DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for provisional priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(e). The provisional application being filed May 1, 2019, as Application No. 62/841,335.
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for domestic priority under 35 U.S.C. 120. The Continuation Application Number 17/962,997, being filed on October 10, 2022, now US Patent Number 12,068,566, which is a continuation of Application Number 16/863,581, being filed on April 30, 2020, now Patent Number 11,4956,895.
Drawings
The drawings were received on July 23, 2024. These drawings are approved.
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words. It is important that the abstract not exceed 150 words in length since the space provided for the abstract on the computer tape used by the printer is limited. The form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as "means" and "said," should be avoided. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, "The disclosure concerns," "The disclosure defined by this invention," "The disclosure describes," etc.
Extensive mechanical and design details of apparatus should not be given.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because in line 1, the abstract recites the terms “The present disclosure provides……”, which is improper language for the abstract. The applicant should delete the terms, to provide the abstract with proper language. Correction is required. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-30 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 2, 5, 6, 9, 11, 14-16, 18, 21, and 22 of U.S. Patent No. 11,495,895. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because all of the claimed subject matter is claimed in US Patent No. 11,495,895 (see below).
US Application Number 18/781,369
US Patent Number 11,495,895
1. An electrical wiring device comprising: a housing having a wire chamber; and a wire termination assembly positioned at least partially within the wire chamber, the wire termination assembly including: a conductive member; and a wire fastening member having at least one wire engaging surface, the wire fastening member being movable between an open position and a securing position; wherein when the wire fastening member is in the open position a gap is formed between the at least one wire engaging surface and the conductive member, and when an electrical conductor is positioned in the gap and as the wire fastening member is moved from the open position to the securing position the at least one wire engaging surface moves to engage the electrical conductor; and wherein when in the securing position the wire fastening member remains in the securing position until the wire fastening member is moved to the open position.
2. The electrical wiring device according to claim 1, wherein a locking assembly causes the wire fastening member to remain in the securing position until the wire fastening member is moved to the open position.
3. The electrical wiring device according to claim 2, wherein the locking assembly includes at least one holding member configured to interact with at least one surface of the wire fastening member.
4. The electrical wiring device according to claim 3, wherein the at least one holding member comprises a detent.
5. The electrical wiring device according to claim 1, wherein the wire fastening member is rotated or pivoted between the open position and the securing position.
1. An electrical wiring device comprising: a cover; and a base having a wire chamber supporting a wire termination assembly, wherein the wire termination assembly includes: a wire fastening member having at least one wire engaging surface, the wire fastening member being movable between an open position and a securing position; a conductive member in close proximity to the wire fastening member such that a gap is provided between the at least one wire engaging surface and the conductive member when the wire fastening member is in the open position, the conductive member including at least one wire gripping member extending in a direction of the gap; wherein when an electrical conductor is positioned in the gap and the wire fastening member is moved from the open position to the securing position, the at least one wire engaging surface moves to reduce the size of the gap and the at least one wire gripping member engages the electrical conductor and a locking member having a hinge portion and at least one detent configured to hold the wire fastening member in the securing position, and when a portion of the locking member is pressed, the hinge portion moves such that the wire fastening member is released from the locking member enabling the wire fastening member to pass the at least one detent.
6. The electrical wiring device according to claim 1, wherein the wire fastening member comprises a cam body and a lever arm, and wherein rotation or pivoting of the lever arm causes the cam body to rotate between the open position and the securing position.
2. The electrical wiring device according to claim 1, wherein the wire fastening member comprises a cam body and a lever arm extending from the cam body, and wherein rotation of the lever arm causes the cam body to rotate between the open position and the securing position.
7. The electrical wiring device according to claim 1, wherein the conductive member comprises an electrically conductive plate.
8. The electrical wiring device according to claim 7, wherein the electrically conductive plate includes at least one wire gripping member extending from the plate.
9. The electrical wiring device according to claim 8, wherein the at least one wire gripping member comprises a barb extending from the plate.
5. The electrical wiring device according to claim 1, wherein the conductive member comprises an electrically conductive plate and the at least one wire gripping member comprises a barb extending from the plate
10. The electrical wiring device according to claim 8, wherein the at least one wire gripping member comprises a pocket.
6. The electrical wiring device according to claim 1, wherein the conductive member comprises an electrically conductive plate and the wire gripping member comprises a pocket.
