DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Election/Restrictions
Claim(s) 26-30 is/are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on June 27, 2026.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: 100-8 in at least Fig. 18, 211 in at least Fig. 21, 300 in at least Fig. 23, 310 in at least Fig. 23, 311 in at least Fig. 24, 312 in at least Fig. 24, and 313 in at least Fig. 24. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d), or amendment to the specification to add the reference character(s) in the description in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(b) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Objections
Claim(s) 32 is/are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claims 32, “…wherein all of internal electrodes…” should read “…wherein all of the internal electrodes…”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 35 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sasabayashi et al. JP 5315856 B2 (hereafter referred to as Sasabayashi).
Regarding claim 35, Sasabayashi discloses:
A multilayer electronic component, comprising: a body (15 – Fig. 5 para. [0033]) including an active portion (Fig. 2 where internal electrodes 10 and 11 overlap) having a capacitance formed therein by including a dielectric layer (2 – Fig. 2 para. [0028]) and internal electrodes alternately disposed with the dielectric layer in a first direction (10, 11 – Fig. 2 para. [0029]), and including first and second surfaces opposing each other in the first direction, third and fourth surfaces connected to the first and second surfaces and opposing each other in a second direction, and fifth and sixth surfaces connected to the first to fourth surfaces and opposing each other in a third direction (Fig. 5 shows a body having a parallelepiped shape); side margin portions disposed on the fifth and sixth surfaces of the body, respectively (14 – Fig. 5 para. [0042]); and external electrodes disposed on the third and fourth surfaces of the body, respectively (12, 13 – Fig. 2 para. [0030]), wherein at least one of two ends of each internal electrode in the active portion in the third direction is spaced apart from the corresponding side margin portion (Figs. 4 and 5 show that the internal electrode are fully contained in the body on the fifth and sixth surfaces), and when a region between an end of the internal electrodes spaced apart from an adjacent one of the side margin portions and the adjacent one of the side margin portions in the third direction is defined as a margin region, the adjacent one of the side margin portions and the margin region have different compositions from each other (Para. [0034] of Sasabayashi discloses that the composition of the main body, which includes a margin region, is different from the side margin portion).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, 9, 11, 12, 14 and 19-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hong et al. US 2019/0096584 A1 in view of Kim US 2012/0229949 A1.
Figure 1: Examiner annotated Fig. 8 of Hong ‘584 after modification with Kim ‘949 according to a 1st mapping. The dummy electrodes of Hong ‘584 are in contact with the side margin portions of Kim ‘949 to improve volumetric efficiency.
Figure 2: Examiner annotated Fig. 6 of Hong ‘584 after modification with Kim ‘949 according to a 2nd mapping. The dummy electrodes of Hong ‘584 are in contact with the side margin portions of Kim ‘949 to improve volumetric efficiency. The internal electrode is divided into 10 equal portions.
Regarding claim 1, Hong ‘584 discloses:
A multilayer electronic component, comprising: a body (310 – Fig. 6 para. [0053] or 410 – Fig. 8 para. [0061]) including a dielectric layer (111 – Fig. 2 para. [0041] corresponds to 311 – Fig. 6 or 411 – Fig. 8) and internal electrodes alternately disposed with the dielectric layer in a first direction (321 – Fig. 6 para. [0053] or 421 – Fig. 8 para. [0062]), and including first and second surfaces opposing each other in the first direction, third and fourth surfaces connected to the first and second surfaces and opposing each other in a second direction, and fifth and sixth surfaces connected to the first to fourth surfaces and opposing each other in a third direction (Fig. 1 shows a body having a parallelepiped shape); and external electrodes disposed on the third and fourth surfaces of the body, respectively (141, 142 – Fig. 1 para. [0037]), wherein at least one of two ends of the internal electrodes in the third direction is spaced apart from a corresponding side surface of the body (Fig. 6 or Fig. 8) and has an average thickness smaller than an average thickness of a central portion of the internal electrodes in the third direction (Fig, 6 or Fig. 8 clearly shows that an end of the internal electrodes comes to a point and is smaller than an average thickness of the central portion). Hong ‘584 fails to discloses side margin portions disposed on the fifth and sixth surfaces of the body, respectively. As side margins aren’t present, Hong ‘584 also fails to disclose wherein at least one of two ends of the internal electrodes in the third direction is spaced apart from the corresponding side margin portion, however, the internal electrodes are clearly spaced apart from the fifth surface of the body and the sixth surface of the body.
