DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Species II-A, Species VII-Sub C, and Species IX-Sub D (encompassed by claims 1-39) in the reply filed on 7/7/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that no serious burden exists. This is not found persuasive because there is a serious search and/or examination burden for the patentably distinct species as set forth in paragraph 2 of the Office action mailed on 4/16/2026.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-12, 16, 17, and 23-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 is directed to “A method of manufacturing a multiple-pane insulating glazing unit”. The preamble limitation is unclear and confusing as only “a pane” (i.e. singular pane) is claimed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Claims 1, 23-25, 28, and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Fleury et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2022/0186550).
Regarding claims 1, 28, and 29, Fleury discloses a method of manufacturing a multiple-pane insulating glazing unit, the method comprising providing an aerogel sheet (insulating mid-layer 102 is aerogel see paragraph 0008) on a surface of a pane (101), and adhering a spacer (shaded in Figures 12 and 14) onto a perimeter of the pane such that the aerogel sheet is sandwiched between the pane and a seating structure (see the L-shaped seat in Figures 12 and 14) of the spacer (held in place with spacers, adhesive, and sealant in paragraphs 0024, 0026 and 0054-0055) (regarding claims 28 and 29) wherein the spacer has a width, the aerogel sheet has a thickness, the method manufactures the multiple-pane insulating glazing unit such that the aerogel sheet is surrounded by the spacer, and the thickness of the aerogel sheet is less than 50% of the width of the spacer and wherein the thickness of the aerogel sheet is greater than 16% of the width of the spacer (as shown in Figure 12a, etc.). In the event it is somehow considered Fleury does not necessarily anticipate one or more of the limitations of the claims the following rejection is made. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention the method of manufacturing a multiple-pane insulating glazing unit as taught by Fleury comprises providing an aerogel sheet (as insulating mid-layer 102) on a surface of a pane (101), and adhering a spacer (shaded in Figures 12 and 14) onto a perimeter of the pane such that the aerogel sheet is sandwiched between the pane and a seating structure (L-shaped seat) of the spacer (and including regarding claim 28 wherein the spacer has a width, the aerogel sheet has a thickness, the method manufactures the multiple-pane insulating glazing unit such that the aerogel sheet is surrounded by the spacer, and the thickness of the aerogel sheet is less than 50% of the width of the spacer and regarding claim 29 wherein the thickness of the aerogel sheet is greater than 16% of the width of the spacer) following that taught by Fleury in Figures 12 and 14 and Paragraphs 0008, 0024, 0026 and 0054-0055 and including the layers of the unit are held in place with spacers, adhesive, and sealant.
Regarding claim 23, the seating structure of the spacer taught by Fleury comprises a mounting rib (thickest portion of that shaded in Figures 12 and 14)
Regarding claims 24 and 25, the spacer taught by Fleury includes an inside wall (shaded in Figures 12 and 14 facing the aerogel sheet and pane) having two base portions (thinnest portions of that shaded) located on opposite sides of the mounting rib (thickest portion of that shaded) and including wherein the mounting rib is located at a center point along a width of the spacer (see Figure 12c).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fleury in view of Weissler et al. (EP 3708759 and see also the machine translation).
Fleury is described above in full detail.
Regarding claims 2 and 10, Fleury teaches the overall stack is held in place by adhesive (Paragraph 0024). It is well understood by one of ordinary skill in the art the adhesive that holds a sheet (23) and spacer (1) in place in a glazing unit is foam adhesive tape (i.e. a gasket) therebetween (at 7.1 and/or 7.2) and including there is no need to dose the adhesive, achieves instant adhesive effect, there is no risk of the adhesive entering a chemical reaction with the spacer, stresses can be compensated for and vibrations damped as evidenced by Weissler (Figures 1-4 and Pages 3 and 9 of the machine translation) and including the sheet has a perimeter edge, and the perimeter edge of the sheet does not contact the spacer but rather is spaced apart inwardly from the spacer by the foam adhesive tape (e.g. U-shaped). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention in Fleury a foam adhesive tape (i.e. a gasket) is located between the aerogel sheet and the seating structure of the spacer for holding in place (and regarding claim 10 wherein the aerogel sheet has a perimeter edge, and the adhering the spacer onto the perimeter of the first pane is performed such that the perimeter edge of the aerogel sheet does not contact the spacer but rather is spaced apart inwardly from the spacer by the foam adhesive tape) as is well understood by one of ordinary skill in the art as evidenced by Weissler and including there is no need to dose the adhesive, achieves instant adhesive effect, there is no risk of the adhesive entering a chemical reaction with the spacer, stresses can be compensated for and vibrations damped.
Claims 1, 8-10, 23, 24, 26, and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fleury in view of France (U.S. Patent 6,286,288).