11. An electrical wiring device comprising: a housing having at least one wire chamber; and at least one wire termination assembly positioned at least partially within the at least one wire chamber, the at least one wire termination assembly including: a conductive member; and a wire fastening member having at least one wire engaging surface, the wire fastening member being movable relative to the housing between an open position and a securing position; wherein when the wire fastening member is in the open position a gap is formed between the at least one wire engaging surface and the conductive member, and when an electrical conductor is positioned in the gap and the wire fastening member is moved from the open position to the securing position the at least one wire engaging surface moves to engage the electrical conductor causing the electrical conductor to contact the conductive member; and wherein when in the securing position the wire fastening member remains in the securing position until the wire fastening member is moved to the open position.
12. The electrical wiring device according to claim 11, wherein a locking assembly causes the wire fastening member to remain in the securing position until the wire fastening member is moved to the open position.
13. The electrical wiring device according to claim 12, wherein the locking assembly includes at least one holding member configured to interact with at least one surface of the wire fastening member.
14. The electrical wiring device according to claim 13, wherein the at least one holding member comprises a detent.
15. The electrical wiring device according to claim 11, wherein the wire fastening member is rotated or pivoted between the open position and the securing position.
9. An electrical wiring device comprising: a cover; a base having a wire chamber; and a wire termination assembly including: a wire fastening member positioned within the wire chamber and having at least one wire engaging surface, the wire fastening member being rotatable between an open position and a securing position; a conductive member positioned within the wire chamber in close proximity to the wire fastening member such that a gap is provided between the at least one wire engaging surface and the conductive member when the wire fastening member is in the open position, the gap being sized to permit an electrical conductor to be inserted into the wire chamber, the conductive member including at least one wire gripping member extending in a direction of the gap; wherein when the electrical conductor is inserted in the wire chamber and the wire fastening member is rotated from the open position to the securing position, the at least one wire engaging surface rotates to reduce the gap and the at least one wire gripping member engages the electrical conductor; and a locking member having a hinge portion and at least one detent configured to hold the wire fastening member in the securing position, and when a portion of the locking member is pressed, the hinge portion moves such that the wire fastening member is released from the locking member enabling the wire fastening member to pass the at least one detent.
16. The electrical wiring device according to claim 11, wherein the wire fastening member comprises a cam body and a lever arm, and wherein rotation or pivoting of the lever arm causes the cam body to rotate or pivot between the open position and the securing position.
11. The electrical wiring device according to claim 9, wherein the wire fastening member comprises a cam body and a lever arm extending from the cam body, and wherein rotation of the lever arm causes the cam body to rotate between the open position and the securing position.
17. The electrical wiring device according to claim 11, wherein the conductive member comprises an electrically conductive plate.
18. The electrical wiring device according to claim 17, wherein the electrically conductive plate includes at least one wire gripping member extending from the plate.
19. The electrical wiring device according to claim 18, wherein the at least one wire gripping member comprises a barb extending from the plate.
14. The electrical wiring device according to claim 9, wherein the conductive member comprises an electrically conductive plate and the at least one wire gripping member comprises a barb extending from the plate.
20. The electrical wiring device according to claim 18, wherein the at least one wire gripping member comprises a pocket.
15. The electrical wiring device according to claim 9, wherein the conductive member comprises an electrically conductive plate and the wire gripping member comprises a pocket.
21. An electrical wiring device comprising: a housing having at least one wire chamber; and at least one wire termination assembly positioned at least partially within the at least one wire chamber, the at least one wire termination assembly including: a conductive member; and a wire fastening member movable relative to the housing between an open position and a securing position; wherein when the wire fastening member is in the open position a gap is formed between the wire fastening member and the conductive member, and when an electrical conductor is positioned in the gap and the wire fastening member is moved from the open position to the securing position the wire fastening member engages the electrical conductor causing the electrical conductor to contact the conductive member; and wherein when in the securing position the wire fastening member remains in the securing position until the wire fastening member is moved to the open position.
22. The electrical wiring device according to claim 21, wherein a locking assembly causes the wire fastening member to remain in the securing position until the wire fastening member is moved to the open position.
23. The electrical wiring device according to claim 22, wherein the locking assembly includes at least one holding member configured to interact with at least one surface of the wire fastening member.