Kim ‘949 discloses side margin portions disposed on the fifth and sixth surfaces of the body, respectively (113, 114 – Fig. 1D). As shown in Kim ‘949, side margin portions are disposed on the body where internal conductors are exposed for protection and volumetric efficiency.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the multilayer electronic component taught by Hong ‘584 to have the side margin portions of Kim ‘949 disposed on exposed internal conductors to improve volumetric efficiency. After modification, the at least one of two ends of the internal electrodes in the third direction is spaced apart from the corresponding side margin portion (see Figures 1 or 2 above).
Regarding claim 2, Hong ‘584 as modified by Kim ‘949 further discloses:
The multilayer electronic component according to claim 1, wherein one end of the two ends of the internal electrodes in the third direction is spaced apart from one of the side margin portions, and the other end of the two ends of the internal electrodes in the third direction is disposed to contact another one of the side margin portions (421 – present office action figure 1 (hereafter called POA1) shows the rightmost end in contact with a side margin portion and the other end spaced apart from a side margin portion).
Regarding claim 3, Hong ‘584 as modified by Kim ‘949 further discloses:
The multilayer electronic component according to claim 1, wherein when an end closer to the fifth surface of the body is defined as a first end, and an end closer to the sixth surface of the body is defined as a second end, among the two ends of the internal electrodes (421 – POA1) in the third direction, the first end is spaced apart from the fifth surface of the body, and the second end is in contact with the sixth surface of the body (POA1).
Regarding claim 5, Hong ‘584 as modified by Kim ‘949 further discloses:
The multilayer electronic component according to claim 3, wherein the body further includes a first additional pattern in contact with the fifth surface of the body and spaced apart from the first end (431 – POA1).
Regarding claim 9, Hong ‘584 as modified by Kim ‘949 further discloses:
The multilayer electronic component according to claim 1, wherein both ends of the internal electrodes (321 – present office action figure 2 (hereafter called POA2)) in the third direction are spaced apart from the respective side margin portions (POA2).
Regarding claim 11, Hong ‘584 as modified by Kim ‘949 further discloses:
The multilayer electronic component according to claim 9, wherein when, among the two ends of the internal electrodes (321 – POA2) in the third direction, an end closer to the fifth surface of the body is defined as a first end, and an end closer to the sixth surface of the body is defined as a second end, the body includes at least one of: a first additional pattern in contact with the fifth surface of the body and spaced apart from the first end (331 – POA2); or a second additional pattern in contact with the sixth surface of the body and spaced apart from the second end (331 opposite side – POA2).
Regarding claim 12, Hong ‘584 as modified by Kim ‘949 further discloses:
The multilayer electronic component according to claim 11, wherein an end closer to the first end among both ends of the first additional pattern (321 – POA2) in the third direction, an end closer to the second end among both ends of the second additional pattern in the third direction, and the first end and the second end of the internal electrodes have a shape bent toward a center of the body in the first direction (POA2 shows all ends of additional pattern and internal electrode bent towards the center of the body in the first direction).
Regarding claim 14, Hong ‘584 as modified by Kim ‘949 further discloses:
The multilayer electronic component according to claim 11, wherein the body includes the first additional pattern and the second additional pattern (331 – POA2 shows a first and second additional pattern on opposite sides of the internal electrodes).
Regarding claim 19, Hong ‘584 as modified by Kim ‘949 further discloses:
The multilayer electronic component according to claim 1, wherein the side margin portions include a first side margin portion disposed on the fifth surface and a second side margin portion disposed on the sixth surface of the body (POA1 or POA2).
