DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6-14, 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Murase et al. (Murase) (US 2021/0252851 A1) in view of Toyofuku et al. (Toyofuku) (US 2022/0305776 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Murase discloses a setting value data providing system (e.g., a printing apparatus and a method of judging the nozzle discharge state of the printing apparatus according to this invention is capable of precisely performing inspection on a discharge state from a nozzle of a printhead, paragraph 6, figure 1), comprising:
a web server (e.g., server apparatus, paragraph 95) configured to receive, from a client device, drive condition parameters of an ink jet head and physical property parameters of an ink to be used by the ink jet head (e.g., the print unit 3 includes a plurality of printheads 30 and a carriage 31. A description will be made with reference to FIGS. 1 and 2. FIG. 2 is perspective view showing the print unit 3. The printheads 30 discharge liquid ink to the transfer member (intermediate transfer member) 2 and form ink images of a printed image on the transfer member 2, paragraph 48 and further 49); and
a setting value data calculation unit (e.g., Driving Pulse Control Unit 227, figure 22) configured to estimate a suitable drive waveform for the ink jet head using a drive waveform estimation algorithm and the drive condition parameters and the physical property parameters of the ink and then calculate setting value data for generating the suitable drive waveform for the ink jet head (e.g., The number of nozzles counted for each discharge timing is sent to a drive pulse control unit 227 of the printing control unit 15A. The drive pulse control unit 227 loads, from a drive pulse table 226 stored in a memory such as a ROM, a drive pulse setting corresponding to the number of nozzles counted by the nozzle count unit 225, and drives the printhead 30 at each discharge timing, paragraph 182, figure 22), wherein
the web server (e.g., The host apparatus HC1 may be, for example, a PC (Personal Computer) serving as an information processing apparatus, or a server apparatus, paragraph 95) is further configured to output the calculated setting value data to the client device (e.g., Original data to be the source of a printed image is generated or saved in the host apparatus HC1. The original data here is generated in the format of, for example, an electronic file such as a document file or an image file. This original data is transmitted to the higher level apparatus HC2. In the higher level apparatus HC2, the received original data is converted into a data format (for example, RGB data that represents an image by RGB) available by the control unit 13. The converted data is transmitted from the higher level apparatus HC2 to the control unit 13 as image data. The control unit 13 starts a printing operation based on the received image data, paragraph 96, figure 4).
Murase does not specifically disclose the drive waveform estimation algorithm uses a type of the ink, a specific gravity of the ink, and a type of the ink jet head as input variables.
Toyofuku discloses the drive waveform estimation algorithm uses a type of the ink, a specific gravity of the ink, and a type of the ink jet head as input variables (e.g., The unit control circuit 14 controls each unit of the printer 1 according to an instruction from the CPU 12. The unit control circuit 14 includes a plurality of drive signal generation circuits 15. The drive signal generation circuit 15 generates a drive signal COM including a drive waveform W at regular intervals, paragraphs 23 and 24, figure 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have modified Murase to include the drive waveform estimation algorithm uses a type of the ink, a specific gravity of the ink, and a type of the ink jet head as input variables as taught by Toyofuku. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have modified Murase by the teaching of Toyofuku to use for a particular application.
Regarding claim 2, Murase discloses wherein the setting value data calculation unit comprises a web API server (e.g., The host apparatus HC1 may be, for example, a PC (Personal Computer) serving as an information processing apparatus, or a server apparatus. A communication method between the host apparatus HC1 and the higher level apparatus HC2 may be, without particular limitation, either wired or wireless communication, paragraph 95).
Regarding claim 3, Murase discloses wherein the setting value data calculation unit comprises an application server (e.g., The host apparatus HC1 may be, for example, a PC (Personal Computer) serving as an information processing apparatus, or a server apparatus. A communication method between the host apparatus HC1 and the
higher level apparatus HC2 may be, without particular limitation, either wired or wireless communication, paragraph 95).
Regarding claim 4, Murase discloses wherein the setting value data calculation unit comprises an application server (e.g., The host apparatus HC1 may be, for example, a PC (Personal Computer) serving as an information processing apparatus, or a server apparatus. A communication method between the host apparatus HC1 and the higher level apparatus HC2 may be, without particular limitation, either wired or wireless communication, paragraph 95).
Regarding claim 6, Murase discloses wherein the web server provides the client device with a user interface screen via which a user can input the type of the ink (e.g., The operation unit 133 is, for example, an input device such as a touch panel, a keyboard, or a mouse and accepts a user instruction. The operation unit 133 may be formed by an input unit and a display unit integrated with each other. Note that a user operation is not limited to an input via the operation unit 133, and an arrangement may
be possible in which, for example, an instruction is accepted from the host apparatus HC1 or the higher level apparatus HC2, paragraph 98, figure 4), the specific gravity of the ink, and the type of the ink jet head (e.g., In FIG. 4, broken-line arrows exemplify the processing sequence of image data. Image data received from the higher level apparatus HC2 (which is similar to web server) via the communication I/F 135 is accumulated in the buffer 136. The image processing unit 134 reads out the image data from the buffer 136, performs predetermined image processing on the readout image data, and stores the processed data in the buffer 136 again. The image data after the image processing stored in the buffer 136 is transmitted from the communication I/F 137 to the engine controller 13B as print data used by a print engine, paragraph 99).
