DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
Acknowledgment is made of receipt of Information Disclosure Statements (PTO-1449) filed 10/07/2024, 06/03/2025 and 03/03/2026. An initialed copy is attached to this Office Action.
Drawings
Figures 1A-2 should be designated by a legend such as --Prior Art-- because only that which is old is illustrated. See MPEP § 608.02(g). Corrected drawings in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. The replacement sheet(s) should be labeled “Replacement Sheet” in the page header (as per 37 CFR 1.84(c)) so as not to obstruct any portion of the drawing figures. If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Double Patenting
Claims 107-112, 114 and 116 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3, 5 and 7 of U.S. Patent No. 11,698,566. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the referenced patent claims a method of manufacturing electrochromic devices that encompass the step claims of the method of manufacturing two or more electrochromic devices in the current application. The method of the current application recites in claim 107 that the manufacturing process is performed between a first facility and second facility, wherein the initial fabrication process of the monolithic electrochromic device at the first facility comprises an electrochromic stack between two transparent electrically conductive layers on a glass substrate with a hermetic top coat applied to the second transparent electrically conductive layer, as is also presented in claim 1 of the referenced patent. The glass substrate is then shipped to a second facility for post-processing; the listed post-processing options of the current application are found in both the claims and specification of the referenced patent. The dependent claims of the current application and the referenced patent recite the same subject matter regarding post-processing steps taken.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 107-114, 116 and 117 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Parker et al. (USPG Pub No. 2012/0327499), hereinafter “Parker”, in view of Karmhag et al. (USPG Pub No. 2016/0085128), hereinafter “Karmhag”.
Regarding claim 107, Parker discloses a method of manufacturing two or more electrochromic devices (see Fig. 2, Paragraph 55), the method of manufacturing comprising: (a) in a first facility: (i) fabricating a monolithic electrochromic device coating comprising an electrochromic stack between a first and a second transparent electrically conductive layer (415, 425) on a glass substrate (405), the first transparent electrically conductive layer being closest to the glass substrate (405) (see Figs. 1A, 4A, Paragraph 42); (ii) providing a hermetic topcoat on second transparent electrically conductive layer (Paragraph 42); wherein post-processing comprises performing two or more processes selected from the group consisting of: i. removing the hermetic topcoat, ii. cutting the glass substrate into two or more electrochromic lites (see Fig. 1A – step 150, Paragraph 67), iii. laser patterning the monolithic electrochromic device coating into two or more daughter electrochromic devices (see Fig. 1A – steps 130, 140, Paragraph 67), iv. applying one or more bus bars to the monolithic electrochromic device coating, to the two or more electrochromic lites or to the daughter electrochromic devices (see Fig. 1A – step 170, Paragraph 67), and v. fabricating one or more insulated glass units using the two or more electrochromic lites or daughter electrochromic devices (see Fig. 1A – step 180, Paragraph 67 – the cited paragraphs and steps satisfy the “two or more processes” requirement of the claim). Parker discloses the claimed invention, but does not specify (b) shipping the substrate from the first facility to a second facility; and (c) performing post-processing in the second facility, wherein the first facility is different from the second facility. In the same field of endeavor, Karmhag discloses (b) shipping the substrate from the first facility to a second facility (see Figs. 8A, 8B, Paragraph 54); and (c) performing post-processing in the second facility (see Figs. 8A, 8B, Paragraph 54), wherein the first facility is different from the second facility (see Figs. 8A, 8B, Paragraph 54). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the method of Parker with (b) shipping the substrate from the first facility to a second facility; and (c) performing post-processing in the second facility, wherein the first facility is different from the second facility of Karmhag for the purpose of enabling a cost-efficient large-scale production of electrochromic devices that are later cut into a final shape electrochromic device suitable for the desired application (Paragraph 23).
Regarding claim 108, Parker further discloses wherein (c) performing the post-processing comprises performing the laser patterning and applying the one or more bus bars (see Fig. 1A, Paragraph 67).
Regarding claim 109, Parker further discloses wherein (c) performing the post-processing comprises performing the laser patterning, followed by applying the one or more bus bars (see Fig. 1A, Paragraph 67).
Regarding claim 110, Parker further discloses wherein (c) performing the post-processing comprises performing the laser patterning, applying the one or more bus bars, and cutting the glass substrate (see Fig. 1A, Paragraph 67).
Regarding claim 111, Parker further discloses wherein (c) performing the post-processing comprises performing the laser patterning, applying the one or more bus bars, and cutting the glass substrate, wherein the one or more bus bars are applied after the laser patterning is performed and prior to cutting the glass substrate (see Figs. 1A, 1B, Paragraph 38).
Regarding claim 112, Parker further discloses wherein the laser patterning comprises (1) applying the one or more bus bars, (2) locally removing material from the electrochromic device, (3) locally deactivating regions of the monolithic electrochromic device, (4) locally mitigating shorts, or (5) locally activating regions of the monolithic electrochromic device while leaving other regions inactive (see Figs. 1A, 1B, Paragraphs 50, 54).
Regarding claim 113, Parker further discloses wherein the laser patterning comprises locally deactivating regions of the monolithic electrochromic device (see Figs. 1A, 1B, Paragraph 54).
Regarding claim 114, Parker further discloses wherein the one or more bus bars are applied to the first transparent electrically conductive layer or the second transparent electrically conductive layer (see Figs. 1A, 1B, 4A, 4B).
Regarding claim 116, Parker further discloses wherein the electrochromic stack comprises an electrochromic layer and a counter electrode layer (Paragraph 42).
Regarding claim 117, Parker discloses further comprising annealing the glass substrate comprising the electrochromic stack after cutting (see Fig. 1A – step 190, Paragraph 70). Parker and Karmhag teach the method set forth above for claim 107, Karmhag further disclose at the second facility (Paragraph 54). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to provide the method of Parker with the teachings of Karmhag for at least the same reasons as those set forth above with respect to claim 107.
Claim 115 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Parker (USPG Pub No. 2012/0327499) in view of Karmhag (USPG Pub No. 2016/0085128) as applied to claim 107 above, and further in view of Leventis et al. (USP No. 5,189,549).
Regarding claim 115, Parker and Karmhag disclose the claimed invention, but do not specify wherein the one or more bus bars are optically transparent. In the same field of endeavor, Leventis discloses wherein the one or more bus bars are optically transparent (Col. 7, Lines 42-46). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the method of Parker and Karmhag with wherein the one or more bus bars are optically transparent of Leventis for the purpose of providing an electrochromic element for a transmissive electronic device application (Col. 7, Line 42).
Prior Art Citations
Byker et al. (USP No. 5,805,330) is being cited herein to show a method of manufacturing electrochromic devices relevant to the claimed invention.
Conclusion
/MAHIDERE S SAHLE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872 6/12/2026