Hong ‘584 fails to disclose the first side margin portion is disposed not to cover a portion of the fifth surface of the body, and an end of the first side margin portion is disposed on the fifth surface of the body, and the second side margin portion is disposed not to cover a portion of the sixth surface of the body, and an end of the second side margin portion is disposed on the sixth surface of the body.
Kim ‘949 discloses wherein the first side margin portion is disposed not to cover a portion of the fifth surface of the body, and an end of the first side margin portion is disposed on the fifth surface of the body, and the second side margin portion is disposed not to cover a portion of the sixth surface of the body, and an end of the second side margin portion is disposed on the sixth surface of the body (113, 114 – Fig. 2 paras. [0070-0071]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the side margins as described above such that removal of residual carbon at edges of the multilayer electronic component may be more easily performed (see paras. [0068-0072]).
Regarding claim 20, Hong ‘584 as modified by Kim ‘949 further discloses:
The multilayer electronic component according to claim 1. Hong ‘584 fails to disclose wherein at least a portion of one of the side margin portions is disposed on the first and second surfaces of the body.
Kim ‘949 discloses wherein at least a portion of one of the side margin portions is disposed on the first and second surfaces of the body (114, 115 – Fig. 3 para. [0073]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the side margins as described above such that the mechanical strength against external impact may be improved for the multilayer electronic component (see para. [0075]).
Regarding claim 21, Hong ‘584 as modified by Kim ‘949 further discloses:
The multilayer electronic component according to claim 1, wherein, when one of the internal electrodes is divided into 10 regions having equal intervals in the third direction, which are defined as first to tenth regions, respectively, the two ends of the internal electrodes in the third direction refer to the first region and the tenth region, respectively, and the central portion of the internal electrodes refers to the second to ninth regions (The internal electrode may be divided into 10 equal portions. See POA2).
Regarding claim 22, Hong ‘584 as modified by Kim ‘949 further discloses:
The multilayer electronic component according to claim 1, wherein a ratio of an average thickness of the two ends of the internal electrodes to an average thickness of the central portion of the internal electrodes is 0.90 or less (As the two ends come to a point as shown in POA2, the average thickness may be taken as a very small value near zero. The average thickness of the central portion may be taken as the thickness before the bend begins and is nonzero. Therefore, the ratio is approximately 0.00, which falls within the claimed range).
Regarding claim 23, Hong ‘584 as modified by Kim ‘949 further discloses:
The multilayer electronic component according to claim 1, wherein at least one of the two ends of the internal electrodes (321 – Fig. 6 of Hong ‘584) in the third direction has a shape bent toward a center of the body in the first direction (Fig. 6 of Hong ‘584).
Claim(s) 1 and 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hong et al. US 2017/0186541 A1 in view of Endo et al. US 2016/0225526 A1 (hereafter referred to as Endo).
Regarding claim 1, Hong ‘541 discloses:
A multilayer electronic component, comprising: a body (1 – Fig. 1 para. [0031]) including a dielectric layer (para. [0031]) and internal electrodes alternately disposed with the dielectric layer in a first direction (11 – Fig. 1 para. [0034]), and including first and second surfaces opposing each other in the first direction, third and fourth surfaces connected to the first and second surfaces and opposing each other in a second direction, and fifth and sixth surfaces connected to the first to fourth surfaces and opposing each other in a third direction (Fig. 1 shows a body having a parallelepiped shape); side margin portions disposed on the fifth and sixth surfaces of the body, respectively (21, 22 – Fig. 1 para. [0031]); and external electrodes disposed on the third and fourth surfaces of the body, respectively (31, 32 – Fig. 1 para. [0031]), wherein at least one of two ends of the internal electrodes in the third direction is spaced apart from the corresponding side margin portion (Fig. 2C para. [0045]). Hong ‘541 fails to disclose wherein at least one of two ends of the internal electrodes in the third direction has an average thickness smaller than an average thickness of a central portion of the internal electrodes in the third direction.