Regarding claim 7, Murase discloses wherein the web server provides the client device with a user interface screen via which a user can input of a type of the ink, a specific gravity of the ink, and a type of the ink jet head (e.g., The operation unit 133 is, for example, an input device such as a touch panel, a keyboard, or a mouse and accepts a user instruction. The operation unit 133 may be formed by an input unit and a display unit integrated with each other. Note that a user operation is not limited to an input via the operation unit 133, and an arrangement may be possible in which, for example, an instruction is accepted from the host apparatus HC1 or the higher level apparatus HC2, paragraph 98, figure 4).
Regarding claim 8, Murase discloses wherein the user interface screen further permits the user to input of a temperature of the ink, a viscosity of the ink, a serial
number of the ink jet head, a characteristic value of the ink jet head, and an ejection gradation number (paragraphs 102, 103, 105).
Regarding claim 9, Murase discloses wherein the setting value data calculation unit is configured to adjust the setting value data based on a viscosity of the ink (e.g., The application unit 5A is a mechanism which applies the reactive liquid onto the transfer member 2 before the print unit 3 discharges ink. The reactive liquid is a liquid that contains a component increasing an ink viscosity. An increase in ink viscosity here means that a coloring material, a resin, and the like that form the ink react chemically or suck physically by contacting the component that increases the ink viscosity, recognizing the increase in ink viscosity, paragraph 71).
Regarding claim 10, Murase discloses wherein the setting value data calculation unit is configured to adjust the setting value data based on an intended operating temperature of the ink (e.g., if the ink image exceeds the boiling point of water as a prime solvent of ink after the print unit 3 discharges ink to the transfer member 2, performance of liquid component absorption by the absorption unit 5B may be degraded. It is possible to maintain the performance of liquid component absorption by cooling the transfer member 2 such that the temperature of the discharged ink is maintained below the boiling point of water, paragraph 78).
Regarding claim 11, Murase discloses setting value data providing system (e.g., a printing apparatus and a method of judging the nozzle discharge state of the printing apparatus according to this invention is capable of precisely performing inspection on a discharge state from a nozzle of a printhead, paragraph 6, figure 1), comprising:
an ink jet printer configured to print images with ink (e.g., The printing apparatus 1A includes a print unit 3, a transfer unit 4, peripheral units 5A to 5D, and a supply unit 6, paragraph 46);
an ink jet head in the ink jet printer configured to eject the ink to print the images (e.g., In this embodiment, each printhead 30 is a full-line head elongated in the Y direction, and nozzles are arrayed in a range where they cover the width of an image printing area of a print medium having a usable maximum size, paragraph 49);
a client device connected to the ink jet printer;
a web server configured to receive, from the client device (e.g., he host apparatus HC1 may be, for example, a PC (Personal Computer) serving as an information processing apparatus, or a server apparatus. A communication method between the host apparatus HC1 and the higher level apparatus HC2 may be, without particular limitation, either wired or wireless communication, paragraph 95), drive condition parameters of the ink jet head and physical property parameters of the ink to be used by the ink jet head (e.g., The print unit 3 includes a plurality of printheads 30 and a carriage 31. A description will be made with reference to FIGS. 1 and 2. FIG. 2 is perspective view showing the print unit 3. The printheads 30 discharge liquid ink to the transfer member (intermediate transfer member) 2 and form ink images of a printed image on the transfer member 2, paragraphs 48 and further 49); and
a setting value data calculation unit (e.g., Driving Pulse Control Unit 227, figure 22) configured to estimate a suitable drive waveform for the ink jet head using a drive waveform estimation algorithm and the drive condition parameters and the physical property parameters of the ink and then calculate setting value data for generating the
suitable drive waveform for the ink jet head (e.g., the number of nozzles counted for each discharge timing is sent to a drive pulse control unit 227 of the printing control unit 15A. The drive pulse control unit 227 loads, from a drive pulse table 226 stored in a memory such as a ROM, a drive pulse setting corresponding to the number of nozzles counted by the nozzle count unit 225, and drives the printhead 30 at each discharge timing, paragraph 182, figure 22), wherein
the web server (e.g., The host apparatus HC1 may be, for example, a PC (Personal Computer) is further configured to output the calculated setting value data to the client device (e.g., Original data to be the source of a printed image is generated or saved in the host apparatus HC1. The original data here is generated in the format of, for example, an electronic file such as a document file or an image file. This original data is transmitted to the higher level apparatus HC2 (which is equivalent to client device). In the higher level apparatus HC2, the received original data is converted into a data format (for example, RGB data that represents an image by RGB) available by the control unit 13. The converted data is transmitted from the higher level apparatus HC2 to the control unit 13 as image data. The control unit 13 starts a printing operation based on the received image data, paragraph 96, figure 4).