24. The electrical wiring device according to claim 23, wherein the at least one holding member comprises a detent.
25. The electrical wiring device according to claim 21, wherein the wire fastening member is rotated or pivoted between the open position and the securing position.
16. An electrical wiring device comprising: a cover; a base having a plurality of wire chambers; and a plurality of wire termination assemblies, wherein one of the plurality of wire termination assemblies is associated with one of the plurality of wire chambers, each wire termination assembly including: a wire fastening member positioned within the wire chamber and having at least one wire engaging surface, the wire fastening member being movable between an open position and a securing position; a conductive member positioned within the wire chamber in close proximity to the wire fastening member such that a gap is provided between the at least one wire engaging surface and the conductive member when the wire fastening member is in the open position, the gap being sized to permit an electrical conductor to be inserted into the wire chamber, the conductive member including at least one wire gripping member extending in a direction of the gap; wherein when the electrical conductor is positioned in the gap and the wire fastening member is moved from the open position to the securing position, the at least one wire engaging surface rotates to reduce the gap between the wire fastening member and the conductive member and the at least one wire gripping member engages the electrical conductor; and a locking member having a hinge portion and at least one detent configured to hold the wire fastening member in the securing position, and when a portion of the locking member is pressed, the hinge portion moves such that the wire fastening member is released from the locking member enabling the wire fastening member to pass the at least one detent.
26. The electrical wiring device according to claim 21, wherein the wire fastening member comprises a cam body and a lever arm, and wherein rotation or pivoting of the lever arm causes the cam body to rotate or pivot between the open position and the securing position.
18. The electrical wiring device according to claim 16, wherein the wire fastening member comprises a cam body and a lever arm extending from the cam body, and wherein rotation of the lever arm causes the cam body to rotate between the open position and the securing position.
27. The electrical wiring device according to claim 21, wherein the conductive member comprises an electrically conductive plate.
28. The electrical wiring device according to claim 27, wherein the electrically conductive plate includes at least one wire gripping member extending from the plate.
29. The electrical wiring device according to claim 28, wherein the at least one wire gripping member comprises a barb extending from the plate.
21. The electrical wiring device according to claim 16, wherein the conductive member comprises an electrically conductive plate and the at least one wire gripping member comprises a barb extending from the plate.
30. The electrical wiring device according to claim 28, wherein the at least one wire gripping member comprises a pocket.
22. The electrical wiring device according to claim 16, wherein the wire fastening member comprises a cam shaft and a head, the cam shaft having at least one cam, and wherein rotation of the cam shaft causes the at least one cam to rotate between the open position and the securing position.
Claims 1-30 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3, 7-10, 12, 16-21, and 24-27 of U.S. Patent No. 12,068,566. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because all of the claimed subject matter is claimed in US Patent No. 12,068,566 (see below).
US Application Number 18/781,369
US Patent Number 12,068,566
1. An electrical wiring device comprising: a housing having a wire chamber; and a wire termination assembly positioned at least partially within the wire chamber, the wire termination assembly including: a conductive member; and a wire fastening member having at least one wire engaging surface, the wire fastening member being movable between an open position and a securing position; wherein when the wire fastening member is in the open position a gap is formed between the at least one wire engaging surface and the conductive member, and when an electrical conductor is positioned in the gap and as the wire fastening member is moved from the open position to the securing position the at least one wire engaging surface moves to engage the electrical conductor; and wherein when in the securing position the wire fastening member remains in the securing position until the wire fastening member is moved to the open position.
2. The electrical wiring device according to claim 1, wherein a locking assembly causes the wire fastening member to remain in the securing position until the wire fastening member is moved to the open position.
3. The electrical wiring device according to claim 2, wherein the locking assembly includes at least one holding member configured to interact with at least one surface of the wire fastening member.
4. The electrical wiring device according to claim 3, wherein the at least one holding member comprises a detent.
5. The electrical wiring device according to claim 1, wherein the wire fastening member is rotated or pivoted between the open position and the securing position.
1. An electrical wiring device comprising: a cover; and a base having a wire chamber supporting a wire termination assembly, wherein the wire termination assembly includes: a wire fastening member having at least one wire engaging surface, the wire fastening member being movable between an open position and a securing position; a conductive member in close proximity to the wire fastening member such that a gap is provided between the at least one wire engaging surface and the conductive member when the wire fastening member is in the open position, and when an electrical conductor is positioned in the gap and the wire fastening member is moved from the open position to the securing position, the at least one wire engaging surface moves to engage the electrical conductor; and a locking assembly having at least one holding member included on the base and configured to interact with at least a longitudinal surface of the wire fastening member so as to hold the wire fastening member in the securing position.