Endo discloses wherein at least one of two ends of the internal electrodes in the third direction has an average thickness smaller than an average thickness of a central portion of the internal electrodes in the third direction (Fig. 4 – note that e1 and e2 are mislabeled and should be swapped in this figure; Paras. [0042] and [0132]; Table 4 shows that when the average thickness of the end portions is smaller, the resistance to thermal shock is increased).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to manufacture the internal electrodes of Hong ‘541 to have an average thickness smaller than an average thickness of a central portion of the internal electrodes in the third direction in order to improve thermal shock resistance (Para. [0132] and Table 4 of Endo).
Regarding claim 3, Hong ‘541 as modified by Endo further discloses:
The multilayer electronic component according to claim 1, wherein when an end closer to the fifth surface of the body is defined as a first end, and an end closer to the sixth surface of the body is defined as a second end, among the two ends of the internal electrodes in the third direction, the first end is spaced apart from the fifth surface of the body, and the second end is in contact with the sixth surface of the body (Fig. 2C para. [0045] of Hong ‘541).
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hong et al. US 2017/0186541 A1 in view of Endo and further in view of Kim et al. US 2014/0376151 A1.
Regarding claim 4, Hong ‘541 as modified by Endo discloses:
The multilayer electronic component according to claim 3. Hong ‘541 fails to disclose wherein a separation distance between the first end and the fifth surface of the body in the third direction is 5 um or more.
Endo fails disclose wherein a separation distance between the first end and the fifth surface of the body in the third direction is 5 um or more.
Kim ‘151 discloses wherein a separation distance between the first end and the fifth surface of the body in the third direction is more than 8 um (Paras. [0016] and [0055-0057])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to restrict a separation distance between the first end and the fifth surface of the body in the third direction to be more than 8 um in order to prevent short-circuits (Paras. [0055] and [0087] of Kim ‘151).
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hong ‘584 in view of Kim ‘949 and further in view of Kato US 2022/0084752 A1 (hereafter referred to as Kato).
Regarding claim 6, Hong ‘584 as modified by Kim ‘949 discloses:
The multilayer electronic component according to claim 5. Hong ‘584 fails to disclose wherein a separation distance between the first end and the first additional pattern in the third direction is 15 um or more.
Kim ‘949 fails to disclose wherein a separation distance between the first end and the first additional pattern in the third direction is 15 um or more.
Kato discloses wherein a separation distance between the first end and the first additional pattern in the third direction is 30 um or less (paras. [0006] and [0009]), overlapping with the claimed range.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective
filing date to impose a restriction on the separation distance of 30 um or less, which significantly overlaps with the claimed range of 15 um or more, to avoid cracks forming due to thermal shock during a firing process or a reflow process (see para. [0043] of Kato).
Claim(s) 1 and 15-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sasabayashi in view of Endo.
Regarding claim 1, Sasabayashi discloses:
A multilayer electronic component, comprising: a body (15 – Fig. 5 para. [0033]) including a dielectric layer (2 – Fig. 2 para. [0028]) and internal electrodes alternately disposed with the dielectric layer in a first direction (10, 11 – Fig. 2 para. [0030]), and including first and second surfaces opposing each other in the first direction, third and fourth surfaces connected to the first and second surfaces and opposing each other in a second direction, and fifth and sixth surfaces connected to the first to fourth surfaces and opposing each other in a third direction (Fig. 5 shows a body having a parallelepiped shape); side margin portions disposed on the fifth and sixth surfaces of the body, respectively (14 – Fig. 5 para. [0042]); and external electrodes disposed on the third and fourth surfaces of the body, respectively (12, 13 – Fig. 2 para. [0030]), wherein at least one of two ends of the internal electrodes in the third direction is spaced apart from the corresponding side margin portion (Fig. 5). Sashabayashi fails to explicitly disclose wherein at least one of two ends of the internal electrodes in the third direction has an average thickness smaller than an average thickness of a central portion of the internal electrodes in the third direction.