Regarding claim 1, Fleury discloses a method of manufacturing a multiple-pane insulating glazing unit, the method comprising providing an aerogel sheet (insulating mid-layer 102 is aerogel see paragraph 0008) on a surface of a pane (101), and adhering a spacer (shaded in Figure 13) onto a perimeter of the pane (Figure 13 and Paragraphs 0054-0055).
As to the limitation in claim 1 of “the aerogel sheet is sandwiched between the pane and a seating structure of the spacer” and claims 10, 23, and 24, Fleury does not expressly teach how the aerogel sheet is mounted in Figure 13 (it being noted the aerogel sheet taught by Fleury replaced a mid-pane see paragraph 0007). It is well understood in the same art a spacer is adhered to a mid-pane/mid-layer by comprising a mounting rib (64) for mounting the mid-pane/mid-layer (30) in place as evidenced by France (Figure 3d and Column 8, lines 35-67) and including the mid-pane/mid-layer has a perimeter edge, and adhering the spacer onto the perimeter of a first pane (30) is performed such that the perimeter edge of the mid-pane/mid-layer does not contact the spacer but rather is spaced apart inwardly from the spacer and the spacer includes an inside wall having two base portions located on opposite sides of the mounting rib. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention the spacer (Figure 13) taught by Fleury comprises a mounting rib (i.e. the aerogel sheet is sandwiched between the pane and a seating structure of the spacer, regarding claim 23, wherein the seating structure of the spacer comprises a mounting rib and regarding claim 10 wherein the aerogel sheet has a perimeter edge, and the adhering the spacer onto the perimeter of the first pane is performed such that the perimeter edge of the aerogel sheet does not contact the spacer but rather is spaced apart inwardly from the spacer and regarding claim 24 the spacer includes an inside wall having two base portions located on opposite sides of the mounting rib) for mounting the aerogel sheet in place as is well understood by one of ordinary skill in the art as evidenced by France.
Regarding claims 8 and 9, the pane taught by Fleury has a peripheral edge, and wherein the providing the aerogel sheet on the surface of the pane involves the aerogel sheet being spaced inwardly from the peripheral edge of the pane by a set-back distance (see Figure 13). Fleury does not expressly teach the value of the set-back distance (although small see Figure 13). It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention the set-back distance taught by Fleury as modified by France is in a range of from 0.25 inch to 2 inches and including from 0.4 inch to 1 inch as where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device (see MPEP 2144.04 and “A. Changes in Size/Proportion”).
Regarding claims 26 and 27, the mounting rib as taught by France has an aspect ratio, wherein the aspect ratio is defined as a height of the mounting rib divided by a width of the mounting rib (see Figure 3d). France does not expressly teach the value of the aspect ratio (greater than 4 appears depicted). It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention the aspect ratio taught by Fleury as modified by France is greater than 5 and including greater than 8 as where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device (see MPEP 2144.04 and “A. Changes in Size/Proportion”) and a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close (see MPEP 2144.05).
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fleury and France as applied to claims 1, 8-10, 23, 24, 26, and 27 above, and further in view of Weissler.
Regarding claim 2, Fleury as modified by France above teach all of the limitations in claim 2 including an adhesive or sealant (28 see Figure 3d and Column 8, lines 35-67 of France) is located between the aerogel sheet and the seating structure of the spacer without expressly teaching the adhesive or sealant is a gasket. It is well understood by one of ordinary skill in the art the adhesive or sealant between a sheet and a spacer in a glazing unit is foam adhesive tape (i.e. a gasket) as there is no need to dose the adhesive, achieves instant adhesive effect, there is no risk of the adhesive entering a chemical reaction with the spacer, stresses can be compensated for and vibrations damped as evidenced by Weissler (Page 3 of the machine translation). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention the adhesive or sealant located between the aerogel sheet and the seating structure of the spacer taught by Fleury as modified by France is a foam adhesive tape (i.e. a gasket) not only as a simple substitution of one known adhesive or sealant to yield predictable results but there is no need to dose the adhesive, achieves instant adhesive effect, there is no risk of the adhesive entering a chemical reaction with the spacer, stresses can be compensated for and vibrations damped as evidenced by Weissler.
Claims 11, 13-17, 31-33, 35-37, and 39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fleury in view of Briese et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2010/0287756).
Regarding claim 1, Fleury is described above in full detail.
Regarding claim 31, Fleury discloses a method of manufacturing a multiple-pane insulating glazing unit, the method involving a glazing assembly that comprises a first pane (101), an aerogel sheet (102) alongside a surface of the first pane, and a spacer (shaded) adhered to a perimeter of the first pane, the method comprising adhering a second pane (101) to the spacer such that a gas gap is created between the aerogel sheet and the second pane (Figures 12a, 12c, 13, etc.).
