DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restriction
Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 7/1/2026. In response to the traversal on the grounds that no serious burden exists, serious burden exists at least because of the search needed based on the mutually exclusive structural characteristics of the species, such references then need to be evaluated, and a response formulated.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-13, 19-21, 24-28, and 31-37 - are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Burrows (12,247,438) in view of France (6,536,182).
Burrows, fig. 3, teaches a multiple-pane insulating glazing unit comprising:
First 100 and second 110 panes,
a spacer 60, and
an aerogel sheet 210,
the spacer maintaining the first and second panes in a substantially parallel spaced-apart arrangement with a between-pane space located between the first and second panes, fig. 3.
The Burrows spacer does not have a seating structure that facilitates retaining the aerogel sheet in a seated position within the between-pane space, as the aerogel sheet is in a position directly contacting a pane, within the between-pane space. France, fig. 3d, teaches a spacer having a seating structure 64 that facilitates retaining a sheet 30 in a seated position within a between-pane space. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the Burrows spacer to have the France seating structure that facilitates retaining the aerogel sheet in a seated position within the between-pane space (to use the seating structure to hold the aerogel sheet is the existing position directly contacting a pane) to more securely position the aerogel sheet in position.
2. Burrows in view of France teaches the multiple-pane insulating glazing unit of claim 1, Burrows further teaching an entirety of the spacer is located between the first and second panes, fig. 3.
3. Burrows in view of France teaches the multiple-pane insulating glazing unit of claim 1, Burrows further teaching the aerogel sheet has opposed first and second faces and a perimeter edge, and the seated position is characterized by a first face of the aerogel sheet being carried alongside the second pane, fig. 3.
4. Burrows in view of France teaches the multiple-pane insulating glazing unit of claim 1, Burrows in view of France further teaching the seated position is characterized by the first face of the aerogel sheet being in contact with the desired one of the first and second panes because the Burrows spacer with the France seating structure that facilitates retaining the aerogel sheet in a seated position uses the seating structure (just as France central sheet 30 is held) to hold the aerogel sheet in the existing position directly contacting a pane as taught by Burrows.
5. Burrows in view of France teaches the multiple-pane insulating glazing unit of claim 1, Burrows further teaching a gas gap G is located alongside the second face of the aerogel sheet.
6. Burrows in view of France teaches the multiple-pane insulating glazing unit of claim 5, Burrows in view of France further teaching the aerogel sheet is sandwiched between the seating structure of the spacer and the second pane, such that the seating structure of the spacer thereby supports the second face of the aerogel sheet, but there is no contact between the spacer and the perimeter edge of the aerogel sheet (this is so because Burrows teaches there is no contact between the spacer and the perimeter edge of the aerogel sheet).
7. Burrows in view of France teaches the multiple-pane insulating glazing unit of claim 1, Burrows further teaching the spacer has opposed first and second sidewalls, the first and second sidewalls of the spacer being sealed respectively to the first and second panes via sealant 55.
8. Burrows in view of France teaches the multiple-pane insulating glazing unit of claim 1, Burrows further teaching the first and second panes respectively have first and second perimeter edges, and wherein no part of the spacer overlies the first perimeter edge, and no part of the spacer overlies the second perimeter edge, fig. 3.
9. Burrows in view of France teaches the multiple-pane insulating glazing unit of claim 1, Burrows further teaching part of the multiple-pane insulating glazing unit is a sealant system 58 located at a perimeter edge region of the multiple-pane insulating glazing unit, such that the sealant system seals the spacer to both the first and second panes, the sealant system comprising one or more deposits of sealant, wherein no part of the sealant system overlies the first perimeter edge, and no part of the sealant system overlies the second perimeter edge, fig. 3.
10. Burrows in view of France teaches the multiple-pane insulating glazing unit of claim 9, Burrows further teaching the sealant system comprises first 55 and second 55 sealant beads respectively sealing the first and second panes to the spacer, and the sealant system further comprises a sealant deposit over an outside wall of the spacer, wherein the first and second sealant beads and the sealant deposit are each located entirely between the first and second panes, fig. 3.
11. Burrows in view of France teaches the multiple-pane insulating glazing unit of claim 1, Burrows further teaching the aerogel sheet has a perimeter edge, and the perimeter edge of the aerogel sheet does not contact the spacer but rather is spaced apart inwardly (toward the window center) from the spacer.
