DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-11 and 21-29 are pending in this action.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 11 and 29 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8 and 21-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baskaran et al. (WO-2023242800-A1) in view of Olsson et al. (WO-2024043812-A1) [hereinafter “Olsson”] in further view of Low (US PGPUB No. 2021/0241355).
As per claim 1, Baskaran teaches a method for use in a trust index aware repository function (TIARF), the method comprising: receiving, from a function entity service producer (FESP) ([0011], trust index for network producers in the form of network or application functions), a registration request ([0045], network registration acceptance and denial) (Examiner Note: Registration request inherently precedes an acceptance or denial.) including a trust index container (TIC) (Examiner Note: “TIC” is defined in the instant specification as any related information used to identify and perform trust evaluation including identifiers and service types. See Spec. [0133]-[0134].) ([0060], request message can include an NF ID or an AF ID which are used to identify and collect evaluation analytics data and make trustworthiness evaluation for an NF or AF see also [0056]-[0057]).
Baskaran does not explicitly teach identifying a trust management function (TMF) based on the TIC; transmitting, to the TMF, an authorization request indicative of registration of the FESP; receiving, from the TMF, a trust index value associated with the FESP; comparing the trust index value to a first trust index threshold; and transmitting, to the FESP, a registration response indicative of registration of the FESP if the trust index value is greater than the first trust index threshold. Olsson teaches identifying a trust management function (TMF) based on the TIC (Page 11 lines 11-14, Identifying a TMF based on the type of trust measurement algorithm using certain characteristics) also (Page 12 lines 20-22, identity of entities used to determine the trust level calculations) (Examiner Note: As stated above, “TIC” is interpreted to be any related information used to identify and perform a trust evaluation. See Spec. [0133]-[0134].); transmitting, to the TMF, an authorization request (Page 13 para. 13-16, transmitting to the TMF a request for a trust level used for authorization) (Examiner Note: Based on the next step in this claim, authorization is performed at the TMF. The TMF merely returns the trust index. So this “authorization request” is interpreted to be what is explicitly state, i.e. a request for the trust index). indicative of registration of the FESP (Examiner Note: Registration of the FESP is taught by Baskaran at [0045].); receiving, from the TMF, a trust index value associated with the FESP (Page 14 para. 6-8, trust score returned by TMF to network node); comparing the trust index value to a first trust index threshold (Page 17 lines 4-9, determining if trust score exceeds a threshold); and transmitting, to the FESP, a registration response indicative of registration of the FESP if the trust index value is greater than the first trust index threshold (Page 17 lines 10-14, connection request is accepted based on trust score evaluation) (Examiner Note: Registration of the FESP is taught by Baskaran at [0045].).
At the time of filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine Baskaran with the teachings of Olsson, identifying a trust management function (TMF) based on the TIC; transmitting, to the TMF, an authorization request indicative of registration of the FESP; receiving, from the TMF, a trust index value associated with the FESP; comparing the trust index value to a first trust index threshold; and transmitting, to the FESP, a registration response indicative of registration of the FESP if the trust index value is greater than the first trust index threshold, to find the correct evaluation method for a trust score based on measurement data and entity identifiers.
The combination of Baskaran and Olsson does not explicitly teach the registration request is indicative of requesting registration of the FESP with the TIARF, wherein the registration request includes a trust index container associated with the FESP. Low teaches the registration request is indicative of requesting registration of the FESP with the TIARF, wherein the registration request includes a trust index container associated with the FESP ([0039]-[0041], a service provider sends a trust artifact to be stored with the trust orchestrator so it can access resources and other services on the network).
At the time of filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine Baskaran and Olsson with the teachings of Low, the registration request is indicative of requesting registration of the FESP with the TIARF, wherein the registration request includes a trust index container associated with the FESP, to find the correct evaluation method for a trust score based on measurement data and entity identifiers.