9. The electrical wiring device according to claim 21, wherein the at least one holding member comprises a detent.
2. The electrical wiring device according to claim 1, wherein the wire fastening member is rotatable between the open position and the securing position.
6. The electrical wiring device according to claim 1, wherein the wire fastening member comprises a cam body and a lever arm, and wherein rotation or pivoting of the lever arm causes the cam body to rotate between the open position and the securing position.
3. The electrical wiring device according to claim 1, wherein the wire fastening member comprises a cam body and a lever arm, and wherein rotation of the lever arm causes the cam body to rotate between the open position and the securing position.
7. The electrical wiring device according to claim 1, wherein the conductive member comprises an electrically conductive plate.
8. The electrical wiring device according to claim 7, wherein the electrically conductive plate includes at least one wire gripping member extending from the plate.
9. The electrical wiring device according to claim 8, wherein the at least one wire gripping member comprises a barb extending from the plate.
7. The electrical wiring device according to claim 6, wherein the conductive member comprises an electrically conductive plate and the at least one wire gripping member comprises a barb extending from the plate.
10. The electrical wiring device according to claim 8, wherein the at least one wire gripping member comprises a pocket.
8. The electrical wiring device according to claim 6, wherein the conductive member comprises an electrically conductive plate and the wire gripping member comprises a pocket.
11. An electrical wiring device comprising: a housing having at least one wire chamber; and at least one wire termination assembly positioned at least partially within the at least one wire chamber, the at least one wire termination assembly including: a conductive member; and a wire fastening member having at least one wire engaging surface, the wire fastening member being movable relative to the housing between an open position and a securing position; wherein when the wire fastening member is in the open position a gap is formed between the at least one wire engaging surface and the conductive member, and when an electrical conductor is positioned in the gap and the wire fastening member is moved from the open position to the securing position the at least one wire engaging surface moves to engage the electrical conductor causing the electrical conductor to contact the conductive member; and wherein when in the securing position the wire fastening member remains in the securing position until the wire fastening member is moved to the open position.
12. The electrical wiring device according to claim 11, wherein a locking assembly causes the wire fastening member to remain in the securing position until the wire fastening member is moved to the open position.
13. The electrical wiring device according to claim 12, wherein the locking assembly includes at least one holding member configured to interact with at least one surface of the wire fastening member.
14. The electrical wiring device according to claim 13, wherein the at least one holding member comprises a detent.
15. The electrical wiring device according to claim 11, wherein the wire fastening member is rotated or pivoted between the open position and the securing position.
An electrical wiring device comprising: a cover; a base having a wire chamber; and a wire termination assembly including: a wire fastening member positioned within the wire chamber and having at least one wire engaging surface, the wire fastening member being rotatable between an open position and a securing position; a conductive member positioned within the wire chamber in close proximity to the wire fastening member such that a gap is provided between the at least one wire engaging surface and the conductive member when the wire fastening member is in the open position, and when the electrical conductor is inserted in the wire chamber and the wire fastening member is rotated from the open position to the securing position, the at least one wire engaging surface rotates to engage the electrical conductor; and a locking assembly having at least one holding member positioned on the base and configured to interact with at least a longitudinal surface of the wire fastening member so as to hold the wire fastening member in the securing position.
18. The electrical wiring device according to claim 10, wherein the at least one holding member comprises a detent.
12. The electrical wiring device according to claim 10, wherein the wire fastening member is rotatable between the open position and the securing position.
16. The electrical wiring device according to claim 11, wherein the wire fastening member comprises a cam body and a lever arm, and wherein rotation or pivoting of the lever arm causes the cam body to rotate or pivot between the open position and the securing position.
12. The electrical wiring device according to claim 10, wherein the wire fastening member is rotatable between the open position and the securing position.
17. The electrical wiring device according to claim 11, wherein the conductive member comprises an electrically conductive plate.
18. The electrical wiring device according to claim 17, wherein the electrically conductive plate includes at least one wire gripping member extending from the plate.
