DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 55 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 55, the phrase "e.g." renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Double Patenting
Claims 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 36, 37, 38, 39, 40, 41, 42, 43, 48, 50, 51, 55, 59, 70, 71 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 18, 20, 21, 23, 30, 38, 39 of U.S. Patent No. 12,074,273. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the reference patent contains all of the limitations of the respective claims of the claimed invention.
Claims 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 36, 37, 38, 39, 40, 41, 42, 48, 50, 51, 49, 70, 71 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 1, 2, 3, 4, 6, 7, 8, 9, 6, 7, 10, 11, 13, 14, 17, 18, 19 of U.S. Patent No. 10,978,734. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the reference patent contains all of the limitations of the respective claims of the claimed invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 28, 29, 31-33, 39, 51, 59, 70, 71 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Mukherjee et al. (PGPub 2017/0214095).
Considering Claim 28, Mukherjee discloses a cathode (cathode [0017]) for an ion battery (aluminum ion battery [0062, 0008]), the cathode comprising:
a current collector (cathode current collector [0161]); and
one or more structures each comprising one or more members selected from the group consisting of a manganese oxide (manganese dioxide [0017] in multiple particle form [0113] that is kept together as a coated collection of powder [0172]),
wherein the one or more structures are disposed on the current collector and are in electrical contact with the current collector (manganese oxide powder is disposed on current collector to form cathode [0172] and electric connection [0009]).
Considering Claim 29, Mukherjee discloses that the one or more structures each comprise a manganese oxide (manganese dioxide [0017] in multiple particle form [0113] that is kept together as a coated collection of powder [0172]).
Considering Claim 31, Mukherjee discloses that the one or more structures comprises a spinel (spinel sheets [0088]).
Considering Claim 32, Mukherjee discloses that the one or more structures comprises a turbostratic structure (manganese oxide cathode material is turbostratic such that it is not pristine in order to accommodate large polyatomic aluminum anions [0086, 0087]).
Considering Claim 33, Mukherjee discloses that the one or more structures comprises a lithiphorite structure (manganese oxide cathode material [0017] may have aluminum hydroxide inserted between the cathode inter-sheet voids [0101]), wherein one or more of these structures may be disordered (not pristine in order to accommodate large polyatomic aluminum anions [0086, 0087]).
The limitation of “may” is further interpreted to mean optional according to a probability.
Considering Claim 39, Mukherjee discloses one or more aluminum guest molecules stored between sheets of a manganese oxide (manganese oxide cathode material [0017] may have aluminum hydroxide inserted between the cathode inter-sheet voids [0101]).
Considering Claim 51, Mukherjee discloses that the one or more structures comprise particles (manganese dioxide [0017] in multiple particle form [0113] that is kept together as a coated collection of powder [0172]).
Considering Claim 59, Mukherjee discloses a binder that physically maintains the one or more structures in contact with the current collector (binder binds cathode active material together on a current collector substrate to form a cathode [0021]), wherein the binder has been pre-treated with one or more species of multivalent ion (binder binds cathode active material together on a current collector substrate to form a cathode [0021], multi-valent aluminum ion is inserted into cathode MnO2 electrode [0063], aluminum-ion cell cycled [0105] such that earlier cycle may be interpreted as pre-treatment of later cycle).
Considering Claim 70, Mukherjee discloses that the current collector comprises one or more members selected from stainless steel, aluminum, nickel copper (cathode current collector substrate includes stainless steel, aluminum, nickel, copper [0021]).
Considering Claim 71, Mukherjee discloses that the current collector comprises a coating of an adhesion promoter and a conductivity promoter (slurry contains binder and conductive additive and is cast to form a coated cathode [0172]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 30, 34-38 and 40-42 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mukherjee et al. (PGPub 2017/0214095).
Considering Claim 30, Mukherjee discloses that the one or more structures comprises a plurality of sheets (sheets of manganese dioxide such that there are inter-sheet voids [0086]) comprising at least 20 wt% manganese oxide (sheet may be all manganese dioxide [0086]). Because Mukherjee teaches that the inter-sheet void is sufficient enough to accommodate insertion and intercalation of large polyatomic aluminum anions [0086], routinely experimenting with and coming up with a separation distance no less than 1 Angstrom would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art.
Considering Claim 34, Mukherjee discloses that the particles may be 10 nm to 40 µm [0172], and because such cathodes provide beneficial capacity cycling [0036], choosing within this range of no less than 50 nm for at least 80% of the particles would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art.
Considering Claim 35, Mukherjee discloses that the particles may be 10 nm to 40 µm [0172]. Mukherjee discloses that the one or more structures comprises a plurality of sheets (sheets of manganese dioxide such that there are inter-sheet voids [0086]) comprising at least 20 wt% manganese oxide (sheet may be all manganese dioxide [0086]). Because such cathodes provide beneficial capacity cycling [0036], choosing within this range of no less than 50 nm for at least 80% of the sheets would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art.
Considering Claim 36, because Mukherjee discloses that other electrochemically active elements may be used such as lithium, sodium, potassium, calcium, and magnesium [0070], and hybrid-ion technology may be incorporated for use of more than one metal ion such as lithium ions [0077, 0080, 0085], incorporation of such guest hydroxide molecules would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art.
