DETAILED ACTION
This office action is a response to an application filed 07/23/2024, in which claims 21-40 are pending and ready for examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Examiner has considered the references listed on the Information Disclosure Statement submitted on 10/30/2024.
Double Patenting
Claims 21 and 31 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim the claims 1 and 8 (as outlined below) of U.S. Patent No. 11,626,737 and 1 and 12 (as outlined below) of U.S. Patent No. 12,046,909.
Additionally, although certain limitations of the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the language of the claims of U.S. Patent No. 11,626,737 and the claims of U.S. Patent No. 12,046,909, respectively, anticipate the claims of the instant application, since It is clear that all the elements of the application claim limitations are to be found in the respective patent claim limitations. The difference between the application claim limitations and the respective claim limitations of U.S. Patent No. 11,626,737 and the claim limitations of U.S. Patent No. 12,046,909, lies in the fact that the respective patent claims limitations include many more elements and are thus much more specific. Thus, the inventions of the claim limitations of the respective patents are in effect a “species” of the “generic” inventions of the application claim limitations. It has been held that the generic invention is “anticipated” by the “species”. See In re Goodman, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Since application claim limitations are anticipated by the U.S. Patent No. 11,626,737 claim limitations and anticipated by the U.S. Patent No. 12,046,909 claim limitations, it is not patentably distinct from claim limitations of the respectively noted patents.
Claims 22-30 and 32-40 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 12 of U.S. Patent No. 11,626,737 in view of US Patent Publication No. 2012/0084027 to Caine (hereinafter Caine).
Claims 22-30 and 32-40 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 8of U.S. Patent No. 12,046,909 in view of Caine.
Instant Application
US Patent No. 12,046,909
US Patent No. 11626737
21. (New) A method, comprising:
retrieving a sum of measured values output by each inverter of a total number of inverters from a plurality of sensors;
retrieving a measured value of an output of a point of interconnection (POI) based on a plurality of ON inverters of the total number of inverters;
receiving a POI measured setpoint;
receiving a summation of measured values of power that is output by each of the plurality of ON inverters;
and classifying each ON inverter of the plurality of ON inverters as either a TRACKING ON inverter or a NON-TRACKING ON inverter based on whether each ON inverter is tracking at a determined setpoint.
1. A method of controlling a power plant, comprising:
retrieving a sum of output power measurement values for each inverter of a total number of inverters from a plurality of sensors;
retrieving a point of interconnection (P0I) output measurement value for the power plant based on a plurality of ON inverters of the total number of inverters;
receiving a P0I measured setpoint for the power plant;
receiving a summation of output power measurement values for the plurality of ON inverters;
classifying each ON inverter of the plurality of ON inverters as either a TRACKING ON inverter or a NON-TRACKING ON inverter based on whether each ON inverter is tracking at a determined setpoint;
adding a deviation percentage to the determined setpoint for the TRACKING ON inverters to generate an adjusted setpoint;
and
applying the adjusted setpoint to the TRACKING ON inverters until the TRACKING ON inverters are no longer tracking and become NON-TRACKING ON inverters.
1. A method of controlling a renewable energy power plant, the method comprising:
retrieving a sum of output power measurement values for each inverter of a total number of inverters from a plurality of sensors,
with each sensor provided at a location proximal to each inverter;
retrieving a point of interconnection (POI) output measurement value for the renewable energy power plant based on a plurality of ON inverters of the total number of inverters;
calculating a POI measured setpoint for the renewable energy power plant based on a difference between a power reference value for the renewable energy power plant and the retrieved POI output measurement value for the renewable energy power plant;
calculating a summation of output power measurement values for the plurality of ON inverters based on a capacity factor for the plurality of ON inverters;
calculating a setpoint for the renewable energy power plant;
assigning the setpoint to each of the plurality of ON inverters;
classifying each ON inverter of the plurality of ON inverters as either a TRACKING ON inverter or a NON-TRACKING ON inverter based on whether each ON inverter is tracking at the setpoint;
calculating a loss value for the TRACKING ON inverters;
calculating a deviation percentage from the loss value;
adding the deviation percentage to the setpoint for the TRACKING ON inverters to generate an adjusted setpoint;
and
applying the adjusted setpoint to the TRACKING ON inverters until at least one of: the TRACKING ON inverters are no longer tracking and become NON-TRACKING ON inverters and the TRACKING ON inverters are outputting at their rated capacity.
22. The method of claim 21, wherein the inverters are coupled to a plurality of photovoltaic (PV) strings.
The Patent claim does not explicitly teach wherein the inverters are coupled to a plurality of photovoltaic (PV) strings.
However, Caine from the same or similar field of photovoltaic power plants, teaches wherein the inverters are coupled to a plurality of photovoltaic (PV) strings (PV strings coupled to inverters, see P50-53, Caine).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the PV power plant as described by the Patent claim and incorporating inverters connected to PV strings, as taught by Caine.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification in order to obtain desired power generated from photovoltaic panels from aa light source that an inverter can convert from a direct current to an alternating current, as is the purpose of an inverter, and so as to provide said power to ac based systems from the power plant(see P50-54, Caine).
The Patent claim does not explicitly teach wherein the inverters are coupled to a plurality of photovoltaic (PV) strings.
