DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the communication filed on 5/4/2026.
1, 8 and 15 have been amended.
Claims 1-20 are pending for consideration.
Response to Arguments
Regarding the double patenting rejection raised in the previous rejection, the pending claims are still rejectable under nonstatutory double patenting over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,052247. Therefore, the rejection has been maintained.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12052247. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both applications disclose a common subject matter, such as, access control in secure computing environments in general and more specifically to using a delegation based model for enabling access in highly secure environments (see claims Comparison Table below).
Instant Application 18781365
Patent Application 12052247
Claim 1:
A computer implemented method for authenticating users, the method comprising:
obtaining, based on a request for access to a system from a user, a personalized session host assigned to the user;
obtaining a temporary certificate having an expiry time;
providing access to the personalized session host based on the temporary certificate, the access allowing the user to connect to the system; the access including:
receiving a request prior to the expiry of the temporary certificate to connect to one of a plurality of subsystems associated with the system; and
providing, by the personalized session host, the user with access to the one of the plurality of subsystems based on a same authentication provided by the temporary certificate; and
terminating the access to at least one of the personalized session host or the system in response to expiration of the expiry time of the temporary certificate.
Claim 1:
A computer implemented method for authenticating users, the computer implemented method comprising:
receiving from a user, a request for access to one or more systems of a plurality of systems, the request comprising an access token generated responsive to performing authentication via an authentication device; obtaining a personalized virtual machine assigned to the user; exchanging, using a certificate generation service, the access token for a temporary certificate having an expiry time; providing the temporary certificate to the personalized virtual machine;
providing the user with access to the personalized virtual machine; allowing the user to connect to any of the plurality of systems without requiring the user to authenticate again using the authentication device, comprising, repeating a plurality of times before the temporary certificate is expired: receiving, by the personalized virtual machine, a request to connect to a system selected from the plurality of systems, and providing, by the personalized virtual machine, the user with access to the selected system; and
responsive to exceeding the expiry time of the temporary certificate, denying, by the personalized virtual machine, subsequent requests from the user to connect to any of the plurality of systems.
Claim 8:
A non-transitory computer readable storage medium having stored thereon instructions that, when executed by one or more computer processors, cause the one or more computer processors to performs steps, comprising: obtaining, based on a request for access to a system from a user, a personalized session host assigned to the user; obtaining a temporary certificate having an expiry time; providing access to the personalized session host based on the temporary certificate, the access allowing the user to connect to the system, the access including: receiving a request prior to the expiry of the temporary certificate to connect to one of a plurality of subsystems associated with the system; and providing, by the personalized session host, the user with access to the one of the plurality of subsystems based on a same authentication provided by the temporary certificate; and terminating the access to at least one of the personalized session host or the system in response to expiration of the expiry time of the temporary certificate.
Claim 9:
A non-transitory computer readable storage medium storing instructions that when executed by one or more computer processors cause the one or more computer processors to perform steps comprising: receiving from a user, a request for access to one or more systems of a plurality of systems, the request comprising an access token generated responsive to performing authentication via an authentication device; obtaining a personalized virtual machine assigned to the user; exchanging, using a certificate generation service, the access token for a temporary certificate having an expiry time; providing the temporary certificate to the personalized virtual machine; providing the user with access to the personalized virtual machine; allowing the user to connect to any of the plurality of systems without requiring the user to authenticate again using the authentication device, comprising, repeating a plurality of times before the temporary certificate is expired: receiving, by the personalized virtual machine, a request to connect to a system selected from the plurality of systems, and providing, by the personalized virtual machine, the user with access to the selected system; and responsive to exceeding the expiry time of the temporary certificate, denying, by the personalized virtual machine, subsequent requests from the user to connect to any of the plurality of systems.