19. The electrical wiring device according to claim 18, wherein the at least one wire gripping member comprises a barb extending from the plate.
16. The electrical wiring device according to claim 15, wherein the conductive member comprises an electrically conductive plate and the at least one wire gripping member comprises a barb extending from the plate.
20. The electrical wiring device according to claim 18, wherein the at least one wire gripping member comprises a pocket.
17. The electrical wiring device according to claim 15, wherein the conductive member comprises an electrically conductive plate and the wire gripping member comprises a pocket.
21. An electrical wiring device comprising: a housing having at least one wire chamber; and at least one wire termination assembly positioned at least partially within the at least one wire chamber, the at least one wire termination assembly including: a conductive member; and a wire fastening member movable relative to the housing between an open position and a securing position; wherein when the wire fastening member is in the open position a gap is formed between the wire fastening member and the conductive member, and when an electrical conductor is positioned in the gap and the wire fastening member is moved from the open position to the securing position the wire fastening member engages the electrical conductor causing the electrical conductor to contact the conductive member; and wherein when in the securing position the wire fastening member remains in the securing position until the wire fastening member is moved to the open position.
22. The electrical wiring device according to claim 21, wherein a locking assembly causes the wire fastening member to remain in the securing position until the wire fastening member is moved to the open position.
23. The electrical wiring device according to claim 22, wherein the locking assembly includes at least one holding member configured to interact with at least one surface of the wire fastening member.
24. The electrical wiring device according to claim 23, wherein the at least one holding member comprises a detent.
25. The electrical wiring device according to claim 21, wherein the wire fastening member is rotated or pivoted between the open position and the securing position.
19. An electrical wiring device comprising: a cover; a base having a plurality of wire chambers; and a plurality of wire termination assemblies, wherein one of the plurality of wire termination assemblies is associated with one of the plurality of wire chambers, each wire termination assembly including: a wire fastening member positioned within the wire chamber and having at least one wire engaging surface, the wire fastening member being movable between an open position and a securing position; a conductive member positioned within the wire chamber in close proximity to the wire fastening member such that a gap is provided between the at least one wire engaging surface and the conductive member when the wire fastening member is in the open position, and when the electrical conductor is positioned in the gap and the wire fastening member is moved from the open position to the securing position, the at least one wire engaging surface moves to engage the electrical conductor; and a locking assembly having at least one holding member included on the base and configured to interact with at least a longitudinal surface of the wire fastening member so as to hold the wire fastening member in the securing position.
27. The electrical wiring device according to claim 19, wherein the at least one holding member comprises a detent.
20. The electrical wiring device according to claim 19, wherein the wire fastening member is rotatable between the open position and the securing position.
26. The electrical wiring device according to claim 21, wherein the wire fastening member comprises a cam body and a lever arm, and wherein rotation or pivoting of the lever arm causes the cam body to rotate or pivot between the open position and the securing position.
21. The electrical wiring device according to claim 16, wherein the wire fastening member comprises a cam body and a lever arm extending from the cam body, and wherein rotation of the lever arm causes the cam body to rotate between the open position and the securing position.
27. The electrical wiring device according to claim 21, wherein the conductive member comprises an electrically conductive plate.
28. The electrical wiring device according to claim 27, wherein the electrically conductive plate includes at least one wire gripping member extending from the plate.
29. The electrical wiring device according to claim 28, wherein the at least one wire gripping member comprises a barb extending from the plate.
24. The electrical wiring device according to claim 19, wherein the conductive member comprises an electrically conductive plate and the at least one wire gripping member comprises a barb extending from the plate.
25. The electrical wiring device according to claim 24, wherein the conductive member comprises an electrically conductive plate and the at least one wire gripping member comprises a barb extending from the plate
30. The electrical wiring device according to claim 28, wherein the at least one wire gripping member comprises a pocket.