However, Caine from the same or similar field of photovoltaic power plants, teaches wherein the inverters are coupled to a plurality of photovoltaic (PV) strings (PV strings coupled to inverters, see P50-53, Caine).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the PV power plant as described by the Patent claim and incorporating inverters connected to PV strings, as taught by Caine.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification in order to obtain desired power generated from photovoltaic panels from aa light source that an inverter can convert from a direct current to an alternating current, as is the purpose of an inverter, and so as to provide said power to ac based systems from the power plant(see P50-54, Caine).
23. The method of claim 22, wherein each PV string of the plurality of PV strings includes a plurality of solar panels.
The Patent claim does not explicitly teach wherein each PV string of the plurality of PV strings includes a plurality of solar panels.
However, Caine from the same or similar field of photovoltaic power plants, teaches wherein each PV string of the plurality of PV strings includes a plurality of solar panels. (PV strings composed of panels, see P50-53, Caine).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the PV power plant as described by the Patent claim and incorporating PV strings that include a plurality of solar panels, as taught by Caine.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification in order to obtain desired power from a light source by using known solar panels arranged in strings to produce a desired level of voltage or current (see P50-54, Caine).
The Patent claim does not explicitly teach wherein each PV string of the plurality of PV strings includes a plurality of solar panels.
However, Caine from the same or similar field of photovoltaic power plants, teaches wherein each PV string of the plurality of PV strings includes a plurality of solar panels. (PV strings composed of panels, see P50-53, Caine).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the PV power plant as described by the Patent claim and incorporating PV strings that include a plurality of solar panels, as taught by Caine.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification in order to obtain desired power from a light source by using known solar panels arranged in strings to produce a desired level of voltage or current (see P50-54, Caine).
24. The method of claim 23, wherein the plurality of solar panels are wired in series to each other.
The Patent claim does not explicitly teach wherein the plurality of solar panels are wired in series to each other.
However, Caine from the same or similar field of photovoltaic power plants, teaches wherein the plurality of solar panels are wired in series to each other (PV strings in series, see P50-53, Caine).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the PV power plant as described by the Patent claim and incorporating PV strings in series, as taught by Caine.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to obtain a desired electrical output, such as a desired voltage and current, by connecting electrical components in known topologies (see p3, p50, Fig. 3, Caine)
The Patent claim does not explicitly teach wherein the plurality of solar panels are wired in series to each other.
However, Caine from the same or similar field of photovoltaic power plants, teaches wherein the plurality of solar panels are wired in series to each other (PV strings in series, see P50-53, Caine).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the PV power plant as described by the Patent claim and incorporating PV strings in series, as taught by Caine.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to obtain a desired electrical output, such as a desired voltage and current, by connecting electrical components in known topologies (see p3, p50, Fig. 3, Caine)
25. The method of claim 23, wherein output signals of the plurality of PV strings are wired in parallel into a plurality of combiners.
The Patent claim does not explicitly teach wherein output signals of the plurality of PV strings are wired in parallel into a plurality of combiners.
However, Caine from the same or similar field of photovoltaic power plants, teaches wherein output signals of the plurality of PV strings are wired in parallel into a plurality of combiners. (Photovoltaic strings that provide output power, are connected to a plurality of combiners in parallel, see p50, Fig. 3, Caine).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the PV power plant as described by the Patent claim and incorporating PV strings in parallel into combiners, as taught by Caine.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification in order to obtain a desired electrical output, such as a desired voltage and current, by connecting electrical components in known topologies (see p3, p50, Fig. 3, Caine).
The Patent claim does not explicitly teach wherein output signals of the plurality of PV strings are wired in parallel into a plurality of combiners.
However, Caine from the same or similar field of photovoltaic power plants, teaches wherein output signals of the plurality of PV strings are wired in parallel into a plurality of combiners. (Photovoltaic strings that provide output power, are connected to a plurality of combiners in parallel, see p50, Fig. 3, Caine).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the PV power plant as described by the Patent claim and incorporating PV strings in parallel into combiners, as taught by Caine.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification in order to obtain a desired electrical output, such as a desired voltage and current, by connecting electrical components in known topologies (see p3, p50, Fig. 3, Caine).
26. The method of claim 21, wherein the plurality of sensors are separate from the inverters.
The Patent claim does not explicitly teach wherein the plurality of sensors are separate from the inverters..
However, Caine from the same or similar field of photovoltaic power plants, teaches wherein the plurality of sensors are separate from the inverters. (Sensors can be separate to inverters, see p51, Caine).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the PV power plant as described by the Patent claim and incorporating sensors separate from inverters, as taught by Caine.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification in order to obtain a desired data from or around a desired component, while having sensors separate if desired, for example, as a matter of design choice that may provide more easily replaceable sensing devices (see p51, Caine).
The Patent claim does not explicitly teach wherein the plurality of sensors are separate from the inverters..
However, Caine from the same or similar field of photovoltaic power plants, teaches wherein the plurality of sensors are separate from the inverters. (Sensors can be separate to inverters, see p51, Caine).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the PV power plant as described by the Patent claim and incorporating sensors separate from inverters, as taught by Caine.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification in order to obtain a desired data from or around a desired component, while having sensors separate if desired, for example, as a matter of design choice that may provide more easily replaceable sensing devices (see p51, Caine).