Endo discloses wherein at least one of two ends of the internal electrodes in the third direction has an average thickness smaller than an average thickness of a central portion of the internal electrodes in the third direction (Fig. 4 -– note that e1 and e2 are mislabeled and should be swapped in this figure; Paras. [0042] and [0132]; Table 4 shows that when the average thickness of the end portions is smaller, the resistance to thermal shock is increased).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to manufacture the internal electrodes of Sasabayashi to have an average thickness smaller than an average thickness of a central portion of the internal electrodes in the third direction in order to improve thermal shock resistance (Para. [0132] and Table 4 of Endo).
Regarding claim 15, Sasabayashi as modified by Endo further discloses:
The multilayer electronic component according to claim 1, wherein, when a region between an end of the internal electrodes spaced apart from an adjacent one of the side margin portions and the adjacent one of the side margin portions in the third direction is defined as a margin region, the adjacent one of the side margin portions and the margin region have different compositions from each other (Para. [0034] of Sasabayashi discloses that the composition of the main body, which includes a margin region, is different from the side margin portion).
Regarding claim 16, Sasabayashi as modified by Endo further discloses:
The multilayer electronic component according to claim 15, wherein the number of moles of a Mg content relative to 100 moles of Ti included in the side margin portion is higher than the number of moles of a Mg content relative to 100 moles of Ti included in the margin region (Paras. [0018-0019] and [0072] of Sasabayashi discloses that the content of Mg relative to 100 moles of ABO3 in the side margin portions is greater that the main body (which includes a margin region). As the B component is the Ti component (para. [0072]), this is equivalent to the Mg content relative to 100 moles of Ti being higher in the side margin portion. Tables 5-8 shows experiments where the Mg content in the side margin portion is higher than a margin region).
Claim(s) 10 and 24-25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sasabayashi in view of Endo and further in view of Kim et al. US 20140376151 A1.
Regarding claim 10, Sasabayashi as modified by Endo discloses:
The multilayer electronic component according to claim 9, wherein when an end closer to the fifth surface of the body is defined as a first end, and an end closer to the sixth surface of the body is defined as a second end, among the two ends of the internal electrodes in the third direction. Sasabayashi fails to discloses wherein a sum of a distance between the first end and the fifth surface of the body and a distance between the second end and the sixth surface of the body is 15 um or more.
Endo fails to disclose wherein a sum of a distance between the first end and the fifth surface of the body and a distance between the second end and the sixth surface of the body is 15 um or more.
Kim ‘151 discloses wherein a sum of a distance between the first end and the fifth surface of the body and a distance between the second end and the sixth surface of the body is more than 16 um (para. [0016] and [0055-0057] discloses that the distance should be greater than 8 um on each side. In other words, the sum must be greater than 16 um), significantly overlapping with the claimed range.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to restrict a sum of a distance between the first end and the fifth surface of the body and a distance between the second end and the sixth surface of the body to be more than 16 um in order to prevent short-circuits (Paras. [0055] and [0087] of Kim ‘151).
Regarding claim 24, Sasabayashi as modified by Endo discloses:
The multilayer electronic component according to claim 1. Sasabayashi fails to disclose wherein an average width in the third direction from the two ends of the internal electrodes to outer surfaces of adjacent ones of the side margin portions is 20 um or more and 55 um or less.
Endo fails to disclose wherein an average width in the third direction from the two ends of the internal electrodes to outer surfaces of adjacent ones of the side margin portions is 20 um or more and 55 um or less.
Kim ‘151 discloses wherein an average width in the third direction from the two ends of the internal electrodes to outer surfaces of adjacent ones of the side margin portions is more than 8 um (para. [0016] and [0055-0057] discloses that the distance should be greater than 8 um on each side to avoid short circuits), overlapping with the claimed range.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to restrict an average width in the third direction from the two ends of the internal electrodes to outer surfaces of adjacent ones of the side margin portions to be more than 8 um in order to prevent short-circuits (Paras. [0055] and [0087] of Kim ‘151).
Regarding claim 25, Sasabayashi as modified by Endo and further modified by Kim ‘151 discloses:
The multilayer electronic component according to claim 24, wherein an average size of the side margin portions in the third direction is 10 um or less, 15 um and 20 um (Para. [0019] of Sasabayashi discloses an average size of 10 um or less. Table 6 gives examples of an average size up to 20 um).
