DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in Republic of Korea on October 6, 2023. It is noted, however, that applicant has not filed a certified copy of the KR10-2023-0133512 application as required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Examiner acknowledges receipt of the KR10-2023-0137936 application filed in Republic of Korea on October 16, 2023.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 10, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seo et al. (US 2021/0389228 A1), hereinafter “Seo”, and further in view of Ryu et al. (KR 20180020614 A), references to English machine translation, hereinafter “Ryu”.
Regarding claim 1, Seo teaches a metamaterial sensing platform (abstract, Fig. 1, paragraph [0003]) comprising: a sensing portion (ref 100, paragraph [0022]) configured to capture a particle (ref P, paragraph [0023]); and a terahertz sensor portion configured to sense the particle (ref 110, paragraph [0022]) by allowing a terahertz electromagnetic wave to be incident on the sensing portion (paragraph [0026]); wherein the sensing portion includes a base substrate (ref 101, paragraph [0023]) and a particle capture portion (ref 102, paragraph [0023]) disposed on the base substrate (ref 101) and having a plurality of slits (ref S, paragraph [0033]) formed therein through which the particle is captured (as shown in Fig. 1, paragraph [0033]).
Seo is silent regarding wherein a nanodisk reactive with the particle is disposed in the plurality of slits.
However, Ryu teaches a terahertz frequency sensor (abstract, Fig. 2) including wherein a nanodisk reactive with the particle is disposed in the plurality of slits (as shown in Fig. 2, refs 130, 110, paragraphs [0026]-[0030]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the device of Seo with the teaching of Ryu by including wherein a nanodisk reactive with the particle is disposed in the plurality of slits in order to collect a detection target by bonding and during permittivity changes when the detection target material is bonded.
Regarding claim 10, Seo teaches wherein the terahertz sensor portion senses the particle by allowing the terahertz electromagnetic wave to be incident on the sensing portion and detecting the terahertz electromagnetic wave reflected from the sensing portion (as shown in Fig. 1; paragraph [0023]).
Regarding claim 11, Seo teaches wherein the particle is sensed by measuring reflectivity (Figs. 10 and 11, paragraphs [0045]-[0049]) between the terahertz electromagnetic wave being incident on the sensing portion and the terahertz electromagnetic wave being reflected from the sensing portion (as shown in Fig. 1; paragraph [0023]), but is silent regarding measuring frequency shift.
However, Ryu teaches measuring frequency shift (paragraph [0030]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the device of Seo with the teaching of Ryu by including measuring frequency shift in order to have a more complete analysis of the particle.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-9 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 2, the prior art of record, taken either alone or in combination, fails to disclose or render obvious a metamaterial sensing platform, the device comprising, among other essential elements, wherein the base substrate is a Si layer, and a SiO2 layer that oxidizes the Si layer is further disposed between the Si layer and the particle capture portion, in combination with the rest of the limitations of claim 1 and the above claim. Claims 3-9 are dependent from claim 2 and therefore are also included in the allowed subject matter.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Cumming (US 2015/0276489) teaches a terahertz detector with a silicon nitride layer, but this is used as an insulator, and not as a base substrate as claimed.
Carr (US 2021/0381900) teaches a terahertz detector with a later of silicon SOI wafer and a silicon dioxide layer, but does not have a particle capture portion, as claimed.
/DOMINIC J BOLOGNA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2877