27. The method of claim 21, wherein each sensor of the plurality of sensors is incorporated in an associated inverter of the total number of inverters.
The Patent claim does not explicitly teach wherein each sensor of the plurality of sensors is incorporated in an associated inverter of the total number of inverters.
However, Caine from the same or similar field of photovoltaic power plants, teaches wherein each sensor of the plurality of sensors is incorporated in an associated inverter of the total number of inverters (Sensors can be incorporated into inverters, see p51, Caine).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the PV power plant as described by the Patent claim and incorporating sensors incorporated into inverters, as taught by Caine.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification in order to obtain a desired data from a desired component, while having sensors integrated into the component, if desired, for example, as a matter of design choice that may provide more self-contained devices and potential cost reductions (see p51, Caine).
The Patent claim does not explicitly teach wherein each sensor of the plurality of sensors is incorporated in an associated inverter of the total number of inverters.
However, Caine from the same or similar field of photovoltaic power plants, teaches wherein each sensor of the plurality of sensors is incorporated in an associated inverter of the total number of inverters (Sensors can be incorporated into inverters, see p51, Caine).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the PV power plant as described by the Patent claim and incorporating sensors incorporated into inverters, as taught by Caine.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification in order to obtain a desired data from a desired component, while having sensors integrated into the component, if desired, for example, as a matter of design choice that may provide more self-contained devices and potential cost reductions (see p51, Caine).
28. The method of claim 22, wherein the plurality of sensors measure an output power of each PV string of the plurality of PV strings.
The Patent claim does not explicitly teach wherein the plurality of sensors measure an output power of each PV string of the plurality of PV strings.
However, Caine from the same or similar field of photovoltaic power plants, teaches wherein the plurality of sensors measure an output power of each PV string of the plurality of PV strings (Sensors can measure PV strings gong to input of combiners, see p51, Caine).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the PV power plant as described by the Patent claim and incorporating sensors for measuring PV output data, as taught by Caine.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification in order to better detect data associated with a plurality of PV strings that can be used for monitoring performance of and provided by said PV strings (see p51, Caine).
The Patent claim does not explicitly teach wherein the plurality of sensors measure an output power of each PV string of the plurality of PV strings.
However, Caine from the same or similar field of photovoltaic power plants, teaches wherein the plurality of sensors measure an output power of each PV string of the plurality of PV strings (Sensors can measure PV strings gong to input of combiners, see p51, Caine).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the PV power plant as described by the Patent claim and incorporating sensors for measuring PV output data, as taught by Caine.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification in order to better detect data associated with a plurality of PV strings that can be used for monitoring performance of and provided by said PV strings (see p51, Caine).
29. The method of claim 25, wherein the plurality of sensors measure an output power of each combiner of the plurality of combiners.
The Patent claim does not explicitly teach wherein the plurality of sensors measure an output power of each combiner of the plurality of combiners.
However, Caine from the same or similar field of photovoltaic power plants, teaches wherein the plurality of sensors measure an output power of each combiner of the plurality of combiners (Sensors that measure input into inverters, where the inverters are connected to receive output of combiners, therefore sensors measure output of combiners, see p53, p51 p50, Caine).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the PV power plant as described by the Patent claim and incorporating sensors mearing combiner outputs, as taught by Caine.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification in order to better obtain data that can provide an amount of output power provided by a system that provides a summation of the output of a plurality of strings and can reduce the number of sensors needed for a system to gauge an output power provided by the system (see p53, p51, Caine).
The Patent claim does not explicitly teach wherein the plurality of sensors measure an output power of each combiner of the plurality of combiners.
However, Caine from the same or similar field of photovoltaic power plants, teaches wherein the plurality of sensors measure an output power of each combiner of the plurality of combiners (Sensors that measure input into inverters, where the inverters are connected to receive output of combiners, therefore sensors measure output of combiners, see p53, p51 p50, Caine).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the PV power plant as described by the Patent claim and incorporating sensors mearing combiner outputs, as taught by Caine.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification in order to better obtain data that can provide an amount of output power provided by a system that provides a summation of the output of a plurality of strings and can reduce the number of sensors needed for a system to gauge an output power provided by the system (see p53, p51, Caine).
30.The method of claim 25, wherein an output of the plurality of combiners is coupled to the inverters.
The Patent claim does not explicitly teach wherein an output of the plurality of combiners is coupled to the inverters.
However, Caine from the same or similar field of photovoltaic power plants, teaches wherein an output of the plurality of combiners is coupled to the inverters (Combiners output connected to inverters, see p53, p51 p50, Caine).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the PV power plant as described by the Patent claim and incorporating combiners connected to inverters, as taught by Caine.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification in order to better provide a combined amount of power of a desired amount to an inverter that can convert a direct current energy into a desired alternating current form of a desired power system to which the power plant can provide the generated power (see p53, p51, Caine).
The Patent claim does not explicitly teach wherein an output of the plurality of combiners is coupled to the inverters.
However, Caine from the same or similar field of photovoltaic power plants, teaches wherein an output of the plurality of combiners is coupled to the inverters (Combiners output connected to inverters, see p53, p51 p50, Caine).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the PV power plant as described by the Patent claim and incorporating combiners connected to inverters, as taught by Caine.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification in order to better provide a combined amount of power of a desired amount to an inverter that can convert a direct current energy into a desired alternating current form of a desired power system to which the power plant can provide the generated power (see p53, p51, Caine).