Claim(s) 17-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sasabayashi in view of Endo and further in view of Mizuno JP H11354370 A (hereafter referred to as Mizuno).
Regarding claim 17, Sasabayashi as modified by Endo discloses:
The multilayer electronic component according to claim 1, wherein, when a region between an end of the internal electrodes spaced apart from an adjacent one of the side margin portions and the adjacent one of the side margin portions in the third direction is defined as a margin region.
Sasabayashi fails to explicitly disclose wherein, an average size of dielectric grains included in the adjacent one of the side margin portions is smaller than an average size of dielectric grains included in the margin region. Furthermore, the margin region of Sasabayashi is a monolithic portion of the main body. Therefore, the average grain size of the main body is the average grain size of the margin portion.
Endo fails to disclose wherein, an average size of dielectric grains included in the adjacent one of the side margin portions is smaller than an average size of dielectric grains included in the margin region.
Mizuno discloses an average size of dielectric grains included in a protective layer is smaller than an average size of dielectric grains included in the margin region (Paras. [0010], [0016] and Table 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to manufacture the side margin portions of Sasabayashi to have a smaller average grain size than the margin region, which is part of the main body, in order to improve flexural strength and moisture resistance (Paras. [0035-0037] and Table 1 of Mizuno).
Regarding claim 18, Sasabayashi as modified by Endo further discloses:
The multilayer electronic component according to claim 1, wherein, when a size of dielectric grains adjacent to an end of the internal electrodes spaced apart from the side margin portion is defined as Gs1, a size of dielectric grains adjacent to the central portion of the internal electrode is defined as Gs2, and a size of dielectric grains of a region adjacent to an outer surface of the side margin portion is defined as Gs3, wherein Gs1 and Gs2 are the same (The margin region is part of the main body and composed of the same material). Sasabayashi fails to disclose wherein a difference between Gs1 and Gs2 is smaller than a difference between Gs1 and Gs3.
Endo fails to disclose wherein a difference between Gs1 and Gs2 is smaller than a difference between Gs1 and Gs3.
Mizuno discloses wherein a difference between Gs1 and Gs2 is smaller than a difference between Gs1 and Gs3 (Paras. [0010] and [0016] and Table 1. As the margin region of Sasabayashi is part of the main body, the grain size of Gs1 and Gs2 are the same (i.e., the difference is zero). Furthermore, since the grain size of the protective layer is smaller, the difference between Gs1 and Gs3 is larger than zero. Therefore, the difference between Gs1 and Gs2 is smaller than the difference between Gs1 and Gs3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to manufacture a difference between Gs1 and Gs2 to be smaller than a difference between Gs1 and Gs3 in order to improve flexural strength and moisture resistance (Paras. [0035-0037] and Table 1 of Mizuno).
Claim(s) 31-34 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fukunaga et al. US 2020/0126722 A1 (hereafter referred to as Fukunaga) in view of Ono et al. US 2021/0020379 A1 (hereafter referred to as Ono).
Regarding claim 31, Fukunaga discloses:
A multilayer electronic component, comprising: a body (10, 42a, 41c 42c – Fig. 4) including a dielectric layer (20 – Fig. 4; para. [0036]) and internal electrodes alternately disposed with the dielectric layer in a first direction (21, 22 – Fig. 4; para. [0036]), and including first and second surfaces opposing each other in the first direction, third and fourth surfaces connected to the first and second surfaces and opposing each other in a second direction, and fifth and sixth surfaces connected to the first to fourth surfaces and opposing each other in a third direction (Fig. 1 shows the body with parallelepiped shape); side margin portions disposed on the fifth and sixth surfaces of the body, respectively (41b, 42b – Fig. 4; para. [0050]); and external electrodes disposed on the third and fourth surfaces of the body, respectively (51, 52 – Fig. 1; para. [0031]), wherein at least one of two ends of the internal electrodes in the third direction is spaced apart from the corresponding side margin portion (Fig. 4 shows both end of the internal electrode spaced apart from 41b and 42b). Fukunaga fails to explicitly discloses wherein at least one of two ends of the internal electrodes in the third direction has a shape bent toward a center of the body in the first direction.