Murase does not specifically disclose the drive waveform estimation algorithm uses a type of the ink, a specific gravity of the ink, and a type of the ink jet head as input variables.
Toyofuku discloses the drive waveform estimation algorithm uses a type of the ink, a specific gravity of the ink, and a type of the ink jet head as input variables (e.g., The unit control circuit 14 controls each unit of the printer 1 according to an instruction from the CPU 12. The unit control circuit 14 includes a plurality of drive signal generation circuits 15. The drive signal generation circuit 15 generates a drive signal COM including a drive waveform W at regular intervals, paragraphs 23 and 24, figure 1).
. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have modified Murase to include the drive waveform estimation algorithm uses a type of the ink, a specific gravity of the ink, and a type of the ink jet head as input variables as taught by Toyofuku. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have modified Murase by the teaching of Toyofuku to use for a particular application.
Regarding claim 12, Murase discloses wherein the setting value data calculation unit comprises a web API server (e.g., The host apparatus HC1 may be, for example, a PC (Personal Computer) serving as an information processing apparatus, or a server apparatus. A communication method between the host apparatus HC1 and the higher level apparatus HC2 may be, without particular limitation, either wired or wireless communication, paragraph 95).
Regarding claim 13, Murase discloses wherein the setting value data calculation unit comprises an application server (e.g., The host apparatus HC1 may be, for example, a PC (Personal Computer) serving as an information processing apparatus, or a server apparatus. A communication method between the host apparatus HC1 and the higher level apparatus HC2 may be, without particular limitation, either wired or wireless communication, paragraph 95).
Regarding claim 14, Murase discloses wherein the setting value data calculation unit comprises an application server (e.g., The host apparatus HC1 may be, for example, a PC (Personal Computer) serving as an information processing apparatus, or a server apparatus. A communication method between the host apparatus HC1 and the higher level apparatus HC2 may be, without particular limitation, either wired or wireless communication, paragraph 95).
Regarding claim 16, Murase discloses wherein the web server provides the client device with a user interface screen via which a user can input the type of the ink (e.g., The operation unit 133 is, for example, an input device such as a touch panel, a keyboard, or a mouse and accepts a user instruction. The operation unit 133 may be formed by an input unit and a display unit integrated with each other. Note that a user operation is not limited to an input via the operation unit 133, and an arrangement may be possible in which, for example, an instruction is accepted from the host apparatus HC1 or the higher level apparatus HC2, paragraph 98, figure 4), the specific gravity of the ink, and the type of the ink jet head (e.g., In FIG. 4, broken-line arrows exemplify the processing sequence of image data. Image data received from the higher level apparatus HC2 (which is similar to web server) via the communication I/F 135 is accumulated in the buffer 136. The image processing unit 134 reads out the image data from the buffer 136, performs predetermined image processing on the readout image data, and stores the processed data in the buffer 136 again. The image data after the image processing stored in the buffer 136 is transmitted from the communication I/F 137 to the engine controller 13B as print data used by a print engine, paragraph 99).
Regarding claim 17, Murase discloses wherein the web server provides the client device with a user interface screen via which a user can input of a type of the ink, a specific gravity of the ink, and a type of the ink jet head (e.g., The operation unit 133 is, for example, an input device such as a touch panel, a keyboard, or a mouse and accepts a user instruction. The operation unit 133 may be formed by an input unit and a display unit integrated with each other. Note that a user operation is not limited to an
input via the operation unit 133, and an arrangement may be possible in which, for example, an instruction is accepted from the host apparatus HC1 or the higher level apparatus HC2, paragraph 98, figure 4).
Regarding claim 18, Murase discloses wherein the user interface screen further permits the user to input of a temperature of the ink, a viscosity of the ink, a serial number of the ink jet head, a characteristic value of the ink jet head, and an ejection gradation number (paragraphs 102, 103, 105).
Regarding claim 19, Murase discloses wherein the setting value data calculation unit is configured to adjust the setting value data based on a viscosity of the ink (e.g., The application unit 5A is a mechanism which applies the reactive liquid onto the transfer member 2 before the print unit 3 discharges ink. The reactive liquid is a liquid that contains a component increasing an ink viscosity. An increase in ink viscosity here means that a coloring material, a resin, and the like that form the ink react chemically or suck physically by contacting the component that increases the ink viscosity, recognizing the increase in ink viscosity, paragraph 71)..
Regarding claim 20, Murase discloses wherein the setting value data calculation unit is configured to adjust the setting value data based on an intended operating temperature of the ink (e.g., if the ink image exceeds the boiling point of water as a prime solvent of ink after the print unit 3 discharges ink to the transfer member 2, performance of liquid component absorption by the absorption unit 5B may be degraded. It is possible to maintain the performance of liquid component absorption by cooling the transfer member 2 such that the temperature of the discharged ink is maintained below the boiling point of water, paragraph 78).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/QUANG N VO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2683