DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, Claims 1-5 in the reply filed on 22 September 2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 6-14 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Specifically, the phrase “the reeling temperature” lacks proper antecedent basis.
Further, the phrase “may be” is unclear. Is the temperature range optional?
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4 is/are rejected, to the degree definite, under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ito et al (20200199787).
In regards to Claim 1, Ito teaches a reeling manufacturing method of an elastic fiber, comprising:
providing an elastic fiber material (polyacetal fiber), the elastic fiber material having a core portion (center of filament) and a skin portion (outer surface of filament), the skin portion covering the core portion;
performing a first extending, to have the elastic fiber material passing a first guiding roller (pre-drawing roller), the speed of the first guiding roller being 500-1500 m/min (Example 31, rate of pre-drawing roller: 660 m/min);
performing a second extending, to have the elastic fiber material passing a second guiding roller (first drawing roller), the speed of the second guiding roller being 1200-2400 m/min (Example 31, rate of drawing roller in first stage: 1700 m/min); and
performing a third extending (second drawing roller), to have the elastic fiber material passing a third guiding roller, the speed of the third guiding roller is 1300-2600 m/min (Example 31, rate of drawing roller in second stage: 1870 m/min).
In regards to Claim 2, Ito teaches the speed of the first guiding roller is 550-1300 m/min, the speed of the second guiding roller is 1300-2000 m/min, the speed of the third guiding roller is 1350-2500 m/min (Example 31).
In regards to Claim 3, Ito teaches a winding step, to have the elastic fiber material passing a winding roller for winding, the speed of the winding roller being 1250-2250 m/min (Example 31, winding rate: 1850 m/min).
In regards to Claim 4, Ito teaches the reeling temperature of the elastic fiber material may be 160-240°C (Paragraph 18).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ito et al.
In regards to Claim 5, while Ito essentially teaches the invention as detailed above, it fails to specifically teach the temperature of the first, second, and third guiding rollers are 10-75°C. It would have been obvious, however, to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have adjusted the temperature of the guiding rollers as necessary, based on the desired heat treatment for the material being processed. The ordinarily skilled artisan would be more than capable of determining what temperature to operate the guiding rollers at, with the basic knowledge of how heat affects fibers being drawn. It should be noted, Applicant provides no criticality or unexpected results arising from the claimed temperature range, and as such, the range is considered an obvious choice.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Specifically, at least Bumgardner (20060201129) Figure 2 teaches elements similar to those as currently claimed.
/SHAUN R HURLEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3732