DETAILED ACTION
This communication is in responsive to Application 18/781343 filed on 8/24/2026. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Status of Claims:
Claims 1-20 are presented for examination.
Response to Arguments
3. Examiner statements in the mailed non-final with respect to obvious limitations including common knowledge or well-known in the art are taken to be admitted prior art because applicant failed to traverse the Examiner’s assertion, see MPEP 2144.03 C.
4. Applicant’s arguments in the amendment filed on 8/24/2026 regarding claim rejection under 35 USC § 103 with respect to Claims 1-20 have been considered and found unpersuasive because the cited art still teaches the claims as drafted.
a. Applicant argues that the claims request a distinct notification message from the reference signal (Remarks p. 10-11). Examiner disagrees because the cited art still teaches the limitation.
The notification message in the claims is used -as known in the art- to request channel characteristic information of a first channel type. See instant specification ¶0179.
Here, Liu teaches different type of CSI to be fed back that indicates channel type where different channel scenarios may be indicated by different NN types. See ¶0062.
This means as understood in the art to be similar to the notification message as claimed because the message indicates “type of CSI to be fed back” and “different channel scenarios” in comparison to CSI-RS “reference signal.”
Moreover, the claim does not call for a separate notification message as argued. The claim is interpreted as simultaneous messages as supported by instant specification ¶0176. Also, limitations that are not claimed but recited in the specification are not read into the claims as written.
Thus, Examiner maintains his interpretation and rejection.
b. Applicant argues that Liu does not teach “Library” (Remarks p. 11-13). Examiner disagrees because Liu still teaches the limitation.
Liu teaches -as stated in the action- this limitation is obvious because the different options of CSI conform the library with a plurality of channel scenarios or two different types of CSI. Also in fig. 7, the characteristics used for ML model includes received CSI or previously stored CSI (two types). See Figs. 5-6 & ¶0062-¶0065.
Also, the argument that the library is preexisting, indexed knowledge base is rejected because this luggage is not claimed. Again, limitations that appear in the specification but not claimed will not be read into the claim as drafted.
Therefore, Examiner maintains his rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 6-11 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hao Liu et al. (hereinafter Liu) WO 2021/102917A1.
Regarding Claim 1, Liu teaches a channel characteristic obtaining method (Figs. 2, 5 & 6), wherein the method comprises:
generating, by a first communication apparatus, a first reference signal and a first notification message (Fig. 2 & ¶0040; generating CSI in LTE where CSI is transmitted to second device. ¶0062; type of CSI to be fed back and different channel scenarios implies the notification message);
sending, by the first communication apparatus, the first reference signal and the first notification message to a second communication apparatus (Fig. 2 & ¶0040; device 210 sends CSI to second device 220);
and receiving, by the first communication apparatus, channel characteristic information of a first channel type from the second communication apparatus (¶0062-¶0065; receiving newly sampled CSI),
wherein the first channel type corresponds to first channel state information (CSI) determined by the second communication apparatus based on the first reference signal, the first notification message is useable to request the channel characteristic information of the first channel type (¶0062; type of CSI…high-precision CSI…low-precision CSI…¶0063; current channel scenario, such as UMI, Uma, Indoor, hybrid type…),
a channel characteristic of the first channel type is from a channel characteristic library, and the channel characteristic library comprises channel characteristics of one or more channel types (Figs. 5-6 & ¶0062-¶0065; this limitation is obvious because the different options of CSI conform the library with a plurality of channel scenarios or two different types of CSI. Also in fig. 7, the characteristics used for ML model includes received CSI or previously stored CSI (two types)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed limitation to realize the above limitation in view of common knowledge that different types of CSI and recent or stored CSI conform to a library in order to train a machine learning model to obtain at least a first set of parameters for generation of CSI and at least a second set of parameters for reconstruction of the CSI (abstract).
Regarding Claim 2, Liu further teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the channel characteristic information of the first channel type comprises the channel characteristic of the first channel type (Figs. 5 &6 & ¶0062-¶0066); the channel characteristic information of the first channel type comprises an index of the first channel type (¶0063; use of index for signaling purposes); or the channel characteristic information of the first channel type comprises a channel key of the first channel type.