Claim 15:
A computer system comprising:
a memory; and
one or more processors configured to:
obtain, based on a request for access to a system from a user, a personalized session host assigned to the user;
obtain a temporary certificate having an expiry time;
provide access to the personalized session host based on the temporary certificate, the access allowing the user to connect to the system, the access including: receiving a request prior to the expiry of the temporary certificate to connect to one of a plurality of subsystems associated with the system; and providing, by the personalized session host, the user with access to the one of the plurality of subsystems based on a same authentication provided by the temporary certificate; and
terminate the access to at least one of the personalized session host or the system in response to expiration of the expiry time of the temporary certificate.
Claim 15:
A computer system comprising: one or more computer processors; and non-transitory computer readable storage medium storing instructions that when executed by the one or more computer processors causes the one or more computer processors to perform steps comprising: receiving from a user, a request for access to one or more systems of a plurality of systems, the request comprising an access token generated responsive to performing authentication via an authentication device; obtaining a personalized virtual machine assigned to the user; exchanging, using a certificate generation service, the access token for a temporary certificate having an expiry time; providing the temporary certificate to the personalized virtual machine; providing the user with access to the personalized virtual machine; allowing the user to connect to any of the plurality of systems without requiring the user to authenticate again using the authentication device, comprising, repeating a plurality of times before the temporary certificate is expired: receiving, by the personalized virtual machine, a request to connect to a system selected from the plurality of systems, and providing, by the personalized virtual machine, the user with access to the selected system; and responsive to exceeding the expiry time of the temporary certificate, denying, by the personalized virtual machine, subsequent requests from the user to connect to any of the plurality of systems.
The dependent claims of the instant application recite language similar to the dependent claims of the Patent application and are covered by the Patent application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-10, 12-17 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Innes et al. (US 20180007059) (hereinafter Innes) in view of Panikkar et al. (US 20230099355) (hereinafter Panikkar).
Regarding claim 1, Innes discloses a computer implemented method for authenticating users (Innes: paragraphs 0081 and 0084, “The enterprise services 508 may include authentication services … Authentication services 558 may include user authentication services, device authentication services, application authentication services, data authentication services and the like”), the method comprising:
obtaining, based on a request for access to a system from a user, a personalized session host assigned to the user (Innes: see Abstract and paragraphs 0117, 0151 and 0179, “for granting or denying a client device access to one or more resources in a remote computing environment”…“Once it is verified that the client 1201 is authenticated, the gateway 1223, application store 1225, and/or delivery controller 1235 (e.g., a Desktop Delivery Controller) may authorize the credential mapper 1229 to obtain a time-limited (e.g., temporary) smart card class certificate for AD logon on a designated virtualization machine.”);
obtaining a temporary certificate having an expiry time (Innes: paragraphs 0117, 0151 and 0179-0180, “Time-limited certificates may be valid for minutes, hours, days, or even shorter or longer. To support the authorization step, the store 1225/controller 1235 may present the original SAML token from the IdP 1213, for its validity to be verified again by the credential mapping service 1229. For example, the credential mapper 1229 may communicate with the IdP 1213 to verify the SAML token”);
providing access to the personalized session host based on the temporary certificate, the access allowing the user to connect to the system (Innes: paragraphs 0180-0183 and 0288, “a proof key held by the client agent 1201 may be linked (e.g., bound) to the short-lived certificate. Optionally, the credential mapper 1229 may be presented with the original IdP authentication token as evidence of a valid logon by the client 1201. The logon ticket may additionally or alternatively be used to encrypt a secure reference to the virtual smart card provided by the credential mapper 1229”… “The smart card class certificates may be trusted by the directory service 1241 (e.g., an AD domain) as interactive logon credentials for the relevant user accounts. In other words, the certificates may be treated as virtual smart cards, e.g., a smart card class user certificate. The certificates may have appropriate key usage for AD logon”); and
terminating the access to at least one of the personalized session host or the system in response to expiration of the expiry time of the temporary certificate (Innes: paragraphs 0179, 0221-0222 and 0290, “Time-limited certificates may be valid for minutes, hours, days, or even shorter or longer.”… “The reconnect handlers may tear down, remove, or disable connections, sessions, or other artifacts that relate to the previous context and labels”).
wherein the personalized session host is a virtual machine (Innes: paragraphs 0117, 0179-0180, 0190, 0221-0222 and 0290, “Once it is verified that the client 1201 is authenticated, the gateway 1223, application store 1225, and/or delivery controller 1235 (e.g., a Desktop Delivery Controller) may authorize the credential mapper 1229 to obtain a time-limited (e.g., temporary) smart card class certificate for AD logon on a designated virtualization machine”… “the client device 701 may include a client agent 703, such as a virtual machine program or application”).