12. Burrows in view of France teaches the multiple-pane insulating glazing unit of claim 11, Burrows further teaching part of the multiple-pane insulating glazing unit is a sealant system 58 located at a perimeter edge region of the multiple-pane insulating glazing unit, such that the sealant system seals the spacer to both the first and second panes, the sealant system comprising one or more deposits of sealant, wherein the perimeter edge of the aerogel sheet does not contact the sealant system but rather is spaced apart inwardly from the sealant system, fig. 1.
13. Burrows in view of France teaches the multiple-pane insulating glazing unit of claim 1, Burrows in view of France further teaching the aerogel sheet is sandwiched between the seating structure of the spacer and the second pane.
19. Burrows in view of France teaches theThe multiple-pane insulating glazing unit of claim 1, France, fig. 3d, further teaching wherein the seating structure of the spacer comprises a mounting rib.
20. Burrows in view of France teaches theThe multiple-pane insulating glazing unit of claim 19, Burrows in view of France further teaching wherein the spacer includes an inside wall having two base portions located on opposite sides of the mounting rib.
21. Burrows in view of France teaches theThe multiple-pane insulating glazing unit of claim 19, France further teaching wherein the mounting rib is located at a center point along a width of the spacer, fig. 3d..
24. Burrows in view of France teaches the multiple-pane insulating glazing unit of claim 20, Burrows, fig. 3, further teaching wherein the aerogel sheet has a perimeter edge that is adjacent to, but spaced apart inwardly from, the left base portion of the spacer’s inside wall.
25. Burrows in view of France teaches the multiple-pane insulating glazing unit of claim 1, Burrows, fig. 3, further teaching wherein a gas gap G is located along one side of the aerogel sheet, the first and second panes each have a rectangular configuration, and the aerogel sheet has a configuration that is at least generally rectangular, such that the aerogel sheet has a width and a length that are smaller than a width and a length of the first and second panes, and wherein an entirety of the spacer is located between the first and second panes.
26. Burrows in view of France teaches the multiple-pane insulating glazing unit of claim 25, Burrows, fig. 3, further teaching wherein the aerogel sheet is surrounded by the spacer, the aerogel sheet has a perimeter edge and opposed first and second faces, and the seating structure of the spacer supports a second face of the aerogel sheet, such that the aerogel sheet is sandwiched between the seating structure of the spacer and a desired one of the first and second panes.
27. Burrows in view of France teaches the multiple-pane insulating glazing unit of claim 26, Burrows, fig. 3, further teaching the spacer includes an inside wall comprising a base (top) portion that faces the between-pane space, and the seating structure of the spacer projects inwardly relative to the base portion of the inside wall to support the second face of the aerogel sheet.
28. Burrows in view of France teaches the multiple-pane insulating glazing unit of claim 26, Burrows in view of France, further teaching the Burrows spacer modified to include the France seating structure supports the aerogel sheet only at the second face of the aerogel sheet.
31. Burrows in view of France teaches the multiple-pane insulating glazing unit of claim 1, Burrows further teaching the spacer has a hollow interior space that is empty, but does not expressly teach the space containing some particulate desiccant. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include some particulate desiccant to trap moisture.
32. Burrows, fig. 3, teaches a multiple-pane insulating glazing unit comprising:
First 100 and second 200 panes,
a spacer 60, and
an aerogel sheet 210, the aerogel sheet having a perimeter edge and opposed first and second faces, wherein the spacer maintains the first and second panes in a substantially parallel spaced-apart arrangement with a between-pane space located between the first and second panes, the aerogel sheet having a major dimension that is smaller than a corresponding major dimension of the desired one of the first and second panes, such that the perimeter edge of the aerogel sheet is set back inwardly from a perimeter edge of the desired one of the first and second panes, fig. 3. The Burrows spacer does not have a seating structure such that the aerogel sheet is sandwiched between the seating structure of the spacer and a desired one of the first and second panes. France, fig. 3d, has a seating structure 64 such that a sheet 30 is between the seating structure of the spacer and a second pane (the pane on the right, fig. 3d). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the Burrows spacer to have a seating structure such that the aerogel sheet is sandwiched between the seating structure of the spacer and a the second pane (such is the structure resulting from combining the France seating structure into Burrows, as the Burrows aerogel sheet remains in place on pane 200 and the France seating structure is on the opposite aerogel sheet side adhered thereto, the aerogel sheet essentially sandwiched therebetween) to better secure the aerogel sheet in position.