31. A controller, comprising a processor and memory device, the controller configured to:
retrieve a sum of measured values of power output by each inverter of a total number of inverters from a plurality of sensors;
retrieve a measured value of an output of a point of interconnection (POI) based on a plurality of ON inverters of the total number of inverters;
receive a POI measured setpoint;
receive a summation of measured values of power that is output by each of the plurality of ON inverters;
and classify each ON inverter of the plurality of ON inverters as either a TRACKING ON inverter or a NON-TRACKING ON inverter based on whether each ON inverter is tracking at a determined setpoint.
12. A power plant controller, the power plant controller comprising a processor and memory device, the power plant controller configured to:
retrieve a sum of output power measurement values for each inverter of a total number of inverters from a plurality of sensors;
retrieve a point of interconnection (POI) output measurement value for the power plant based on a plurality of ON inverters of the total number of inverters;
receive a POI measured setpoint for the power plant;
receive a summation of output power measurement values for the plurality of ON inverters;
classify each ON inverter of the plurality of ON inverters as either a TRACKING ON inverter or a NON-TRACKING ON inverter based on whether each ON inverter is tracking at a determined setpoint;
add a deviation percentage to the determined setpoint for the TRACKING ON inverters to generate an adjusted setpoint;
and
apply the adjusted setpoint to the TRACKING ON inverters until the TRACKING ON inverters are no longer tracking and become NON-TRACKING ON inverters.
8. A renewable energy power plant controller, the renewable energy power plant controller comprising a processor and memory device, the renewable energy power plant controller configured to:
retrieve a sum of output power measurement values for each inverter of a total number of inverters from a plurality of sensors, with each sensor provided at a location proximal to each inverter;
retrieve a point of interconnection (POI) output measurement value for a renewable energy photovoltaic (PV) power plant based on a plurality of ON inverters of the total number of inverters;
calculate a POI measured setpoint for the renewable energy PV power plant based on a difference between a power reference value for the renewable energy PV power plant and the retrieved POI output measurement value for the renewable energy PV power plant;
calculate a summation of output power measurement values for the plurality of ON inverters based on a capacity factor for the plurality of ON inverters;
calculate a setpoint for the renewable energy PV power plant;
assign the setpoint to each of the plurality of ON inverters;
classify each ON inverter of the plurality of ON inverters as either a TRACKING ON inverter or a NON-TRACKING ON inverter based on whether each ON inverter is tracking at the setpoint;
calculate a loss value for the TRACKING ON inverters;
calculate a deviation percentage from the loss value;
add the deviation percentage to the setpoint for the TRACKING ON inverters to generate an adjusted setpoint;
and
apply the adjusted setpoint to the TRACKING ON inverters until at least one of: the TRACKING ON inverters are no longer tracking and become NON-TRACKING ON inverters and the TRACKING ON inverters are outputting at their rated capacity.
32. The controller of claim 31, wherein the inverters are coupled to a plurality of photovoltaic (PV) strings.
The Patent claim does not explicitly teach wherein the inverters are coupled to a plurality of photovoltaic (PV) strings.
However, Caine from the same or similar field of photovoltaic power plants, teaches wherein the inverters are coupled to a plurality of photovoltaic (PV) strings (PV strings coupled to inverters, see P50-53, Caine).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the PV power plant as described by the Patent claim and incorporating inverters connected to PV strings, as taught by Caine.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification in order to obtain desired power generated from photovoltaic panels from aa light source that an inverter can convert from a direct current to an alternating current, as is the purpose of an inverter, and so as to provide said power to ac based systems from the power plant(see P50-54, Caine).
The Patent claim does not explicitly teach wherein the inverters are coupled to a plurality of photovoltaic (PV) strings.
However, Caine from the same or similar field of photovoltaic power plants, teaches wherein the inverters are coupled to a plurality of photovoltaic (PV) strings (PV strings coupled to inverters, see P50-53, Caine).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the PV power plant as described by the Patent claim and incorporating inverters connected to PV strings, as taught by Caine.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification in order to obtain desired power generated from photovoltaic panels from aa light source that an inverter can convert from a direct current to an alternating current, as is the purpose of an inverter, and so as to provide said power to ac based systems from the power plant(see P50-54, Caine).
33. The controller of claim 32, wherein each PV string of the plurality of PV strings includes a plurality of solar panels.
The Patent claim does not explicitly teach wherein each PV string of the plurality of PV strings includes a plurality of solar panels.
However, Caine from the same or similar field of photovoltaic power plants, teaches wherein each PV string of the plurality of PV strings includes a plurality of solar panels. (PV strings composed of panels, see P50-53, Caine).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the PV power plant as described by the Patent claim and incorporating PV strings that include a plurality of solar panels, as taught by Caine.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification in order to obtain desired power from a light source by using known solar panels arranged in strings to produce a desired level of voltage or current (see P50-54, Caine).
The Patent claim does not explicitly teach wherein each PV string of the plurality of PV strings includes a plurality of solar panels.