As to the limitation in claim 31 of a “preliminary” glazing assembly that comprises the first pane, the aerogel sheet alongside the surface of the first pane, and the spacer adhered to the perimeter of the first pane, the method comprising adhering the second pane to the spacer such that a gas gap is created between the aerogel sheet and the second pane (i.e. adhering the second pane after forming the preliminary glazing assembly) and claims 11, 13, 14, 16, 17, 32, and 33, Fleury does not expressly teach the order of attaching the layers. It is well understood by one of ordinary skill in the art of manufacturing a multiple-plane insulating glazing unit to do so by building up from the first pane by providing the first pane (112) in a horizontal position, providing the spacer (113) with sealant applied to opposite sides of the spacer wherein the sealant applied on a side of the spacer is considered a bead of sealant, placing the spacer and other materials alongside and onto a surface of the first pane such as a muntin grid (115) to attach via the sealant (i.e. adhere) the spacer to the first pane, providing the second pane (120) in a horizontal position, and lowering the second pane onto the spacer to attach via the sealant the second pane as evidenced by Briese (Figures 1-5 and Paragraphs 0033-0035). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to manufacture the multiple-pane insulating unit taught by Fleury by vertically building up the unit from the first pane in a horizontal position (i.e. regarding claim 31, a method of manufacturing a multiple-pane insulating glazing unit, the method involving a preliminary glazing assembly that comprises a first pane, an aerogel sheet alongside a surface of the first pane, and a spacer adhered to a perimeter of the first pane via sealant on one side of the spacer, the method comprising adhering via sealant on another side of the spacer a second pane to the spacer such that a gas gap is created between the aerogel sheet and the second pane and regarding claim 32 wherein the first and second panes are in horizontal positions during the adhering the second pane to the spacer and regarding claim 33 wherein the adhering the second pane to the spacer includes moving the second pane in a downward direction toward the first pane and regarding claim 11 wherein the adhering the spacer onto the perimeter of the first pane includes moving the spacer toward the first pane when the spacer already has first and second beads of sealant located respectively on first and second opposed sides of the spacer, such that the adhering the spacer onto the perimeter of the first pane includes pressing (at least by the weight of the spacer or by pressing to a second spacer and a third pane in forming a triple pane glazing unit) the first bead of sealant against the first pane and regarding claim 13 the method further includes moving a second pane toward the first pane and pressing (at least by the weight of the second pane or by pressing to a second spacer and a third pane in forming a triple pane glazing unit) the second pane against the second bead of sealant on the spacer and regarding claim 14 the method is performed such that there is a gas gap between the aerogel sheet and the second pane and regarding claim 16 wherein the providing the aerogel sheet, as analogous to the muntin grid, on the surface of the pane includes moving the aerogel sheet toward the surface of the pane and bonding the aerogel sheet to the surface of the pane including adhering as taught by Fleury, paragraph 0055, and regarding claim 17 wherein the pane is maintained in a horizontal position during: (i) the moving the aerogel sheet toward the surface of the pane and bonding the aerogel sheet to the surface of the pane, and (ii) the adhering the spacer onto the perimeter of the pane) as is well understood by one of ordinary skill in the art to conventionally and predictably attach the layers of the unit as evidenced by Briese.
Regarding claim 15, Fleury teaches the method is performed such that the gas gap has a width in a range of from 8 mm to 19 mm (Paragraph 0040), and the aerogel sheet has a thickness of greater than 2 mm but less than 8 mm (Paragraph 0017) (it being further noted in the case where the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art a prima facie case of obviousness exists and similarly, a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close (see MPEP 2144.05)).
Regarding claim 35, Fleury teaches the spacer includes a seating structure (see the L-shaped seat in Figures 12 and 14), and the preliminary glazing assembly is characterized by the aerogel sheet being sandwiched between the first pane and the seating structure of the spacer (Figures 12 and 14).
Regarding claim 36, the seating structure of the spacer taught by Fleury comprises a mounting rib (thickest portion of that shaded in Figures 12 and 14).
Regarding claim 37, the spacer taught by Fleury has an inside wall comprising a base portion (thinnest portion) configured to face a between-pane space of the multiple-pane insulating glazing unit, and the spacer includes a seating structure (thickest portion) that projects inwardly relative to the base portion such that the seating structure is configured to project further into the between-pane space of the multiple-pane insulating glazing unit than any other part of the spacer (Figures 12 and 14).
Regarding claim 39, the pane taught by Fleury has a peripheral edge, and wherein the providing the aerogel sheet on the surface of the pane involves the aerogel sheet being spaced inwardly from the peripheral edge of the pane by a set-back distance (see Figure 13). Fleury does not expressly teach the value of the set-back distance (although small see Figure 13). It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention the set-back distance taught by Fleury as modified by Briese is in a range of from 0.25 inch to 2 inches and including from 0.4 inch to 1 inch as where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device (see MPEP 2144.04 and “A. Changes in Size/Proportion”).
