DETAILED ACTION
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim(s) 17-18 is/are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Election/Restriction
Applicant’s election without traverse of claim(s) 2, 4-7, and 12-15 in the reply filed 06/15/2026 is acknowledged. Claim(s) 3, 8-9, 11, 16 are withdrawn from consideration. Therefore, claim(s) 1, 2, 4-7, 10, 12-15, and 17-20 are now pending.
Double Patenting
Claim(s) 1 and 20 of the current application 18/781612 is/are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim(s) 1, 11, and 20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,587,239 B1. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claim(s) in the current application is anticipated by the US patent, see In re Goodman, 11 F.3d 1046, 1052, 29 USPQ2d 2010, 2015-16 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Regarding claim 1, U.S. Patent No. 12,587,239 B1 discloses A wireless communication method, comprising (claim 1: A wireless communication method, comprising:):
sharing, by a first wireless communication node and a second wireless communication node, a reflection-based communication element (claim 1: sending, by a first wireless communication node to a second wireless communication node, a first message to suspend sharing of a reflection-based communication element between the first wireless communication node and the second wireless communication node, wherein the reflection-based communication element keeps sharing configuration parameters from the first wireless communication node and the second wireless communication node),
wherein the reflection-based communication element comprises a reflecting unit array (claim 11: wherein an original codebook configured for a reflecting element array of the reflection-based communication element remains during the suspension).
Regarding claim 20, U.S. Patent No. 12,587,239 B1 discloses A first wireless communication node, comprising (claim 18: A first wireless communication node, comprising):
at least one processor configured to share, with a second wireless communication node, a reflection-based communication element (claim 18: at least one processor configured to: send, via a transmitter to a second wireless communication node, a first message to suspend sharing of a reflection-based communication element between the first wireless communication node and the second wireless communication node, wherein the reflection-based communication element keeps sharing configuration parameters from the first wireless communication node and the second wireless communication node),
wherein the reflection-based communication element comprises a reflecting unit array (claim 11: wherein an original codebook configured for a reflecting element array of the reflection-based communication element remains during the suspension).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 10 is dependent on claim 9 which has been withdrawn from consideration based on applicant’s response to election/restriction filed 06/15/2026. Therefore, claim 10 is indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-7, 12-15, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Jiang et al. (US 2023/0077666 A1).
Regarding claims 1 and 20, Jiang discloses A wireless communication method, comprising (claim 1) and A first wireless communication node, comprising: at least one processor configured to (claim 20) (Fig. 12, [0316]: a node 1200 includes a processor 1201 to perform the foregoing information transmission method):
sharing, by a first wireless communication node and a second wireless communication node, a reflection-based communication element ([0096]: the third node device is a node device associated with the first node device and the second node device, and the third node device is specifically an intelligent surface. [0121]: the first node device and the second node device determine the working information of the third node device, so that the third node device works according to uniform working information. [0109]: the third node device may be a … IRS. [0078]: intelligent reflecting surface (IRS)),
wherein the reflection-based communication element comprises a reflecting unit array ([0080]: IRS is generally used as a reflect array).
Regarding claim(s) 2, Jiang discloses all features of claim(s) 1 as outlined above.
Jiang discloses sending, by the first wireless communication node to the second wireless communication node, a first message requesting to share the reflection-based communication element ([0179]: The first node device sends first information to the second node device. [0184]: the first node device and the second node device reach an agreement on that the first information is the working information of the third node device. [0188]: The first node device sends fourth information to the second node device. [0192]: the first node device and the second node device reach an agreement on that the fourth information is the working information of the third node device. [0198]: The first node device sends eighth information to the second node device. [0199]: the eighth information is working information of the third node device expected by the first node device. [0200]: the first node device and the second node device continue to coordinate until the first node device and the second node device reach an agreement on consistent working information).
Regarding claim(s) 4, Jiang discloses all features of claim(s) 2 as outlined above.
Jiang discloses wherein the first message comprises at least one of ([0098]: The first information is working information of the third node device expected by the first node device):
respective identifiers of one or more reflection-based communication elements ([0101]: The determined working information of the third node device includes identification information of the third node device);
Regarding claim(s) 5, Jiang discloses all features of claim(s) 2 as outlined above.
Jiang discloses receiving, by the first wireless communication node from the second wireless communication node, a third message acknowledging the request in the first message ([0180], [0189]: The first node device receives ACK information. [0200]: the first node device and the second node device continue to coordinate until the first node device and the second node device reach an agreement on consistent working information. [0101]: The determined working information of the third node device includes identification information of the third node device).
Regarding claim(s) 6, Jiang discloses all features of claim(s) 5 as outlined above.