Innes discloses the temporary certificate, see the above citations. Innes does not explicitly disclose the following limitations which are disclosed by Panikkar, the access including: receiving a request prior to the expiry of the temporary password to connect to one of a plurality of subsystems associated with the system (Panikkar: paragraphs 0024, 0046, 0067 and 0070, “Connection 2 is assumed to be another connection from the HR application 420-2 with the same username and password, but with a different database alias for a different database (e.g., a MongoDB). Once the access request reaches the authentication component 449 of the smart database cluster SSO manager 440 in Step 1, the authentication component 449 compares information in the access request with the cached information in the database vault component 447 (e.g., saved in Step 5 of the Connection 1 flow) in Step 2. If the connection details are the same and valid (e.g., Connection 1 is not expired) when compared to the DB vault component 447, the authentication component 449 in Step 2B reaches the MongoDB to get authorization and then directly hands off the connection in Step 3B. It should be noted that Connection 2 will be significantly faster (e.g., 2x faster) than a normal connection. This provides significant benefits, considering that in illustrative use case scenarios there may be thousands of connections of this type (e.g., which utilize cached information in the DB vault component 447) to connect to different databases using a single account.”); and providing, by the personalized session host, the user with access to the one of the plurality of subsystems based on a same authentication provided by the temporary password (Panikkar: paragraphs 0024, 0046, 0067 and 0070).
Innes and Panikkar are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor, access protection. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Innes and Panikkar before him or her, to modify the system of Innes to include an access including receiving a request prior to the expiry of a password to connect to one of a plurality of subsystems associated with a system and providing a user with access to one of the plurality of subsystems based on a same authentication of Panikkar. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been for enabling single sign-on services for database clusters (Panikkar: paragraph 0003).
Regarding claim 8, claim 8 discloses a medium claim that is substantially equivalent to the method of claim 1. Therefore, the arguments set forth above with respect to claim 1 are equally applicable to claim 8 and rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 15, claim 15 discloses a system claim that is substantially equivalent to the method of claim 1. Therefore, the arguments set forth above with respect to claim 1 are equally applicable to claim 15 and rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding claims 2, 9 and 16, Innes as modified discloses wherein the request for access includes an access token generated responsive to performing authentication via an authentication device (Innes: paragraphs 0115, 0162 and 0179, “when an application uses the certificate to build a secure session token, and when an application uses private keys for digital signing of important data”… “Once it is verified that the client 1201 is authenticated, the gateway 1223, application store 1225, and/or delivery controller 1235 (e.g., a Desktop Delivery Controller) may authorize the credential mapper 1229 to obtain a time-limited (e.g., temporary) smart card class certificate for AD logon on a designated virtualization machine. In other words, a temporary certificate may be created to emulate a smart card (e.g., one or more certificates in a smart card). Time-limited certificates may be valid for minutes, hours, days, or even shorter or longer. To support the authorization step, the store 1225/controller 1235 may present the original SAML token from the IdP 1213,”).
Regarding claims 3, 10 and 17, Innes as modified discloses further comprising exchanging, using a certificate generation service, the access token for the temporary certificate (Innes: paragraphs 0177-0179, “The client agent 1201 may send the SAML token to the gateway server 1223 and/or the application store 1225 when a full domain logon is to be requested.”…“ Once it is verified that the client 1201 is authenticated, the gateway 1223, application store 1225, and/or delivery controller 1235 (e.g., a Desktop Delivery Controller) may authorize the credential mapper 1229 to obtain a time-limited (e.g., temporary) smart card class certificate for AD logon on a designated virtualization machine.”).