However, Caine from the same or similar field of photovoltaic power plants, teaches wherein each PV string of the plurality of PV strings includes a plurality of solar panels. (PV strings composed of panels, see P50-53, Caine).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the PV power plant as described by the Patent claim and incorporating PV strings that include a plurality of solar panels, as taught by Caine.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification in order to obtain desired power from a light source by using known solar panels arranged in strings to produce a desired level of voltage or current (see P50-54, Caine).
34. The controller of claim 33, wherein the plurality of solar panels are wired in series to each other.
The Patent claim does not explicitly teach wherein the plurality of solar panels are wired in series to each other.
However, Caine from the same or similar field of photovoltaic power plants, teaches wherein the plurality of solar panels are wired in series to each other (PV strings in series, see P50-53, Caine).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the PV power plant as described by the Patent claim and incorporating PV strings in series, as taught by Caine.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to obtain a desired electrical output, such as a desired voltage and current, by connecting electrical components in known topologies (see p3, p50, Fig. 3, Caine)
The Patent claim does not explicitly teach wherein the plurality of solar panels are wired in series to each other.
However, Caine from the same or similar field of photovoltaic power plants, teaches wherein the plurality of solar panels are wired in series to each other (PV strings in series, see P50-53, Caine).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the PV power plant as described by the Patent claim and incorporating PV strings in series, as taught by Caine.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to obtain a desired electrical output, such as a desired voltage and current, by connecting electrical components in known topologies (see p3, p50, Fig. 3, Caine)
35. The controller of claim 33, wherein output signals of the plurality of PV strings are wired in parallel into a plurality of combiners.
The Patent claim does not explicitly teach wherein output signals of the plurality of PV strings are wired in parallel into a plurality of combiners.
However, Caine from the same or similar field of photovoltaic power plants, teaches wherein output signals of the plurality of PV strings are wired in parallel into a plurality of combiners. (Photovoltaic strings that provide output power, are connected to a plurality of combiners in parallel, see p50, Fig. 3, Caine).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the PV power plant as described by the Patent claim and incorporating PV strings in parallel into combiners, as taught by Caine.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification in order to obtain a desired electrical output, such as a desired voltage and current, by connecting electrical components in known topologies (see p3, p50, Fig. 3, Caine).
The Patent claim does not explicitly teach wherein output signals of the plurality of PV strings are wired in parallel into a plurality of combiners.
However, Caine from the same or similar field of photovoltaic power plants, teaches wherein output signals of the plurality of PV strings are wired in parallel into a plurality of combiners. (Photovoltaic strings that provide output power, are connected to a plurality of combiners in parallel, see p50, Fig. 3, Caine).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the PV power plant as described by the Patent claim and incorporating PV strings in parallel into combiners, as taught by Caine.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification in order to obtain a desired electrical output, such as a desired voltage and current, by connecting electrical components in known topologies (see p3, p50, Fig. 3, Caine).
36. The controller of claim 31, wherein the plurality of sensors are separate from the inverters.
The Patent claim does not explicitly teach wherein the plurality of sensors are separate from the inverters..
However, Caine from the same or similar field of photovoltaic power plants, teaches wherein the plurality of sensors are separate from the inverters. (Sensors can be separate to inverters, see p51, Caine).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the PV power plant as described by the Patent claim and incorporating sensors separate from inverters, as taught by Caine.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification in order to obtain a desired data from or around a desired component, while having sensors separate if desired, for example, as a matter of design choice that may provide more easily replaceable sensing devices (see p51, Caine).
The Patent claim does not explicitly teach wherein the plurality of sensors are separate from the inverters..
However, Caine from the same or similar field of photovoltaic power plants, teaches wherein the plurality of sensors are separate from the inverters. (Sensors can be separate to inverters, see p51, Caine).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the PV power plant as described by the Patent claim and incorporating sensors separate from inverters, as taught by Caine.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification in order to obtain a desired data from or around a desired component, while having sensors separate if desired, for example, as a matter of design choice that may provide more easily replaceable sensing devices (see p51, Caine).
37. The controller of claim 31, wherein each sensor of the plurality of sensors is incorporated in an associated inverter of the total number of inverters.
The Patent claim does not explicitly teach wherein each sensor of the plurality of sensors is incorporated in an associated inverter of the total number of inverters.
However, Caine from the same or similar field of photovoltaic power plants, teaches wherein each sensor of the plurality of sensors is incorporated in an associated inverter of the total number of inverters (Sensors can be incorporated into inverters, see p51, Caine).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the PV power plant as described by the Patent claim and incorporating sensors incorporated into inverters, as taught by Caine.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification in order to obtain a desired data from a desired component, while having sensors integrated into the component, if desired, for example, as a matter of design choice that may provide more self-contained devices and potential cost reductions (see p51, Caine).
The Patent claim does not explicitly teach wherein each sensor of the plurality of sensors is incorporated in an associated inverter of the total number of inverters.
However, Caine from the same or similar field of photovoltaic power plants, teaches wherein each sensor of the plurality of sensors is incorporated in an associated inverter of the total number of inverters (Sensors can be incorporated into inverters, see p51, Caine).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the PV power plant as described by the Patent claim and incorporating sensors incorporated into inverters, as taught by Caine.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification in order to obtain a desired data from a desired component, while having sensors integrated into the component, if desired, for example, as a matter of design choice that may provide more self-contained devices and potential cost reductions (see p51, Caine).