Ono discloses wherein at least one of two ends of the internal electrodes in the third direction has a shape bent toward a center of the body in the first direction (Fig. 10; para. [0008]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to bend the internal electrodes of Fukunaga towards a center of the body as described by Ono in order to increase the path needed for moisture to travel to the internal electrode, thereby improving moisture reliability (paras. [0099-0104] of Ono).
Regarding claim 32, Fukunaga as modified by Ono further discloses:
The multilayer electronic component according to claim 31, wherein all of internal electrodes disposed in the body, including the internal electrodes, are spaced apart from the side margin portions in the third direction (Fig. 4 of Fukunaga shows both end of the internal electrode spaced apart from 41b and 42b).
Regarding claim 33, Fukunaga as modified by Ono further discloses:
The multilayer electronic component according to claim 31, wherein, when a region between an end of the internal electrodes spaced apart from an adjacent one of the side margin portions and the adjacent one of the side margin portions in the third direction is defined as a margin region (41a, 42a, 41c, 42c – Fig. 4), the adjacent one of the side margin portions and the margin region have different compositions from each other (paras. [0055-0056] and [0061] of Fukunaga discloses that the ceramics may be different, and that the margin region contains less sintering aid than the side margin portions).
Regarding claim 34, Fukunaga as modified by Ono further discloses:
The multilayer electronic component according to claim 31, wherein regions between the two ends of the internal electrodes in the third direction and the side margin portions have different compositions from the side margin portions (paras. [0055] and [0064] of Fukunaga disclose that the side margin may be made of a different ceramic material than that of the dielectric layers; as well as containing more sintering aid).
Claim(s) 35-37 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hong et al. US 2019/0096584 A1 in view of Kim et al. US 2021/0166881 A1.
Figure 3: Examiner annotated Fig. 6 of Hong '584 modified by Kim ‘881. The dummy electrodes of Hong ‘584 are in contact with the side margin portions of Kim ‘881 to improve volumetric efficiency
Regarding claim 35, Hong ‘584 discloses:
A multilayer electronic component, comprising: a body (310 – Fig. 6 para. [0053]) including an active portion (Fig. 6 where internal electrodes overlap) having a capacitance formed therein by including a dielectric layer (111 – Fig. 2 para. [0041] corresponds to 311 – Fig. 6) and internal electrodes alternately disposed with the dielectric layer in a first direction (321 – Fig. 6 para. [0053]), and including first and second surfaces opposing each other in the first direction, third and fourth surfaces connected to the first and second surfaces and opposing each other in a second direction, and fifth and sixth surfaces connected to the first to fourth surfaces and opposing each other in a third direction (Fig. 1 shows a body having a parallelepiped shape); and external electrodes disposed on the third and fourth surfaces of the body, respectively (141, 142 – Fig. 1 para. [0037]). Hong ‘584 fails to disclose side margin portions disposed on the fifth and sixth surfaces of the body, respectively; and wherein at least one of two ends of each internal electrode in the active portion in the third direction is spaced apart from the corresponding side margin portion, and when a region between an end of the internal electrodes spaced apart from an adjacent one of the side margin portions and the adjacent one of the side margin portions in the third direction is defined as a margin region, the adjacent one of the side margin portions and the margin region have different compositions from each other.
Kim ‘881 discloses side margin portions disposed on the fifth and sixth surfaces of the body, respectively (112, 113 – Fig. 1 para. [0047]); and wherein the adjacent one of the side margin portions and the body have different compositions from each other (para. [0087]). Furthermore, after modification, the at least one of two ends of each internal electrode in the active portion in the third direction is spaced apart from the corresponding side margin portion (present office action figure 3 (hereafter called POA3)), and when a region between an end of the internal electrodes spaced apart from an adjacent one of the side margin portions and the adjacent one of the side margin portions in the third direction is defined as a margin region (the margin region of Hong ‘584 is part of the body), the adjacent one of the side margin portions and the body have different compositions from each other.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the side margin portions to improve volumetric efficiency (para. [0007] of Kim ‘881). Furthermore, the included side margin portions should have a different composition from the dielectric, “thereby obtaining both effects of improving the moisture resistance reliability and improving the withstand voltage characteristics” (para. [0087] of Kim ‘881).