Considering Claims 37, 38 and 41, Mukherjee discloses that the cathode crystal structure is not pristine in order for sheets of manganese dioxide to accommodate large polyatomic aluminum anions [0086, 0087]. Mukherjee teaches that at higher operating voltages, lithium ions may be introduced from a lithium manganese oxide cathode [0085]. Because this leads to the introduction of additional reaction mechanisms, introducing lithium ions in the crystal structure that were previously unavailable would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art [0085].
Considering Claims 40 and 42, Mukherjee discloses that the guest molecules comprise one or more members selected from a hydroxide (manganese oxide cathode material [0017] may have aluminum hydroxide inserted between the cathode inter-sheet voids [0101]). Because other electrochemically active elements that form hydroxides may be used such as lithium, sodium, potassium, calcium, and magnesium [0070], incorporation of such non-aluminum guest hydroxide molecules would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art.
Claim 43 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mukherjee et al. (PGPub 2017/0214095) and further in view of Zhamu et al. (PGPub 2018/0269478).
Considering Claim 43, Mukherjee discloses that other electrochemically active elements may be used such as lithium, sodium, potassium, calcium, and magnesium [0070], and hybrid-ion technology may be incorporated for use of more than one metal ion such as lithium ions [0077, 0080, 0085]. However, Mukherjee is silent to a phosphate.
Zhamu discloses a multivalent metal-ion battery [Abstract]. The electrolyte may comprise a combination of metal salts such as a phosphate of magnesium and aluminum [0027, 0028]. There is no restriction on the type of alloying elements that can be chosen, and this enables the battery cell to provide a useful constant voltage output [0017, 0018].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the hybrid-ion cell of Mukherjee with the magnesium phosphate of Zhamu in order to not be restricted on the type of alloying elements that can be chosen, and enable the battery cell to provide a useful constant voltage output [0017, 0018].
Claims 48 and 50 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mukherjee et al. (PGPub 2017/0214095) and further in view of Zhamu et al. (US Patent No. 10,008,723).
Considering Claim 48, Mukherjee discloses a cathode comprising one or more members selected from the group consisting of a manganese oxide (manganese dioxide [0017] in particle form [0113]) for an aluminum ion battery (aluminum ion battery [0062, 0008]). However, Mukherjee is silent to an aluminum-accepting polymer.
Zhamu discloses an aluminum-ion battery [Column 14 lines 50-55]. The cathode active material may comprise a combination of inorganic material and an organic/polymeric material [Column 12 lines 9-11] such as MnO2 [Column 12 lines 25-30] and a variety of quinone compounds [Column 12 lines 50-67]. The claimed invention identifies quinones as aluminum-accepting polymers [43]. The active materials can be used in a cost-effective method for making batteries with improved cycle stability without the use of excessive amount of conductive additives [Column 9 lines 40-67].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the cathode material of Mukherjee with the organic/polymeric and inorganic aluminum-accepting material of Zhamu in order to provide a cost-effective battery with improved cycle stability without the use of excessive amount of conductive additives [Column 9 lines 40-67].
Considering Claim 50, the combined teachings of Mukherjee and Zhamu are as applied in claim 48. Zhamu discloses an aluminum-ion battery [Column 14 lines 50-55]. The cathode active material may comprise a combination of inorganic material and an organic/polymeric material [Column 12 lines 9-11] such as MnO2 [Column 12 lines 25-30] and a variety of quinone compounds [Column 12 lines 50-67] in combination with a compound such as lithium salt compounds [Column 12 lines 50-67, Column 13 lines 1-10]. The claimed invention states that quinones may form a complex with lithium ions and used for electrochemical reaction [225]. The active materials can be used in a cost-effective method for making batteries with improved cycle stability without the use of excessive amount of conductive additives [Column 9 lines 40-67].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the cathode material of Mukherjee with the complex of Zhamu in order to provide a cost-effective battery with improved cycle stability without the use of excessive amount of conductive additives [Column 9 lines 40-67].
Claim 55 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mukherjee et al. (PGPub 2017/0214095) and further in view of Zhamu et al. (PGPub 2018/0212250).
Considering Claim 55, Mukherjee discloses that the electrode comprises conductive carbon. However, Mukherjee is silent to the one or more structures disposed in and/or coated on pores of a carbon, porous current collector that comprises graphene.
Zhamu discloses a battery cathode layer comprising graphene foam composed of multiple pores and pore walls [Abstract]. The cathode active material is lodged and coated on pores of the cathode layer [0031, 0025, 0034]. A further conductive protective coating may be used of carbon, metal oxide, or metal [0035]. The configuration provides a 3-D conducting network that supports a cathode active material [0019].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the cathode material of Mukherjee with the graphene foam of Zhamu in order to provide a 3-D conducting network that supports a cathode active material [0019].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 52 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the cited references do not teach or suggest the claimed pillaring agent nor the protruding conductive pillars in conjunction with claim 28. The features are not taught or suggested, and the reference of Mukherjee teaches the benefit of reducing the time, cost, and complexity of manufacturing the aluminum ion aqueous battery [0062].
Conclusion
/CHRISTOPHER P DOMONE/ Primary Patent Examiner
Art Unit 1725