38. The controller of claim 32, wherein the plurality of sensors measure an output power of each PV string of the plurality of PV strings.
The Patent claim does not explicitly teach wherein the plurality of sensors measure an output power of each PV string of the plurality of PV strings.
However, Caine from the same or similar field of photovoltaic power plants, teaches wherein the plurality of sensors measure an output power of each PV string of the plurality of PV strings (Sensors can measure PV strings gong to input of combiners, see p51, Caine).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the PV power plant as described by the Patent claim and incorporating sensors for measuring PV output data, as taught by Caine.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification in order to better detect data associated with a plurality of PV strings that can be used for monitoring performance of and provided by said PV strings (see p51, Caine).
The Patent claim does not explicitly teach wherein the plurality of sensors measure an output power of each PV string of the plurality of PV strings.
However, Caine from the same or similar field of photovoltaic power plants, teaches wherein the plurality of sensors measure an output power of each PV string of the plurality of PV strings (Sensors can measure PV strings gong to input of combiners, see p51, Caine).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the PV power plant as described by the Patent claim and incorporating sensors for measuring PV output data, as taught by Caine.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification in order to better detect data associated with a plurality of PV strings that can be used for monitoring performance of and provided by said PV strings (see p51, Caine).
39. The controller of claim 35, wherein the plurality of sensors measure an output power of each combiner of the plurality of combiners.
The Patent claim does not explicitly teach wherein the plurality of sensors measure an output power of each combiner of the plurality of combiners.
However, Caine from the same or similar field of photovoltaic power plants, teaches wherein the plurality of sensors measure an output power of each combiner of the plurality of combiners (Sensors that measure input into inverters, where the inverters are connected to receive output of combiners, therefore sensors measure output of combiners, see p53, p51 p50, Caine).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the PV power plant as described by the Patent claim and incorporating sensors mearing combiner outputs, as taught by Caine.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification in order to better obtain data that can provide an amount of output power provided by a system that provides a summation of the output of a plurality of strings and can reduce the number of sensors needed for a system to gauge an output power provided by the system (see p53, p51, Caine).
The Patent claim does not explicitly teach wherein the plurality of sensors measure an output power of each combiner of the plurality of combiners.
However, Caine from the same or similar field of photovoltaic power plants, teaches wherein the plurality of sensors measure an output power of each combiner of the plurality of combiners (Sensors that measure input into inverters, where the inverters are connected to receive output of combiners, therefore sensors measure output of combiners, see p53, p51 p50, Caine).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the PV power plant as described by the Patent claim and incorporating sensors mearing combiner outputs, as taught by Caine.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification in order to better obtain data that can provide an amount of output power provided by a system that provides a summation of the output of a plurality of strings and can reduce the number of sensors needed for a system to gauge an output power provided by the system (see p53, p51, Caine).
40. The controller of claim 35, wherein an output of the plurality of combiners is coupled to the inverters.
The Patent claim does not explicitly teach wherein an output of the plurality of combiners is coupled to the inverters.
However, Caine from the same or similar field of photovoltaic power plants, teaches wherein an output of the plurality of combiners is coupled to the inverters (Combiners output connected to inverters, see p53, p51 p50, Caine).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the PV power plant as described by the Patent claim and incorporating combiners connected to inverters, as taught by Caine.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification in order to better provide a combined amount of power of a desired amount to an inverter that can convert a direct current energy into a desired alternating current form of a desired power system to which the power plant can provide the generated power (see p53, p51, Caine).
The Patent claim does not explicitly teach wherein an output of the plurality of combiners is coupled to the inverters.
However, Caine from the same or similar field of photovoltaic power plants, teaches wherein an output of the plurality of combiners is coupled to the inverters (Combiners output connected to inverters, see p53, p51 p50, Caine).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the PV power plant as described by the Patent claim and incorporating combiners connected to inverters, as taught by Caine.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification in order to better provide a combined amount of power of a desired amount to an inverter that can convert a direct current energy into a desired alternating current form of a desired power system to which the power plant can provide the generated power (see p53, p51, Caine).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
At step 1, claim 21 recites a method, and therefore is a process, which is a statutory category. Meanwhile, claim 31 recites a controller, and therefore is an apparatus, which is also a statutory category.
At Step 2A, prong one, claims 21 and 31 recite a series of limitations that obtain measurements and data related to inverters of a system and classify inverters. This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because they are directed to the abstract ideas of mental limitations capable of being performed in the mind, and thus directed to the mental processes grouping.
Specifically, the abstract idea include the limitations of:
“classifying each ON inverter of the plurality of ON inverters as either a TRACKING ON inverter or a NON-TRACKING ON inverter based on whether each ON inverter is tracking at a determined setpoint.” Analogouslimitations are found in independent claim 31 and analyzed the same. The limitations in question can amount to a judgment on classification of inverters.
At step 2A, prong 2, the claim 21 an recites a “retrieving a sum of measured values output by each inverter of a total number of inverters from a plurality of sensors; retrieving a measured value of an output of a point of interconnection (POI) based on a plurality of ON inverters of the total number of inverters; receiving a POI measured setpoint; receiving a summation of measured values of power that is output by each of the plurality of ON inverters;” Claim 31 recites similar limitations in addition to a controller, processor, and memory.