Claims 3-7, 11, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fleury and Weissler as applied to claims 2 and 10 above, and further in view of Briese and Heikkila (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2005/0081981). Additionally, claims 3-7, 11, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fleury, France, and Weissler as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Briese and Heikkila.
Regarding claims 3, 6, 7, 11, and 12, Fleury as modified by Weissler and Fleury as modified by France and Weissler above each teach all of the limitations in claim 3 except for a specific teaching of how the spacer is placed for adhering onto the perimeter of the pane and including that the gasket is compressed. Briese is described above in full detail. It is further well understood by one of ordinary skill in the art in adhering foam adhesive tape in manufacturing a glazing unit includes the adhesive is firmly pressed against the surface adjacent thereto by compression of the foam as evidenced by Heikkila (Paragraph 0010). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention adhering the spacer onto the perimeter of the pane as taught by Fleury as modified by Weissler and Fleury as modified by France and Weissler includes lowering the spacer onto the pane such that the gasket of foam adhesive tape is between the aerogel sheet on the surface of the pane and the seating structure of the spacer as is well understood by one of ordinary skill in the art to conventionally and predictably place the spacer onto the perimeter of the pane as evidenced by Briese and including is performed such that the gasket of foam adhesive tape is compressed between the aerogel sheet and the seating structure of the spacer (and regarding claim 6 wherein the gasket comprises one or more pieces of foam and regarding claim 7 wherein there is no additional adhesive between the aerogel sheet and the one or more pieces of foam adhesive tape and regarding claim 11 wherein the adhering the spacer onto the perimeter of the first pane includes moving the spacer toward the first pane when the spacer already has first and second beads of sealant located respectively on first and second opposed sides of the spacer, such that the adhering the spacer onto the perimeter of the first pane includes pressing the first bead of sealant against the first pane and regarding claim 12 wherein the method includes simultaneously performing: (i) the pressing the first bead of sealant against the first pane, and (ii) compressing a gasket between the aerogel sheet and the seating structure of the spacer) for firmly pressing the foam adhesive tape against the aerogel sheet on the surface of the pane as is well understood by one of ordinary skill in the art as evidenced by Heikkila.
Regarding claim 4, Fleury does not expressly teach the pane has a rectangular configuration. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention the pane taught by Fleury as modified by Weissler, Briese, and Heikkila and Fleury as modified by France, Weissler, Briese, and Heikkila has a rectangular configuration with four sides (and thus wherein the adhering the spacer onto the perimeter of the pane is performed such that, along all four sides of the pane, the gasket is compressed between the aerogel sheet and the seating structure of the spacer) as a simple substitution of one known shape to yield predictable results as evidenced by Briese (Figure 2A).
Regarding claim 5, Fleury does not teach the aerogel sheet is compressible. It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention the gasket taught by Fleury as modified by Weissler, Briese, and Heikkila and Fleury as modified by France, Weissler, Briese, and Heikkila is more compressible than the aerogel sheet for firmly pressing the foam adhesive tape against the aerogel sheet on the surface of the pane without reducing the thickness of the aerogel sheet including there being no teaching or suggestion the aerogel sheet is compressible or compressed/reduced in thickness.
Claims 28 and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fleury in view of Schneider et al. (WO 2022/162086) or McShane (U.S. Patent 4,756,783).
Fleury is described above in full detail. The following is an alternative rejection of claims 28 and 29.
Regarding claims 28 and 29, Fleury teaches the thickness of the aerogel sheet is 3.2 mm (Paragraph 0017). Fleury does not expressly teach the width of the spacer. It is well understood by one of ordinary skill in the art the conventional width/thickness of the spacer ranges from 4 to 32 mm as evidenced by Schneider (Paragraph 0037) or 12 mm as evidenced by McShane (Column 8, lines 11-13). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention the spacer taught by Fleury has a width, the aerogel sheet has a thickness, the method manufactures the multiple-pane insulating glazing unit such that the aerogel sheet is surrounded by the spacer, and the thickness of the aerogel sheet is less than 50% of the width of the spacer and wherein the thickness of the aerogel sheet is greater than 16% of the width of the spacer as are the conventional and predictable values for the aerogel sheet and spacer as taught by Fleury and evidenced by Schneider or McShane it being noted in the case where the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art a prima facie case of obviousness exists and similarly, a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close (see MPEP 2144.05).
Claim 30 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fleury in view of McShane or Larsen (U.S. Patent 5,439,716).
Fleury is described above in full detail.