33. Burrows in view of France teaches the multiple-pane insulating glazing unit of claim 1, Burrows further teaching an entirety of the spacer is located between the first and second panes, fig. 3.
34. Burrows in view of France teaches the multiple-pane insulating glazing unit of claim 32, Burrows in view of France further teaching the first face of the Burrows aerogel sheet is carried alongside the second Burrows pane, wherein a gas gap G is located alongside the second face of the aerogel sheet, and the France seating structure supports the second face of the aerogel sheet, but the spacer does not contact the perimeter edge of the aerogel sheet.
35. Burrows in view of France teaches the multiple-pane insulating glazing unit of claim 34, Burrows in view of France further teaching the spacer includes an inside (top) wall comprising a base portion that faces the between-pane space, and the France seating structure projects inwardly relative to the base portion of the inside wall to support the second face of the aerogel sheet.
36. Burrows in view of France teaches the multiple-pane insulating glazing unit of claim 32, Burrows further teaching the first and second panes respectively have first and second perimeter edges, wherein no part of the spacer overlies the first perimeter edge, and no part of the spacer overlies the second perimeter edge, fig. 3.
37. Burrows in view of France teaches the multiple-pane insulating glazing unit of claim 36, Burrows in view of France further teaching part 58 of the multiple-pane insulating glazing unit is a sealant system located at a perimeter edge region of the multiple-pane insulating glazing unit, such that the sealant system seals the spacer to both the first and second panes, the sealant system comprising one or more deposits of sealant, wherein no part of the sealant system overlies the first perimeter edge, and no part of the sealant system overlies the second perimeter edge, fig. 3.
Claims 14-15 - are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Burrows in view of France and in further view of Hermens (10,801,255).
14. Burrows in view of France does not expressly teach no adhesive between the aerogel sheet and the seating structure of the spacer because France teaches adhesive 30. Hermens, fig. 3, teaches it is old in the art to not use adhesive between a sheet 17 and a spacer seating structure 2 (instead of using adhesive, the sheet is sandwiched. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for Burrows in view of France to eliminate the France adhesive between the aerogel sheet and the seating structure to eliminate possibility of adhesive off-gassing, Burrows in view of France teaching, as described above, essentially sandwiching the aerosol sheet between the seating structure and second face, Burrows in view of France modified in view of Hermes to eliminate the adhesive to yield a panel held in place without adhesive like the France middle panel.
15. Burrows in view of France teaches the multiple-pane insulating glazing unit of claim 13, Burrows in view of France further teaching the aerogel sheet has opposed first and second faces, the first face of the aerogel sheet is carried against the second pane, and the second face of the aerogel sheet is carried (carried directly) against the seating structure of the spacer, such that the spacer supports the aerogel sheet only at the second face of the aerogel sheet.
Claims 16-18 - are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Burrows in view of France and in further view of Sala (11,466,508).
16-17. Burrows in view of France does not comprise a foam gasket between the aerogel sheet and the seating structure of the spacer. Sala, fig. 15, comprise a foam gasket 71 between a sheet and spacer seating structure (the inner spacer wall). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for burrows in view of France to comprise a foam gasket between the aerogel sheet and the seating structure of the spacer to comprise a foam gasket between the aerogel sheet and the seating structure of the spacer to further secure the aerogel sheet.
18. Burrows in view of France and in further view of Sala teaches the multiple-pane insulating glazing unit of claim 17, Sala further teaching wherein there is no adhesive between the aerogel sheet and the one or more pieces of foam.
Claims 22-23 and 29-30 - are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Burrows in view of France.
22-23 France does not expressly teach the rib has an aspect ratio of greater than 8, wherein the aspect ratio is defined as a height of the mounting rib divided by a width of the mounting rib. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the rib to have an aspect ratio of greater than 8, wherein the aspect ratio is defined as a height of the mounting rib divided by a width of the mounting rib for strength.
29-30 Burrows in view of France teaches the multiple-pane insulating glazing unit of claim 1, Burrows in view of France further teaching the aerogel sheet is surrounded by the spacer, but Burrows does not expressly teach the spacer has a width, the aerogel sheet has a thickness and the thickness of the aerogel sheet is less than 50% of the width of the spacer and the thickness of the aerogel sheet is greater than 16% of the width of the spacer. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to so dimension the spacer/aerogel sheet for strength.
Conclusion
/DANIEL J KENNY/ Examiner, Art Unit 3633