At Step 2B, while the claims include additional elements as noted above in Step 2A prong 2, they are not sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. In particular, the recitation of a processor or controller, amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. The memory, and processor are recited at a high level of generality and recited so generically that the represent no more than mere instructions to apply the judicial exception on a computer (see MPEP 2106.05(f). These limitations can also be viewed as nothing more than an attempt to generally link the use of the judicial exception to the technological environment of a computer (see MPEP2106.05(h)). Furthermore, the limitations of receiving or retrieving data amount to necessary data gathering, which the courts have found to be insignificant extra-solution activity, see MPEP 2106.05(g)(3). Accordingly, these additional element do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claim is directed to an abstract idea. Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept.
The dependent claims 21-30 and 32-40, similarly recite an abstract idea of mental limitations capable of being performed in the mind, without significantly more, other than the recitation of intended use limitations that do not meaningfully impact the abstract idea, since the limitations are directed to intended use that simply define the intended use power plant types where the mere data gathering applies to and where inverters may be intended to be used.
The claims are not patent eligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 21-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 21 and 31, the claims respectively recite the limitation “receiving a POI measured setpoint;” (or a variation thereof). It is not clear a how a setpoint is “measured.” By definition, and as known by any person of ordinary skill in the art, a “setpoint” is a term of the art that signifies a desired value (i.e. point) that is set (thus, a setpoint) in a control system so as to control the system sch that the system’s output of concern ideally reaches the desired setpoint. It is the output of concern that is often measured so as to compare to the setpoint in order to gauge how far off the system output is from the desired setpoint. For the purpose of examination, the limitation is being broadly interpreted to be any value associated with a POI point, such as a measured or non-measured setpoint, or a measured value at a POI related to some setpoint, an error related to the POI, etc.,
Regarding claims 21 and 31, the claims respectively recite the limitation “and classifying each ON inverter of the plurality of ON inverters as either a TRACKING ON inverter or a NON-TRACKING ON inverter based on whether each ON inverter is tracking at a determined setpoint” (or a variation thereof). It is not clear how the classifying has anything to do with any of the previous limitations, since nothing in the limitation specifically depends on any of the gathered data or setpoints of other limitations in the claim. For the purpose of examination, the limitation is being broadly interpreted to be any form of classification of inverters.
Examiner Notes
Examiner cites particular columns and line numbers in the references as applied to the claims below for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested that, in preparing responses, the applicant fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 21-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent Publication No. 2013/0106196 to Johnson et al., (hereinafter Johnson), in view of US Patent Publication No. 2012/0084027 to Caine (hereinafter Caine), in further view of WIPO Patent Publication No. WO2015/123549 to Galler et al., (hereinafter Galler).
Regarding claim 21, Johnson teaches a method, comprising:
retrieving a sum of measured values output by each inverter of a total number of inverters (Output measurement of all inverters, see P45, Johnson);
retrieving a measured value of an output of a point of interconnection (POI) based on a plurality of ON inverters of the total number of inverters (Measurement by a meter at point of interconnection fed by inverters providing power to the POI, see P22-P23, Johnson);
receiving a POI measured setpoint (Difference setpoint based on reference value and measured value, see P35, Johnson);
Johnson does not explicitly teach a plurality of sensors; receiving a summation of measured values of power that is output by each of a plurality of ON inverters; classifying each of an ON inverter as either a TRACKING ON inverter or a NON-TRACKING ON inverter based on whether each ON inverter is tracking at the setpoint.
However, Caine from the same or similar field of photovoltaic power plants, teaches a plurality of sensors (Sensors at inverters for measuring, see P51, Caine).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the PV power plant as described by Johnson and incorporating sensors at inverters, as taught by Caine.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification in order to obtain a measurement of interest indicative of a measurement of interest such as power obtained (see P51, Caine).
Johnson does not explicitly teach receiving a summation of measured values of power that is output by each of a plurality of ON inverters; classifying each of an ON inverter as either a TRACKING ON inverter or a NON-TRACKING ON inverter based on whether each ON inverter is tracking at the setpoint.
However, Galler from the same or similar field of photovoltaic power plants, teaches receiving a summation of measured values of power that is output by each of a plurality of ON inverters (Total output power obtained (received) based on collected power data of operating inverter converters, see Pg. 4 L1-25, Galler); classifying each of an ON inverter as either a TRACKING ON inverter or a NON-TRACKING ON inverter based on whether each ON inverter is tracking at the setpoint (Inverters are classified into at least those at a setpoint that generate (ie on tracking ) those that don’t generate any power at a set point (ie non tracking on), see Pg. 5 L17-29, Pg. 10 L14-19, pg. 7 p28-30; Pg. 4, Galler).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the PV power plant as described by Johnson and incorporating classifying inverters, as taught by Galler.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification in order to better maintain appropriate power reserves at all times in view of fluctuating power reserves by measuring energy supply and by improving control of regenerative plant by assigning specified energy inverters in a group to output power (see Pg. 2-4, Galler).
Regarding claim 22, the combination of Johnson, Caine, and Galler teaches all the limitations of the base claim as outlined above, and are analyzed as previously discussed with regard to that claim.