Regarding claim 30, Fleury teaches all of the limitations in claim 30 except for a specific teaching the spacer has a hollow interior space that is empty other than containing some particulate desiccant. It is well understood by one of ordinary skill in the art the spacer has a hollow interior space that is empty other than containing some particulate desiccant for moisture absorption and contributing compressive strength to the spacer as evidenced by McShane (Column 1, lines 6-21) or Larsen (Abstract). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention the spacer taught by Fleury has a hollow interior space that is empty other than containing some particulate desiccant for moisture absorption and contributing compressive strength to the spacer as evidenced by McShane or Larsen.
Claim 38 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fleury and Briese as applied to claims 31-33, 35-37, and 39 above, and further in view of Weissler.
Regarding claim 38, Fleury as modified by Briese above teach all of the limitations in claim 38 except for a specific teaching the perimeter edge of the aerogel sheet does not contact the spacer. Weissler is described above in full detail. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention in Fleury as modified by Briese a foam adhesive tape (i.e. a gasket) is located between the aerogel sheet and the seating structure of the spacer for holding in place (and regarding claim 38 wherein the aerogel sheet has a perimeter edge, and the preliminary glazing assembly is characterized by the perimeter edge of the aerogel sheet not contacting the spacer but rather is spaced apart inwardly from the spacer by the foam adhesive tape) as is well understood by one of ordinary skill in the art as evidenced by Weissler and including there is no need to dose the adhesive, achieves instant adhesive effect, there is no risk of the adhesive entering a chemical reaction with the spacer, stresses can be compensated for and vibrations damped.
Claims 35-38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fleury and Briese as applied to claims 31-33, 35-37, and 39 above, and further in view of France.
Regarding claims 35-38, Fleury as modified by Briese above teach all of the limitations in claims 35-38 except for a specific teaching the spacer of Figure 13 includes a seating structure. France is described above in full detail. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention the spacer (Figure 13) taught by Fleury as modified by Briese comprises a mounting rib (i.e. regarding claim 35 the spacer includes a seating structure, and the preliminary glazing assembly is characterized by the aerogel sheet being sandwiched between the first pane and the seating structure of the spacer and regarding claim 36 the seating structure of the spacer comprises a mounting rib and regarding claim 37 the spacer has an inside wall comprising a base portion configured to face a between-pane space of the multiple-pane insulating glazing unit, and the spacer includes a seating structure that projects inwardly relative to the base portion such that the seating structure is configured to project further into the between-pane space of the multiple-pane insulating glazing unit than any other part of the spacer and regarding claim 38 the aerogel sheet has a perimeter edge, and the preliminary glazing assembly is characterized by the perimeter edge of the aerogel sheet not contacting the spacer but rather being spaced apart inwardly from the spacer) for mounting the aerogel sheet in place as is well understood by one of ordinary skill in the art as evidenced by France.
Claims 1, 8-10, and 18-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Burrows (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2022/0042370) in view of France.
Regarding claim 1, Burrows discloses a method of manufacturing a multiple-pane insulating glazing unit, the method comprising providing an aerogel sheet (210) on a surface of a pane (110), and adhering a spacer (60) onto a perimeter of the pane (Figures 1-4 and Paragraphs 0016 and 0049).
As to the limitation in claim 1 of “such that the aerogel sheet is sandwiched between the pane and a seating structure of the spacer” and claims 10, 23, and 24, Burrows does not expressly teach a seating structure of the spacer. It is well understood in the same art the mid-pane/mid-layer (and analogous to the aerogel sheet) is mounted in the glazing unit by the spacer comprising a mounting rib (64 and including wherein the spacer includes an inside wall having two base portions located on opposite sides of the mounting rib) for mounting the mid-pane/mid-layer in place as evidenced by France (Figure 3d and Column 8, lines 35-67) and including the mid-pane/mid-layer, the same as in Burrows, has a perimeter edge, and adhering the spacer onto the perimeter of the first pane is performed such that the perimeter edge of the mid-pane/mid-layer does not contact the spacer but rather is spaced apart inwardly from the spacer. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention the spacer taught by Burrows comprises a mounting rib (i.e. such that the aerogel sheet is sandwiched between the pane and a seating structure of the spacer, regarding claim 23, wherein the seating structure of the spacer comprises a mounting rib and regarding claim 10 wherein the aerogel sheet has a perimeter edge, and the adhering the spacer onto the perimeter of the first pane is performed such that the perimeter edge of the aerogel sheet does not contact the spacer but rather is spaced apart inwardly from the spacer and regarding claim 24 wherein the spacer includes an inside wall having two base portions located on opposite sides of the mounting rib) for mounting the aerogel sheet in place as is well understood by one of ordinary skill in the art as evidenced by France.
