DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by HANNUKSELA, (US 20150195577).
Regarding claim 1: encoder comprising: circuitry; and memory coupled to the circuitry, wherein in operation, the circuitry: encodes [¶0017 teaches: an encoder comprising at least one processor and memory, said memory containing computer program code, said computer program code being configured to, when executed on the at least one processor, cause the encoder to] a picture to generate coded data; generates a plurality of parameter sets indicating a plurality of filter candidates [¶0005 teaches: a parameter set may include picture, group of pictures (GOP), and sequence level data such as picture size, display window, optional coding modes employed, macroblock allocation map, and others], respectively, each of the plurality of parameter sets having an identifier [¶0005 teaches: Each parameter set instance may include a unique identifier]; generates a parameter that is information to be applied to a decoded picture obtained by decoding the coded data, the parameter indicating the identifier of a parameter set selected from the plurality of parameter sets [¶0005 teaches: Each slice header may include a reference to a parameter set identifier, and the parameter values of the referred parameter set may be used when decoding the slice.]; and generates a bitstream including the coded data, the plurality of parameter sets, and the parameter [¶0017 teaches: form a plurality of syntax element assignments, each syntax element assignment relating to a subset of parameters of a parameter set, and each syntax element assignment comprising assignments of values to said related subset of parameters, form an index for each of said plurality of syntax element assignments, form a plurality of combination parameter sets, each combination parameter set comprising indexes of a plurality of said syntax element assignments of said sub-sets of parameters, encode at least one said combination parameter set into a video bitstream for determining parameter values for video decoding].
Regarding claim 2: the claim is merely a decoder which complements the encoder of claim 1. HANUKSELLA teaches a decoder [there is provided a decoder comprising at least one processor and memory, ¶0018]. Therefore, the rejection of claim 1 applies equally to this claim.
Regarding claim 3: the claim is merely a transmission method comprising using the encoder of claim 1 and transmitting the bitstream. HANUKSELLA teaches transmitting the bitstream [bitstream to be transmitted, ¶0197]. Therefore, the rejection of claim 1 applies equally to this claim.
Regarding claim 4: the claim is merely a decoding method which complements the encoding carried out by the encoder of claim 1 and which could be carried out by the decoder of claim 2. HANUKSELLA teaches decoding [video (de)coding may be realized, ¶0202]. Therefore, the rejection of claim 1 applies equally to this claim.
Regarding claim 5: the claim is merely a non-transitory computer readable medium storing a bitstream and computer-executable instructions, the bitstream including information according to which the computer-executable instructions, when executed by a processor, cause a decoder to perform a method which complements the method performed by the encoder of claim 1. HANUKSELLA teaches a decoder [the encoder has structure and/or computer program for generating the bitstream to be decoded by the decoder, ¶0474; and The software may be stored on such physical media as memory chips, or memory blocks implemented within the processor, magnetic media such as hard disk or floppy disks, and optical media such as for example DVD and the data variants thereof, CD, ¶0478]. Therefore, the rejection of claim 1 applies equally to this claim.
Conclusion
Prior art not relied upon: Please refer to the references listed in an attached PTO-892 and that are not relied upon for the claim rejections detailed above. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
In particular, BORDES et al., (US 2024/0048731) teaches decoding a first portion of video data consisting of an information set consisting of information representative of a plurality of candidate sets of sample adaptive offset filter parameters;
LI et al., (US 2021/0409779) teaches bitstream processing technique for obtaining a first parameter set identifier from a data unit containing bits corresponding to a coded video region, obtaining a tool flag from a first parameter set corresponding to the first parameter set identifier, determining, from the tool flag, that a tool parameter of a tool corresponding to the tool flag is present or enabled for decoding the coded video region, wherein the tool corresponds to a video coding technique, obtaining, based on the determining, a second parameter set identifier, obtaining the tool parameter from a second parameter set corresponding to the second parameter set identifier, and decoding the video region using the tool parameter; and
MA et al., (US 2024/0397107) teaches a method of decoding a coded video bitstream by obtaining a picture-level syntax element included in a picture header of the current picture by parsing the video bitstream.
In the case of amending the claimed invention, Applicant is respectfully requested to indicate the portion(s) of the specification which dictate(s) the structure relied on for proper interpretation and also to verify and ascertain the metes and bounds of the claimed invention.
/MARNIE A MATT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2485