Johnson further teaches wherein inverters are coupled to a plurality of photovoltaic (PV) strings (Photovoltaic strings coupled to inverters of respective PV plants , see p17, p30, Fig. 3, Fig. 1, Johnson).
Regarding claim 23, the combination of Johnson, Caine, and Galler teaches all the limitations of the base claim as outlined above, and are analyzed as previously discussed with regard to that claim.
Johnson further teaches wherein each PV string of a plurality of PV strings includes a plurality of solar panels (Photovoltaic strings with panels , see p17, p30, Fig. 3, Fig. 1, Johnson).
Regarding claim 24, the combination of Johnson, Caine, and Galler teaches all the limitations of the base claim as outlined above, and are analyzed as previously discussed with regard to that claim.
Johnson further teaches wherein a plurality of solar panels are wired in series to each other (Photovoltaic panels in series, see p17, p30, Fig. 3, Fig. 1, Johnson).
Regarding claim 25, the combination of Johnson, Caine, and Galler teaches all the limitations of the base claim as outlined above, and are analyzed as previously discussed with regard to that claim.
Cain further explicitly teaches wherein output signals of a plurality of PV strings are wired in parallel into a plurality of combiners (Photovoltaic strings that provide output power, are connected to a plurality of combiners in parallel, see p50, Fig. 3, Caine).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the PV power plant as described by the combination that includes Johnson and incorporating PV strings in parallel into combiners, as taught by Caine.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification in order to obtain a desired electrical output, such as a desired voltage and current, by connecting electrical components in known topologies (see p3, p50, Fig. 3, Caine).
Regarding claim 26, the combination of Johnson, Caine, and Galler teaches all the limitations of the base claim as outlined above, and are analyzed as previously discussed with regard to that claim.
Cain further teaches wherein a plurality of sensors are separate from inverters (Sensors can be separate to inverters, see p51, Caine).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the PV power plant as described by the combination that includes Johnson and incorporating sensors separate from inverters, as taught by Caine.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification in order to obtain a desired data from or around a desired component, while having sensors separate if desired, for example, as a matter of design choice that may provide more easily replaceable sensing devices (see p51, Caine).
Regarding claim 27, the combination of Johnson, Caine, and Galler teaches all the limitations of the base claim as outlined above, and are analyzed as previously discussed with regard to that claim.
Cain further teaches wherein each sensor of a plurality of sensors is incorporated in an associated inverter of a total number of inverters (Sensors can be incorporated into inverters, see p51, Caine).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the PV power plant as described by the combination that includes Johnson and incorporating sensors incorporated into inverters, as taught by Caine.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification in order to obtain a desired data from a desired component, while having sensors integrated into the component, if desired, for example, as a matter of design choice that may provide more self-contained devices and potential cost reductions (see p51, Caine).
Regarding claim 28, the combination of Johnson, Caine, and Galler teaches all the limitations of the base claim as outlined above, and are analyzed as previously discussed with regard to that claim.
Cain further teaches wherein a plurality of sensors measure an output power of each PV string of a plurality of PV strings (Sensors can measure PV strings gong to input of combiners, see p51, Caine).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the PV power plant as described by the combination that includes Johnson and incorporating sensors for measuring PV output data, as taught by Caine.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification in order to better detect data associated with a plurality of PV strings that can be used for monitoring performance of and provided by said PV strings (see p51, Caine).
Regarding claim 29, the combination of Johnson, Caine, and Galler teaches all the limitations of the base claim as outlined above, and are analyzed as previously discussed with regard to that claim.
Cain further teaches wherein a plurality of sensors measure an output power of each combiner of a plurality of combiners (Sensors that measure input into inverters, where the inverters are connected to receive output of combiners, therefore sensors measure output of combiners, see p53, p51 p50, Caine).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the PV power plant as described by the combination that includes Johnson and incorporating sensors mearing combiner outputs, as taught by Caine.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification in order to better obtain data that can provide an amount of output power provided by a system that provides a summation of the output of a plurality of strings and can reduce the number of sensors needed for a system to gauge an output power provided by the system (see p53, p51, Caine).
Regarding claim 30, the combination of Johnson, Caine, and Galler teaches all the limitations of the base claim as outlined above, and are analyzed as previously discussed with regard to that claim.
Johnson further teaches wherein an output of a plurality of combiners is coupled to inverters (Combiners, through which power output from PVs pass, are connected to inverters, see P16, Fig. 1, Johnson; Note: also taught by Caine p50)
Claim 31 is rejected on the same grounds as claim 21, with p33 of Johnson also teaching a controller.
Claim 32 is rejected on the same grounds as claim 22.
Claim 33 is rejected on the same grounds as claim 23.
Claim 34 is rejected on the same grounds as claim 24.
Claim 35 is rejected on the same grounds as claim 25.
Claim 36 s rejected on the same grounds as claim 26.
Claim 37 is rejected on the same grounds as claim 27.
Claim 38 is rejected on the same grounds as claim 28.
Claim 39 is rejected on the same grounds as claim 29.
Claim 40 is rejected on the same grounds as claim 30.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Aghatehrani et al., US. Patent Publication No. 2017/0149373 A1 teaches dynamic control of a photovoltaic power plant that determines the status of individual inverters.
Conclusion
/EMILIO J SAAVEDRA/Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2117