Regarding claims 8 and 9, the pane taught by Burrows has a peripheral edge, and wherein the providing the aerogel sheet on the surface of the pane involves the aerogel sheet being spaced inwardly from the peripheral edge of the pane by a set-back distance (see Figures 1-4). Burrows does not expressly teach the value of the set-back distance (although small see Figures 1-4 and including the aerogel sheet covers more than 60% or even more than 90% of the pane, paragraph 0037). It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention the set-back distance taught by Burrows as modified by France is in a range of from 0.25 inch to 2 inches and including from 0.4 inch to 1 inch as where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device (see MPEP 2144.04 and “A. Changes in Size/Proportion”).
Regarding claim 18, the method taught by Burrows further includes adhering the spacer to a perimeter of a second pane (100), such that an entirety of the spacer is located between the two panes (Figures 1-4).
Regarding claim 19, the aerogel sheet taught by Burrows has opposed first and second faces and a perimeter edge, and the method taught by Burrows as modified by France manufactures the multiple-pane insulating glazing unit such that the seating structure of the spacer supports the second face of the aerogel sheet, but there is no contact between the spacer and a perimeter edge of the aerogel sheet.
Regarding claim 20, the two panes taught by Burrows respectively have first and second perimeter edges, and the method taught by Burrows as modified by France manufactures the multiple-pane insulating glazing unit such that no part of the spacer overlies the first perimeter edge, and no part of the spacer overlies the second perimeter edge (Figures 1-4).
Regarding claim 21, the method taught by Burrows as modified by France manufactures the multiple-pane insulating glazing unit such that a sealant system (55) is located at a perimeter edge region of the multiple-pane insulating glazing unit, the sealant system seals the spacer to both of the two panes, the sealant system comprises one or more deposits of sealant, wherein no part of the sealant system overlies the first perimeter edge, and no part of the sealant system overlies the second perimeter edge (Figures 1-4).
Regarding claim 22, the sealant system taught by Burrows comprises first and second sealant beads (55) respectively sealing the two panes to the spacer, and the sealant system further comprises a sealant deposit (58) over an outside wall of the spacer, wherein the first and second sealant beads and the sealant deposit are each located entirely between the panes (Figures 1-4).
Regarding claim 25, the ratio of the thickness of the aerogel sheet taught by Burrows to the width of the gas gap between the aerogel sheet and the second pane is between 0.15 and 0.85 (Paragraph 0056) so that it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention the mounting rib is located in Burrows as modified by France at a center point along a width of the spacer wherein the ratio of the thickness of the aerogel sheet to the width of the gas gap between the aerogel sheet and the second pane is about 0.5.
Regarding claims 26 and 27, the mounting rib as taught by France has an aspect ratio, wherein the aspect ratio is defined as a height of the mounting rib divided by a width of the mounting rib (see Figure 3d). France does not expressly teach the value of the aspect ratio (greater than 4 appears depicted). It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention the aspect ratio taught by Burrows as modified by France is greater than 5 and including greater than 8 as where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device (see MPEP 2144.04 and “A. Changes in Size/Proportion”) and a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close (see MPEP 2144.05).
Regarding claims 28 and 29, Burrows teaches the thickness of the glazing unit is less than 30 mm, the thickness of the panes is 1-8 mm, and the thickness of the aerogel sheet is 2-8 mm so that the width of the spacer is 28 mm or less (Paragraphs 0011, 0022, and 0026). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention the spacer taught by Burrows as modified by France has a width, the aerogel sheet has a thickness, the method manufactures the multiple-pane insulating glazing unit such that the aerogel sheet is surrounded by the spacer, and the thickness of the aerogel sheet is less than 50% of the width of the spacer and wherein the thickness of the aerogel sheet is greater than 16% of the width of the spacer as in the case where the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art a prima facie case of obviousness exists and similarly, a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close (see MPEP 2144.05).
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Burrows and France as applied to claims 1, 8-10, and 18-29 above, and further in view of Weissler.
Regarding claim 2, Burrows as modified by France above teach all of the limitations in claim 2 including an adhesive or sealant (28 see Figure 3d and Column 8, lines 35-67 of France) is located between the aerogel sheet and the seating structure of the spacer without expressly teaching the adhesive or sealant is a gasket. Weissler is described above in full detail. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention the adhesive or sealant located between the aerogel sheet and the seating structure of the spacer taught by Burrows as modified by France is a foam adhesive tape (i.e. a gasket) not only as a simple substitution of one known adhesive or sealant to yield predictable results but there is no need to dose the adhesive, achieves instant adhesive effect, there is no risk of the adhesive entering a chemical reaction with the spacer, stresses can be compensated for and vibrations damped as evidenced by Weissler.
Claims 11 and 13-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Burrows and France as applied to claims 1, 8-10, and 18-29 above, and further in view of Briese.