As per claim 2, the combination of Baskaran, Olsson and Low teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the method is implemented by one or more of: a wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU) (Baskaran; [0027], various devices transmit and receive wireless communications in a wireless network), a function in a core network (CN) (Examiner Note: This is an optional feature. To expedite prosecution, potential citation provided.) (Baskaran; [0027], function in a core network), a function in an edge network (Examiner Note: This is an optional feature. To expedite prosecution, potential citation provided.) (Baskaran; [0047], edge application discovery function), a function in a radio access network (Examiner Note: This is an optional feature. To expedite prosecution, potential citation provided.) ([0027], functions are in a radio access network), an enhanced network repository function (NRF) in the CN (Examiner Note: This is an optional feature. To expedite prosecution, potential citation provided.) (Baskaran; [0047], analytic network repository function), or a server in a data network (Examiner Note: This is an optional feature. To expedite prosecution, potential citation provided.) (Baskaran; [0095], server in network transmitting software).
As per claim 3, the combination of Baskaran, Olsson and Low teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the trust index value is indicative of at least one of: an instantaneous trust index value (Olsson; Page 14 lines 1-5, retrieving trust score from memory storage which is interpreted to be “instantaneous”), or an average trust index value averaged over a trust index window (Examiner Note: This is an optional feature but would likely overcome the current rejection if included as a required feature.).
As per claim 4, the combination of Baskaran, Olsson and Low teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the trust index value includes of at least one of: a device trust index (DTI) value associated with the FESP (Olsson; Page 2 para. 4, trust score with NF device), or a user trust index (UTI) value associated with a user of the FESP (Examiner Note: this is an optional feature but could potentially overcome the current rejection if included as a required feature.).
As per claim 5, the combination of Baskaran, Olsson and Low teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the trust index value associated with the FESP indicates a level of trustworthiness of the FESP (Baskaran; [0022], assessing the trustworthiness of an NF device).
As per claim 6, the combination of Baskaran, Olsson and Low teaches the method of claim 5, wherein the trust index value is based on an evaluation of one or more trust indicators related to at least one of: security (Baskaran; [0050], trust information related to security state of an NF or AF), privacy (Examiner Note: This is an optional feature but may potentially overcome the current rejection if included as a required feature.), resilience (Examiner Note: This is an optional feature but may potentially overcome the current rejection if included as a required feature.), performance (Baskaran; [0051], information inside the NF that can affect service experience), robustness (Examiner Note: This is an optional feature but may potentially overcome the current rejection if included as a required feature.), scalability (Examiner Note: This is an optional feature but may potentially overcome the current rejection if included as a required feature.), availability (Baskaran; [0051], network state and certificate expiration data – interpreted as availability data), accuracy (Examiner Note: This is an optional feature but may potentially overcome the current rejection if included as a required feature.), reputation (Baskaran; [0051], previously observed behavior), reliability (Baskaran; [0051], data regarding whether the NF is meeting business objectives), or consistency (Baskaran; [0051], configuration violation information).
As per claim 7, the combination of Baskaran, Olsson and Low teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising: generating an updated FESP profile associated with the FESP based on the trust index value (Baskaran; [0049], updating evaluation information for a security policy of an NF which includes the required trust level values with relationships with specific service/consumers see [0024]); and storing the updated FESP profile, wherein the registration response includes the updated FESP profile (Baskaran; [0085], updated polices are stored and returned by the NRF).
As per claim 8, the combination of Baskaran, Olsson and Low teaches the method of claim 7, wherein generating the updated FESP profile includes: marking the FESP as discoverable if the trust index value is greater than a second trust index threshold (Baskaran; [0011], trust data threshold for service discovery); and marking the FESP as non-discoverable if the trust index value is less than the second trust index threshold (See id. Threshold must be met for service discovery.)
As per claim 21, the substance of the claimed invention is identical or substantially similar to that of claim 1. Accordingly, this claim is rejected under the same rationale.
As per claim 22, the substance of the claimed invention is identical or substantially similar to that of claim 3. Accordingly, this claim is rejected under the same rationale.
As per claim 23, the substance of the claimed invention is identical or substantially similar to that of claim 4. Accordingly, this claim is rejected under the same rationale.
As per claim 24, the substance of the claimed invention is identical or substantially similar to that of claim 5. Accordingly, this claim is rejected under the same rationale.