Regarding claims 5, and 12, Innes as modified discloses further comprising:
unassigning the personalized virtual machine from the user in response to receiving a request to revoke access to the user (Innes: paragraphs 0194 and 0288-0290, “the credential mapper 1229 may determine which CA and certificate template combination to use to obtain a certificate for a particular session. Customers can use the Authentication Mechanism Assurance feature of AD and Enterprise Certificate Services (e.g., WINDOWS SERVER 2008) to cause user sessions based on these certificates to belong to particular security groups, such as WINDOWS security groups. This may allow the virtualization session 1237 to be granted or denied access to network resources using standard WINDOWS access control lists (ACLs).”).
Regarding claims 6, 13 and 19, Innes as modified discloses wherein the personalized session host is a personalized virtual machine (Innes: paragraphs 0177-0179 and 0283, “ Once it is verified that the client 1201 is authenticated, the gateway 1223, application store 1225, and/or delivery controller 1235 (e.g., a Desktop Delivery Controller) may authorize the credential mapper 1229 to obtain a time-limited (e.g., temporary) smart card class certificate for AD logon on a designated virtualization machine.”).
Regarding claims 7, 14 and 20, Innes as modified discloses further comprising:
obtaining a markup language token for the user in response to the request for access (Innes: paragraphs 0162-0163, “users may authenticate to a virtual desktop session, physical PC, or a remote desktop server session as an Active Directory user account by providing a SAML authorization token”); and
storing the markup language token in a browser cache of the personalized session host, wherein the providing of the access is further based on the stored markup language token (Innes: paragraphs 0170-0171, “The client agent 1201 may send credentials to the IdP 1213 for logon. Webview 1203 may also support standard security assertion markup language (SAML) protocol for SAML logon to the gateway server 1223 or application stores 1225. The gateway server 1223 may be a server or other resource that provides access to enterprise resources and/or cloud resources. During the logon process, the IdP 1213 may send an identity confirmation token (e.g., a SAML token) back to the client agent 1201. The SAML token may be used by the client agent 1201 as proof that it has authenticated with the identity system 1211, which may comprise an external partner of the resource system 1221.”).
Claim(s) 4, 11 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Innes in view of Panikkar, and further in view of Rossi (US 20210144015) (hereinafter Rossi).
Regarding claims 4, 11 and 18, over Innes in view of Panikkar does not explicitly disclose the following limitation which is disclosed by Rossi, wherein the exchanging includes:
sending a public key received from the personalized session host to the certificate generation service (Rossi: paragraphs 0071, 0077 and 0090-0094, “For example, “authorized keys” files of target accounts can have been populated with the public keys of the corresponding “Principal Keypairs””… “When the user sends a request for access into a target host (this can be a legacy host or a cloud host), the request can include an indication that the CA shall sign the public key of the user device and return a certificate.”… “the agent sends a request to a CA for signing of a public key request.”);
receiving a signed certificate from the certificate generation service (Rossi: paragraphs 0091 and 0094-0095, “At this stage the CA can return the signed certificate and principal keys to the agent. The agent can then forward the certificate and the principal keys to the client.”); and
providing the signed certificate to the personalized session host (Rossi: paragraphs 0091 and 0094-0095, “At this stage the CA can return the signed certificate and principal keys to the agent. The agent can then forward the certificate and the principal keys to the client.”).
over Innes in view of Panikkar and Rossi are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor, access protection. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of over Innes in view of Panikkar and Rossi before him or her, to modify the system of over Innes in view of Panikkar to include sending a public key received from a personalized session host to a certificate generation service, receiving a signed certificate from the certificate generation service and providing the signed certificate to the personalized session host of Rossi. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to enhance data security (Rossi: paragraph 0010).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TRANG T DOAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2431