Regarding claims 11, 13, 14, 16, and 17, Burrows as modified by France above does not expressly teach the order of attaching the layers. Briese is described above in full detail. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to manufacture the multiple-pane insulating unit taught by Burrows as modified by France by vertically building up the unit from the first pane in a horizontal position (i.e. regarding claim 11 wherein the adhering the spacer onto the perimeter of the first pane includes moving the spacer toward the first pane when the spacer already has first and second beads of sealant located respectively on first and second opposed sides of the spacer, such that the adhering the spacer onto the perimeter of the first pane includes pressing (at least by the weight of the spacer) the first bead of sealant against the first pane and regarding claim 13 the method further includes moving the second pane toward the first pane and pressing (at least by the weight of the second pane) the second pane against the second bead of sealant on the spacer and regarding claim 14 the method is performed such that there is a gas gap between the aerogel sheet and the second pane and regarding claim 16 wherein the providing the aerogel sheet, as analogous to the muntin grid, on the surface of the pane includes moving the aerogel sheet toward the surface of the pane and bonding the aerogel sheet to the surface of the pane including adhering as taught by Burrows, paragraph 0027, and regarding claim 17 wherein the pane is maintained in a horizontal position during: (i) the moving the aerogel sheet toward the surface of the pane and bonding the aerogel sheet to the surface of the pane, and (ii) the adhering the spacer onto the perimeter of the pane) as is well understood by one of ordinary skill in the art to conventionally and predictably attach the layers of the unit as evidenced by Briese.
Regarding claim 15, Burrows teaches the method is performed such that the gas gap has a width in a range of from 8 mm to 19 mm (Paragraph 0018), and the aerogel sheet has a thickness of greater than 2 mm but less than 8 mm (Paragraph 0055) (it being further noted in the case where the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art a prima facie case of obviousness exists and similarly, a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close (see MPEP 2144.05)).
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Burrows, France, and Briese as applied to claims 11 and 13-17 above, and further in view of Weissler.
Regarding claim 2, Burrows as modified by France and Briese above teach all of the limitations in claim 2 including a method of manufacturing a multiple-pane insulating glazing unit, the method comprising providing an aerogel sheet on a surface of a pane, and adhering a spacer onto a perimeter of the pane such that the aerogel sheet is sandwiched between the pane and a seating structure of the spacer wherein an adhesive or sealant (28 see Figure 3d and Column 8, lines 35-67 of France) is located between the aerogel sheet and the seating structure of the spacer without expressly teaching the adhesive or sealant is a gasket. Weissler is described above in full detail. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention the adhesive or sealant located between the aerogel sheet and the seating structure of the spacer taught by Burrows as modified by France and Briese is a foam adhesive tape (i.e. a gasket) not only as a simple substitution of one known adhesive or sealant to yield predictable results but there is no need to dose the adhesive, achieves instant adhesive effect, there is no risk of the adhesive entering a chemical reaction with the spacer, stresses can be compensated for and vibrations damped as evidenced by Weissler.
Claims 3-7 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Burrows, France, Briese, and Weissler as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Heikkila.
Regarding claims 3, 6, 7, and 12, Burrows as modified by France, Briese, and Weissler above teach all of the limitations in claim 3 including adhering the spacer onto the perimeter of the pane is performed by lowering the spacer onto the pane such that the gasket is between the aerogel sheet on the surface of the pane and the seating structure of the spacer. Burrows as modified by France, Briese, and Weissler do not expressly teach the gasket is compressed. Heikkila is described above in full detail. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention adhering the spacer onto the perimeter of the pane as taught by Burrows as modified by France, Briese, and Weissler including lowering the spacer onto the pane such that the gasket is between the aerogel sheet on the surface of the pane and the seating structure of the spacer is performed such that the gasket of foam adhesive tape is compressed between the aerogel sheet and the seating structure of the spacer (and regarding claim 6 wherein the gasket comprises one or more pieces of foam and regarding claim 7 wherein there is no additional adhesive between the aerogel sheet and the one or more pieces of foam adhesive tape and regarding claim 12 wherein the method includes simultaneously performing: (i) the pressing the first bead of sealant against the first pane, and (ii) compressing a gasket between the aerogel sheet and the seating structure of the spacer) for firmly pressing the foam adhesive tape against the aerogel sheet on the surface of the pane as is well understood by one of ordinary skill in the art as evidenced by Heikkila.
Regarding claim 4, Burrows does not expressly teach the pane has a rectangular configuration. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention the pane taught by Burrows as modified by France, Briese, Weissler, and Heikkila has a rectangular configuration with four sides (and thus wherein the adhering the spacer onto the perimeter of the pane is performed such that, along all four sides of the pane, the gasket is compressed between the aerogel sheet and the seating structure of the spacer) as a simple substitution of one known shape to yield predictable results as evidenced by Briese (Figure 2A).
