Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 12, 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 12 recites the limitation “each modular mounting unit comprise a cavity and an expanded section, the expanded section being configured to fit within the cavity of an adjacent modular mounting unit to nest adjacent modular mounting units together” which is deemed to be new matter. The applicants have failed to establish support for said claim limitation in the Remarks filed 7/10/2026. Although the publication of the instant application discloses each modular mounting unit is shaped to nest within an adjacent unit such that the nesting or stacking of adjacent units creates a singular mounting system that is seamless between each mounting unit ([0031]), the publication does not disclose specific structure as to how the nesting is achieved, i.e., each modular mounting unit comprising a cavity and an expanded section as recited in the claims. Further, disclosure of the claimed structure could not be found in the publication.
Claim 14 recites the limitation “each modular mounting unit comprises holes configured to receive fasteners to secure the modular mounting unit to the frame or other suitable location of the electric vehicle” which is deemed to be new matter. The applicants have failed to establish support for said claim limitation in the Remarks filed 7/10/2026. Although the publication of the instant application discloses each modular mounting unit comprises holes, wherein the holes enable the connection and attachment to the electric vehicle ([0031]), the publication does not specifically disclose the holes are “configured to receive fasteners” as recited in the claim limitation. The publication independently discloses attaching the mounting unit to the electric vehicle and that each mounting unit comprises holes that ‘enable connection and attachment’ to the electric vehicle but not that the holes of the mounting unit ‘receives fasteners to secure the modular mounting unit to the frame or other suitable location of the electric vehicle’.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7, 9, 11, 13-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Horder et al. (US 2021/0380001A1).
Regarding claim 1, Horder discloses a modular data system for electric vehicles (battery pack arrangement for a vehicle, see Title, Abstract, Fig. 1-6), comprising:
a mounting system configured to be secured to a frame or other suitable location of an electric vehicle, the mounting system comprising a plurality of modular mounting units, each modular mounting unit configured to removably attach a respective swappable modular unit of the plurality of swappable modular units to the electric vehicle (suspension attachment 80 for suspension mounting of the battery pack arrangement to the vehicle frame [0068]);
wherein the plurality of swappable modular units are configured to be mounted to respective modular mounting units of the plurality of modular mounting units and include an electric speed controller (ESC) (battery packs 43,47,49 [0067]; battery pack arrangement may also comprise a control unit (not shown). The control unit is connectable to the battery pack arrangement [0091]; The control unit is considered capable of performing the claimed controller functions.); and
wherein each of said swappable modular units is configured to independently send and receive data and power to and from any other swappable modular unit within the system via a module connection system, facilitating direct communication and interaction among all the plurality of swappable modular units (control unit may include a microprocessor, microcontroller, programmable digital signal processor or another programmable device. The control unit may also, or instead, include an application specific integrated circuit, a programmable gate array or programmable array logic, a programmable logic device, or a digital signal processor [0030]; The control unit is considered capable of performing the claimed controller functions.), and wherein the plurality of modular mounting units remain secured to the frame or other suitable location of the electric vehicle when one or more of the plurality of swappable modular units are removed from the mounting system (battery packs can be individually detachable from the vehicle frame [0070]).
Regarding claim 2, Horder discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Horder further discloses the mounting system is designed to allow for each swappable modular unit to be swapped, facilitating quick changes and interchangeability between different electric vehicles, while the plurality of modular mounting units remain secured to the electric vehicle (battery packs can be individually detachable from the vehicle frame [0070]).
Regarding claim 3, Horder discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Horder further discloses the module connection system comprises a plurality of terminal pins, each configured to provide both data and power transfer capabilities (battery cell are connected in series [0074], [0087]).
Regarding claim 4, Horder discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Horder further discloses each of the plurality of swappable modular units comprises a substantially rectangular case configured to house and protect internal components (Fig. 5a shows a ‘substantially rectangular’ case).
Regarding claim 5, Horder discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Horder further discloses each of the plurality of swappable modular units comprises a set of the plurality of terminal pins on opposite sides of each swappable modular unit case, facilitating the connection with any adjacent modular units (inter-connectable battery packs, battery pack arrangement [0045], [0070]).
Regarding claim 6, Horder discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Further regarding claim 6 reciting a functional limitation “at least one custom module that is configurable to perform a variety of operational tasks based on input received from the environment of the electric vehicle, and is further capable of executing predetermined actions based on data signals sent from any swappable modular unit of the plurality of swappable modular units”, while features of an apparatus may be recited either structurally or functionally, claims directed to an apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function. In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d 1473, 1477-78, 44 USPQ2d 1429, 1431-32 (Fed. Cir. 1997).
Regarding claim 7, Horder discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Horder further discloses the at least one custom module is enabled to receive a programmable logic controller or computer device (control unit is programmable [0030]).
Regarding claim 9, Horder discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Horder further discloses the communication and interaction among the plurality of swappable modular units enables the at least one battery module and ESC to communicate such that the ESC is configured to adjust voltage drawn from the at least one battery module based on data signals sent from the at least one battery (control unit adapted to control battery pack arrangements [0030], [0050], [0063], [0091]).
Regarding claim 11, Horder discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Horder further discloses the plurality of modular mounting units are configured to be positioned horizontally adjacent to one another (Fig. 2a shows suspension attachment positioned horizontally adjacent to one another).
Regarding claim 13, Horder discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Horder further discloses the plurality of swappable modular units are positioned side-by-side along the plurality of modular mounting units such that outer surfaces of respective cases of the plurality of swappable modular units facing away from the mounting system are substantially coplanar (see Fig. 2a).
Regarding claim 14, Horder discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Horder further discloses each modular mounting unit comprises holes configured to receive fasteners to secure the modular mounting unit to the frame or other suitable location of the electric vehicle (attachment points 45 includes fasteners [0071], [0078], [0080]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Horder et al. (US 2021/0380001A1), as applied to claims 1-7, 9, 11, 13-14 above, in view of Leitner (US 2024/0429531A1).
Regarding claim 8, Horder discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. However, Horder does not further disclose the variety of operational tasks include changing light conditions of an attached LED light strip or playing music from an attached speaker system.
Leitner discloses a modular energy storage system comprising a panel including a light indicator ([0035], [0057]).
An obviousness determination is not the result of a rigid formula disassociated from the consideration of the facts of a case. Indeed, the common sense of those skilled in the art demonstrates why some combinations would have been obvious where others would not. Leapfrog Enterprises Inc. v. Fisher-Price Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1687 (Fed. Cir. 2007); see also KSR v. Teleflex, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 127 S. Ct. 1727 (2007).
The claim would have been obvious because a particular known technique was recognized as part of the ordinary capabilities of one skilled in the art.
The claim would have been obvious because “a person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp. If the leads to the anticipated success, it is likely the product not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense.”
It has been held that choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success is generally within the skill of the art.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7/10/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
With respect to applicant’s arguments directed to Leitner (see Remarks filed 7/10/2026), said reference is no longer solely relied upon to teach the instant claims. A new reference Horder et al. (US 2021/0380001A1) is relied upon to teach or suggest the instant claims as set forth above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/James Lee/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1725 9/25/2026