Regarding claim 36, Hong ‘584 as modified by Kim ‘881 further discloses:
The multilayer electronic component according to claim 35, wherein the body further includes an additional pattern disposed in the margin region and in contact with an inner side surface of the adjacent one of the side margin portions (331 – POA3 and para. [0053] of Hong ‘584), and the additional pattern is spaced apart from the end of the internal electrodes in the third direction (POA3).
Regarding claim 37, Hong ‘584 as modified by Kim ‘881 further discloses:
The multilayer electronic component according to claim 36, wherein one end of the additional pattern that is further away from the inner side surface of the adjacent one of the side margin portions and the end of the internal electrodes facing the one end of the additional pattern have a shape bent toward a center of the body in the first direction (POA3).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim(s) 7-8, 13 and 38 is/are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 7, the prior art does not teach or suggest (in combination with the other claim limitations) wherein an end closer to the first end, among both ends of the first additional pattern in the third direction, and the first end of the internal electrodes have a shape bent toward a center of the body in the first direction.
Regarding claim 8, the prior art does not teach or suggest (in combination with the other claim limitations) wherein in the first additional pattern, a thickness of a portion in contact with the fifth surface of the body is larger than a thickness of an end closer to the first end.
Regarding claim 13, the prior art does not teach or suggest (in combination with the other claim limitations in the first additional pattern, a thickness of a portion in contact with the fifth surface of the body is larger than a thickness of an end closer to the first end, and in the second additional pattern, a thickness of a portion in contact with the sixth surface of the body is larger than a thickness of an end closer to the second end.
Regarding claim 38, the prior art does not teach or suggest (in combination with the other claim limitations) wherein one end of the additional pattern that is further away from the inner side surface of the adjacent one of the side margin portions has a thickness smaller than an opposite end of the additional pattern that is in contact with the inner side surface of the adjacent one of the side margin portions.
Note that for claims 8, 13, and 38 the common theme for allowability is that the end of the additional pattern in contact with the side margin portions is thicker than the end closer to the internal electrode.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20150380165 A1: 30 – Fig. 1(b) shows protective layer over body and internal electrodes are contained in body
US 20220059289 A1: Fig. 1 shows bent internal electrodes
US 20130242460 A1: Fig. 2 shows bent internal electrodes
US 20200126721 A1: Mg content in side margin portions
US 20140177128 A1: Fig. 3 shows bent internal electrodes with one end exposed to 5th/6th surface
US 20120306325 A1: Fig. 5 shows bent internal electrodes
US 20170352482 A1: Fig. 4 shows one end of internal electrode exposed to 5th/6th surface
US 20010032383 A1: Fig. 2 shows thinned ends of internal electrodes
US 20210020365 A1: Figs. 3 and 4 shows one end of internal electrode exposed to 5th/6th surface. Exposed end is thicker
US 6965167 B2: 14 – Fig. 5B shows protective layer over body and internal electrodes are contained in body
US 20140022690 A1: Fig. 5 shows bent internal electrodes spaced apart from outer surfaces
US 20180061575 A1: Fig. 10 shows internal electrode getting bent from cutting
US 20200043656 A1: dummy electrodes in contact with out surfaces
US 20130208398 A1: one end of internal electrode exposed to 5th/6th surface
US 20100085682 A1: Fig. 5B shows bent internal electrode
US 20140177127 A1: bent internal electrodes
JP 4591537 B2: Teaches Mg content and bent shape
JP 2003264119 A: Fig. 2 shows bent internal electrodes which are thinner at the ends
Communication
/T.J.T./Examiner, Art Unit 2847
/Timothy J. Dole/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2847