Regarding claim 5, Burrows does not teach the aerogel sheet is compressible. It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention the gasket taught by Burrows as modified by France, Briese, Weissler, and Heikkila is more compressible than the aerogel sheet for firmly pressing the foam adhesive tape against the aerogel sheet on the surface of the pane without reducing the thickness of the aerogel sheet including there being no teaching or suggestion the aerogel sheet is compressible or compressed/reduced in thickness.
Claim 30 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Burrows and France as applied to claims 1, 8-10, and 18-29 above, and further in view of McShane or Larsen.
Regarding claim 30, Burrows as modified by France above teaches all of the limitations in claim 30 except for a specific teaching the spacer has a hollow interior space that is empty other than containing some particulate desiccant. McShane and Larsen are each described above in full detail. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention the spacer taught by Burrows as modified by France has a hollow interior space that is empty other than containing some particulate desiccant for moisture absorption and contributing compressive strength to the spacer as evidenced by McShane or Larsen.
Claims 31-34 and 39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Burrows in view of Briese.
Regarding claim 31, Burrows discloses a method of manufacturing a multiple-pane insulating glazing unit, the method involving a glazing assembly that comprises a first pane (110), an aerogel sheet (210) alongside a surface of the first pane, and a spacer (60) adhered to a perimeter of the first pane, the method comprising adhering a second pane (100) to the spacer such that a gas gap is created between the aerogel sheet and the second pane (Figures 1-4).
As to the limitation in claim 31 of a “preliminary” glazing assembly that comprises the first pane, the aerogel sheet alongside the surface of the first pane, and the spacer adhered to the perimeter of the first pane, the method comprising adhering the second pane to the spacer such that a gas gap is created between the aerogel sheet and the second pane and claims 32 and 33, Burrows does not expressly teach the order of attaching the layers. Briese is described above in full detail. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to manufacture the multiple-pane insulating unit taught by Burrows by vertically building up the unit from the first pane in a horizontal position (i.e. regarding claim 31, a method of manufacturing a multiple-pane insulating glazing unit, the method involving a preliminary glazing assembly that comprises a first pane, an aerogel sheet alongside a surface of the first pane, and a spacer adhered to a perimeter of the first pane via sealant on one side of the spacer, the method comprising adhering via sealant on another side of the spacer a second pane to the spacer such that a gas gap is created between the aerogel sheet and the second pane and regarding claim 32 wherein the first and second panes are in horizontal positions during the adhering the second pane to the spacer and regarding claim 33 wherein the adhering the second pane to the spacer includes moving the second pane in a downward direction toward the first pane) as is well understood by one of ordinary skill in the art to conventionally and predictably attach the layer of the unit as evidenced by Briese.
Regarding claim 34, the method taught by Burrows as modified by Briese results in an entirety of the spacer being located between the first and second panes (Figures 1-4).
Regarding claim 39, the pane taught by Burrows as modified by Briese has a peripheral edge, and wherein the providing the aerogel sheet on the surface of the pane involves the aerogel sheet being spaced inwardly from the peripheral edge of the pane by a set-back distance (see Figures 1-4). Burrows does not expressly teach the value of the set-back distance (although small see Figures 1-4 and including the aerogel sheet covers more than 60% or even more than 90% of the pane, paragraph 0037). It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention the set-back distance taught by Burrows as modified by Briese is in a range of from 0.25 inch to 2 inches and including from 0.4 inch to 1 inch as where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device (see MPEP 2144.04 and “A. Changes in Size/Proportion”).
Claims 35-38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Burrows and Briese as applied to claims 31-34 and 39 above, and further in view of France.
Regarding claims 35-38, Burrows as modified by Briese above teach all of the limitations in claim 35 except for a specific teaching the spacer includes a seating structure. France is described above in full detail. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention the spacer taught by Burrows as modified by Briese comprises a mounting rib (i.e. the spacer includes a seating structure, and the preliminary glazing assembly is characterized by the aerogel sheet being sandwiched between the first pane and the seating structure of the spacer and regarding claim 36 the seating structure of the spacer comprises a mounting rib and regarding claim 37 the spacer has an inside wall comprising a base portion configured to face a between-pane space of the multiple-pane insulating glazing unit, and the spacer includes a seating structure that projects inwardly relative to the base portion such that the seating structure is configured to project further into the between-pane space of the multiple-pane insulating glazing unit than any other part of the spacer and regarding claim 38 the aerogel sheet has a perimeter edge, and the preliminary glazing assembly is characterized by the perimeter edge of the aerogel sheet not contacting the spacer but rather being spaced apart inwardly from the spacer) for mounting the aerogel sheet in place as is well understood by one of ordinary skill in the art as evidenced by France.
Conclusion
/JOHN L GOFF II/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1746