26. The electrical wiring device according to claim 24, wherein the wire fastening member comprises a cam shaft and a head, the cam shaft having at least one cam, and wherein rotation of the cam shaft causes the at least one cam to rotate between the open position and the securing position.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7, 11-17, and 21-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Joy (Pat Num 8,137,145). Joy discloses an electrical distribution wiring device comprising a movable arm that manually actuates to a first and second position, wherein the first position selectively secures a wire inserted within the at least one wire termination so as to establish electrical communication between the wire and the conductive surface and the second position permitting the wire to be selectively inserted or removed from the at least one wire termination (Col 3, lines 25-33). Specifically, with respect to claim 1, Joy discloses an electrical wiring device (100, Figs 1-6) comprising a housing (112 & 114) having a wire chamber (located at W) and a wire termination assembly (200a) positioned at least partially within the wire chamber (located at W), wherein the wire termination assembly (200a) includes a wire fastening member (202a) having at least one wire engaging surface (located at 214), wherein the wire fastening member (202a) being movable between an open position and a securing position (Col 5, lines 1-10) and a conductive member (120) in close proximity to the wire fastening member (202a) such that a gap is provided between the at least one wire engaging surface (located at 214) and the conductive member (120) when the wire fastening member (202a) is in the open position (Fig 6), wherein when the wire fastening member (202a) is moved from the open position to the securing position (i.e. closed) the at least one wire engaging surface (located at 214) moves to reduce the size of the gap between the wire fastening member (202a) and the conductive member (102, Fig 6, Col 6, lines 43-46). With respect to claim 2, Joy discloses that the electrical wiring device (100) further comprising a locking system (250) capable of releasably holding at least a portion of the wire fastening member (202a) in the securing position (Col 7, lines 23-38). With respect to claims 3-4, Joy discloses that the locking system (250) comprises one or more detents associated with the base (112), and wherein when the wire fastening member (202a) is in the securing position the one or more detents releasably holding a surface of the wire fastening member (202a) locking the wire fastening member (202a) in the securing position (Col 7, lines 23-38). With respect to claim 5, Joy discloses that the wire fastening member (202a) comprises a cam body (212) and a lever arm (210a), and wherein rotation of the lever arm (210a) causes the cam body (212) to rotate between the open position and the securing position (Col 5, lines 30-40). With respect to claim 6, Joy discloses that the wire fastening member (202a) comprises a cam shaft (located at 212) and a head (not shown), the cam shaft (located at 212) having at least one cam (212), and wherein rotation of the cam shaft (located at 212) causes the at least one cam (212) to rotate between the open position and the securing position (Col 5, lines 1-18). With respect to claim 7, Joy discloses that the conductive member (120) comprises an electrically conductive plate (120a) having at least one pocket used to grip a wire (W) when the wire fastening member (202a) is in the securing position (Col 7, lines 56-63). With respect to claim 11, Joy an electrical wiring device (100, Figs 1-6) comprising a housing (112 & 114) having a wire chamber (located at W) and a wire termination assembly (200a) positioned at least partially within the wire chamber (located at W), wherein the wire termination assembly (200a) includes a wire fastening member (202a) having at least one wire engaging surface (located at 214), wherein the wire fastening member (202a) being movable between an open position and a securing position (Col 5, lines 1-10) and a conductive member (120) in close proximity to the wire fastening member (202a) such that a gap is provided between the at least one wire engaging surface (located at 214) and the conductive member (120) when the wire fastening member (202a) is in the open position (Fig 6), wherein when the wire fastening member (202a) is moved from the open position to the securing position (i.e. closed) the at least one wire engaging surface (located at 214) moves to reduce the size of the gap between the wire fastening member (202a) and the conductive member (102, Fig 6, Col 6, lines 43-46). With respect to claim 12, Joy discloses that the electrical wiring device (100) further comprising a locking system (250) capable of releasably holding at least a portion of the wire fastening member (202a) in the securing position (Col 7, lines 23-38). With respect to claim 13-14, Joy discloses that the locking system (250) comprises one or more detents associated with the base (112), and wherein when the wire fastening member (202a) is in the securing position the one or more detents releasably holding a surface of the wire fastening member (202a) locking the wire fastening member (202a) in the securing position (Col 7, lines 23-38). With respect to claim 15, Joy discloses that the wire fastening member (202a) comprises a cam body (212) and a lever arm (210a), and wherein rotation of the lever arm (210a) causes the cam body (212) to rotate between the open position and the securing position (Col 5, lines 30-40). With respect