DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in Korea on 10/4/23. Document obtained via PDX on 6/12/25.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Huang et al. (USPGPUB 2024/0136088, from hereinafter “Huang”).
Huang teaches smart composite conductors and methods of making the same. Regarding claim 1, Huang teaches an optical fiber easy to air installation comprising: a core portion (core) including a plurality of optical fiber bundles; a coating portion surrounding the core portion (encapsulation layer) and having a plurality of reinforcing protrusions on its inner surface in a direction toward the core portion, and having a reinforcing groove (see paragraph 88) between adjacent reinforcing protrusions; a plurality of first tension members embedded in each reinforcing groove; and an uneven portion formed on an outer surface of the coating portion onto which compressed air is projected during air installation (see Figures 4, 7-8A, paragraphs 141-142, 158-160).
Regarding claim 2, Huang teaches wherein the uneven portion comprises a resistance protrusion protruding radially from the outer surface of the coating portion, wherein each of the plurality of resistance protrusions is formed to extend in a straight line along the longitudinal direction (see paragraph 159).
Regarding claims 3-4, Huang teaches wherein the uneven portion comprises the resistance protrusion formed to protrude in a spiral shape along the longitudinal direction on the outer surface of the coating portion, and wherein the resistance protrusion has an inner flank surface disposed to face the direction of injection of compressed air and an outer flank surface on the opposite side of the inner flank surface, forming a slope inclined at a certain angle, and an outer angel between the outer surface of the coating portion and the inner flank surface is formed at an acute angle to form an undercut between the outer surface of the coating portion and the inner flank surface (see Figures 4-7, 8A).
Regarding claim 5, Huang teaches wherein the first tension member is made up of a plurality of pieces, embedded in each reinforcing groove, and distributed within the coating portion while being spaced apart from each other, so that the first tension member and the reinforcing protrusion are alternately arranged on the outer surface of the core portion, and a protrusion height of each of the plurality of reinforcing protrusions and an interval between adjacent reinforcing protrusions are set differently (see Figure 8, paragraphs 159-161).
Conclusion
/LISA M CAPUTO/Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2874