the art to provide a rotating rectifying member, and use a rotary motor, and the results of the modification would be predictable, namely, use of a known element for a known purpose, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have wherein the airflow generator includes a rotary motor configured to rotate the showerhead.
Claims 12, 16, and 17 are considered to be met by modified Chae as applied above and which results in: wherein the gas hole has one of arc, helical, and wavy shapes (KR ‘201: H, H’ are round so have arc shapes); a second process chamber including a second process space (Chae: 100), wherein the stage, the cleaning nozzle arm, and the airflow generator are in the second process space (Chae: Figure 1: 100, 300, 400, 500), and wherein the second process space includes: a 2-1st process space defined by a top surface of the showerhead (top of 340); and a 2-2nd process space defined by a bottom surface of the showerhead (bottom of 340); wherein the gas supply unit is provided as part of a top surface of the second process chamber, the gas supply unit provides the inert gas to the 2-1st process space (Chae: 200, 340); and the stage and the cleaning nozzle arm are in the 2-2nd process space (see bottom of 340, 400, 500).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 13-15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 18-20 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art does not disclose, or render obvious, a substrate processing apparatus as defined by the combination of claims 11 and 13; the combination of claims 11 and 14; the combination of claims 11 and 15; or claim 18. There is no apparent teaching, suggestion, or motivation to modify the closest prior art, Chae et al. (KR 2023-0126938), to further include the claimed arrangements of the rotatable propeller, showerhead, and magnetic levitation motor.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
DAVID G. CORMIER
Examiner
Art Unit 1711
/DAVID G CORMIER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1711