As per claim 25, the substance of the claimed invention is identical or substantially similar to that of claim 6. Accordingly, this claim is rejected under the same rationale.
As per claim 26, the substance of the claimed invention is identical or substantially similar to that of claim 7. Accordingly, this claim is rejected under the same rationale.
As per claim 27, the substance of the claimed invention is identical or substantially similar to that of claim 8. Accordingly, this claim is rejected under the same rationale.
Claims 9 and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baskaran, Olsson and Low in view of Goloubew et al. (US PGPUB No. 2025/0117201) [hereinafter “Goloubew”].
As per claim 9, the combination of Baskaran, Olsson and Low teaches the method of claim 8 and deleting an FESP profile associated with the FESP upon deregistration of the FESP (Baskaran; [0086], deleting associated policy, i.e. profile, when an NF is terminated).
The combination of Baskaran, Olsson and Low does not explicitly teach receiving, from the TMF, an updated trust index value associated with the FESP; comparing updated the trust index value to a trust index threshold; de-registering the FESP if the updated trust index value is less than the trust index threshold. Goloubew teaches receiving, from the TMF, an updated trust index value associated with the FESP ([0080], receiving an updated trust score for a code module); comparing updated the trust index value to a trust index threshold ([0080], comparing updated trust score to threshold); de-registering the FESP if the updated trust index value is less than the trust index threshold ([0080], removing the code module from deployment if the trust score does not satisfy the threshold).
At the time of filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine Baskaran, Olsson and Low with the teachings of Goloubew, receiving, from the TMF, an updated trust index value associated with the FESP; comparing updated the trust index value to a trust index threshold; de-registering the FESP if the updated trust index value is less than the trust index threshold, to find enforce security policy rules based on determined trust scores and measurement data.
As per claim 28, the substance of the claimed invention is identical or substantially similar to that of claim 9. Accordingly, this claim is rejected under the same rationale.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baskaran, Olsson and Low in view of Baskaran et al. (WO-2022096125-A1) [hereinafter “Baskaran ‘125”].
As per claim 10, the combination of Baskaran, Olsson and Low teaches the method of claim 1.
The combination of Baskaran, Olsson and Low does not explicitly teach on a condition that the TIC includes a TMF identifier (TMFID), identifying the TMF associated with the TMF ID; and selecting the identified TMF. Baskaran teaches on a condition that the TIC (Examiner Note: “TIC” is interpreted to include a message field for including trust related information. See Spec. [0133]-[0134].) includes a TMF identifier (TMFID) ([0083], a DIG-ID is used in network communications to identify and find the trust services enabler function), identifying the TMF associated with the TMF ID ([0083], trust services enabler function is identified); and selecting the identified TMF ([0083], trust services enabler function is selected.).
At the time of filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine Baskaran, Olsson and Low with the teachings of Baskaran ‘125, on a condition that the TIC includes a TMF identifier (TMFID), identifying the TMF associated with the TMF ID; and selecting the identified TMF, to locate the correct security policy rules for determining trust scores.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the rejection of claims 1-11 and 21-29 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been considered and in light of the new amendments, a new prior art reference, Low, has been introduced and cited to.
To expedite prosecution, Examiner is open to conducting an after-final interview to discuss claim amendments to overcome the current rejection and/or place the application in condition for allowance.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Ma (US PGPUB No. 2018/0285996), Blot-Lefevre (CA-2722286-A1), Mensch et al. (US PGPUB No. 2015/0261966), DeLooze ("Providing Web Service Security in a Federated Environment," in IEEE Security & Privacy, vol. 5, no. 1, pp. 73-75, Jan.-Feb. 2007, doi: 10.1109/MSP.2007.16) and Smith et al. ("Security issues in on-demand grid and cluster computing," Sixth IEEE International Symposium on Cluster Computing and the Grid (CCGRID'06), Singapore, 2006, pp. 14 pp.-24, doi: 10.1109/CCGRID.2006.1630919) all disclose various aspects of trust management and using a trust score to filter requesting users and devices.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PETER C SHAW/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2493 September 22, 2026