Regarding Claim 3, Liu further teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the channel characteristic information of the first channel type comprises an index of the first channel type or a channel key of the first channel type, and the method further comprises: obtaining, by the first communication apparatus, the channel characteristic of the first channel type from the channel characteristic library based on the index of the first channel type or the channel key of the first channel type (Figs. 5 &6 & ¶0062-¶0066; use of index for signaling purposes to retrieve any of CSI types or recent CSI or stored CSI).
Regarding Claim 6, Liu further teaches the method according to claim 1, the method further comprising: adjusting, by the first communication apparatus based on the channel characteristic of the first channel type, at least one of the following parameters of the first reference signal: a sending density, a sending periodicity, a sending resource, or a sending power (obvious from Fig. 4 because the CSI is periodically or aperiodically fed back in non-equal intervals).
Regarding Claim 7, Liu further teaches the method according to claim 1, further comprising: performing, by the first communication apparatus, channel reconstruction or channel estimation based on the channel characteristic of the first channel type (¶0033-¶0034; The first layer of the CSI decoder 110 may be a fully connected layer, which provides an initial estimate of the channel matrix H. Then, the initial estimate of the channel matrix H may be fed into several “RefineNet units” that continuously refine the reconstruction and each comprises four layers. After refinement through the several RefineNet units, the channel matrix H is input into the final convolutional layer to derive the finally reconstructed channel matrix H).
Regarding Claim 8, Liu further teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the channel characteristic of the first channel type comprises at least one of: a quantity of a plurality of paths, an azimuth angle, a zenith angle, a delay, or a Doppler shift that corresponds to each of the plurality of paths (obvious from ¶0033-¶0034 and Fig. 7 because after end-to-end training procedure, the system take in two sets of parameters related to CSI encoder and decoder. It is known in the art that those parameters include channel matrix that represent multipath wireless channel [plurality of paths] and amplitude and phase that includes signal degradation [delay]).
Claims 9-11 are substantially similar to claims above, thus the same rationale applies.
Regarding Claim 14, Liu further teaches the method according to claim 9, further comprising: obtaining, by the second communication apparatus, a plurality of pieces of historical CSI; and establishing, by the second communication apparatus, the channel characteristic library based on the plurality of pieces of historical CSI (¶0060-¶0068 & Figs. 5 & 7; previously stored CSI is being used).
Claims 19-20 are substantially similar to claims above, thus the same rationale applies.
Claims 4 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu in view of Meizu et al. (hereinafter Meizu) CN 105187505 A (attached).
Regarding Claim 4, Liu teaches the method according to claim 1, further comprising: but does not expressly teach
sending, by the first communication apparatus, a download request to the second communication apparatus, wherein the download request is useable to request to download the channel characteristic library;
receiving, by the first communication apparatus, a first download address from the second communication apparatus;
and downloading, by the first communication apparatus, the channel characteristic library from the first download address.
Meizu teaches sending, by the first communication apparatus, a download request to the second communication apparatus, wherein the download request is useable to request to download the channel characteristic library (Liu teaches using index to retrieve different type of CSI which implies the use of library. Meizu teaches sending a download request, see claim 1);
receiving, by the first communication apparatus, a first download address from the second communication apparatus (Meizu further teaches returning a downloading address to download the resource, see claim 1);
and downloading, by the first communication apparatus, the channel characteristic library from the first download address (Meizu teaches downloading the resource).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed limitation to incorporate the teachings of Meizu into the system of Liu in order to improve download efficiency by providing the correct downloading address (abstract). Utilizing such teachings enable the system to obtain various resource libraries from different channels and download the libraries in timely manner and more efficient according to the correct address (see background).
Claim 12 is substantially similar to claims above, thus the same rationale applies.
Claims NOT Rejected Over the Prior Art
13. Prior art rejections have not been provided for claims 5, 13 and 15-18 as the claims include a combination of subject matter not disclosed by the prior art of record. However, these claims stand rejected at least over 35 U.S.C. 112, see above, which must be overcome before the claims can be designated as allowable.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
MAHRAN ABU ROUMI
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2455
/MAHRAN Y ABU ROUMI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2455