to claim 16, Joy discloses that the conductive member (120) comprises an electrically conductive plate (120a) having at least one pocket used to grip a wire (W) when the wire fastening member (202a) is in the securing position (Col 7, lines 56-63). With respect to claim 21, Joy discloses an electrical wiring device (100, Figs 1-6) comprising a housing (112 & 114) having a wire chamber (located at W) and a wire termination assembly (200a) positioned at least partially within the wire chamber (located at W), wherein one of the wire termination assembly (200a) is associated with one of the plurality of wire chambers (Fig 4), wherein each wire termination assembly (200a) includes a wire fastening member (202a) having at least one wire engaging surface (located at 214), wherein the wire fastening member (202a) being movable between an open position and a securing position (Col 5, lines 1-10) and a conductive member (120) in close proximity to the wire fastening member (202a) such that a gap is provided between the at least one wire engaging surface (located at 214) and the conductive member (120) when the wire fastening member (202a) is in the open position (Fig 6), wherein when the wire fastening member (202a) is moved from the open position to the securing position (i.e. closed) the at least one wire engaging surface (located at 214) moves to reduce the size of the gap between the wire fastening member (202a) and the conductive member (102, Fig 6, Col 6, lines 43-46). With respect to claim 22, Joy discloses that the wire fastening member (202a) is rotatable between the open position and the securing position (Col 5, lines 1-18). With respect to claims 23-24, Joy discloses that the locking system (250) comprises one or more detents associated with the base (112), and wherein when the wire fastening member (202a) is in the securing position the one or more detents releasably holding a surface of the wire fastening member (202a) locking the wire fastening member (202a) in the securing position (Col 7, lines 23-38). With respect to claim 25, Joy discloses that the wire fastening member (202a) is rotated or pivoted between an open and securing position (Fig 6, Col 6, lines 43-46). With respect to claim 26, Joy discloses that the wire fastening member (202a) comprises a cam body (212) and a lever arm (210a), and wherein rotation of the lever arm (210a) causes the cam body (212) to rotate between the open position and the securing position (Col 5, lines 30-40). With respect to claim 27, Joy discloses that the conductive member (120) comprises an electrically conductive plate (120a) having at least one pocket used to grip a wire (W) when the wire fastening member (202a) is in the securing position (Col 7, lines 56-63).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8-10, 18-20, and 28-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Joy (Pat Num 8,137,145) in view of Keollmann (Pat Num 8,480,424). Joy discloses an electrical distribution wiring device comprising a movable arm that manually actuates to a first and second position, wherein the first position selectively secures a wire inserted within the at least one wire termination so as to establish electrical communication between the wire and the conductive surface and the second position permitting the wire to be selectively inserted or removed from the at least one wire termination (Col 3, lines 25-33), as disclosed with respect to claims 1, 11, and 21 above. Specifically, with respect to claims 10, 20, and 30, Joy discloses that the conductive member (120) comprises an electrically conductive plate (120a) having at least one pocket used to grip a wire (W) when the wire fastening member (202a) is in the securing position (Col 7, lines 56-63).
While Joy discloses a conductive member (120) comprises an electrically conductive plate (Fig 4), Joy doesn’t necessarily disclose the conductive member having one or more barbs extending from the plate and used to grip a wire when the wire fastening member is in the securing position (claims 8-9, 18-19, & 28-29).
Keollmann teaches an electrical wiring device (Figs 1-4) improved electrical connecting terminal having an operating lever, wherein the terminal is compact and requires little operating force as possible (Cols 1 & 2, lines 65-67 & 1-2, respectively). Specifically, with respect to claims 8-9, 18-19, & 28-29, Keollmann teaches an electrical wiring device (1, Fig 1) comprising a housing (2) having a conductor insertion opening (11), wherein the housing (2) includes an electrically conductive member (4) comprising one or more barbs (10) extending from the plate (located at 4), wherein the barbs (10) grip the wire (23), when a fastening member (15) is in the securing position (Col 4, lines 1-15).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art of electrical wiring devices at the time the invention was made to modify the electrical conductive member of Joy to comprise the barbs configuration as taught by Keollmann because Keollmann teaches that such a configuration provides an electrical wiring device (Figs 1-4) improved electrical connecting terminal having an operating lever, wherein the terminal is compact and requires little operating force as possible (Cols 1 & 2, lines 65-67 & 1-2, respectively).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Please refer to the enclosed PTO-892 form for the citation of pertinent art in the present case, all of which disclose various electrical wiring devices.
Communication
/William H. Mayo III/
William H. Mayo III
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2847
WHM III
September 23, 2025