Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 5 – 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park, US20140302384A1 and Seino, US20100216016A1 (in IDS filed 10/17/24).
Regarding claim 1, Park teaches a cell assembly (secondary battery)[0003], comprising:
an electrochemical cell including a positive electrode and a negative electrode (tabs (123)(113)), each extending from an enclosure (can (410)), the enclosure including a forward wall (opposite rearward wall (not labeled)) and a rearward wall (414)[fig. 1]; and
an outer wrap (adhesive tape (500)) including a body (regions) having an inner surface (regions facing can (410)) that engages the rearward wall (414) of the electrochemical cell [fig. 1],
a first portion (505) having a flame barrier (tape (500) formed of PET)[0054], the first portion being foldable onto the enclosure (410) such that the flame barrier engages the forward wall (side opposite (414)) of the electrochemical cell, and
a second portion, the second portion being foldable onto the first portion such that the second portion engages an outer surface of the first portion (overlapping portions (506)(507)(508)(509))[0058][fig. 3];
wherein one of the positive electrode or the negative electrode (tabs (113)(123))[fig. 1] extends through an upper opening formed by the outer wrap [fig. 1]
Park does not teach another of the positive electrode or the negative electrode extends through a lower opening formed by the outer wrap.
Seino teaches a cell assembly (secondary battery)[0002] comprising an outer wrap (laminate film (41) for sealing a battery)[fig. 1][0005] includes a body formed (resin film (41c))[fig. 18][0074][0076] comprising a flame barrier (formed of aramid fibers)[0087]
wherein one of the positive electrode or the negative electrode (62a)(62b) extends through an upper opening formed by the outer wrap and another of the positive electrode or the negative electrode extends through a lower opening formed by the outer wrap. [fig. 22]. Further, Seino teaches that disposing the electrodes on opposite ends prevents short circuiting [0204].. Then, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the electrode positions of Seino into the secondary battery of Park to prevent short circuits.
Regarding claim 5, combined Park teaches the cell assembly of claim 1.
Further, Park teaches wherein the enclosure (can (410)) includes a first side wall (415) that is positioned adjacent a first fold edge of the outer wrap and a second side wall (opposite side to surface (415)) that is positioned adjacent a second fold edge of the outer wrap (folds of wrap (500))[fig. 1].
Regarding claim 6, combined Park teaches the cell assembly of claim 1.
Further, Park teaches wherein the enclosure (can (410)) includes an upper wall (cap (420)) that is positioned adjacent an upper edge of the outer wrap and a lower wall (bottom of can (410) opposite the cap (420)) that is positioned adjacent a lower edge of the outer wrap [fig. 1].
Regarding claim 7, combined Park teaches the cell assembly of claim 1.
Further, Park teaches wherein the electrochemical cell of each cell assembly is a lithium ion cell (lithium ion battery)[0052].
Combined Park does not teach having at least a 45 amp/hour rating.
However, changing the capacity of the battery for different applications is known in the art and would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill as an obvious design choice.
Regarding claim 8, combined Park the cell assembly group of claim 1.
Further, Seino teaches wherein each outer wrap (laminate film (41) for sealing a battery)[fig. 1][0005] includes a body formed (resin film (41c))[fig. 18][0074][0076] from aramid fiber material (aramid fibers)[0087] having a thickness of at least 0.007 inches [0088][0093].
Claims 2 – 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park, US20140302384A1 and Seino, US20100216016A1 as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Ahn, US20150171383A1 (in IDS filed 10/17/24).
Regarding claim 2, combined Park teaches the cell assembly of claim 1.
Combined Park does not teach wherein the second portion of the body includes a tape strip that engages the outer surface of the first portion to secure the second portion to the first portion.
Ahn teaches a wrapped battery cell (10)[0018][fig. 1] wherein the wrapping of the cell is secured using tape (100)[fig. 5][fig. 1][0074]. Further, Ahn teaches that securing the battery cell with tape increases battery stability.
Then, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the tape of Ahn with the battery wrap of combined Park to further improve battery stability.
Regarding claim 3, combined Park teaches the cell assembly of claim 2.
Further, Ahn teaches wherein the tape strip is formed from an acrylic based material [0046].
Regarding claim 4, combined Park teaches the cell assembly of claim 2.
Further, Ahn teaches wherein the tape strip (100) is positioned adjacent a first side edge of the outer wrap body and the flame barrier is positioned adjacent a second, opposite side edge of the outer wrap body [fig. 3]
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park, US20140302384A1 and Seino, US20100216016A1 as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Yi, US20200020898A1 (in IDS filed 10/17/24).
Regarding claim 9, combined Park teaches the cell assembly of claim 1.
Further, Seino teaches wherein the flame barrier is formed having a thickness of at least 0.006 inches [0088][0093]
Combined Park does not teach wherein the flame barrier is formed from a ceramic coated polyethylene terephthalate sheet
Yi teaches a battery (100) wherein the wrap of the battery (exterior members (150)(151))[fig. 1][fig. 2] has a flame barrier (polyethylene terephthalate sheets (151a) having a ceramic coating (151b))[0072][fig. 2]. Further, Yi teaches the ceramic coating to prevent moisture penetration while maintaining flexibility [0046]. Then, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date to combine the structure placement of Yi with the wrap of combined Park to improve resistance to moisture while maintain wrap flexibility.
Conclusion
/PATRICK MARSHALL GREENE/Examiner, Art Unit 1724
/MIRIAM STAGG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1724