Jiang discloses wherein the third message indicates at least one of:
identifiers of one or more allowed reflection-based communication elements ([0180], [0189]: The first node device receives ACK information. [0200]: the first node device and the second node device continue to coordinate until the first node device and the second node device reach an agreement on consistent working information. [0101]: The determined working information of the third node device includes identification information of the third node device);
identifiers of one or more refused reflection-based communication elements optionally together with a reason for the refusal ([0187], [0195], [0197]: The first node device receives NACK information. [0200]: the first node device and the second node device continue to coordinate until the first node device and the second node device reach an agreement on consistent working information. [0101]: The determined working information of the third node device includes identification information of the third node device);
Regarding claim(s) 7, Jiang discloses all features of claim(s) 2 as outlined above.
Jiang discloses wherein the second wireless communication node sends, to the reflection-based communication element which allows to be shared, a fourth message comprising sharing configuration information that comprises at least one of ([0182]: The second node device sends the first information to the third node device. [0191]: The second node device sends the fourth information to the third node device. [0206]: The second node device sends the second information to the third node device):
respective identifiers of the first and/or second wireless communication node ([0184]. [0192], [0208]: the first/second information is the working information of the third node device. [0098]: The first information is working information of the third node device expected by the first node device. [0099]: The second information is working information of the third node device expected by the second node device. [0154]: the fourth information is working information of the third node device expected by the first node device);
Regarding claim(s) 12, Jiang discloses all features of claim(s) 4 as outlined above.
Jiang discloses wherein the configuration parameters comprise at least one of (this limitation is given no patentable weight in claim 4 because limitation “respective identifiers of one or more reflection-based communication elements” is given patentable weight. Therefore, the features of this claim are also not given patentable weight):
a plurality of first configuration parameters for time division multiplexing;
a plurality of second configuration parameters for frequency division multiplexing; or
a plurality of third configuration parameters for space division multiplexing.
Regarding claim(s) 13, Jiang discloses all features of claim(s) 12 as outlined above.
Jiang discloses wherein the first configuration parameters comprise at least one of (this limitation is given no patentable weight in claim 12 because claim 12 recites a limitation of claim 4 which is given no patentable weight. Therefore, the features of this claim are also not given patentable weight):
a periodic sharing time defined by at least one of: a cycle length, a shared time length in each cycle, or a starting of the shared time in each cycle;
a non-periodic sharing time defined by at least one of: a starting time and an end time, or a starting time and a time length; or
a starting time or a starting time offset of a sharing action.
Regarding claim(s) 14, Jiang discloses all features of claim(s) 12 as outlined above.
Jiang discloses wherein the second configuration parameters comprise at least one of (this limitation is given no patentable weight in claim 12 because claim 12 recites a limitation of claim 4 which is given no patentable weight. Therefore, the features of this claim are also not given patentable weight):
a frequency band during which the reflection-based communication element is shared; or
the reflecting unit array of the reflection-based communication element that corresponds to the shared frequency band.
Regarding claim(s) 15, Jiang discloses all features of claim(s) 12 as outlined above.
Jiang discloses wherein the third configuration parameters comprise identifiers of shared reflecting panels of the reflection-based communication element (this limitation is given no patentable weight in claim 12 because claim 12 recites a limitation of claim 4 which is given no patentable weight. Therefore, the features of this claim are also not given patentable weight).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jiang et al. (US 2023/0077666 A1) in view of Sun et al. (US 2023/0134172 A1).
Regarding claim(s) 19, Jiang discloses all features of claim(s) 1 as outlined above.
Jiang does not disclose, but Sun discloses prior to the step of sharing a reflection-based communication element, further comprising:
obtaining, by the first or second wireless communication node, a sharing capability of the reflection-based communication element from the reflection-based communication element or a core network device (Fig. 2, [0063]: Basic information of each reflector in the coordination set is stored in the management device. Fig. 7, [0203]: the first base station sends the coordination request to the management device, and the management device determines, based on the identifier of each first reflector included in the coordination request, the second base station to which each first reflector belongs. [0204]: If the first base station obtains, in step 701, the identifiers of the plurality of second base stations and the first reflector belonging to each second base station, the first base station separately sends a coordination request to each second base station based on an identifier of the second base station).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to program the node, as taught by Jiang, to obtain identifiers of the plurality of second base stations and the first reflector belonging to each second base station from a management device, as taught by Sun.
Doing so allows the first base station to send a coordination request to each second base station based on an identifier of the second base station by which communication efficiency is improved, and a communication capability of the first UE is further improved (Sun: [0203], [0236]).
Conclusion
/THE HY NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2478
TheHy.Nguyen@USPTO.gov